DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on November 28, 2025. Claims 1, 15-17, 19-22, 24-27 and 29-32 are amended. Claims 2-14, 18, 23, 28 and 33 are cancelled. Claims 1, 15-17, 19-22, 24-27 and 29-32 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed November 28, 2025, have been fully considered. In view of the amended claims 1, 15-17, 19-22, 24-27 and 29-32 and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references and new prior art as presented in this Office action. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15-17, 19-22, 24-27 and 29-32 are therefore moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15-16, 19-21, 24-26 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160249408 A1 (THIRUVENKATACHARI et al.)(hereinafter THIRUVENKATACHARI) in view of Sony: “Solution for KI#3: Receiving Paging Occasions in other Networks", 3GPP DRAFT; S2-1911145, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), vol. SA WG2 Mtg # 136, November 18-22, 2019 (hereinafter Sony).
In re claims 1 and 24, THIRUVENKATACHARI discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) ([0010], “Accordingly, an aspect of the present disclosure provides a method for managing an RRC connection in multi-SIM UE in a wireless communication network”. [0011], “According to an embodiment, a method for releasing an RRC connection by a UE in a wireless communication network is provided”) comprising a multiple universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) (Fig. 4, [0012], “According to another embodiment, a UE in a wireless communication network is provided”) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 1, [0027], “According to FIG. 1, a system 100 includes a network 102, a SIM 1 104, and a SIM 2 106. Initially, at time T0, the SIM 1 104 establishes a connection with the network 102 using an RRC connection”) and the UE comprising: a transceiver ([0008], “The dual SIM active device has two built-in radio frequency (RF) transceivers, one of which may support 2G and the other of which may support 2G/3G. The two transceivers allow a user to receive calls and messages at both the SIMs simultaneously”. [0009], “The SIMs can have different frequencies, and the RF transceiver can adjust the receiving frequency of the device according to the frequency of the network of the SIM” (implies UE comprising a transceiver)); and a controller coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 5: 503, [0012], “The UE includes a processor configured to: monitor the RRC connection...”) and configured to:
transmit, to a base station of a first network associated with a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM}, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating that the UE prefers to leave an RRC connected state of the first network ([0025], “Therefore, the UE can create autonomous gaps to enable the SIM 2 to perform the required actions when the SIM 1 maintains an RRC connection and the SIM 2 remains in the IDLE mode. The SIM 1 can resume receiving data on the RRC connection once the SIM 2 hands over the RF transceiver upon finishing the MT call or message”), start a timer based on the transmission of the RRC message ([0033], ‘Referring to FIG. 2, an RRC connected multi-SIM UE is released based on a criterion relating to expiry of an RF unavailability monitoring timer in a connected mode”. [0034], “Monitoring the status of the SIM 1 202 includes starting an RF unavailability monitoring timer”), and in case that the UE does not receive, from the base station of the first network, an RRC release message before an expiry of the timer, enter an RRC idle state of the first network ([0030], “During monitoring, the UE identifies that one of the SIMs has an RRC connection with the network. If the UE fails to receive the RRC connection release message from the network based on a predefined criterion, the UE transitions to an RRC idle mode. In an embodiment, the predefined criteria can include, but is not limited to, expiry of an RF unavailability monitoring timer value in a connected mode, downlink data reception inactivity for a preset time, reception of a paging message from the network while the UE is in the RRC connected mode, and the like”. [0036], “In step 230, the RF unavailability monitoring timer expires, and thus, the UE determines that the SIM 1 202 has not received the resources within the expiry time of the resource unavailability timer. Thus, the UE determines that the SIM 2 204 still has the access to the RF and baseband resources”. [0037], “Upon determining that the SIM 2 204 of the UE still has the access to the RF and baseband resources, in step 240, the UE transitions to an RRC idle mode”).
THIRUVENKATACHARI does not explicitly disclose transmit, to a base station of a first network associated with a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM}, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating that the UE prefers to leave an RRC connected state of the first network.
