Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marciano et al (US 20160023143; hereinafter Marciano) in view of JP 2003210912 (hereinafter JP ‘912).
As regarding claim 1, Marciano discloses the claimed invention for a filter container system comprising: a filter cartridge (114) including a filter (132) for filtering a fluid, the filter having a flow path having cylindrical shape between a first opening at one end of the filter and a second opening at another end of the filter; a filter container (112) in which the filter cartridge is detachably set inside of the filter container ([0029], [0034]-[0036], fig. 4 and 10).
Marciano does not disclose the filter container having an air-bleeding mechanism at an upper side of the filter container. JP ‘912 teaches the filter container having an air-bleeding mechanism (annotated fig. 2) at an upper side of the filter container ([0029]). Both Marciano and JP ‘912 are both directed to filter cartridge. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the filter container having an air-bleeding mechanism at an upper side of the filter container as taught by JP ‘912 in order to appropriately vent gas accumulated in the filter vessel (112); in turn, enhance filter container system performance.
Marciano as modified discloses a partition (upper portion of filter 110 in fig. 4) contacting with the filter cartridge and the inside of the filter container, the partition causes a formation of an air-bleeding chamber (JP ‘912 - 53) communicating with an air-bleeding opening of the air-bleeding mechanism; and a pipe (142) extending in a vertical direction, to communicate with an inside of the filter cartridge, wherein the filter container has a set-in state in which the filter cartridge is set in the inside of the filter container, wherein in the set-in state, the pipe extends into the inside of the flow path to have a gap flow path (fig. 4; no number) between the inside of the flow path and the pipe (142) so that one end of the pipe reaches to the air-bleeding chamber, the partition contacts with the end of the filter, and the air-bleeding chamber fluidly communicate only with the gap flow path, the pipe and air-bleeding opening, wherein in the set-in state, the filter container system is configured to define a flow path is defined so that the fluid flows from an inlet (JP ‘912 - 21) of bottom of the filter container, the fluid flows into the gap flow path and reaches the air-bleeding chamber through the filter from an outer surface of the filter, and the fluid is discharged out through a discharge outlet (120; JP ‘912 - 33) of the bottom of the filter container through the pipe from the air-bleeding chamber.
As regarding claim 3, Marciano as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Marciano as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the partition (upper portion of filter 110 in fig. 4) is configured to extend from an inside surface of the upper side of the filter container so that the formation of the air-bleeding chamber (JP ‘912 - 53) is caused by bringing an end of the partition into contact with the end of the filter cartridge.
As regarding claim 4, Marciano as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Marciano as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the partition (upper portion of filter 110 in fig. 4) is configured to extend from an end of the filter cartridge so that the formation of the air-bleeding chamber (JP ‘912 - 53 in figs. 1-2) is caused by bringing an end of the partition into contact with an inside surface of the upper side of the filter container.
As regarding claim 5, Marciano as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Marciano as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the pipe (311) is fixed onto (via 313 of fig. 11) the filter cartridge (314).
As regarding claim 6, Marciano as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Marciano as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the pipe is fixed onto the filter container (JP ‘912 - lower ‘portion’ that connects to components 57, 59, 61 and 63 in fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Marciano fails to disclose an air vent room at a turn-back portion and that JP '912 fails to disclose the claimed gap flow path and turn-back portion. However, this argument improperly attacks the references individually rather than the combination. The rejection relies on Marciano for the claimed filter cartridge, pipe, gap flow path, and resulting upward/downward flow configuration, and relies on JP '912 solely for teaching an air-bleeding chamber/opening at the upper portion of a filter container. The test for obviousness is what the combined teachings would have suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant further argues that the claimed turn-back portion naturally separates air from fluid and that neither reference teaches such operation. However, claim 1 does not recite any particular air-separation mechanism, "natural" separation process, or performance characteristic. Patentability cannot be predicated on unclaimed functional advantages. The rejection addresses the claimed structural limitations, which are met by the proposed combination.
Applicant's assertion that JP '912 cannot be properly incorporated into Marciano is unsupported. JP '912 merely teaches providing an air-bleeding chamber/opening at the upper portion of a filter housing to vent accumulated gas. Incorporating this known venting feature into Marciano's filter container would have been a straightforward modification that does not alter Marciano's basic filtration structure or principle of operation. No structural incompatibility or inoperability has been identified.
Applicant's argument that the references fail to teach an air vent room at a turn-back portion is likewise unpersuasive. Marciano already discloses a flow path in which fluid travels upward and then changes direction before entering the outlet pipe. When JP '912's upper air-bleeding chamber is incorporated into Marciano as proposed, the chamber would necessarily be located in the upper region where gas accumulates and where the flow changes direction, thereby satisfying the claimed arrangement.
Applicant's teaching-away argument is also not persuasive. Marciano's disclosure that gas may be discharged with the fluid does not criticize, discredit, or discourage the use of an air-bleeding chamber. At most, Marciano discloses an alternative gas-management approach. A reference does not teach away merely because it describes a different embodiment or preferred design. Nothing in Marciano suggests that venting accumulated gas through an upper air-bleeding chamber would be undesirable or inoperable.
Therefore, the combination of Marciano and JP '912 remains proper, and Applicant has not identified any claimed limitation that is absent from the combined teachings nor any technical reason why the proposed modification would not have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 is maintained.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773