DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 03/16/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-23, 27-29, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al. (7,506,606) in view of Hinze (5,341,756).
With regard to claim 16, Murphy discloses a transport and carrying device (marine handling craft 2) for transporting and carrying a watercraft (auxiliary vessel 4), comprising:
two lateral floats (16/18) spaced a predetermined distance from each other (fig. 3); a connecting front element (12) interconnecting the two lateral floats and maintaining the two lateral floats at the predetermined distance from each other (fig. 3); a sheet or mesh support structure attached laterally to the lateral floats, the support structure having a plurality of openings through which water can pass (col. 17, lines 16-21); a receiving area (31) for the watercraft defined between the lateral floats and the connecting front element and above the support structure(figs. 1, 3); and at least one lifting element (10) configured for attaching the transport and carrying device to an external lifting device for lifting and lowering the transport and carrying device (col. 9 line 54 – col. 10 line 17).
Murphy discloses a restraining device (42/44) however is silent regarding a plurality of detachable retaining elements configured to retain the watercraft in the receiving area when the retaining elements are attached to the transport and carrying device, the plurality of detachable retaining elements including :at least one top-end retaining strap configured to extend laterally across a top of the watercraft from one lateral float to the other lateral float when the watercraft is disposed in the receiving area; and at least one rear retaining strap configured to extend over a rear end of the watercraft when the watercraft is disposed in the receiving area, the rear retaining strap being configured to be attached to at least one of the connecting front element, the support structure and the lateral floats.
Hinze discloses a transport carry device for a watercraft comprising a plurality of detachable retaining elements (bands 4) configured to retain the watercraft in the receiving area when the retaining elements are attached to the transport and carrying device (fig. 1), the plurality of detachable retaining elements including: at least one top-end retaining strap configured to extend laterally across a top of the watercraft from one lateral float to the other lateral float when the watercraft is disposed in the receiving area (fig. 1; front 4); and at least one rear retaining strap (fig. 1; rear 4) configured to extend over a rear end of the watercraft when the watercraft is disposed in the receiving area, the rear retaining strap being configured to be attached to at least one of the connecting front element, the support structure and the lateral floats (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murphy and utilize the restraining elements as taught in Hinze, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to further stabilize the auxiliary vessel.
With regard to claim 17, Murphy further discloses the support structure is also attached to the connecting front element (figs. 3, 14B; col 17, lines 16-21).
With regard to claim 18, Murphy further discloses the lateral floats are oriented parallel to each other along at least a portion of their lengths (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 19, Murphy further discloses the connecting front element is disposed at a front end of the transport and carrying device and extends transversely to the lateral floats (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 20, Murphy further discloses the connecting front element includes a front float (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 21, Murphy further discloses the front float and the lateral floats are integrally formed as a joint float assembly (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 22, Murphy, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the lateral floats and/or the front float are inflatable.
Hinze further discloses a transport and carrying device comprising lateral and front floats (fig. 1) wherein the lateral floats and/or the front float are inflatable (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify further Murphy and utilize inflatable floats as taught in Hinze, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the buoyancy of the device to be altered.
With regard to claim 23, Murphy further discloses the support structure comprises a net (col. 17, lines 16-21).
With regard to claim 27, Murphy, as modified, further discloses the at least one rear retaining strap is configured to be attached to the support structure and to the top-end retaining strap (Hinze; fig. 1; wherein strap are “configured to” be connected).
With regard to claim 28, Murphy, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regard two rear retaining straps. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize multiple straps, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regard to claim 29, Murphy, as modified, further discloses a plurality of securing elements disposed at a rear end of the lateral floats and/or at a rear end of the support structure, the securing elements being configured to retain the top-end restraining strap and/or the at least one rear retaining strap when the respective retaining strap is detached from a position in which the retaining strap retains the watercraft in the receiving area (Hinze; fig. 1; circular band around float).
With regard to claim 31, Murphy further discloses at least one lifting element comprises at least one eyelet (fig. 2; fig. 5A) located on top of one of the lateral floats or on top of the connecting front element (fig. 2).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al. (7,506,606) in view of Hinze (5,341,756), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Curcio (3,011,184).
With regard to claim 30, Murphy , as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a plurality of detachable retaining straps configured to retain the watercraft in the receiving area when the retaining straps are attached to the transport and carrying device, and a plurality of fasteners configured to attach the retaining straps to at least one of the connecting front element, the support structure and the lateral floats, the fasteners being selected from the group consisting of buckles, plug-in fasteners, snap fasteners or Velcro fasteners.
Curcio discloses a floating transport device comprising a plurality of detachable retaining straps (46) configured to retain the craft in the receiving area when the retaining straps are attached to the transport and carrying device (figs. 2-3), and a plurality of fasteners (48) configured to attach the retaining straps to at least one of the connecting front element, the support structure and the lateral floats (figs. 2-3), the fasteners being selected from the group consisting of buckles, plug-in fasteners, snap fasteners or Velcro fasteners (col. 2, lines 9-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify further Murphy and utilize restraining elements as taught in Curcio, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to readily allow the restraining device to be removed from the support structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 16-23 and 27-31 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
04/04/2026