Sony discloses transmit, to a base station of a first network associated with a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM}, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating that the UE prefers to leave an RRC connected state of the first network (Figure 6.x.3-1: step 1, section 6.X.3, page 3, step 1, “UE A requests RAN A to configure periodic sequence of "gaps” which matches the timing of the sequence of paging occasions (POs) received from RAN B. UE A includes timing information about when the periodic gaps is requested” (request periodic gaps is interpreted as UE prefers to leave the connected state for a certain time set by gap preference. Timing information correlates to setting of a timer for the gaps). Section 6.X.4, line 4, “RAN (RRC) configures the gaps for the UE”. Page 1, Observation 1, “A more efficient method to temporarily leave a network is needed. It would be good if the UE A could request a time period on RAN level allowing the MultiSIM device to pause connected mode activities for UE A and during the pause perform idle mode activities for UE B e.g. periodic page monitoring” (implies a UE to set a timer to leave a connected state temporarily). Page 2, section 6.X.1, lines 1-2, “ The key idea of the solution is a method to pause the communication for one USIM in order to read the paging occasions for another USIM” (expiration of timer could lead for first SIM to come in Idle state for the other SIM to receive the paging message and the time is set by the UE). Section 6.X.2, lines 1-4, “The UE A (with USIM A), which is in connected mode, connected to the RAN A node, requests a periodic gap pattern from the RAN A node in order for UE B (with USIM B), in the same device, to monitor the paging occasions and potentially read the paging messages transmitted from the RAN B node. UE A includes timing information about when the periodic gaps is requested” (here the timing information refers to the timer set by UE based on periodic gap preference set by UE where a first SIM is put on hold or Idle state while a second SIM is reading paging messages or active to save battery power).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of THIRUVENKATACHARI with Sony to provide a method for a UE with concurrent registrations associated with several USIMs to leave the current 3GPP system in coordination with the network while avoiding wasting the network resource during the leave. The advantage of doing so is optimize resource utilization and save battery power.
In re claims 15 and 25, the combination discloses the method of claim 1 and the UE of claim 24, wherein THIRUVENKATACHARI discloses wherein the RRC message indicates one of an RRC idle state, an RRC inactive state, or releasing from the RRC connected state ([0037], “Upon determining that the SIM 2 204 of the UE still has the access to the RF and baseband resources, in step 240, the UE transitions to an RRC idle mode, and may transmit an RRC connection release message to the network for releasing the resources from the SIM 1 202”), wherein Sony discloses wherein in case that the UE is configured to report information for leaving the RRC connected state of the first network (Page 1, Key Issue 3, lines 5-9, “Today, in the absence of any procedure for notifying the network the multi-USIM device may autonomously leave or release the RRC connection with the current system. This is likely to be interpreted as an error case by the current system and has the potential to distort the statistics in the current system and misguide the algorithms that rely on them. Moreover, during the Multi-USIM device's absence from the current system, if the UE cannot receive downlink data or process the paging from the current system, it may result in waste of resources” (discloses scenario where a UE is configured to report for leaving the connected state or can lead to error scenarios in the network), the RRC message indicates that the UE prefers to leave the RRC connected state of the first network (Figure 6.x.3-1: step 1, section 6.X.3, page 3, step 1, “UE A requests RAN A to configure periodic sequence of "gaps” which matches the timing of the sequence of paging occasions (POs) received from RAN B. UE A includes timing information about when the periodic gaps is requested” (request periodic gaps is interpreted as UE prefers to leave the connected state for a certain time set by gap preference. Timing information correlates to setting of a timer for the gaps). Page 1, Observation 1, “A more efficient method to temporarily leave a network is needed. It would be good if the UE A could request a time period on RAN level allowing the MultiSIM device to pause connected mode activities for UE A and during the pause perform idle mode activities for UE B e.g. periodic page monitoring” (implies a UE to set a timer to leave a connected state temporarily). Section 6.X.2, lines 1-4, “The UE A (with USIM A), which is in connected mode, connected to the RAN A node, requests a periodic gap pattern from the RAN A node in order for UE B (with USIM B), in the same device, to monitor the paging occasions and potentially read the paging messages transmitted from the RAN B node. UE A includes timing information about when the periodic gaps is requested” (here the timing information refers to the timer set by UE based on periodic gap preference set by UE where a first SIM is put on hold or Idle state while a second SIM is reading paging messages or active to save battery power)), and wherein the RRC message comprises a UE assistance information message (Page 2, Observation 2, lines 7-8, “One difference to legacy is that the UE A will request the gaps and the RAN can then configure these gaps based on information provided by the UE” (information of gap preference is to assist the UE to be able to switch from one network to another temporarily when a UE has multi SIM)).
