DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on January 9, 2026 are entered into the file. Currently claim 1 is amended, resulting in claims 1-5 pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claims 1-4 the Wt1/3, Tt1/2, Wy1/3, and Ty1/2 in Formulas (1-1), (1-2), (2-1), and (2-2) should read Wt1/3, Tt1/2, Wy1/3, and Ty1/2. Additionally “constructionmembrane” in line 14 of claim 1 should read –construction membrane--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandel (US 2005/0130534) in view of Nonaka (US 2013/0210602).
With respect to claims 1-4, Brandel teaches a glass fiber textile fabric which is aesthetically pleasing and fibers particular applicability as a fabric for wall coverings (construction membrane material) (paragraph [0002]). The warp yarn used in the woven, patterned glass fiber textile has a titer in the range of 155-300 tex, preferably 270-290 tex, most preferably about 278 tex (Tt) (paragraph [0012]). The weft yarn used together with the warp yarn can have a titer in the range of from 68 to 660 tex, preferably 190-350 tex, Most preferably 200-330 tex (Ty) (paragraph [0013]). It is noted that a 1 tex = 1 g/1000 m. The warp density (Wt) generally ranges from 2.5 to 20 threads/cm (6.25-50 threads/25 mm), preferably in the range of 6-10 threads/cm (15-25 threads/25 mm), with 6.5 threads/cm (16.25 threads/25 mm) being the most preferred (paragraph [0012]). The weft yarn density (Wy) ranges from 2.0 to 12 threads/cm (5-30 threads/25 mm), and is more preferably about 2.4 threads/cm (6 threads/25 mm) or 5.0 threads/cm (12.5 threads/25 mm) (paragraph [0013]).
Brandel is silent as to the warp and weft glass fibers having an average Al2O3 content of 17.5 mass% or more.
Nonoka teaches high elasticity glass fibers with an Al2O3 (At and Ay) content of 19.0-23.0 (paragraphs [0001], [0008]). When the Al2O3 content is 19.0% by weight or higher the elastic modulus of the glass fiber is raised (paragraph [0021]). On the other hand, when the content is 23.0% by weight or lower, the working temperature range of the glass is broadened (paragraph [0021]). The Al2O3 content is preferably 19.5 to 22.0% by weight, and more preferably 20.0 to 21.0% by weight based on the total weight of the composition of the glass fiber (paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the warp and weft glass fibers of Brandel to have an Al2O3 content of 19.0-23.0, preferably 19.5-22.0, more preferably 20.0-21.0% by weight of the glass fiber composition in order to provide a glass fiber with improved elastic modulus and workability.
The most preferred value for Tt/Ty for the combination above is therefore 0.842-1.39 (278 tex/200-330 tex). This results in preferred values for formulas (1-1) and (1-2) ranging from 375 (when Ty = 200 tex and At = Ay = 20 wt%) to 422 (when Ty = 330 tex and At = Ay = 20 wt%). The preferred values for formulas (2-1) and (2-2) consequently range from 355 (when Ty = 330 tex, Tt/Ty = 0.842, and At = Ay = 20 wt%) to 521 (when Ty = 200 tex, Tt/Ty = 1.39, and At = Ay = 20 wt%).
The values for formula (2-2) ranges of Brandel in view of Nonoka substantially overlaps the claimed ranges in the instant claim 4. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Brandel in view of Nonoka, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
With respect to claim 5, Brandel in view of Nonoka teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Brandel further teaches the glass fiber textile may be coated in a conventional fashion to provide the final characteristics of the product (paragraph [0017]). Brandel does not explicitly teach the coating is applied to both the front and back surfaces of the fabric, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try coating the front, the back, and the front and the back of the glass fabric in order to determine which provides the desired final characteristics to the product. See MPEP 2143.
Response to Amendment
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §103
The rejections of claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degroote (US 2004/0115439) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims in the response filed January 9, 2026.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789