DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 15, 23, 25, 29-30, and 34-35) and the following species:
SEQ ID NO: 17 as the inserted amino acid sequence;
SEQ ID NO: 5 as the native amino acid sequence;
SARS-CoV-2, OC43, and HKU1 with their corresponding structural protein antigens (M, N, and S2) and nonstructural protein antigens (nsp3, nsp4, nsp6, nsp7, and nsp12) as the coronavirus antigen; and
TAG-1 (SEQ ID NO: 26) with SEQ ID NO: 4 as the preferred embodiment.
in the reply filed on 16 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 36 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 July 2026.
It is noted that the coronavirus antigen election requirement was not met since Applicant has elected an embodiment in which every epitope of Tables 3-17 are used at once. This does not seem to have been done by Applicant. Examiner required election of “at least one specific coronavirus and at least one specific coronavirus antigen” (see section 7 of the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed 16 January 2026). Applicant, as part of their response to this action, should elect one or a distinct set of antigens by sequence identifier to be used in an embodiment of the invention.
Claim Status
3. Claims 3-4, 7, 10, 12-14, 16-22, 24, 26-28, 31-33, and 37-45 are cancelled.
Claim 36 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 15, 23, 25, 29-30, and 34-35 are under consideration.
Priority
4. The Instant Application is a National Stage (371) of PCT/US2022/012434, filed 14 January 2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application 63/137,402, filed 14 January 2021. Therefore, the effective filing date for purposes of applying prior art is 14 January 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
6. REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
7. Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
8. Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
See ¶ [0051] and the table superscript captions.
9. Specific deficiency - The Incorporation by Reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) is missing or incomplete. See item 1) a) or 1) b) above.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
10. The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to the recited
reference sequence IDs, such as GenBank accession numbers, NCBI references, and/or UniProt IDs is
ineffective because they do not provide the actual sequences that they are referring to.
11. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Table 1 appears to have a typo in the positions of insert 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
12. The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http://, www., or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
See ¶ [0035].
13. The use of the terms FACSDiva and FlowJo (¶ [0058]); and Rneasy and QIGEN (¶ [0063]), which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Note that these are merely examples and all improper uses of trademarks in the specification should be identified by Applicant and properly addressed.
Claim Objections
14. Claims 8 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, “one of” should be inserted after “replaces”; and
Regarding claim23, “HKY1” appears to be a typo and should be “HKU1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
16. Claims 5-6, 8, 15, 23, 25, 30, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5, 8, 15, 25, and 34, the tables render the claim indefinite because the claims should be complete in themselves. See MPEP 2173.05(s) “Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).”
Claim 6 is rejected for claiming the limitation of amino acid positions within a protein sequence without providing an appropriate frame of reference for said sequence. Said frame of reference can be provided by referencing a sequence disclosed within the application (i.e. a sequence with a SEQ ID NO: identifier).
Claim 8, which depends on claim 6, is similarly rejected.
Regarding claims 23 and 34, “an amino acid sequence” is unclear because the article “an” could be interpreted as requiring the entire sequence or a fragment that could be a single amino acid. Therefore, there are multiple structural interpretations.
Regarding claim 30, it is unclear if the rest of the L1 protein after the insert is deleted or if the coronavirus antigen is also inserted into the L1 protein, as the insert and the coronavirus antigen are linked together. Therefore, there are multiple structural interpretations.
Claim 34, which depends on claim 30, is similarly rejected.
See Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (BPAI 2008) ("[R]ather than requiring that the claims are insolubly ambiguous, we hold that if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. §112, second paragraph, as indefinite.").
