DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-9,11-12, 15-19, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1-9, 11-12, 15-19, 24 of copending Application No. 18/092, 461. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/093, 325. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Application
18/272,181
18/092,461
18/093,325
Claim 1: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device, which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 1: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device, which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 1: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device, which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
Claim 2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
Claim 2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
Claim 3: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target.
Claim 3: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target.
Claim 3: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target.
Claim 4: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil is connected.
Claim 4: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil is connected.
Claim 4: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil is connected.
Claim 5: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 5: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 5: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 6: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle.
Claim 6: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle.
Claim 6: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle.
Claim 7: The apparatus of claim 6 wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on a roof of the electric vehicle.
Claim 7: The apparatus of claim 6 wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on a roof of the electric vehicle.
Claim 7: The apparatus of claim 6 wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on a roof of the electric vehicle.
Claim 8: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the electric vehicle.
Claim 8: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the electric vehicle.
Claim 8: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the electric vehicle.
Claim 9: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows, wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle.
Claim 9: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows, wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle.
Claim 9: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows, wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle.
Claim 10: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the receptacle comprises a garage door opener that includes a garage door opener mounted to the structure with the receptacle, the structure comprising a ceiling structure.
Claim 10: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the receptacle comprises a garage door opener that includes a garage door opener mounted to the structure with the receptacle, the structure comprising a ceiling structure.
Claim 11: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device, wherein the structure comprises the carport.
Claim 11: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device, wherein the structure comprises the carport.
Claim 11: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device, wherein the structure comprises the carport.
Claim 12: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 12: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 12: The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 13: The apparatus of claim 12 wherein the boom is associated with a service vehicle
Claim 13: The apparatus of claim 12 wherein the boom is associated with a service vehicle
Claim 14: The apparatus of claim 13 wherein the service vehicle is an autonomous vehicle.
Claim 14: The apparatus of claim 13 wherein the service vehicle is an autonomous vehicle.
Claim 15: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: at least one receiving coil operable to receive an electrical current from a charge transmitting device for charging of an electric vehicle connected to the at least one receiving coil; and a charging coil sticker comprising a pressure-sensitive adhesive that adheres to the electric vehicle, the charging coil sticker incorporating the at least one receiving coil, the charging coil sticker connected electrically to electrical wires that electrically connect to at least one battery of the electric vehicle, wherein the charging coil sticker is operable to connect electrically to the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle.
Claim 15: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: at least one receiving coil operable to receive an electrical current from a charge transmitting device for charging of an electric vehicle connected to the at least one receiving coil; and a charging coil sticker comprising a pressure-sensitive adhesive that adheres to the electric vehicle, the charging coil sticker incorporating the at least one receiving coil, the charging coil sticker connected electrically to electrical wires that electrically connect to at least one battery of the electric vehicle, wherein the charging coil sticker is operable to connect electrically to the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle.
Claim 16: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the charging device is maintained by a receptacle mounted to a structure, wherein the charge transmitting device is moveable and directable from the receptacle to the charging coil sticker including the at least one receiving coil for the charging of the electric vehicle when the charging coil sticker comes into electrical contact with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 16: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the charging device is maintained by a receptacle mounted to a structure, wherein the charge transmitting device is moveable and directable from the receptacle to the charging coil sticker including the at least one receiving coil for the charging of the electric vehicle when the charging coil sticker comes into electrical contact with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle.
Claim 17: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the charging device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the charging coil sticker that includes the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 17: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the charging device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the charging coil sticker that includes the at least one receiving coil.
Claim 18: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the structure comprises a ceiling.
Claim 18: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the structure comprises a ceiling.
Claim 19: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 19: The apparatus of claim 15 wherein the structure comprises a boom.
Claim 24: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure configured to deploy an electromagnetic power transmitting device above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains the electromagnetic power transmitting device, which is electromechanically and/or pneumatically movable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one electromagnetic power receiving device mounted on a surface of the electric vehicle for charging the electric vehicle when the electromagnetic power transmitting device is placed near and/or in contact with at least one of the target area and the electromagnetic power receiving device.
