DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-11 filed February 27, 2026. Claims 12-14 are withdrawn. Claims 1-11 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected aerosol generating system, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 27, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160295914 A1 (hereinafter JORDIL).
Regarding claim 1, JORDIL teaches a smoking article having an aerosol generating substrate with a liquid flavorants surrounded by particulate material (abstract). JORDIL teaches a multi-segmented smoking article (Fig. 1, smoking article 100, ¶53). The article has a tobacco rod 101, and a filter with a breakable capsule 120 containing liquid flavorants surrounded by particulate material 125 (¶53). JORDIL teaches smoking article (Fig. 1, smoking article 100, ¶53) comprising: a plurality of medium granules (Fig. 1, particulate material 125, ¶53); and a medium receiver (a cavity of the filter as disclosed in ¶53) filled with the plurality of medium granules (as shown in Fig. 1). JORDIL further discloses the plurality of medium granules have an atypical shape (¶20). JORDIL discloses that the particulate material preferably has an irregular or non-spherical shape. Atypical shape is constructed to mean, as indicated in applicant’s specification, “ basically in a spherical shape but also in a shape atypical enough to maintain the granule dispersibility”.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, JORDIL discloses the smoking article of claim 1 as discussed above. JORDIL discloses plurality of medium granules have a roundness of 30% or more and 90% or less or wherein the roundness is 60% or more and 90% or less.
JORDIL discloses that the particulate may have irregular shaped including a sphericity of less than 0.8 or less than 0.6 (¶20). Sphericity is considered to be how round the particles are relative to perfect spheres (sphericity of 1 (Jordil ¶20-¶21) in terms of the claims of the instant application is a roundness of 100%). JORDIL teaches that this irregular shape will more readily break the capsule (¶22).
Regarding claims 7-8, JORDIL discloses the smoking article of claim 1 as discussed above. Regarding the limitation that the plurality of medium granules are manufactured by a fluidized bed granulation process and the fluidized bed granulation process is a process in which a spraying direction of a liquid binder and a flow direction of fluidized air face each other. This recitation a product by process recitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (See MPEP 2113, I.). The structure imparted by the process is reasonably suggested to be one in which the particle shape is not circular in nature (i.e. atypical). JORDIL discloses atypical particles. Therefore, the atypical particles are reasonably suggested to have the same or substantially similar “atypical-ness” imparted by the fluidized bed granulation process. The fluidized bed processes recited impart no specific structure on the granules that cannot be found in the particles of JORDIL. There is no evidence that the direction of spray as recited imparts any additional structure on the particles of Jin that is not already present in JORDIL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JORDIL as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20110277781 A1 (hereinafter CLARK).
Regarding claim 2, JORDIL discloses the smoking article of claim 1 as discussed above. JORDIL further discloses, a filter located on the other side of the medium receiver. JORDIL discloses that the filter is multi-segmented as shown in Fig. 1 and discussed in ¶38 and ¶53 with a downstream mouth end filter.
JORDIL does not disclose a humectant receiver located on one side of the medium receiver and configured to generate an aerosol.
CLARK teaches a multicomponent smoking article filter adapted to be disposed at the non-burning end of a rod of smokable material with a cavity disposed between a first and send plug (abstract). CLARK teaches that a first cavity comprises cellulosic granules containing and flavor and optionally a humectant (¶7) and a second cavity also containing a humectant like glycerin (¶10). CLARK teaches that the inclusion of the humectant provides subjectively pleasing flavors and other sensory characteristics to the mainstream smoke and minimizes dryness (¶13). As best taught in Fig. 3, is an embodiment with multiple segments containing either or both of cellulosic granules containing humectant and water (¶44-¶45). CLARK further encourages one of ordinary skill in the art to vary levels of the granules and cavities and the lengths of the cavities to promote desired sensorial attributes such as dwell time (¶45).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JORDIL to provide a humectant receiver located on one side of the medium receiver and configured to generate an aerosol as taught in CLARK. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously include multiple segments to promote desired sensorial attributes (CLARK ¶45). As encouraged by CLARK, a person of ordinary skill in the art would add segments to achieve the desired attributes with predictable results..
Regarding 11, modified JORDIL discloses the smoking article of claim 2 as discussed above. JORDIL further discloses the filter comprises: a first filter having a cavity therein; and a second filter fully filled with a filtration material. JORDIL discloses that filter cigarettes with multi-component filters comprise two or more segments of filter material (¶2) JORDIL further discloses that the mouthpiece (part of the filter) includes a cavity that is partially filled (¶9-¶10).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JORDIL as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20030159703 A1 (hereinafter YANG).
Regarding claim 3, JORDIL discloses the smoking article of claim 1 as discussed above. JORDIL does not disclose the medium receiver is configured by folding a flat sheet, to which the plurality of medium granules are applied, a plurality of times.
