1Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 9406530, hereinafter WO’530 listed in IDS equivalent of Quigley, US 5534113 in view of Zikeli, US 20070210481.
Regarding Claim 1 Quigley discloses kneader for processing a transfer mixture into a molding solution according to a direct dissolution method, comprising a feed, a housing and a discharge (Figure 1, feed line-3, container-1, Col 4 line 1-5), wherein the feed introduces a product consisting essentially of cellulose, water and a functional liquid into the housing (abstract, Col 1 line 27-30), wherein a kneader shaft situated in the housing rotationally mixes and kneads the product and wipes it over heated inner surfaces of the mixing kneader (Col 2 line 14-24, Col 4 line 36-37).
Quigley disclose that some of the water evaporates to form a molding solution (Col 1 line 42-44) but didn’t particularly disclose the wherein the amount of undissolved particles in the product and the size of the particles are reduced.
In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Zikeli discloses , homogenisation and uniform mixing by the mixers ([0065]) therefore the shear forces would result into breaking larger particles or droplets into smaller, more uniform which would result into lesser undissolved particles.
It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Quigley’s teaching of the kneader processing with that of Zikeli’s homogenization during mixing for the purpose of product stability
Further re: the limitation that wherein the process volume of the mixing kneader is determined only by the requirements of a molding solution flow capacity. Quigley discloses that motors-6 and 17 control the molding solution flow (Col 4 line 62-65) ; however Examiner notes that -the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. In re Casey 15? USPO 235. The process of using an apparatus as a recitation is viewed as an intended use and is given no patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2114 Ri - 21415 R2 for further details.
“While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber. 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
Regarding Claim 2 Quigley discloses Mixing kneader for processing a transfer mixture into a molding solution according to a direct dissolution method, comprising a feed, a housing and a discharge, wherein the feed introduces a product consisting essentially of cellulose, water and a functional liquid into the housing and wherein a kneader shaft situated in the housing rotationally mixes and kneads the product and wipes it over heated inner surfaces of the mixing kneader (feed line-3, container-1, Col 4 line 1-5, Col 4 line 36-37)
Quigley disclose that some of the water evaporates to form a molding solution (Col 1 line 42-44) but didn’t particularly disclose the wherein the amount of undissolved particles in the product and the size of the particles are reduced. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Zikeli discloses , homogenisation and uniform mixing by the mixers ([0065]) therefore the shear forces would result into breaking larger particles or droplets into smaller, more uniform which would result into lesser undissolved particles. Zikeli discloses the residence time to be between 5 min to 2 hours which meets the recited claim. However,
Examiner notes that -the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. In re Casey 15? USPO 235. The process of using an apparatus as a recitation is viewed as an intended use and is given no patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2114 Ri - 21415 R2 for further details.
“While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber. 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
Regarding Claim 3 Zikeli discloses the residence time to be between 5 min to 2 hours which meets the recited claim. However, Examiner notes that -the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. Inre Casey 15? USPO 235. The process of using an apparatus as a recitation is viewed as an intended use and is given no patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2114 Ri - 21415 R2 for further details.
“While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber. 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
Regarding Claim 4-5 Examiner notes that composition of the transfer mixture is an intended use, therefore -the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. Inre Casey 15? USPO 235. The process of using an apparatus as a recitation is viewed as an intended use and is given no patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2114 Ri - 21415 R2 for further details.
“While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber. 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997)
Regarding Claim 6, Quigley discloses , wherein the transfer mixture passes at least one preceding transfer organ (Figure 1, screw-21 is passed toa pump-22 before the ejection nozzle-25).
Regarding claims 7, 9 Quigley discloses the transfer mixture is produced from a starting material in a preceding process organ and it’s a thin film evaporator (Figure 1, thin film evaporator-8).
Regarding Claim 8 , Quigley discloses Mixing kneader wherein a machine control monitors the amount of water, cellulose and functional liquid in the composition of the product in all states up to the molding solution (Col 4 line 62-65, motors-6 and 17 control the molding solution flow). Furtjer Zikeli discloses wherein the machine control monitors the composition of the product in all states up to the molding solution over sensors ([0052]).
Regarding Claim 10, Quigley discloses wherein the kneader shaft structures of the mixing kneader are designed without heating cavities (Col 4 line 23-27).
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741