Claim 24: An apparatus for charging an electric vehicle, comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure configured to deploy an electromagnetic power transmitting device above an electric vehicle, wherein the receptacle maintains the electromagnetic power transmitting device, which is electromechanically and/or pneumatically movable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one electromagnetic power receiving device mounted on a surface of the electric vehicle for charging the electric vehicle when the electromagnetic power transmitting device is placed near and/or in contact with at least one of the target area and the electromagnetic power receiving device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-12, 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Hui (US 2020/0094700).
Regarding claim 1, Hui discloses an apparatus for charging an electric vehicle (fig. 8), comprising:
a receptacle mountable to a structure above an electric vehicle (mechanical frame 806B above the electric vehicle, fig. 8), wherein the receptacle maintains a charge transmitting device (transmitting pad 804 connected to the mechanical frame, fig. 8), which is automatically moveable and directable from the receptacle (the mechanical arm 802A is flexible or movable, and can be raised, lowered, and manipulated along a horizontal direction. In one example, the arm 802A has multiple portions connected by one or more rotatable joints, paragraph [0029]) toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one receiving coil mounted on the electric vehicle for the charging of an electric vehicle when the at least one receiving coil engages with the charge transmitting device when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle (step 902-906, fig. 9, paragraph [0134]-[0136]).
Regarding claim 3, Hui further discloses wherein the target comprises an automatic and optically recognizable target (the alignment member 412 may be a marker, e.g., a fiducial marker, a symbol, or color mark, arranged on the upper surface of the chassis. The markers are preferably arranged in a position of the chassis that corresponds to the receiver coil 404. These markers may be detected by a sensor in the form of a camera or other optical or electromagnetic means provided on the charger, paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 4, Hui further discloses wherein the at least one receiving coil is operable to receive an electrical current from the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle to which the at least one receiving coil is connected (step 910, fig. 9, paragraph [0138], transferring the power also include the current P=VI).
Regarding claim 5, Hui further discloses wherein the charge transmitting device includes a charging plate (charging pad 804 is in the form of plate, fig. 8) that magnetically engages with the at least one receiving coil (the charger further includes an alignment mechanism arranged to facilitate alignment of the transmitter coil with the receiver coil. The alignment mechanism may be one or more of: a magnetic member, paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 6, Hui further discloses wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on or in the electric vehicle (a receiver coil arranged at an upper end of a chassis of an electric vehicle, abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Hui further discloses wherein the at least one receiving coil is mounted on a roof of the electric vehicle (a receiver coil arranged at an upper end of a chassis of an electric vehicle, abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Hui further discloses wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with the electric vehicle (the receiver coil 304 may be on the surface of the roof 302, or immediately below the surface of the roof 302, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 9, Hui further discloses wherein the electric vehicle comprises a plurality of glass windows (the electric vehicle inherently has the plurality of glass window with the sun roof window 306, fig. 3), wherein the at least one receiving coil is integrated with at least one glass window among the plurality of glass windows of the electric vehicle (the receiver coil 304 may be on the surface of the roof 302, paragraph [0095] and can be in the sunroof part).
Regarding claim 11, Hui further discloses wherein the receptacle comprises a charger mounted to a carport under which the electric vehicle parks for charging of the electric vehicle by the charge transmitting device, wherein the structure comprises the carport (fig. 8D).
Regarding claim 12, Hui further discloses wherein the structure comprises a boom (802, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 22, Hui discloses an electric vehicle (fig. 3), comprising: at least one battery (The electric vehicle 12 includes a charging circuit operably connected with a rechargeable battery 120, paragraph [0086]); an electric vehicle body comprising a top portion (302, fig. 3);
a charging coil incorporated into the electric vehicle body in the top portion (A receiver coil 304, arranged in a receiver pad in this embodiment, is mounted on the roof 302, paragraph [0095]), wherein the charging coil receives an electromagnetic charge from an electromagnetic charging device for wireless charging of the at least one battery (step 910-912, paragraph [0089] the power is transmitted between the transmitter and receiver coil through magnetic induction method).
