Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2009/0266397) in view of Hinderling (US Patent Application Publication no. 2010/0307566).
Regarding claim 1, Gibson comprises a system comprising:
a transportation refueling station comprising a hydrogen storage tank (38; figure 9; paragraphs 6, 36, 51 – when an extended range electrical vehicle (EREV) needs to refuel, the system regulates hydrogen flowing from the storage tanks 38 to the EREV) and a metering pump (the hydrogen tanks 38 may regulate both the incoming, accumulated, and outgoing hydrogen. While Gibson discloses high-pressure valves (42) for this purpose, one having ordinary skill in the art would envisage a pump for this purpose since pumps are one of the primary devices utilized to move fluid from one place to another);
a solar-cell array/PV array (12; paragraphs 3-7, 24); and
an electrolyzer (36) powered by the solar-cell/PV array (12), the electrolyzer (36) producing oxygen and hydrogen from input water (paragraphs 24, 47), the hydrogen being transported to the hydrogen storage tank (38; paragraphs 50-51).
Gibson fails to teach wherein the solar cell/PV array is connected to a body of water having a bed; the body of water being at least one of a quarry lake, a gravel mining pit, a sand mining pit, a borrow pit, a waste-water treatment lagoon, a waste-water treatment lagoon, a cooling pond, a mining tailings impoundment, a coal ash storage basin, a hydroelectric dam reservoir, a municipal water- storage reservoir, a fish hatchery pond, an aquaculture pond, a brine pond, and an artificial water reservoir; and wherein the solar cell/PV array is configured to float on the body of water or to stand on the bed.
Hinderling discloses an electrolytic hydrogen production facility (paragraphs 82-84) comprising a solar cell array/solar island (10; figure 1; paragraphs 60, 88) connected to a body of water having a bed/floating platform. The island could operate at sea, or on large naturales lakes (paragraphs 12-13, 15). The floating island facilitates rotation, relative to the position of the sun, which optimizes the position of the solar radiation collectors located on the island which in turn increases electrical output (paragraphs 13, 86).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to connect the PV array of Gibson to a body of water as a solar cell floating island, as taught by Hinderling, because this arrangement facilitates rotation, relative to the position of the sun, which optimizes the position of the solar radiation collectors located on the floating island which in turn increases electrical output.
Regarding claim 3, Hinderling teaches wherein the input water has a source, the source comprising a local ground-water supply (paragraph 82). Gibson also discloses dissociation of water into hydrogen and oxygen and thus, a water source is inherently present (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 6, Gibson further discloses wherein the transportation fueling station further comprises a retail facility, the retail facility comprising a washroom (paragraphs 25, 36, 47, 51 – the hydrogen may also be used to supply a fuel cell power plant 40 capable of powering a building or supplying surplus energy to an electric grid 22, wherein the power system may further comprise a home or office, which inherently comprises a washroom).
Regarding claim 7, the retail facility of Gibson comprises a power-using component, and the power-using component obtains power from the solar-cell array or a local electric grid (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 8, the high-pressure tanks (38) of Gibson may connect to the EREV (14) and a high-pressure valve (42) can regulate hydrogen flowing from the tanks (38) to the EREV (14). The electrolyzer (36) may be connected to high-pressure tanks (38) mounted on the EREV (14; paragraph 51). One having ordinary skill in the art would envisage the use of pumps for this purpose since pumps are one of the primary devices utilized to move fluid from one place to another at different flow rates/pressure.
Regarding claim 11, Gibson further teaches a power generator, the power generator receiving hydrogen from the electrolyzer and using the hydrogen to produce at least one of electrical power and steam power for use by a third-party facility (paragraphs 25, 36, 47, 50, 51 – the hydrogen may also be used to supply a fuel cell power plant 40 capable of powering a building or supplying surplus energy to an electric grid 22, wherein the power system may further comprise a home or office.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson in view of Hinderling as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Petrin et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2017/0085213).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Gibson teaches all the features discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the solar-cell array comprises a Perovskite material.