In re claims 16 and 26, the combination discloses the method of claim 1 and the UE of claim 24, wherein THIRUVENKATACHARI discloses the method wherein further comprising: in case that the UE receives, from the base station of the first network, the RRC release message before the expiry of the timer, releasing the RRC connection of the first network based on the RRC release message ([0009], “After sending the RRC connection release message, the network removes the context of the UE and considers the UE to be in an idle mode” (current 3GPP system allows a UE after receiving RRC release message from network to release the RRC connection)).
In re claims 19 and 29, THIRUVENKATACHARI discloses a method performed by a base station of a first network (Fig. 1, [0016], “FIG. 1 is a flowchart illustrating a method of managing an RRS connection release message missing from a SIM by the network”) associated with a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of a multiple USIM (MUSIM) of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 4, [0027], “According to FIG. 1, a system 100 includes a network 102, a SIM 1 104, and a SIM 2 106. Initially, at time T0, the SIM 1 104 establishes a connection with the network 102 using an RRC connection, , the base station comprising: a transceiver ([0052], “Still further, the network interface 506 includes, for example, one or more transceivers”); and a controller coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 5, [0049], “A computing system 501 includes a processor 503, a memory 504, input/output (I/O) devices 505, and a network interface 506, coupled via a computer bus or alternate connection arrangement”) and configured to:
receive, from the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating that the UE prefers to leave an RRC connected state of the first network ([0025], “Therefore, the UE can create autonomous gaps to enable the SIM 2 to perform the required actions when the SIM 1 maintains an RRC connection and the SIM 2 remains in the IDLE mode. The SIM 1 can resume receiving data on the RRC connection once the SIM 2 hands over the RF transceiver upon finishing the MT call or message”), and
transmit, to the UE, an RRC release message wherein, in case that the RRC release message is not transmitted to the UE before an expiry of a timer started based on the RRC message, the UE enters to an RRC idle state on the first network ([0030], “During monitoring, the UE identifies that one of the SIMs has an RRC connection with the network. If the UE fails to receive the RRC connection release message from the network based on a predefined criterion, the UE transitions to an RRC idle mode. In an embodiment, the predefined criteria can include, but is not limited to, expiry of an RF unavailability monitoring timer value in a connected mode, downlink data reception inactivity for a preset time, reception of a paging message from the network while the UE is in the RRC connected mode, and the like”. [0036], “In step 230, the RF unavailability monitoring timer expires, and thus, the UE determines that the SIM 1 202 has not received the resources within the expiry time of the resource unavailability timer. Thus, the UE determines that the SIM 2 204 still has the access to the RF and baseband resources”. [0037], “Upon determining that the SIM 2 204 of the UE still has the access to the RF and baseband resources, in step 240, the UE transitions to an RRC idle mode”).
THIRUVENKATACHARI does not explicitly disclose receive, from the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating that the UE prefers to leave an RRC connected state of the first network.
Sony discloses receive, from the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating that the UE prefers to leave an RRC connected state of the first network (Figure 6.x.3-1: step 1, section 6.X.3, page 3, step 1, “UE A requests RAN A to configure periodic sequence of "gaps” which matches the timing of the sequence of paging occasions (POs) received from RAN B. UE A includes timing information about when the periodic gaps is requested” (request periodic gaps is interpreted as UE prefers to leave the connected state for a certain time set by gap preference. Timing information correlates to setting of a timer for the gaps). Section 6.X.4, line 4, “RAN (RRC) configures the gaps for the UE”. Page 1, Observation 1, “A more efficient method to temporarily leave a network is needed. It would be good if the UE A could request a time period on RAN level allowing the MultiSIM device to pause connected mode activities for UE A and during the pause perform idle mode activities for UE B e.g. periodic page monitoring” (implies a UE to set a timer to leave a connected state temporarily). Page 2, section 6.X.1, lines 1-2, “ The key idea of the solution is a method to pause the communication for one USIM in order to read the paging occasions for another USIM” (expiration of timer could lead for first SIM to come in Idle state for the other SIM to receive the paging message and the time is set by the UE). Section 6.X.2, lines 1-4, “The UE A (with USIM A), which is in connected mode, connected to the RAN A node, requests a periodic gap pattern from the RAN A node in order for UE B (with USIM B), in the same device, to monitor the paging occasions and potentially read the paging messages transmitted from the RAN B node. UE A includes timing information about when the periodic gaps is requested” (here the timing information refers to the timer set by UE based on periodic gap preference set by UE where a first SIM is put on hold or Idle state while a second SIM is reading paging messages or active to save battery power).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of THIRUVENKATACHARI with Sony to provide a method for a UE with concurrent registrations associated with several USIMs to leave the current 3GPP system in coordination with the network while avoiding wasting the network resource during the leave. The advantage of doing so is optimize resource utilization and save battery power.