Regarding claim 23, Hui further discloses wherein the top portion of the electric vehicle comprises at least one of: a roof, a trunk, a hood, a hatchback, and a truck bed (electric vehicle 300, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 24, Hui discloses an apparatus for charging an electric vehicle (fig. 8), comprising: a receptacle mountable to a structure configured to deploy an electromagnetic power transmitting device above an electric vehicle (mechanical frame 806B above the electric vehicle, fig. 8, paragraph [0312]), wherein the receptacle maintains the electromagnetic power transmitting device (the frame has the transmitter 804, fig. 8), which is electromechanically and/or pneumatically movable and directable from the receptacle toward a target area on the electric vehicle associated with at least one electromagnetic power receiving device mounted on a surface of the electric vehicle (paragraph [0132]) for charging the electric vehicle when the electromagnetic power transmitting device is placed near and/or in contact with at least one of the target area and the electromagnetic power receiving device (steps 902-910, fig. 9; paragraph [0140]-[0141]explains electromagnetic induction during wireless power transmission).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0094700) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sarkar et al. (US 2020/0391595), herein after Sarkar.
Regarding claim 2, Hui discloses an apparatus of charging electric vehicle of claim 1. Hui discloses the charging device to transmit the electrical power from the transmitter to receiver device to charge an electric vehicle. However, Hui is silent about wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete.
Sarkar discloses a wireless charger to charge electric vehicle wirelessly (paragraph [0067]). Sarkar further discloses a charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the at least one receiving coil and retracts to the receptacle after charging of the electric vehicle is complete (paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hui system to include the instruction of disengaging of the wireless power transmitting arm after charging is complete as taught by Sarkar, in order to provide desirable retraction function to have space and remove hazard when said charger/robotic arm is not in use.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0094700) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chander et al. (US 2010/0102775),herein after Chander.
Regarding xalim 10, Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 10. Hui further discloses the charging apparatus is connected at the ceiling of the garage(this arrangement 800D is ideal for indoor parked cars particularly in indoor garages and car parks, paragraph [00132] the garage has the ceiling).
However, Hui does not explicitly disclose that the receptacle comprises a garage door opener that includes a garage door opener mounted to the structure with the receptacle.
Chander discloses the electric vehicle charger may be attached to or incorporated into a garage door opener (not shown) which is provided on the ceiling 32 (paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hui system to have the charging system mounted with the garage opener as taught by Chander, in order to install the EV charger with optimal flexibility, lower installation costs, and added safety. It allows you to conveniently charge a vehicle parked inside the garage with appropriate height.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0094700) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Penilla et al. (US 2020/0144838), herein after Penilla.
Regarding claim 13, Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 12. However, Hui does not explicitly disclose that the boom is associated with a service vehicle.
Penilla discloses a robot to charge the electric vehicle. Penilla further discloses An articulating arm of the robot. The articulating arm is configured for movement that enables the articulating arm to automatically connect to a connector of the vehicle (Paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hui’s system in a form of movable vehicle like robot as taught by Penilla, in order to solve the limits of fixed charging stations by eliminating grid constraints, reducing installation costs, and offering ultimate flexibility across parking lots, events, and residential areas.
Regarding claim 14, Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 13. However, Hui does not explicitly disclose the service vehicle is an autonomous vehicle.
Penilla discloses a robot to charge the electric vehicle (paragraph [0007] where a robot is an autonomous vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hui’s system in a form of movable vehicle like robot as taught by Penilla, in order to solve the limits of fixed charging stations by eliminating grid constraints, reducing installation costs, and offering ultimate flexibility across parking lots, events, and residential areas.
