DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A-1 (Figs. 1-3), B-1 (Fig. 6), and C-1 (Fig. 16) in the reply filed on 02/18/2026 is acknowledged.
It is noted that claims 5, 7, 18, and 19 recites “the covering material has the concave portion and the convex portion on the surface facing the heat-insulating material” and Applicant elected Species A-1 drawn to the embodiment disclosed in Figs. 1-3. In Figs. 1-3 the covering material (A12) is flat and contains no concave portion and convex portions. Concave and convex portions are shown in Fig. 4 (A2), for example, wherein the covering material has the concave portion and the convex portion ([0125]-[0129], see US 20240088484 A1, which is the publication of the instant application). Therefore, claims 5-8 and 18-19 are withdrawn as not being drawn to Species A-1.
It is noted that claim 15 recites “the covering material completely covers the heat-insulating material” and Applicant elected Species A-1 drawn to the embodiment disclosed in Figs. 1-3. In Figs. 1-3 the covering material (A12) does not cover the end portions of the heat insulating material (A11). Contrastingly in Fig. 11 the covering material completely covers the heat insulating material as noted in paragraph [0070] in US 20240088484 A1. Therefore, claim 15 is withdrawn as not being drawn to Species A-1.
Therefore, claims 5-9 and 15-20 are withdrawn from consideration because these claims are drawn to Species A-2 through A-10 and Species B-2 through B-11 and Species C3 and Species C-4.
Species A-1, B-1, and C-1 are drawn to claims 1-4 and 10-14.
Claims 5-9 and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species A-2 through A-10 and Species B-2 through B-11 and Species C3 and Species C-4, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “the heat-insulating material is bonded to the covering material, or the covering material comprises two or more covering material portions that are bonded to each other with an adhesive that melts at a temperature of 60°C or more, and adhesives having different melting temperatures are used as the adhesive in regions such that the adhesives melt stepwise in the regions as the temperature rises.” It is unclear if the heat-insulating material and the covering material are bonded with an adhesive that melts at a temperature of 60°C or more, and adhesives having different melting temperatures are used as the adhesive in regions such that the adhesives melt stepwise in the regions as the temperature rises or if only the two or more covering material portions are bonded with an adhesive that melts at a temperature of 60°C or more, and adhesives having different melting temperatures are used as the adhesive in regions such that the adhesives melt stepwise in the regions. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites “the heat-insulating material is bonded to the covering material, or the covering material comprises two or more covering material portions that are bonded to each other with an adhesive that melts at a temperature of 60°C or more, and the adhesive is applied to regions in different application amounts such that the adhesive melts stepwise in the regions as the temperature rises.” It is unclear if the heat-insulating material and the covering material are bonded with an adhesive that melts at a temperature of 60°C or more, and the adhesive is applied to regions in different application amounts such that the adhesive melts stepwise in the regions as the temperature rises or if only two or more covering material portions are bonded with an adhesive that melts at a temperature of 60°C or more, and the adhesive is applied to regions in different application amounts such that the adhesive melts stepwise in the regions as the temperature rises. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20110159340 A1) in view of Takahashi (JP 2019204636 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 1-3, and 14, Hu discloses a heat transfer suppression sheet (see Figs. 3B, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, Fig. 18, 320, 410, 1002,1810 [0037]) for a battery pack, the heat transfer suppression sheet being used in a battery pack in which battery cells are connected in series or in parallel ([0033]), and being interposed between the battery cells (302 [0043], 1000a-g [0066], the heat transfer suppression sheet comprising (see Figs. 3B, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, Fig. 18):
a heat-insulating material (214 [0037]-[0039], see analogous layers in other figures noted) containing at least one of inorganic particles or inorganic fibers (ceramic powder [0039]); and
a covering material (212) covering at least a part of the heat-insulating material.
However, Hu does not disclose wherein a gap is formed between the heat-insulating material and the covering material.
Takahashi discloses a heat insulating material sheet (10) between battery cells which has convex and concave portions (22 [0035]) which increases surface area so that the effectiveness of the heat insulating properties is further increased ([0019]-[0022],see Figs. 1-4, note both surfaces can have concave convex features [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the heat insulating material layer of Hu to have concave and convex portions on either or both outer surfaces as disclosed by Takahashi so that the effectiveness of the heat insulating properties is further increased.
Regarding claim 4, modified Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Hu discloses that the convex portion (modification above) of the heat-insulating material is bonded to the covering material ([0044]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Hu discloses that the covering material does not cover the edge portions of the heat-insulating material and therefore the gap thermally communicates with the outside of the heat-insulating material and the covering material by discharging heat through the covering material and the uncovered ends (see Figs. 3B, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, Fig. 18, 320, 410, 1002,1810). In addition, Hu discloses that the covering material (212) can be formed a polymer composite ([0039]) and a polymer will have a melting point. At the melting point of the covering material the gap will communicate with the outside.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20110159340 A1) in view of Takahashi (JP 2019204636 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-4, 10, and 14 above and in further view of Yoon (US 20210320345 A1).
Regarding claims 11, modified Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu discloses that the covering material (212) can be formed of an ceramic filled polymer ([0039]).
However, Hu does not disclose the gap is sealed at a temperature of less than 60°C and that the covering material is configured such that a communication opening that allows the gap to communicate with the outside of the covering material is formed at a temperature of 60°C or more.
Yoon discloses a heat suppression sheet that comprises a heat insulating material (121) which has gaps (121c, through holes [0151]) which are filled with covering phase changing material (122) ([0051]-[0057]) and that having these through holes filled with phase changing material allows for a battery failure or damage event that may be caused in the battery cell by the heat, may be delayed, prevented, and/or reduced by the fire extinguishing agent ([0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the heat insulating material layer of Hu by including filling the gaps with PCM as disclosed by Yoon because this allows for a battery failure or damage event that may be caused in the battery cell by the heat, may be delayed, prevented, and/or reduced by the fire extinguishing agent.
With regards to “the gap is sealed at a temperature of less than 60°C and that the covering material is configured such that a communication opening that allows the gap to communicate with the outside of the covering material is formed at a temperature of 60°C or more” as noted above the covering material melts at a temperature of 120°C and therefore a gap will communicate with the outside of the covering material which is formed at a temperature of 60°C or more.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20110159340 A1) in view of Takahashi (JP 2019204636 A, Machine Translation) in view of Yoon (US 20210320345 A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 10, and 14 above and in further view of Kilhenny (US 20210257690 A1)
Regarding claim 13, modified Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu discloses that the heat-insulating material and the covering material are adhered ([0046]), but does not disclose specifics.
Kilhenny discloses an adhesive material layer between a heat insulating material and a covering material that includes polymeric adhesives which melt at temperatures above 60°C ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the adhering of the heat-insulating material and the covering material by using a polymer based adhesive as disclosed by Kilhenny because Kilhenny discloses that these types of adhesive are known to adhere heat-insulating material and covering materials and Hu discloses a method of adhesion should be used.
Furthermore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art at the time of filing to modify the amount of adhesive applied so that the concave regions of the heat insulating sheet are not filled with adhesive in modified Hu because this will not aid in the bonding of heat insulating sheet and the cover material.
With regards to the property of “the adhesive is applied to regions in
different application amounts such that the adhesive melts stepwise in the regions as the temperature rises” will be present in the heat suppression sheet of modified Hu since modified Hu discloses all the claimed structure for the adhesive layer.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 10-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/272,300. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recites a substantially similar structure for a heat transfer suppression sheet.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 and 10-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/272,758. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recites a substantially similar structure for a heat transfer suppression sheet.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726