DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application, Amendments, and/or Claims
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 13 July 2023 has been entered. Applicant’s amendment of the claims filed 10 April 2026 has been entered.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 10 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-17 are pending. Claim 17 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-16 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Sequence Rules Compliance
The instant application is not fully compliant with the sequence rules, 37 CFR 1.821-1,825, because each disclosure of a sequence embraced by the definitions set forth in the rules is not accompanied by the required reference to the relevant sequence identifier (i.e., SEQ ID NO). This occurs in the specification at page 7, line 28 through page 8, line 6. Compliance with the sequence rules is required.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the informalities:
It is suggested to use the term “A urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor (uPAR)-targeting conjugate” in claim 1, and then use the term “the uPAR-targeting conjugate” thereafter.
In claim 1, the phrase “said linker group either being part of the molecule binding to the receptor or being a separate component of the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor- targeting conjugate” should be “said linker group either being part of the molecule binding to the receptor or being a separate component”.
In claims 1-2, 7 and 13, the term “tumor-to-background ratio TBR” should be “tumor-to-background ratio (TBR)”.
In claim 4, “a biological half-life in a human” should be “a half-life in a human”.
In claim 5, it is suggested to amend the claim to recite: “The urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate according to claim 1, wherein the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate has a maximum plasma half-life of 75 hours.”
In claim 7, it is suggested to amend the claim to recite: “The urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate according to claim 1, wherein a peak animal tumor-to-background ratio (TBR) after administration is at least 3.”
In claim 8, it is suggested to amend the claim to recite: “The urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate according to claim 1, wherein the binding of the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate to an urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor has a binding constant KD at a maximum of 2,500 nM.”
In claim 9, it is suggested to amend the claim to recite: “The urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate according to claim 1, wherein the binding of the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate to an urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor has an on-rate (Kon) >1 x 103 M-1s-1 and/or an off-rate (Koff) < 1 x 10-1s-1.”
In claim 10, it is suggested to amend the claim to recite: “The urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate according to claim 9, wherein the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate has a Kon that is equal to or higher than the Kon of a natural urokinase Plasminogen Activator (uPA), and the Kon of the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate is ≥ 4.6 x 106 M-1s-1.”
In claim 11, it is suggested to amend the claim to recite: “The urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate according to claim 1, wherein the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate displaces a natural urokinase Plasminogen Activator binding to an urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor with IC50 at a maximum value of 1,000 nM.”
In claim 13, it is suggested to amend the claim to recite: “…wherein the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate has a maximum plasma half-life of 15 hours, wherein the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate has a Kon that is equal to or higher than the Kon of a natural urokinase Plasminogen Activator (uPA), and the Kon of the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate is ≥ 4.6 x 106 M-1s-1…”.
In claim 16, “human urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor uPAR” should be “human urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 13 use the word “implying”, which renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the “implying” are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 recites “A urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate comprising: a fluorophore; a molecule binding to the receptor; and a linker group which covalently links the fluorophore to the molecule binding to the receptor, said linker group either being part of the molecule binding to the receptor or being a separate component of the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate; wherein the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate has a pharmacokinetic profile where a human tumor-to-background ratio TBR of at least 1.1 is reached within 3.5 hours post administration and where the human tumor-to-background ratio TBR of at least 1.5 is maintained at least 30 minutes before decreasing below 1.5, and wherein the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate is a human urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate.” Depending claims further require that the urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor-targeting conjugate exhibits various properties, including molecular weight, in vivo half-life, KD, Kon, Koff, IC50, and in vivo sensitivity for detection of cancer tissue.
The claims encompass a genus of urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor (uPAR)-targeting conjugates; however, the specification fails to provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of these conjugate molecules that exhibit the properties as recited in the claims. What Applicant has described in the specification are the fluorophore ICG-conjugated uPAR-targeting peptide AE105 (compound example 1), and the fluorophore IRDye800CW-conjugated uPAR-targeting peptide AE344 (compound example 2). The specification discloses that both compounds exhibit a pharmacokinetic profile as recited in the claims. The specification, however, does not teach the structural characteristics of the genus of uPAR-targeting conjugates that exhibit the pharmacokinetic profile required by the claims. The claims, as written, encompass uPAR-targeting conjugates made from a combination of any uPAR-targeting moiety (e.g., an antibody, a protein, a peptide, a small molecule, etc.), any fluorophore, and any linker group. The specification does not show evidence that the broadly claimed uPAR-targeting conjugates would exhibit the pharmacokinetic profile, such as reaching a tumor-to-background ratio (TBR) of 1.1 within 3.5 hours post administration and maintaining TBR at least 1.5 for at least 30 minutes. Mateusiak et al. (Adv. Sci., 2024, Vol. 11:2400700) teaches generation of pan-cancer anti-uPAR nanobodies (Nbs) labeled with a fluorophore (s775z) via amine-reactive conjugation for use in image-guided surgery. Mateusiak et al. teaches that the Nbs showed dramatically difference in binding affinities (see, e.g., Figure 1). Mateusiak et al. teaches that extensive in vitro characterization and in vivo testing were conducted to assess their pharmacokinetics and select lead compounds (see Abstract). It is unpredictable what properties and pharmacokinetic profile a uPAR-targeting conjugate would have without extensive in vitro and in vivo testing. In the absence of sufficient description of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed structures of the encompassed genus of uPAR-targeting conjugates as claimed.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making of the claimed product, or any combination thereof. In this case, there is no sufficient teachings regarding the structural characteristics of the genus, nor the correlation of structure to function. Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116). As discussed above, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed structures of the encompassed genus of molecules, and therefore, conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that is part of the invention and reference to a method of isolating it. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483. In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF’s were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Therefore, only the fluorophore ICG-conjugated uPAR-targeting peptide AE105 and the fluorophore IRDye800CW-conjugated uPAR-targeting peptide AE344, but not the full scope of the claimed uPAR-targeting conjugates, are adequately described in the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Juhl et al. (PLoS ONE, 2016, Vol. 11(2): e0147428).
Juhl teaches a conjugate formed from the fluorophore “indocyanine green (ICG)” and the uPAR agonist “AE105”. Juhl teaches that the conjugate (ICG-Glu-Glu-AE105) provides an optical imaging ligand with sufficiently high receptor affinity to allow for a specific receptor targeting in vivo (see Abstract). The conjugate taught by Juhl meets all structural requirements as recited in claim 1. Regarding the properties recited in the instant claims, the conjugate of Juhl inherently possesses these properties because it has the same structure. A compound and all of its properties are inseparable (In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963)), as are their processes and yields (In re Von Schickh, 362 F.2d 821, 150 USPQ 300 (CCPA 1966)).
Therefore, Juhl anticipates the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
1) claims 1, 28-29, 42 and 49 of copending Application No. 17/625,937;
2) claims 1, 11, 29, 31 and 32 of copending Application No. 17/792,336; and
3) claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/395,728.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims of the ‘937, ‘336, and ‘728 applications recite a urokinase Plasminogen Activator Receptor (uPAR)-targeting conjugate comprising: a fluorophore; a molecule binding to uPAR; and a linker group which covalently links the fluorophore to the molecule binding to uPAR, or the conjugate ICG-Glu-Glu-AE105. The uPAR-targeting conjugate claimed in the ‘937, ‘336, and ‘728 applications have the same structure as that claimed in the present application, and therefore expressly and inherently anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
NO CLAIM IS ALLOWED.
/XIAOZHEN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1674