Claim Rejections – Improper Markush Grouping
17. Claims 5, 8-9, 11, 15, 23, 25, 29, and 34 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush groupings are improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons: the SEQ ID NOs of Tables 1-17 and the coronavirus antigens do not each independently share a common core structure of a consensus sequence and thus do not share a common single structural similarity that yields a common use. Additionally, each Markush grouping results in a huge number of different compositions, each of which have different epitopes and will thus result in a different immune response.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – Written Description
19. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 15, 23, 25, 29-30, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims above are drawn to a composition comprising a chimeric papillomavirus VLP comprising an L1 protein with an amino acid insert inserted into its HI loop and a coronavirus antigen with 70% or greater identity. This reads any amino acid insert at any location in the HI loop and any and all possible mutations of the coronavirus antigen. Thus, it is clear that the breadth of the recited peptides in the claims far overreaches Applicant’s contribution as disclosed in the specification and so this rejection is made. One of ordinary skill in this art cannot conclude that Applicant was in possession of all variants of the L1 protein with any insert at any location and all mutations of an coronavirus antigen. An enormous breadth of mutated proteins are thus not represented by Applicant at all. Even if the prior art is aware of some mutated proteins, the totality of known mutated proteins would not be representative of the entire genus for the reasons discussed below.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
An applicant may show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 964, 63 USPQ2d at 1613.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, as here in which the peptide inhibitors can have any sequence, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. However, one of skill in this art cannot envision the structure of any other peptides with the required function other than the few species provided by Applicant and the prior art. Therefore, since only a few species are provided to represent the genus, the claims encompassing the same clearly fail the written description requirement.
Functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support, especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable, where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. See ABBVIE DEUTSCHLAND GMBH & 2 CO. v. JANSSEN BIOTECH, INC., Appeals from the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts in Nos. 09-CV-11340-FDS, 10-CV-40003-FDS, and 10-CV-40004-FDS, Judge F. Dennis Saylor, IV. See also Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351 (“[T]he level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology.”).
For a claim to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997). The recitation of a functional property alone, which must be shared by the members of the genus, is merely descriptive of what the members of the genus must be capable of doing, not of the substance and structure of the members.
“Functional” terminology may be used “when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” but “merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing one has invented a genus and not just a species.” Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F3d 1336, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1171 (Fed Cir. 2010). Since there are only a few presented L1 proteins with amino acid inserts inserted into the HI loop taught by Applicant (see Table 1 of the Instant Specification) and coronavirus antigens (Tables 3-17), and mutated polypeptides would vary in structure, there is no correlation between structure and function between the members of the recited or any peptide genus. Additional mutated polypeptides could read on any and all combinations of amino acids. Thus, since there is no correlation between structure and peptide function across the entire genus, functional language should not be used to define a peptide genus. Rather, structure should be used, including the core peptide sequence required for said function.
Even when several species are disclosed, these are not necessarily representative of the entire genus. AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (“The ’128 and ’485 patents, however, only describe species of structurally similar antibodies that were derived from Joe-9. Although the number of the described species appears high quantitatively, the described species are all of the similar type and do not qualitatively represent other types of antibodies encompassed by the genus.”). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, as here, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a "representative number” of species. Since the genus recited in the instant claims is large, it would be very challenging to describe sufficient species to cover the structures of the entire genus.
Overall, at the time the invention was made, the level of skill for preparing peptides and then selecting those peptides with desired functional properties was high. However, even if a selection procedure was, at the time of the invention, sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to identify peptides with the recited functional properties, the written description provision of 35 U.S.C § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2010). Absent the conserved structure provided by a core inhibitory peptide sequence, the skilled artisan generally would not be able to visualize or otherwise predict, a priori, what any peptide with a particular set of functional properties would look like structurally.
Since no mutations are taught in the specification of the recited genus above, the instant claims above clearly fail the written description requirement. A representative number of species has not been taught to describe such a massive genus. One of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe said genus.
Owed to the variation among the peptides of the genus as broadly as currently claimed, it is very difficult to provide adequate representation of the functionally defined peptide genus. There is unlikely to be any structure (subsequence) shared by the entire genus. If there is a subsequence common to all or some of Applicant’s species, then the claims should recite that as part of the peptide genus to provide adequate representation of the actual disclosed/possessed group. Also, the disclosure of one group of highly related peptides does not guide one of skill to the next peptide of the genus with said function. Finding a another said peptide would require mutation and it is well-known in this art that mutation of peptides leads to specific function loss.
