NON-FINAL REJECTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-29 of copending Application No. 18/272,269 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant invention are met as set for and/or obvious in view of the copending claims (see table below).
Instant invention claim
Copending application claim
1
1 and 29
2
1
3
1
4
1
5
3 and 4
6
5
7
7
8
1
9
12 and 13
10
9
11
10
12
11
13
12-14
14
15
15
16
16
21
17
18
18
24
19
1 and 29
20
12 and 13
21
19
22
25 and 26
23
25 and 26
24
27
25
28
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 16-18, and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horowitz et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0137467.
With respect to claims 1 and 22-25, Horowitz teaches a first optical grating (optical grating 221); a second optical grating (optical grating 211) overlapping the first optical grating such that the first optical grating and second optical grating form a Moiré fringe pattern (paragraphs 40-41, figure 2), wherein the second optical grating is displaceable relative to the first optical grating in response to a wall shear stress imparted on the sensor (under shear stress the floating element 110 deflects laterally, paragraph 33, 37), and wherein displacement of the second optical grating correlates with a phase shift in the Moiré fringe pattern (paragraph 46); an incident light source (incident incoherent light, figure 2) configured to (the phrase “configured to” is interpreted as “able to” where there is a lack of structural elements described) sequentially illuminate a plurality of discrete locations distributed across the Moiré fringe pattern (The respective gratings 211 and 221 superimpose to form a Moiré fringe when irradiated by incident light which amplifies the translation of the floating element 215, paragraph 40. Further, the incident incoherent light is interpreted as being able to sequentially illuminate the pattern as the light source is tied to a controlling computer which is able to control the output of the light source, figure 7.); and a photodetector (CCD camera, paragraph 36) configured to (the phrase “configured to” is interpreted as “able to” where there is a lack of structural elements described) detect light intensity reflected from each discrete location on the Moiré fringe pattern (paragraph 36, figure 7). Further, Horowitz teaches wherein the processor is configured to (the phrase “configured to” is interpreted as “able to” where there is a lack of structural elements described): receive a signal from the photodetector indicative of detected light intensity at each discrete location (paragraph 36); analyze the received data to determine a shape and position of the Moiré fringe pattern (paragraph 36); calculate, from the shape and position, a phase shift of the Moiré fringe pattern (paragraph 36); and determine, using the calculated phase shift, a displacement of the second optical grating with respect to the first optical grating and a corresponding wall shear stress imparted on the sensor (paragraphs 33-37).
With respect to claim 2, Horowitz teaches a substrate (support substrate 222) supporting the first optical grating (figure 2).
With respect to claim 3, Horowitz teaches wherein the first optical grating is fixed (figure 2).
With respect to claim 4, Horowitz teaches a floating element (floating element 215) supporting the second optical grating (figure 2).
With respect to claim 5, Horowitz teaches wherein the floating element is configured for translational movement with respect to the substrate (paragraph 30).
With respect to claim 6, Horowitz teaches at least one micro-spring configured to allow translational movement of the floating element with respect to the substrate (the floating element is in an optical path with, such as being suspended over with the first grating and flexibly connected to the substrate with compliant springs, paragraph 30).
With respect to claim 7, Horowitz teaches wherein the micro-spring is a clamped micro-spring or a serpentine micro-spring (springs are interpreted as clamped springs, paragraph 30, figure 2).
With respect to claim 8, Horowitz teaches wherein the first and second optical grating are positioned in the same optical path (figure 2).
With respect to claim 9, Horowitz teaches wherein the incident light source is configured to sequentially illuminate the plurality of discrete locations at a frequency of from 100 Hertz to 500 Megahertz (interpreted the patterns being line scanned at 1khz, paragraph 58)
With respect to claim 10, Horowitz teaches wherein the incident light source is configured to project a focused light spot onto each discrete location (the light is “able to” focus the light, figure 7).
With respect to claim 11, Horowitz teaches wherein the focused light spot is from order 1 micron to order 100 microns in diameter (the light it “able to” project a focused light of the claimed size, figure 7).