In re claims 20 and 30, the combination discloses the method of claim 19 and the base station of claim 29, wherein THIRUVENKATACHARI discloses wherein the RRC message indicates one of an RRC idle state, an RRC inactive state, or releasing from the RRC connected state ([0037], “Upon determining that the SIM 2 204 of the UE still has the access to the RF and baseband resources, in step 240, the UE transitions to an RRC idle mode, and may transmit an RRC connection release message to the network for releasing the resources from the SIM 1 202”), wherein Sony discloses wherein in case that the UE is configured to report information for leaving the RRC connected state of the first network, the RRC message indicates that the UE prefers to leave the RRC connected state of the first network (Page 1, Key Issue 3, lines 5-9, “Today, in the absence of any procedure for notifying the network the multi-USIM device may autonomously leave or release the RRC connection with the current system. This is likely to be interpreted as an error case by the current system and has the potential to distort the statistics in the current system and misguide the algorithms that rely on them. Moreover, during the Multi-USIM device's absence from the current system, if the UE cannot receive downlink data or process the paging from the current system, it may result in waste of resources” (discloses scenario where a UE is configured to report for leaving the connected state or can lead to error scenarios in the network), and wherein the RRC message comprises a UE assistance information message (Page 2, Observation 2, lines 7-8, “One difference to legacy is that the UE A will request the gaps and the RAN can then configure these gaps based on information provided by the UE” (information of gap preference is to assist the UE to be able to switch from one network to another temporarily when a UE has multi SIM)).
In re claims 21 and 31, the combination discloses the method of claim 19 and the base station of claim 29, wherein THIRUVENKATACHARI discloses wherein, in case that the RRC release message is transmitted before the expiry of the timer, the RRC connection on the first network is released based on the RRC release message ([0009], “After sending the RRC connection release message, the network removes the context of the UE and considers the UE to be in an idle mode” (current 3GPP system allows a UE after receiving RRC release message from network to release the RRC connection)).
Claims 17, 22, 27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160249408 A1 (THIRUVENKATACHARI et al.)(hereinafter THIRUVENKATACHARI) in view of Sony: “Solution for KI#3: Receiving Paging Occasions in other Networks", 3GPP DRAFT; S2-1911145, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), vol. SA WG2 Mtg # 136, November 18-22, 2019 (hereinafter Sony) and in further view of US 20230389119 A1 (Araujo et al.)(hereinafter Araujo).
In re claims 17 and 27, the combination discloses the method of claim 1 and the UE of claim 24, wherein Sony discloses the method further comprising: in case that the RRC message includes information indicating a MUSIM gap preference, receiving, from the base station, an RRC reconfiguration message including MUSIM gap configuration information (Page 3, section 6.X.3, step 2, “RAN A responds to UE A with a configuration of the "gaps''”), wherein the MUSIM gap configuration information comprises at least one of information on a starting time of a MUSIM gap, information related to a length the MUSIM gap, or information on a gap repetition period, and wherein in case that the UF is configured to report the MUSIM gap preference, the RRC message comprises the information indicating the MUSIM gap preference (Page 3, section 6.X.3, step 1, “UE A requests RAN A to configure periodic sequence of "gaps” which matches the timing of the sequence of paging occasions (POs) received from RAN B. UE A includes timing information about when the periodic gaps is requested” (including timing information by the UE about when the periodic gaps is requested is indicating a MUSIM gap preference)).