YANG teaches a liquid flavorant to activated carbon particles that are placed in a cigarette (abstract). YANG teaches that the flavored particles are loaded onto a support such as lightly or tightly folded paper that is inserted into a hollow portion of the cigarette (¶45).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JORDIL to provide the medium receiver is configured by folding a flat sheet, to which the plurality of medium granules are applied, a plurality of times as taught in YANG. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously use a folded sheet as a carrier for particles to be added to a cigarette. Doing so would provide a support for the particles within the cavity of the cigarette. Regarding the limitation of a plurality of times, this is considered to be a product by process recitation. Since YANG teaches that the paper carries the particles, the structure of the instant application is met. See MPEP 2113, I. .
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JORDIL and YANG as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US 20220022526 A1 (hereinafter JOYEUX).
Regarding claim 4, modified JORDIL discloses the smoking article of claim 3 as discussed above. Neither JORDIL nor YANG disclose a humectant is applied to one surface of the flat sheet.
JOYEUX teaches an aerosol generating article comprising a substrate and a filter that is formed of one or more sheets of a fibrous paper material (abstract). JOYEUX teaches that the paper material has a humectant such as polyether, glycol, glycerin, etc. (¶65). JOYEUX teaches that any suitable technique can be used to apply the humectant including press spraying etc (¶79) and an embodiment where the humectant is applied to one or both sides of the sheet by a printer (¶80). JOYEUX teaches that applying humectant coats the paper while still retaining benefits (¶80).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JORDIL to provide a humectant is applied to one surface of the flat sheet as taught in JOYEUX. Doing so would coat the papers while retaining benefits that are realized by the sheet (JOYEUX ¶80).
Regarding claim 9, modified JORDIL discloses the smoking article of claim 1 as discussed above. JORDIL does not disclose the medium receiver is formed by a method comprising applying a humectant to one surface of a flat sheet, disposing the plurality of medium granules on the one surface of the flat sheet, to which the humectant is applied, folding the one surface of the flat sheet to face each other, additionally folding the flat sheet a plurality of times, and wrapping, with a wrapper, the flat sheet folded a plurality of times.
JOYEUX teaches an aerosol generating article comprising a substrate and a filter that is formed of one or more sheets of a fibrous paper material (abstract). JOYEUX teaches that the paper material has a humectant such as polyether, glycol, glycerin, etc. (¶65). JOYEUX teaches that any suitable technique can be used to apply the humectant including press spraying etc (¶79) and an embodiment where the humectant is applied to one or both sides of the sheet by a printer (¶80). JOYEUX teaches that applying humectant coats the paper while still retaining benefits (¶80).
YANG teaches a liquid flavorant to activated carbon particles that are placed in a cigarette (abstract). YANG teaches that the flavored particles are loaded onto a support such as lightly or tightly folded paper that is inserted into a hollow portion of the cigarette (¶45). As shown in Figs. 3-4, the folded section is then wrapped with an outside wrapper (Figs. 3-4, tipping paper 14, ¶47).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JORDIL to provide the medium receiver is formed by a method comprising applying a humectant to one surface of a flat sheet, disposing the plurality of medium granules on the one surface of the flat sheet, to which the humectant is applied, folding the one surface of the flat sheet to face each other, additionally folding the flat sheet a plurality of times, and wrapping, with a wrapper, the flat sheet folded a plurality of times as taught in JOYEUX and YANG. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously apply both humectant as a coating and use a folded paper support to contain the granule. Doing so would provide a location for the granules within the cigarette and a humectant for reducing dryness. As discussed above in the rejection of claim 3, this claim is considered to be a product by process recitation. Since YANG and JOYEUX teaches that the paper carries the particles, the humectant is applied to paper, and the folded paper is then wrapped by an outer wrapper, the structure of the instant application is met. See MPEP 2113, I.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JORDIL, YANG, and JOYEUX as applied to claim 9 above and in further view of US 20050098187 A1 (hereinafter GRIERSON).
Regarding claim 10, modified JORDIL discloses the smoking article of claim 9 as discussed above. JORDIL does not disclose the plurality of medium granules not applied to the one surface of the flat sheet are reused in a process of manufacturing the smoking article.
GRIERSON teaches smokable filler materials comprising tobacco dust and a binder (abstract). GRIERSON teaches that the tobacco is agglomerated tobacco waste made from tobacco dust that does not have commercial value (¶10). GRIERSON teaches that the tobacco having varying granules sizes can be reused in subsequent steps (¶42).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JORDIL to reuse medium granules in the process of manufacturing a smoking article as taught in GRIERSON. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously reuse granules. Doing so would reduce waste and create commercial value (GRIERSON ¶42).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20100170522 A1 (hereinafter SUN). Fluidized bed granulation is well-known in the art as well as spraying binders and other additives onto the granules (¶15, ¶51)
/STEPHANIE LYNN MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766