Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cirik et al. (US 2021/0234640) (“Cirik”).
For claims 7 and 9-11; Cirik discloses: monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates in a first control resource set (CORESET) and a second CORESET that is different from the first CORESET (paragraph 186, 200, 203, 266-268: when the wireless device monitors the one or more PDCCH candidates in the overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in the plurality of coresets and the plurality of the coresets have the different QCL-TypeD property), among multiple CORESETs overlapped in time and having multiple QCL type D properties (paragraph 207: at least two monitoring occasions of at least two search space sets of the multiple search space sets may overlap in time (e.g., at least one symbol, at least one slot, subframe, etc.). In an example, the at least two search space sets may be associated with at least two first coresets. The at least two first coresets may have different QCL-TypeD properties); and a receiver that monitors the determined PDCCH candidates in the first CORESET and the second CORESET (paragraph 207: a wireless device may monitor multiple search space sets associated with different CORESETs for one or more cells (e.g., for a single cell operation or for an operation with carrier aggregation in a same frequency band). In an example, at least two monitoring occasions of at least two search space sets of the multiple search space sets may overlap in time (e.g., at least one symbol, at least one slot, subframe, etc.). In an example, the at least two search space sets may be associated with at least two first coresets. The at least two first coresets may have different QCL-TypeD properties), wherein the first CORESET is a CORESET having first QCL type D properties out of the multiple CORESETs (paragraph 207: a wireless device may monitor multiple search space sets associated with different CORESETs for one or more cells (e.g., for a single cell operation or for an operation with carrier aggregation in a same frequency band). In an example, at least two monitoring occasions of at least two search space sets of the multiple search space sets may overlap in time (e.g., at least one symbol, at least one slot, subframe, etc.). In an example, the at least two search space sets may be associated with at least two first coresets. The at least two first coresets may have different QCL-TypeD properties), wherein the second CORESET is a CORESET corresponding to a search space set linked with a search space set that is associated with a CORESET having the first QCL type D properties (paragraph 264: a search space set of the one or more search space sets may be associated with (or linked to) a coreset of the one or more coresets. In an example, the one or more configuration parameters may indicate the coreset (or coreset index of the coreset) for the search space set (e.g., provided by a higher layer parameter controlResourceSetId in the higher layer parameter SearchSpace)) and has second QCL type D properties that are different from the first QCL type D properties (paragraph 182: wireless device may monitor one or more PDCCH candidates in overlapping PDCCH monitoring occasions in a plurality of coresets on active DL BWP(s) of the one or more cells. In an example, the plurality of the coresets may have a different QCL-TypeD property), and wherein the association with the CORESET having the first QCL type D properties is configured by higher layer signaling (paragraph 264: a search space set of the one or more search space sets may be associated with (or linked to) a coreset of the one or more coresets. In an example, the one or more configuration parameters may indicate the coreset (or coreset index of the coreset) for the search space set (e.g., provided by a higher layer parameter controlResourceSetId in the higher layer parameter SearchSpace)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Cirik et al. (US 2020/0221485) (“Cirik2”).
For claim 8; Cirik discloses the subject matter in claim 7 as described above in the office action.
Cirik does not expressly disclose, but Cirik2 from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the processor determines the PDCCH candidates to monitor so as to monitor a CORESET corresponding to a common search space (CSS) set more preferentially than a CORESET corresponding to a UE-specific search space (USS) set, among the multiple CORESETs (paragraph 556: The CSS may have a higher priority than a USS. The wireless device may receive system information parameters and/or RA parameters in the common search space). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Cirik2in the M-TRP system as described by Cirik. The motivation is to improve cell configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2022/0217694); Kim discloses receiving, from a base station, configuration information related to one or more search space sets for the PDCCH; and based on overlapping of one or more monitoring occasions in a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs) with different QCL(quasi co-location) configurations for a spatial reception parameter, receiving, from the base station, the PDCCH in a first CORESET with a first QCL configuration for the spatial reception parameter and a second CORESET with a second QCL configuration for the spatial reception parameter among the plurality of CORESET.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BLANTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466