DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 4/24/26 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Janardhan (US 20190295304 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Janardhan discloses a method of controlling an electronic device ([0001]), the method comprising:
predicting a virtual smoke implementation timepoint by monitoring a distance between one side of the electronic device and an object (The simulation device 300 receives and/or detects drawing information from the various sensors corresponding to the operation of the e-vaping device 200. [0011], [0144]. The 3D spatial position of the simulation device 300 is determined using an external camera(s) and/or gyroscopes, accelerometers, and other position-related sensors. [0146]. Spatial position information is determined corresponding to a time when ejection of drawn vapor occurred and a time subsequent to when the ejection of the drawn vapor occurred. [0015]); and
transmitting a control signal comprising the virtual smoke implementation timepoint to a device for displaying a virtual image (The device processor generates a vaping simulation on the headset corresponding to the determination of drawn vapor. [0015]-[0017]. The simulation device 300 and/or vapor simulator 500 may analyze collected data to determine vapor ejection operation, such as a start and end time of the ejection of the vapor. [0147]).
Regarding Claim 2, Janardhan discloses a method of controlling an electronic device wherein the predicting of the virtual smoke implementation timepoint comprises:
detecting a first timepoint at which the distance between the one side of the electronic device and the object reaches within a first threshold value (The determined spatial position information includes information of the inhalation device relative to the user and corresponding to a time of ejection of drawn vapor. [0047]); and
detecting a second timepoint at which the distance between the one side of the electronic device and the object exceeds a second threshold value, after the first timepoint (The determined spatial position information includes information corresponding to a time subsequent to the ejection of the drawn vapor. [0047]. The simulation generates the vaping simulation using a particle engine based on the calculated vapor model and the calculated virtual coordinate information. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 3, Janardhan discloses a method of controlling an electronic device wherein the predicting of the virtual smoke implementation timepoint comprises predicting the virtual smoke implementation timepoint based on an interval between the first timepoint and the second timepoint (The model generates a vaping simulation based on the determined vaping characteristics, such as the time of ejection of drawn vapor and time subsequent to ejection of vapor. [0047], [0053]. "The generated 3D vapor particle model is then overlaid and/or projected onto the adult vaper's environment using the AR glasses as a 2D or 3D image on the AR glasses in real-time, with real-time and/or static modeling of the generated vapor particles and/or generated ejected vapor cloud" [0168]).
Regarding Claim 4, Janardhan discloses a method of controlling an electronic device wherein the predicting of the virtual smoke implementation timepoint comprises:
predicting a first respiration time based on the interval between the first timepoint and the second timepoint (The determined spatial position information includes information of the inhalation device relative to the user and corresponding to a time of ejection of drawn vapor. [0047]);
predicting a timepoint of second respiration based on the interval between the first timepoint and the second timepoint and the first respiration time (The determined spatial position information includes information corresponding to a time subsequent to the ejection of the drawn vapor. [0047]); and
determining the timepoint of second respiration to be the virtual smoke implementation timepoint (The simulation generates the vaping simulation using a particle engine based on the calculated vapor model and the calculated virtual coordinate information. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 5, Janardhan discloses a method of controlling an electronic device
wherein the predicting of the virtual smoke implementation timepoint comprises estimating an intake volume and a respiration volume of a user based on the interval between the first timepoint and the second timepoint (The e-vaping device 200 may determine the start and stop time of a drawing of vapor from the e-vaping device 200 and the volume of vapor flow. [0144]),
wherein the intake volume comprises an intake volume of an aerosol that is inhaled by the user through the electronic device in a state in which the electronic device and the object are in contact (The spatial position sensors may be used to determine the volume of vapor inhaled based on proximity of the inhalation device to the user. [0146]-[0147]), and
the respiration volume comprises an inspiration volume inhaled by the user in a state in which the electronic device and the object are not in contact (The spatial position sensors may be used to determine the volume of vapor exhaled based on proximity of the inhalation device to the user and the time between inhale and exhale. [0146]-[0147]).
Regarding Claim 6, Janardhan discloses a method of controlling an electronic device wherein the predicting of the virtual smoke implementation timepoint comprises predicting the virtual smoke implementation timepoint based on the intake volume and the respiration volume (The volume of inhaled/exhaled vapor may be used to determine the simulated vapor to be generated. [0146]-[0147]).
Regarding Claim 7, Janardhan discloses a method of controlling an electronic device wherein the predicting of the virtual smoke implementation timepoint comprises:
determining whether the electronic device satisfies a predetermined operating condition (The user may create a profile comprising personal preferences including simulation systems profiles, thus creating predetermined operating conditions. [0133]); and
predicting the virtual smoke implementation timepoint based on a determination that the electronic device satisfies the operating condition (The user profile settings defining predetermined operating conditions may be used in the vapor simulation determination and/or calculation. [0142]).
Regarding Claim 8, Janardhan discloses a method of controlling an electronic device wherein the operating condition comprises at least one of whether the electronic device is powered on/off and whether a suction sensor included in the electronic device operates (Generated vapor flow volume may be determined using a flow sensor; and a user may determine operation of the device through the on/off button. [0087]).
Regarding Claim 9, Janardhan discloses a method of controlling an electronic device wherein the transmitting of the control signal to the device for displaying a virtual image comprises:
transmitting information about a type of virtual smoke (the device may transmit the vapor simulator routine 521 and/or a particle generator routine 522. [0100]. "Once the vaping characteristics of the ejected vapor have been calculated, the computing device transmits the vaping characteristics to the particle generator 322 (e.g., operation S506 of FIG. 5A) to determine the vapor particle characteristics for the 3D image vapor particle model." [0162]); and
transmitting information about a delay in communication between the electronic device and the device for displaying a virtual image ("The 3D vapor simulator 321 may use the results of one or more of these vapor parameters may (in real-time) to determine the vapor characteristics as a function of time and/or distance, and/or subject to other variables…" [0166]. Such other variables may include considering a delay in communication necessary to accurately render a virtual image in real-time. [100]-[0101], [0164]-[0170]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12100070 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a method of controlling an electronic device comprising all the elements of rejected Claim 1. The claims differ in that, conflicting Claim 1 further incorporates the elements of rejected Claim 2, which were amended into Claim 1 during prosecution of U.S. Patent No. US 12100070 B1. Therefore, all the elements of rejected Claim 1 are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY A. BUCKMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755