DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Objections and Rejections
All rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernsmeier (EP 3363538A1) in view of Jung (US 2019/0211464), as evidenced by Wikipedia for boiling point of THF and by Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia for the term “alkoxides, metal.”
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Bernsmeier teaches a method for producing a catalyst ([Abstract]: a method of preparing a mesoporous carbon composite material)-coated three-dimensionally structured electrode ([Abstract]: to a substrate comprising a film of such mesoporous carbon composite; ¶19: as a catalyst for preparing electrodes) comprising:
a) making available a substrate (¶5: to a substrate);
b) producing a suspension comprising a micelle-forming template capable of self-arrangement, a metal precursor and a solvent (¶4: step a): a solution of carbon composite precursors comprising a structure directing agent capable of forming micelles; step b) to polymerize to form a dispersion of polymer; step d): mixing said polymer and preformed metal nanoparticles to be dispersed in a second solvent);
c) applying the suspension to the substrate, so that a suspension film forms on the substrate (¶51: applying the coating solution on the metal substrate to form a catalyst layer);
d) drying the suspension film on the substrate at a temperature T1, wherein drying comprises evaporating the solvent and obtaining a layer of a catalyst pre-stage with integrated template structures (¶4: step e): stabilizing the mixture of step d) by subjecting it to a stabilization hat treatment in the range of from 80 ⁰C to 120 ⁰C; ¶37: said second solvent is preferably tetrahydrofuran (THF), which has a boiling point at 66 ⁰C, as evidenced by Wikipedia, and thus the solvent would be evaporated; however, this temperature would not high enough for carbonization the template, i.e., the polymer, as described below); and
e) thermally treating the substrate, comprising the layer of the catalyst pre-stage, at a second temperature T2 a calcinating time t2 (¶87: heat-treated at 500 ⁰C for 10 minutes), wherein the micelle-forming template is removed and a mesoporous catalyst coating having an ordered-nano-structure with linked pores forms (¶4: step f): subjecting the product of step e) to a carbonization heat treatment in the range of from 500 ⁰C to 1000 ⁰C; here, the carbonization heat treatment must last for a time to remove the polymer; Fig. 1: indicating the formed mesoporous film after carbonization has an ordered-nano-structure with linked pores form; ¶23: the term “mesoporous” used to refer to the presence of pores the average diameter of which is in the range from 2 nm – 50 nm; ¶53: ordered mesoporous carbon (OMC); such film shows a high degree of pore ordering).
Bernsmeier does not disclose the substrate is a three-dimensionally structured metal (claim 1) or wherein the three-dimensionally structured metal substrate in the applying step includes a net, foam, grid, strainer, fabric and/or mesh (claim 3).
However, Jung teaches a preparation method of an electrode (¶2) including a metal substrate and a catalyst layer formed on the metal substrate (¶14). For example, a porous substrate such as a mesh, a nonwoven metal fabric, a metal foam, a porous punching plate, a braided metal, and expanded metal, or the like (¶43), which is deemed to be a three-dimensionally structured metal substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bernsmeier by substituting the substrate with the one as recited three-dimensionally structure metal as taught by Jung. The suggestion for doing so would have been that metal is a suitable material for being an electrode substrate with appropriate substrate conformation, e.g., three-dimensionally structured, and the selection of a known material with appropriate conformation, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.07. Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claims 4 and 15-16, Bernsmeier and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 1. Bernsmeier and Jung do not disclose wherein the temperature T2 is in a range between 200 ⁰C and 1000 ⁰C, and the calcinating time t2 in arrange between 1 minute and 1440 minutes (claim 4) or wherein the temperature T2 is in a range between 300 ⁰C and 800 ⁰C (claim 15) or wherein the calcinating time t2 in arrange between 10 minute and 120 minutes (claim 16).
However, Bernsmeier further discloses the temperature T2 is from 500 ⁰C to 1000 ⁰C, which overlaps the recited temperature ranges in claims 4 and 15, and the carbonization heat treatment step is performed for a time period in the range of from 5 minutes to 240 minutes (¶46), which overlaps the recited time ranges in claims 4 and 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bernsmeier and Jung by heating for the carbonization step at a temperature T2 within the claimed temperature range for a time t2 within the claimed time range because they are appropriate conditions for carbonization to obtain a mesoporous carbon composite film on the electrode. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, Bernsmeier and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 1. Bernsmeier and Jung do not disclose wherein the temperature T1 ranges from 18 ⁰C to 250 ⁰C.
However, Bernsmeier discloses the stabilization heat treatment in the range of from 80 ⁰C to 120 ⁰C (¶4: step e)), which overlaps the recited temperature T1 range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bernsmeier and Jung by heating for the stabilization step at a temperature T1 within the claimed temperature range because it is an appropriate temperature for stabilization to obtain a mesoporous carbon composite film on the electrode. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 6-7, Bernsmeier teaches wherein the suspension comprises at least one amphiphilic block copolymer (¶¶7-8), wherein the at least one amphiphilic block copolymer is PEO-b-PPO-b-PEO (¶20).
Regarding claim 8, Bernsmeier teaches wherein the metal precursor comprises a metal salt (¶42).
Regarding claim 9, Bernsmeier teaches wherein the metal salts are metal alkoxide (¶42: alcoholates of metals; here metal alkoxides are metal alcoholates, as evidenced by Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia, p. 1, ¶2).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Bernsmeier teaches wherein the metal precursor comprises a metal selected from transition metals (¶42: transition metals of Periodic Table groups 6-11) and wherein the transition metals consist of cobalt (¶42: Co).