Petrin discloses self-assembling solar pods comprising a solar energy conversion module comprising a radiant energy conversion element, such as perovskite (paragraph 24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a perovskite material in the solar-cell array assembly of the modified Gibson because as taught by Petrin, perovskite elements are well-known to feature a radiant energy conversion in order to reduce the chances of unexpected conversion failure.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson in view of Hinderling as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mitlitsky (US Patent Application Publication no. 2003/0146106).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Gibson teaches all the features discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the transportation refueling station further comprises a hydrogen refrigerator, the hydrogen refrigerator receiving the hydrogen from the electrolyzer, cooling the hydrogen, and providing the cooled hydrogen to the storage tank.
Mitlitsky discloses a system for refueling a hydrogen vessel comprising a hydrogen refrigerator. During operation of the electrolysis cell system (30), the hydrogen gas generated is cooled by a cooling facility (56) and delivered to vessel (58) for storage. By cooling the hydrogen gas stream exiting the cooling system, the hydrogen gas storage vessel can be overfilled such that upon equilibration of the temperature of the vessel with ambient temperatures, the vessel contains the proper amount of hydrogen gas. The hydrogen gas can be dispensed from vessel (58) for use in various applications (paragraphs 27-28).
One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to cool the hydrogen gas generated by electrolysis in the modified Gibson, as taught by Mitlitsky, in order to store the proper amount of hydrogen gas for further use in various applications.
Regarding claim 5, Mitlitsky further discloses an oxygen refrigerator and oxygen storage tank, the oxygen refrigerator receiving the oxygen from the electrolyzer, cooling the oxygen, and providing the cooled oxygen to the oxygen storage tank (paragraphs 20-21).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson in view of Hinderling as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2012/0104003).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Gibson teaches all the features discussed above, but fails to disclose a thermal destratification device in the body of water, the thermal destratification device requiring power, and the power being provided by the solar-cell array.
Lee discloses extraction and return extensions in thermal storage solar systems comprising a thermal destratification device in storage tanks, the thermal destratification device requiring power (at the top of the tank, a horizontal extension is used to distribute hot water returning from the array of rooftop solar collectors. This extension acts like a baffle to reduce or eliminate the flow velocity and enhance thermal stratification within the tank. A curving lower edge to the upper horizontal extension allows return water to find the thermocline with matching temperature which allows heat to be added to the storage tank without disrupting stratification even if the return water is cooler that the water at the top of the tank; paragraph 17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a thermal destratification device in the modified Gibson, in order to maintain thermal gradients, as taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 10, the thermal destratification device of Lee comprises a horizontal circulator receiving oxygen from the electrolyzer (paragraphs 14-16, 19, 26).
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2009/0266397) in view of Hinderling (US Patent Application Publication no. 2010/0307566), Mitlitsky (US Patent Application Publication no. 2003/0146106) and Petrin et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2017/0085213).
Regarding claim 12, Gibson comprises a system comprising:
a transportation refueling station comprising a hydrogen storage tank (38; figure 9; paragraphs 6, 36, 51 – when an extended range electrical vehicle (EREV) needs to refuel, the system regulates hydrogen flowing from the storage tanks 38 to the EREV) and a metering pump (the hydrogen tanks 38 may regulate both the incoming, accumulated, and outgoing hydrogen. While Gibson discloses high-pressure valves (42) for this purpose, one having ordinary skill in the art would envisage a metering pump for this purpose since pumps are one of the primary devices utilized to move fluid from one place to another);
a solar-cell array/PV array (12; paragraphs 3-7, 24); and
an electrolyzer (36) powered by the solar-cell/PV array (12), the electrolyzer (36) producing oxygen and hydrogen from an input water source (paragraphs 24, 47), the hydrogen being transported to the hydrogen storage tank (38; paragraphs 50-51).
Gibson fails to teach a hydrogen refrigerator connected to the hydrogen storage tank;
the body of water being at least one of a quarry lake, a gravel mining pit, a sand mining pit, a borrow pit, a waste-water treatment lagoon, a waste-water treatment lagoon, a cooling pond, a mining tailings impoundment, a coal ash storage basin, a hydroelectric dam reservoir, a municipal water- storage reservoir, a fish hatchery pond, an aquaculture pond, a brine pond, and an artificial water reservoir; the body of water having a bed;
the solar-cell array configured to float on the body of water or configured to stand on the bed, the solar-cell array comprising a perovskite material;
the hydrogen refrigerator cooling the hydrogen and providing the cooled hydrogen to a user of hydrogen.