The art teaches that protein chemistry is probably one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. For example, replacement of a single “lysine” residue at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by “glutamic acid” led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein (Burgess, 1990, J. Cell Bio., 111: 2129-2138). In transforming growth factor alpha, replacement of aspartic acid at position 47 with alanine or asparagine did not affect biological activity while replacement with serine or glutamic acid sharply reduced the biological activity of the mitogen (Lazar, 1988, Molecular and Cellular Biology, 8: 1247-1252). As these references illustrate, it is unpredictable that a polypeptide variant of a known target protein binder will also bind said target. It is also unpredictable that they would bind said target in the same way, having the same effect on the target (i.e. inhibit or activate). Ju (1991, PNAS, 88: 2658-2662) teaches that the interleukin 1 receptor (IL-1R) antagonist IL-1ra is a naturally occurring protein with no agonist activity in vitro or in vivo (Abstract). However, substitution of a single amino acid lysine145 to aspartic acid changes the property of this peptide to a partial agonist of IL-1R (Abstract). Thus, even a single substitution can change the biological property of a peptide.
This substitution need not be at a position where said residue would contact the target protein. Baker (2000, Immunity, 13: 475-484) teaches that Tax-peptide is an agonist of the of T cell activity (Abstract). However, mutation of proline at position 6 of this peptide to alanine creates a T cell antagonist (Abstract). Importantly, this residue does not contact the T cell receptor (Abstract).
In summary, these examples teach that the biological function of peptide variants is unpredictable because even a single mutation can abolish activity or give a different function. For example, agonist and antagonist peptides can be interconverted through mutagenesis. Importantly, binding can still occur after mutation, illustrating that a simple show of binding is not predictive of the nature of a peptide’s biological activity. This point is underlined by Montrose-Rafizadeh (1997, J. Biol. Chem., 272: 21201-21206) who teaches that receptor binding does not predict agonist or antagonist activity (Pg. 21205, Column 2, Paragraph, first full, Sentence, first).
Thus, while applicant has described a few species within the genus recited, and the art may provide more, each genus is very large and would encompass peptide structures that cannot be visualized from the prior art or instant disclosure. One of skill in this art cannot determine the peptide structures encompassed by the claimed/recited genus only defined by function. Any future peptide may or may not be encompassed, and if it is, it would not have been represented in Applicant’s disclosed species. Thus, the described species cannot be considered representative of the entire recited genus of peptides. E.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, the claims are rejected here.
As discussed above, an applicant may show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 964, 63 USPQ2d at 1613. Therefore, it is recommended that the instant claims be amended to recite that the peptide genus must comprise the core peptide responsible for the recited function as this would define the structure/function relationship of the species Applicant possesses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – Enablement
20. In making a determination as to whether an application has met the requirements forenablement under 35 U.S.C. 112 ¶ 1, the courts have put forth a series of factors. See, In reWands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, at 1404 (CAFC 1988). The factors considered include: (1) the breadth of the claims, (2) the nature of the invention, (3) the relative skill of those in the art, (4) the presence or absence of working examples, (5) the amount of direction or guidance provided, (6) the state of the prior art, (7) the level of predictability in the art, and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary.
21. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 15, 23, 25, 29-30, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a defined and tested set of proteins shown to function, does not reasonably provide enablement for any and all possible mutations of the L1 protein and coronavirus antigen. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claims are drawn to a composition comprising a chimeric papillomavirus VLP comprising an L1 protein having an amino acid insert inserted into its HI loop and a coronavirus antigen.
The nature of the invention is a composition comprising a chimeric papillomavirus VLP comprising an L1 protein having an amino acid insert inserted into its HI loop and a coronavirus antigen.
The level of skill of one of ordinary skill in this art is high.
The specification provides examples of inserts and insert locations for the L1 protein (Table 1) and possible coronavirus antigens (Tables 3-17).
The art teaches that protein chemistry is probably one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. For example, conservative replacement of a single “lysine” residue at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by “glutamic acid” led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein (Burgess, 1990, J. Cell Bio., 111: 2129-2138). In transforming growth factor alpha, replacement of aspartic acid at position 47 with alanine or asparagine did not affect biological activity while replacement with serine or glutamic acid sharply reduced the biological activity of the mitogen (Lazar, 1988, Mol. Cell. Biol., 8: 1247-1252). As these references illustrate, it is unpredictable that a polypeptide variant of a known target protein binder will also bind said target. It is also unpredictable that they would bind said target in the same way, having the same effect on the target (i.e. inhibit or activate). Ju (1991, PNAS, 88: 2658-2662) teaches that the interleukin 1 receptor (IL-1R) antagonist IL-1ra is a naturally occurring protein with no agonist activity in vitro or in vivo (Abstract). However, substitution of a single amino acid lysine145 to aspartic acid changes the property of this peptide to a partial agonist of IL-1R (Abstract). Thus, even a single substitution can change the biological property of a peptide.