Regarding claim 11, Bernsmeier teaches wherein the solvent used is tetrahydrofuran (¶37: THF).
Regarding claims 12-13, Bernsmeier teaches an electrode (¶19: as a catalyst for preparing electrodes) for an electrochemical cell (this preamble is deemed to be a statement with regard to the intended use and are not further limiting in so far as the structure of the product is concerned. In article claims, a claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP § 2111.02(II)), comprising: a substrate (¶5: to a substrate) and a nano-structured mesoporous catalyst coating thereon ([Abstract]: to a substrate comprising a film of such mesoporous carbon composite).
Bernsmeier does not disclose the substrate is a three-dimensionally structured metal (claim 12) or wherein the three-dimensionally structured metal substrate in the applying step includes a net, foam, grid, strainer, fabric or mesh of mixtures of two of more thereof (claim 13).
However, Jung teaches a preparation method of an electrode (¶2) including a metal substrate and a catalyst layer formed on the metal substrate (¶14). For example, a porous substrate such as a mesh, a nonwoven metal fabric, a metal foam, a porous punching plate, a braided metal, and expanded metal, or the like (¶43), which is deemed to be a three-dimensionally structured metal substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bernsmeier by substituting the substrate with the one as recited three-dimensionally structure metal as taught by Jung. The suggestion for doing so would have been that metal is a suitable material for being an electrode substrate with appropriate substrate conformation, e.g., three-dimensionally structured, and the selection of a known material with appropriate conformation, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.07. Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 14, Bernsmeier in view of Jung teaches an electrode according to the claim 12 (as described in claim 12).
Bernsmeier and Jung do not disclose an electrochemical cell.
However, Bernsmeier teaches electrochemical characterizations show that the composites in accordance with the present invention have an outstanding catalytic activity, for example in the hydrogen evolution reaction (HER) (¶54). Here, the HER occurs in an electrochemical cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bernsmeier and Jung by incorporating the electrode into an electrochemical cell as suggested for provide outstanding catalytic activity for hydrogen evolution reaction. Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 18, Bernsmeier and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 11. Bernsmeier further discloses the second solvent is a cyclic ether with 4-6 C-atoms, and in a preferred embodiment, THF (¶37).
Bernsmeier does not disclose wherein the solvent is a mixture of at least two of methanol, ethanol, formamide and tetrahydrofuran.
However, Jung teaches wherein the solvent is a mixture of at least two of methanol, ethanol, formamide and tetrahydrofuran (¶66: the organic solvent can be an alcohol-based solvent, a glycol ether-based solvent, or a combination thereof; ¶67: the alcohol-based solvent is methanol; ¶68: the glycol ether-based solvent is 2-ethyoxyethanol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bernsmeier by substituting the solvent THF with one mixture solvent, e.g., a combined alcohol-based solvent of methanol and ethanol, as taught by Jung. The suggestion for doing so would have been that the mixture solvent is a suitable material for making coating solution and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 19, Bernsmeier teaches an electrode comprising a substrate and a nano-structured mesoporous catalyst coating ([Abstract]: to a substrate comprising a film of such mesoporous carbon composite; ¶19: as a catalyst for preparing electrodes), wherein the electrode is produced according to the method of claim 1 (as described in claim 1).
Bernsmeier does not disclose the substrate is a three-dimensionally structured metal.
However, Jung teaches a preparation method of an electrode (¶2) including a metal substrate and a catalyst layer formed on the metal substrate (¶14). For example, a porous substrate such as a mesh, a nonwoven metal fabric, a metal foam, a porous punching plate, a braided metal, and expanded metal, or the like (¶43), which is deemed to be a three-dimensionally structured metal substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bernsmeier by substituting the substrate with the one as recited three-dimensionally structure metal as taught by Jung. The suggestion for doing so would have been that metal is a suitable material for being an electrode substrate with appropriate substrate conformation, e.g., three-dimensionally structured, and the selection of a known material with appropriate conformation, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.07. Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernsmeier in view of Jung, and further in view of Mizuta (US 6,183,554).
Regarding claim 2, Bernsmeier and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 1. Bernsmeier further discloses the application of the film may occur by any suitable method, such as spray coating, dip coating, doctor blading, Langmuir-Blodgett-techniques, casting, in particular drop casting, spin coating, bar coating, and other comparable techniques (¶53). Jung further discloses the coating solution was brush-coated on the metal mesh as the applying step (¶87). Bernsmeier and Jung fail to teach wherein the applying step includes using an immersion coating technique to apply the suspension.
However, Mizuta teaches an applying step of coating solution can be carried out by known methods, such as by immersion, spraying, brush coating or spin coating (col. 2, ll. 61-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bernsmeier and Jung by substituting the coating method with immersion coating as taught by Mizuta because it is well-known in the art and the substitution of one known element for another would yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2141(III)(B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the prior art, Bernsmeier, is now relied on to teach the recited method in claim 1 and the apparatuses in claim 12-14.
Applicant argues Mizuta teaches away from the claimed invention because its concept is directed to suppressing the very porosity that amended claim 1 requires (Response, p. 3, ¶5). This argument is unpersuasive because Bernsmeier in view of Jung teaches all limitations of claim 1, and Mizuta is merely relied on to teach the immersion coating technique is one suitable method compared to other comparable techniques, such as spray coating, dip coating, drop casting as disclosed by Bernsmeier or brush-coating as disclosed by Jung. Here, the substitution of one known element for another would yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2141(III)(B).
Conclusion
/C. SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795