Detailed Action
The communications received 08/19/2025 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The equations presented do not clarify what exactly the xH2O, xCell, and X2Cell are referencing.
Claims 4 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the subsequent processing organ" in claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this is understood to read “a subsequent processing organ”
As for claims 15-16, xCell, x2Cell, xH2O are unclear variables in the equation. There is no clarification as to what these variables mean in the specification. Therefore the claim language is indefinite. For purposes of examination that xH2O stands for water content, x2Cell stands for double the content of Cellulose, and xCell stands for content of cellulose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilhelm et al (WO 2008154668) hereinafter WIL.
As for claims 1 and 9, WIL teaches an apparatus which is a thin film evaporator for producing a transfer mixture according to a direct dissolution method [Fig. 1 #8], and the method of producing a transfer mixture via it comprising:
a feed (1) [Fig. 1 #2],
a housing (4) [Fig. 1 #9] and
an outlet (2) (the outlet that feeds from the tapered portion into the neck) [Fig. 1 #11; pg. 6],
wherein the feed (1) introduces a starting material, made of cellulose, water and a functional fluid, into the housing (4) [Fig. 1 #2-4 leads to area of #13; pg. 5],
wherein an evaporator shaft (5) situated in the housing (4) rotatingly sweeps the starting material over the heated interior of the housing (4) [Fig. 1 #15-17; pg. 5-6],
wherein the starting material heats up (via heater) [Fig. 1 #10] and some of the water evaporates so as to form the transfer mixture which flows to the outlet (2) [pg. 5-6]
with a supply stream wherein the through-flow capacity of the outlet (2) is greater than the supply stream (as the output is the combination of #2-4 while the supply is only #2, therefore the through-flow capacity of the outlet is understood to be larger) [Fig. 1 #2 versus sum of #2-4, the loss from #14 is understood to still result in more through-flow through the outlet as it is understood that it is water that is evaporated out; pg. 5-6].
As for claims 2 and 11, WIL teaches claims 1 and 9 and that the outlet opens into a subsequent processing organ [Fig. 1 #12].
As for claims 3 and 10, WIL teaches claims 1 and 9 and that the transfer mixture passes a subsequent transfer organ (the neck that connects #11 to #12) [Fig. 1 #11 to 12; pg. 6], wherein the through-flow capacity of the transfer organ is greater than the supply stream (as the transfer organ loses no constituents and is understood to have a greater amount when compared to the supply stream #2) [pg. 5-8].
As for claims 4 and 12, WIL teaches claims 3 and 11 that the transfer organ is situated between the thin film evaporator [Fig. 1 #8] and the subsequent processing organ [Fig. 12], therefore the transfer mixture passes through the transfer organ first before entering the subsequent processing organ.
As for claims 5 and 13, WIL teaches claims 2 and 11 and wherein the subsequent processing organ processing the transfer mixture to a molding solution (to a spin nozzle which forms shaped articles) [Fig. 1 #25; pg. 1 and 6].
As for claims 6-7, WIL teaches claim 2 and wherein the subsequent processing organ, transfer organ, and the housing form a common gas space (as they are connected in such a manner) [Fig. 1 #8 and 12 through #11 area].
As for claim 8, WIL teaches claim 1 and the material worked upon does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art [MPEP 2115]. However WIL does teach the functional liquid N-methylmorpholine-N-Oxide [pg. 5].
As for claim 14, WIL teaches claim 9 and further teaches the functional liquid N-methylmorpholine-N- [pg. 5].
As for claims 15-16, WIL teaches claim 14 and that the overall supply is fed into the outlet via being fed into the processing elements before the outlet. When the equations are solved assuming that xH2O stands for water content, x2Cell stands for double the content of Cellulose, and xCell stands for content of cellulose, the minimum and maximum ranges for XH2O amount to ~0.13-0.21 for claim 15 which is ~13-21% and ~0.2-0.21 for claim 16 which is ~20-21% which is the case for the typical premix fed in as the supply stream which has an H2O content of 20% which falls within the claimed ranges [pg. 5].
Conclusion
/ELISA H VERA/Examiner, Art Unit 1748