This substitution need not be at a position where said residue would contact the target protein. Baker (2000, Immunity, 13: 475-484) teaches that Tax-peptide is an agonist of the of T cell activity (Abstract). However, mutation of proline at position 6 of this peptide to alanine creates a T cell antagonist (Abstract). Importantly, this residue does not contact the T cell receptor (Abstract).
In another case, Huang (1997, J. Biol. Chem., 272(43): 27155-27159) teaches that conjugation of peptides to other proteins can change their biological properties. They teach that multiple conjugation of the peptide TGFβ1 (residues 41-65) to carrier proteins enhances its antagonist activity but also confers partial agonist activity as well (Abstract). Thus, the chemical context of a biologically active peptide is also important.
Truncation of proteins can also lead to adverse effects on protein structure and thus protein function. Martindale (1998, Nat. Genet., 18: 150-154) teaches that truncation of huntingtin leads to aggregate development which compromises cell viability (Abstract). Nonaka (2009, Hum. Mol. Genet., 18(18): 3353-3364) teaches that truncation of TDP-43 to its C-terminal fragments causes abnormally phosphorylated and ubiquitinated inclusions of the protein (Abstract). Taken together, not just any truncation of a protein will yield a soluble, functional, protein fragment.
In summary, these examples teach that the biological function of peptide variants is unpredictable because even a single mutation can abolish activity or give a different function. For example, agonist and antagonist peptides can be interconverted through conjugation or mutagenesis. Importantly, binding can still occur after mutation or conjugation in the literature examples provided above, illustrating that a simple show of binding is not predictive of the nature of a peptide’s biological activity. This point is underlined by Montrose-Rafizadeh (1997, J. Biol. Chem., 272: 21201-21206) who teaches that receptor binding does not predict agonist or antagonist activity (Page 21205, Column 2, ¶ first full, first sentence).
With respect to the use of peptides in the treatment of a disease such as cancer, the state of the art at the time of filing was such that it was unpredictable whether or not a peptide would function therapeutically. Their functionality depends, in part, on whether or not they reach their intended target in a sufficient quantity as to cause a therapeutic effect. Mendoza (2005, Arch. Immunol. Ther. Exp., 53: 47-60) teaches that peptides derived from larger molecules that are important modulators of apoptosis are frequently becoming leads for the development of anticancer therapeutics (Page 48, Column 2, ¶ first partial). However, they also state that natural peptides have low bioavailability and short half-life in the mammalian circulation system, while synthetic peptides have potential cytotoxicities (Page 57, Column 1, ¶ last full). Due to these characteristics, systematic testing in in vivo as well as in vitro settings must be done rigorously to verify peptide applications in the clinic (Page 57, Column 1, ¶ last full). Taken together, barring experimental evidence, no peptide can merely be assumed to function in the treatment of a disease, for example cancer, in vivo just because it functions as an inhibitor in vitro.