Hinderling discloses an electrolytic hydrogen production facility (paragraphs 82-84) comprising a solar cell array/solar island (10; figure 1; paragraphs 60, 88) connected to a body of water having a bed/floating platform. The island could operate at sea, or on large naturales lakes (paragraphs 12-13, 15). The floating island facilitates rotation, relative to the position of the sun, which optimizes the position of the solar radiation collectors located on the island which in turn increases electrical output (paragraphs 13, 86).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to connect the PV array of Gibson to a body of water as a solar cell floating island, as taught by Hinderling, because this arrangement facilitates rotation, relative to the position of the sun, which optimizes the position of the solar radiation collectors located on the floating island which in turn increases electrical output.
The modified Gibson fails to teach a hydrogen refrigerator connected to the hydrogen storage tank; the hydrogen refrigerator cooling the hydrogen and providing the cooled hydrogen to a user of hydrogen; and wherein the solar-cell array comprises a perovskite material.
Mitlitsky discloses a system for refueling a hydrogen vessel comprising a hydrogen refrigerator. During operation of the electrolysis cell system (30), the hydrogen gas generated is cooled by a cooling facility (56) and delivered to vessel (58) for storage. By cooling the hydrogen gas stream exiting the cooling system, the hydrogen gas storage vessel can be overfilled such that upon equilibration of the temperature of the vessel with ambient temperatures, the vessel contains the proper amount of hydrogen gas. The hydrogen gas can be dispensed from vessel (58) for use in various applications (paragraphs 27-28).
One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to cool the hydrogen gas generated by electrolysis in the modified Gibson, as taught by Mitlitsky, in order to store the proper amount of hydrogen gas for further use in various applications.
The modified Gibson fails to teach wherein the solar-cell array comprises a perovskite material.
Petrin discloses self-assembling solar pods comprising a solar energy conversion module comprising a radiant energy conversion element, such as perovskite (paragraph 24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a perovskite material in the solar-cell array assembly of the modified Gibson because as taught by Petrin, perovskite elements are well-known to feature a radiant energy conversion which would reduce the chances of unexpected conversion failure.
Regarding claim 13, Mitlitsky further discloses an oxygen refrigerator and oxygen storage tank, the oxygen refrigerator receiving the oxygen from the electrolyzer, cooling the oxygen, and providing the cooled oxygen to the oxygen storage tank (paragraphs 20-21).
Regarding claim 14, Mitlitsky teaches wherein the oxygen is returned to the body of water (oxygen and water exit cell stack 40 via a common stream that recycles the oxygen and water to water source 32; paragraph 22).
Regarding claim 15, Gibson further discloses wherein the transportation fueling station further comprises a retail facility, the retail facility comprising a washroom (paragraphs 25, 36, 47, 51 – the hydrogen may also be used to supply a fuel cell power plant 40 capable of powering a building or supplying surplus energy to an electric grid 22, wherein the power system may further comprise a home or office, which inherently comprises a washroom).
Regarding claim 16, the retail facility of Gibson comprises a power-using component, and the power-using component obtains power from the solar-cell array or a local electric grid (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 17, Gibson teaches a power generator, the power generator receiving hydrogen from the electrolyzer and using the hydrogen to produce at least one of electrical power and steam power for use by user (paragraph 47).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson in view of Hinderling, Mitlitsky and Petrin, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2012/0104003).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Gibson teaches all the features discussed above, but fails to disclose a thermal destratification device comprising at least one of a horizontal circulator and an aerator.
Lee discloses extraction and return extensions in thermal storage solar systems comprising a thermal destratification device in storage tanks, the thermal destratification device requiring power (at the top of the tank, a horizontal extension is used to distribute hot water returning from the array of rooftop solar collectors. This extension acts like a baffle to reduce or eliminate the flow velocity and enhance thermal stratification within the tank. A curving lower edge to the upper horizontal extension allows return water to find the thermocline with matching temperature which allows heat to be added to the storage tank without disrupting stratification even if the return water is cooler that the water at the top of the tank; paragraphs (paragraphs 14-17, 19, 26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a thermal destratification device in the modified Gibson, in order to maintain thermal gradients, as taught by Lee.
Conclusion
/ZULMARIAM MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794