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0094700), and Salter et al. (US 2017/0274787), herein after Salter.
Regarding claim 15, Hui discloses an apparatus for charging an electric vehicle (fig. 8), comprising: at least one receiving coil (302, fig. 3) operable to receive an electrical current from a charge transmitting device for charging of an electric vehicle connected to the at least one receiving coil (step 902-910, fig. 9, the power transmission also includes the transmission of the current needed to charge the vehicle’s battery );
However, Hui is silent about a charging coil sticker comprising a pressure-sensitive adhesive that adheres to the electric vehicle, the charging coil sticker incorporating the at least one receiving coil, the charging coil sticker connected electrically to electrical wires that electrically connect to at least one battery of the electric vehicle, wherein the charging coil sticker is operable to connect electrically to the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle.
Salter discloses a an apparatus for charging the electric vehicle (fig. 1). Salter further discloses a charging coil sticker comprising a pressure-sensitive adhesive that adheres to the electric vehicle, the charging coil sticker incorporating the at least one receiving coil (Various fastening techniques can be employed to affix the receiving coil 20 to the vehicle 1 as understood by those in the field of the disclosure including but limited to peel and stick adhesives, paragraph [0034]), the charging coil sticker connected electrically to electrical wires that electrically connect to at least one battery of the electric vehicle (20 is connected to the battery 120, fig. 1), wherein the charging coil sticker is operable to connect electrically to the charge transmitting device for charging of the electric vehicle (paragraph [0039]-[0040] the charging started after the alignment of the coil).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hui’s system to affix the receiving coil with the method of peel and stick adhesives as taught by Salter, in order to have lighter, space-saving designs, easier retrofitting without drilling or bulky mounts, and vibration dampening to maintain structural integrity during transit.
Regarding claim 16, Hui further discloses wherein the charging device is maintained by a receptacle mounted to a structure (the charging pad 804 is mounted with frame, fig. 8), wherein the charge transmitting device is moveable and directable from the receptacle to the charging coil sticker (paragraph [0132]) including the at least one receiving coil for the charging of the electric vehicle when the charging coil sticker comes into electrical contact with the charge transmitting device(steps 902-910, fig. 9) when the electric vehicle is located below the receptacle (fig. 8, the electric vehicle is below the charger).
Regarding claim 17, Hui further discloses wherein the charging device includes a charging plate that magnetically engages with the charging coil sticker that includes the at least one receiving coil (paragraph [0118]).
Regarding claim 18, Hui further discloses wherein the structure comprises a ceiling (ceiling in fig. 8D).
Regarding claim 19, Hui further discloses wherein the structure comprises a boom (802, fig. 8D).
Claim(s)20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 2020/0094700), and Salter (US 2017/0274787), as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Penilla (US 2020/0144838).
Regarding claim 20, Hui in view of Salter discloses the apparatus of claim 18. However, they do not explicitly disclose that the boom is associated with a service vehicle.
Penilla discloses a robot to charge the electric vehicle. Penilla further discloses An articulating arm of the robot. The articulating arm is configured for movement that enables the articulating arm to automatically connect to a connector of the vehicle (Paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hui’s system in view of Salter in a form of movable vehicle like robot as taught by Penilla, in order to solve the limits of fixed charging stations by eliminating grid constraints, reducing installation costs, and offering ultimate flexibility across parking lots, events, and residential areas.
Regarding claim 21, Hui in view of Salter discloses the apparatus of claim 19. However, Hui does not explicitly disclose the service vehicle is an autonomous vehicle.
Penilla discloses a robot to charge the electric vehicle (paragraph [0007] where a robot is an autonomous vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hui’s system in view of Salter in a form of movable vehicle like robot as taught by Penilla, in order to solve the limits of fixed charging stations by eliminating grid constraints, reducing installation costs, and offering ultimate flexibility across parking lots, events, and residential areas.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859