Since the art teaches that it is unpredictable whether or not peptide variants of known inhibitors will function as such and it is also unpredictable that even a known inhibitory peptide that functions in vitro will function in vivo, it would also be unpredictable to that the polypeptide variants will retain their original function or function as desired. Since the specification does nothing to ameliorate these concerns, one would be burdened with undue experimentation to use the products of instant claims as broadly as they are currently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
23. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 30, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Viscidi (US 9580474 B2; Published 28 February 2017).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 9, Viscidi teaches “A vaccine comprising: (a) a chimeric papillomavirus virus-like particle (VLP) comprising a L1 protein, wherein an amino acid sequence EEEEEEEEC (SEQ ID NO: 11) is inserted into the HI loop of the L1 protein; and (b) a target antigen other than the L1 protein, wherein the target antigen comprises a region of positively charged amino acids, and wherein the amino acid sequence EEEEEEEEC (SEQ ID NO: 11) of the HI loop of the L1 protein is covalently bound to the positively charged region of the target antigen.” (Claim 1) and SEQ ID NO: 11 replaces amino acids 347-355 of the HI loop of the L1 protein (SEQ ID NO: 5) (Claim 4). In one embodiment “the target antigen is a severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) virus (e.g. sars coronavirus). The target antigen sequence may comprise CRRRRRRRRCAAYVNFNFNGL (SEQ ID NO:26), wherein CRRRRRRRRCAAY (SEQ ID NO:20) is the polycationic:cysteine sequence with the AAY leader sequence, and VNFNFNGL (SEQ ID NO:27) is the target antigen sequence.” (Column 15, ¶ 3). This target antigen is a SARS virus CD8 epitope (Fig. 30 legend). Viscidi further teaches that “In particular embodiments, a chimeric VLP (whether it comprises an L1 polypeptide or L1/L2 polypeptides) comprises a region of negatively charged amino acids on a surface exposed area that is capable of binding to a target antigen comprising a region of negatively charged amino acids. […] In a more specific embodiment, the region comprises EEEEEEEEC (E8C) (SEQ ID NO: 11).” (Column 8, last ¶ to column 9, ¶ 2).
In summary, Viscidi teaches a composition comprising (a) a chimeric papillomavirus VLP comprising an L1 protein (SEQ ID NO: 5) with an amino acid insert inserted into the HI loop of the L1 protein (replacing amino acids 347-355) and (b) a coronavirus antigen, as claimed. The amino acid insert EEEEEEEEC (SEQ ID NO: 11) is made of a contiguous sequence of negatively charged amino acids and a terminal cysteine residue.
Regarding SEQ ID NO: 27 of Viscidi, VNFNFNGL is also a SARS-CoV-2 antigen, as evidenced by Montoya (11 April 2024, Mol. Ther., 32(6): 1790-1804), “mice immunized with the Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 mRNA-LNP vaccine have an expanded population of CD8+ T cells specific for the highly conserved and immunodominant SARS-CoV-1 and SARS-CoV-2 Spike protein-derived epitope VNFNFNGL bound to the MHC class I molecule K” (Page 1791, ¶ 3).
Regarding claim 5, SEQ ID NO: 5 of the Instant Application was elected as the amino acid insert, which has a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 11 of Viscidi:
Regarding claim 6, it is noted that SEQ ID NO: 441 of the Instant Application reads on the L1 protein and has a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 5 of Viscidi:
The alignment has been omitted due to length.
As discussed above, Viscidi teaches SEQ ID NO: 11 replaces amino acids 347-355 of the HI loop of the L1 protein (SEQ ID NO: 5) (Claim 4). Since SEQ ID NO: 441 of the Instant Application and SEQ ID NO: 5 of Viscidi are the same sequence, replacement of amino acids 347-355 falls within the claimed insert positions of 344 and 357.
Regarding claim 8, SEQ ID NO: 17 of the Instant Application was elected as the native amino acid sequence. A sequence alignment shows that SEQ ID NO: 17 of the Instant Application (‘Qy’) falls on positions 347-355 of SEQ ID NO: 5 of Viscidi (‘Db’), which are the same positions replaced in Viscidi:
Regarding claims 30 and 34-35, SEQ ID NO: 4 of the Instant Application was elected as the TAG sequence. A sequence alignment shows that SEQ ID NO: 4 of the Instant Application matches SEQ ID NO: 20 of Viscidi:
While SEQ ID NO: 4 of the Instant Application has one more tyrosine at the end (Y), SEQ ID NO: 20 of Viscidi will still read on the claim due to the language of “an amino acid sequence”. As discussed supra, SEQ ID NO: 11 of Viscidi would be covalently bound to the coronavirus target antigen, which is made of SEQ ID NO: 20 (polycationic:cysteine sequence with the AAY leader sequence) bound to SEQ ID NO: 27 (SARS-CoV-2 epitope). Therefore, SEQ ID NO: 11 and SEQ ID NO: 20 would be bound together by SEQ ID NO: 20. This results in the same structure as claimed. Since the structure matches the election and claim 35 reads on the election (see page 8 of the Response to Restriction Requirement filed 16 July 2026), the composition will be effective to stimulate a cytotoxic T cell response in a mammal. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
26. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 23, 29-30, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viscidi (US 9580474 B2; Published 28 February 2017) in view of Zhu (15 August 2020, Lancet, 396: 479-488) and De Groot (US 20230151061 A1; Priority to 2020).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 9, Viscidi teaches “A vaccine comprising: (a) a chimeric papillomavirus virus-like particle (VLP) comprising a L1 protein, wherein an amino acid sequence EEEEEEEEC (SEQ ID NO: 11) is inserted into the HI loop of the L1 protein; and (b) a target antigen other than the L1 protein, wherein the target antigen comprises a region of positively charged amino acids, and wherein the amino acid sequence EEEEEEEEC (SEQ ID NO: 11) of the HI loop of the L1 protein is covalently bound to the positively charged region of the target antigen.” (Claim 1) and SEQ ID NO: 11 replaces amino acids 347-355 of the HI loop of the L1 protein (SEQ ID NO: 5) (Claim 4). In one embodiment “the target antigen is a severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) virus (e.g. sars coronavirus). The target antigen sequence may comprise CRRRRRRRRCAAYVNFNFNGL (SEQ ID NO:26), wherein CRRRRRRRRCAAY (SEQ ID NO:20) is the polycationic:cysteine sequence with the AAY leader sequence, and VNFNFNGL (SEQ ID NO:27) is the target antigen sequence.” (Column 15, ¶ 3). Viscidi further teaches that “In particular embodiments, a chimeric VLP (whether it comprises an L1 polypeptide or L1/L2 polypeptides) comprises a region of negatively charged amino acids on a surface exposed area that is capable of binding to a target antigen comprising a region of negatively charged amino acids. […] In a more specific embodiment, the region comprises EEEEEEEEC (E8C) (SEQ ID NO: 11).” (Column 8, last ¶ to column 9, ¶ 2).
In summary, Viscidi teaches a composition comprising (a) a chimeric papillomavirus VLP comprising an L1 protein (SEQ ID NO: 5) with an amino acid insert inserted into the HI loop of the L1 protein (replacing amino acids 347-355) and (b) a coronavirus antigen, as claimed. The amino acid insert EEEEEEEEC (SEQ ID NO: 11) is made of a contiguous sequence of negatively charged amino acids and a terminal cysteine residue.
Regarding SEQ ID NO: 27 of Viscidi, VNFNFNGL is also a SARS-CoV-2 antigen, as evidenced by Montoya (11 April 2024, Mol. Ther., 32(6): 1790-1804), “mice immunized with the Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 mRNA-LNP vaccine have an expanded population of CD8+ T cells specific for the highly conserved and immunodominant SARS-CoV-1 and SARS-CoV-2 Spike protein-derived epitope VNFNFNGL bound to the MHC class I molecule K” (Page 1791, ¶ 3).
Regarding claim 5, SEQ ID NO: 5 of the Instant Application was elected as the amino acid insert, which has a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 11 of Viscidi:
Regarding claim 6 , it is noted that SEQ ID NO: 441 of the Instant Application reads on the L1 protein and has a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 5 of Viscidi:
The alignment has been omitted due to length.
As discussed above, Viscidi teaches SEQ ID NO: 11 replaces amino acids 347-355 of the HI loop of the L1 protein (SEQ ID NO: 5) (Claim 4). Since SEQ ID NO: 441 of the Instant Application and SEQ ID NO: 5 of Viscidi are the same sequence, replacement of amino acids 347-355 falls within the claimed insert positions of 344 and 357.