With respect to claim 16, Horowitz teaches wherein the photodetector is positioned to directly receive light reflected from the plurality of discrete locations on the Moiré fringe pattern (figure 7).
With respect to claim 17, Horowitz teaches wherein an output from the photodetector is indicative of detected light intensity (paragraph 36).
With respect to claim 18, Horowitz teaches wherein the wall shear stress sensor is a micro-electro-mechanical-system wall shear stress sensor (paragraph 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horowitz et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0137467 in view of Johansen et al. 2017/0016931.
With respect to claims 12-15 and 19-21, Horowitz teaches a first optical grating (optical grating 211); a second optical grating (optical grating 221) overlapping the first optical grating such that the first optical grating and second optical grating form a first Moiré fringe pattern (paragraphs 40-41, figure 2), wherein the second optical grating is displaceable relative to the first optical grating in response to a wall shear stress imparted on the sensor (under shear stress the floating element 110 deflects laterally, paragraph 33, 37), and wherein displacement of the second optical grating correlates with a phase shift in the first Moiré fringe pattern (paragraph 46); an incident light source (incident incoherent light, figure 2) configured to (the phrase “configured to” is interpreted as “able to” where there is a lack of structural elements described) sequentially illuminate a plurality of discrete locations distributed across the first Moiré fringe pattern (The respective gratings 211 and 221 superimpose to form a Moiré fringe when irradiated by incident light which amplifies the translation of the floating element 215, paragraph 40. Further, the incident incoherent light is interpreted as being able to sequentially illuminate the pattern as the light source is tied to a controlling computer which is able to control the output of the light source, figure 7.); and a first photodetector (CCD camera, paragraph 36) configured to (the phrase “configured to” is interpreted as “able to” where there is a lack of structural elements described) detect light intensity reflected from each discrete location on the first Moiré fringe pattern (paragraph 36, figure 7).
Horowitz fails to teach a third optical grating, and a fourth optical grating overlapping the third optical grating such that the third optical grating and fourth optical grating form a second Moiré fringe pattern; wherein the third optical grating is displaceable relative to the fourth optical grating in a second direction, and wherein displacement of the fourth optical grating correlates with a phase shift in the second Moiré fringe pattern; an incident light source configured to sequentially illuminate a plurality of discrete locations distributed across each of the second Moiré fringe patterns; and a second photodetector configured to detect light intensity reflected from each discrete location on the second Moiré fringe pattern, wherein the incident light source comprises a plurality of light sources, each light source configured to illuminate one of the plurality of discrete locations distributed across the Moiré fringe pattern, wherein the incident light source further comprises a fibre optic cable extending from each light source to direct light towards a corresponding discrete location on the Moiré fringe pattern, and wherein the incident light source further comprises at least one optical lens positioned between the plurality of light sources and the Moiré fringe pattern and configured to focus light from the plurality of light sources onto the plurality of discrete locations.
Johansen teaches a displacement sensor device where one photodetector adapted to measure the light intensity diffracted in one or several diffraction orders giving a measurement of the position of a surface relative to the other in a direction in-plane with the two surfaces, where the light to from a lightsource and photodectors may be transmitted through at least one optical fibers, and at least two light sources may be used to illuminate each diffraction patter pair in order to cancel fluctuation in illumination intensity (paragraph 128), and one or several optical fibers for collection of the optical signals, and the system can be designed so that the diffractive patterns send signals with different wavelengths to a common optical fiber, which then allows separation of these optical signals (the optical fiber being used for the light source and detectors, paragraph 46 and 115). Further, Johansen ’31 teaches a point light source (such as VCSEL) and a photodetector placed so that light diffracted in the −1st order is focused onto, making possible a high throughput without the use of additional components such as lenses (interpreted as focuses light, paragraph 38).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify sensor device of Horowitz and provide several diffraction order patterns that are illuminated and detected with an additional light sources having lens and photodetectors as taught by Johansen because the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (MPEP 2144.04) and to provide a more accurate shear stress sensing system.
Conclusion
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 5/26/2026