THIRUVENKATACHARI and Sony do not explicitly disclose wherein the MUSIM gap configuration information comprises at least one of information on a starting time of a MUSIM gap, information related to a length the MUSIM gap, or information on a gap repetition period.
Araujo discloses wherein the MUSIM gap configuration information comprises at least one of information on a starting time of a MUSIM gap, information related to a length the MUSIM gap, or information on a gap repetition period (Table 10, “TABLE-US-00010 DRX-Preference field descriptions preferredDRX-InactivityTimer Indicates the UE's preferred DRX inactivity timer length”. [0142], “In some embodiments, the periodic pattern is a set of time domain windows (or “gaps”) repeated periodically”. [0030], “Parameters ... and the length of default DRX Cycle are signaled in SIB1”. [0143], “Some of the properties of the periodic pattern include window duration, window periodicity and offset for starting the first window in the pattern (having a time reference of the first or the second PLMN)”. [0208], “The purpose of the UE assistance information procedure is for the UE to inform the network of: (a) its delay budget report carrying desired increment/decrement in the connected mode DRX cycle length”. [0217], “A UE capable of providing assistance information to transition out of RRC_CONNECTED state may initiate the procedure if it was configured to do so, upon determining that it prefers to transition out of RRC_CONNECTED state, or upon change of its preferred RRC state”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of THIRUVENKATACHARI and Sony with Araujo to provide a method for a UE with concurrent registrations associated with several USIMs to leave the current 3GPP system in coordination with the network and allocated time slots while avoiding wasting the network resource during the leave. The advantage of doing so is optimize resource utilization and save battery power.
In re claims 22 and 32, the combination discloses the method of claim 19 and the base station of claim 29, wherein Sony discloses the method further comprising: in case that the RRC message includes information indicating a MUSIM gap preference, transmitting, to the UE, an RRC reconfiguration message including MUSIM gap configuration information (Page 3, section 6.X.3, step 2, “RAN A responds to UE A with a configuration of the "gaps''”), wherein the MUSIM gap configuration information comprises at least one of information on a starting time of a MUSIM gap, information related to a length the MUSIM gap, or information on a gap repetition period, and wherein in case that the UF is configured to report the MUSIM gap preference, the RRC message comprises the information indicating the MUSIM gap preference (Page 3, section 6.X.3, step 1, “UE A requests RAN A to configure periodic sequence of "gaps” which matches the timing of the sequence of paging occasions (POs) received from RAN B. UE A includes timing information about when the periodic gaps is requested” (including timing information by the UE about when the periodic gaps is requested is indicating a MUSIM gap preference)).
THIRUVENKATACHARI and Sony do not explicitly disclose wherein the MUSIM gap configuration information comprises at least one of information on a starting time of a MUSIM gap, information related to a length the MUSIM gap, or information on a gap repetition period.
Araujo discloses wherein the MUSIM gap configuration information comprises at least one of information on a starting time of a MUSIM gap, information related to a length the MUSIM gap, or information on a gap repetition period (Table 10, “TABLE-US-00010 DRX-Preference field descriptions preferredDRX-InactivityTimer Indicates the UE's preferred DRX inactivity timer length”. [0142], “In some embodiments, the periodic pattern is a set of time domain windows (or “gaps”) repeated periodically”. [0030], “Parameters ... and the length of default DRX Cycle are signaled in SIB1”. [0143], “Some of the properties of the periodic pattern include window duration, window periodicity and offset for starting the first window in the pattern (having a time reference of the first or the second PLMN)”. [0208], “The purpose of the UE assistance information procedure is for the UE to inform the network of: (a) its delay budget report carrying desired increment/decrement in the connected mode DRX cycle length”. [0217], “A UE capable of providing assistance information to transition out of RRC_CONNECTED state may initiate the procedure if it was configured to do so, upon determining that it prefers to transition out of RRC_CONNECTED state, or upon change of its preferred RRC state”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of THIRUVENKATACHARI and Sony with Araujo to provide a method for a UE with concurrent registrations associated with several USIMs to leave the current 3GPP system in coordination with the network and allocated time slots while avoiding wasting the network resource during the leave. The advantage of doing so is optimize resource utilization and save battery power.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649