Regarding claim 8, SEQ ID NO: 17 of the Instant Application was elected as the native amino acid sequence. A sequence alignment shows that SEQ ID NO: 17 of the Instant Application (‘Qy’) falls on positions 347-355 of SEQ ID NO: 5 of Viscidi (‘Db’), which are the same positions replaced in Viscidi:
Regarding claims 30 and 34-35, SEQ ID NO: 4 of the Instant Application was elected as the TAG sequence. A sequence alignment shows that SEQ ID NO: 4 of the Instant Application matches SEQ ID NO: 20 of Viscidi:
While SEQ ID NO: 4 of the Instant Application has one more tyrosine at the end (Y), SEQ ID NO: 20 of Viscidi will still read on the claim due to the language of “an amino acid sequence”. As discussed supra, SEQ ID NO: 11 of Viscidi would be covalently bound to the coronavirus target antigen, which is made of SEQ ID NO: 20 (polycationic:cysteine sequence with the AAY leader sequence) bound to SEQ ID NO: 27 (SARS-CoV-2 epitope). Therefore, SEQ ID NO: 11 and SEQ ID NO: 20 would be bound together by SEQ ID NO: 20. This results in the same structure as claimed. Since the structure matches the election and claim 35 reads on the election (see page 8 of the Response to Restriction Requirement filed 16 July 2026), the composition will be effective to stimulate a cytotoxic T cell response in a mammal. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 11, Viscidi does not teach using full-length OC43, HKU1, or SARs-CoV-2 coronavirus proteins in the composition. However, Zhu teaches that they made an Ad5-vectored COVID-19 vaccine that contains a replication-defective Ad5 vector that expresses the full-length spike gene (GenBank accession number YP_009724390) (Page 481, Randomisation and masking) and found that “In this study, a single injection of the Ad5-vectored COVID-19 vaccine at 1 × 10¹¹ viral particles and 5 × 10¹⁰ viral particles induced comparable specific immune responses to the spike glycoprotein at day 28” (Page 485, Discussion ¶ 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date to take the composition taught by Viscidi and replace the coronavirus antigen with the expressed spike protein of Zhu as it was shown to be effective in a vaccine. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Additionally, it would be further obvious to add the expressed spike protein of Zhu to the vaccine of Viscidi to provide additional SARS-CoV-2 antigens, allowing for a more diverse immune response against the virus. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (see MPEP §§ 2143, A. and 2143.02). “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted).
Regarding claims 23 and 29, Viscidi does not teach the coronavirus antigen comprising structural and nonstructural OC43 proteins, as well as structural and nonstructural SARS-CoV-2 proteins. However, De Groot teaches a polypeptide that can comprise two or more polypeptides linked together (¶ [0012]). The epitopes can include SARS-CoV-2 membrane, spike, nucleocapsid, nsp3, nsp4, nsp6, and nsp7 proteins (¶ [0080]). De Groot further teaches that T-cell epitopes are highly conserved among coronaviruses, including OC43 (¶ [0084]) however, Tables 3A and 3B show that not all epitopes between SARS-CoV-2 and OC43 have a high homology score. Therefore, to protect against both the highly pathogenic SARS-CoV-2 virus, as well as the common cold OC43 virus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to add the corresponding structural and nonstructural OC43 epitopes as well. It would be further obvious to use a OC43 coronavirus epitope that has a high homology for SARS-CoV-2 so that the epitopes will be cross-reactive. Combination vaccines are well known in the art and it would have been predictably functional by one of ordinary skill in the art. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (see MPEP §§ 2143, A. and 2143.02).
27. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viscidi (Supra), Zhu (Supra), and De Groot (Supra) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 23, 29-30, and 34-35 above, and further in view of Talaat (US 20200390883 A1; Published 17 December 2020).
Regarding claim 15, Viscidi, Zhu, and De Groot make claim 9 obvious as discussed supra. All discussions thereon incorporated here. None of the references teach one of the full-length SARS-CoV-2 proteins in tables 3-10. However, Talaat teaches that the payload of a polypeptide antigen specific for SARS-CoV-2 can be the nucleocapsid protein of SEQ ID NO: 9. SEQ ID NO: 9 (“Qy”) has a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 80 of the Instant Application (“Qy”):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the filing date to take the vaccine taught by Viscidi and use the SARS-CoV-2 antigen of Talaat as the target antigen. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (see MPEP §§ 2143, A. and 2143.02).
28. Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viscidi (Supra), Zhu (Supra), De Groot (Supra), and Talaat (Supra) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ascione (US 20230263881 A1; PRO 20 April 2020), Zimring (US 20230168247 A1; PRO 24 April 2020), Rottier (US 20050130127 A1; Published 16 June 2005), and NCBI YP_009555245.1 (16 September 2020).
Regarding claim 25, Viscidi, Zhu, and De Groot make claim 9 obvious as discussed supra. All discussions thereon incorporated here. None of the references teach the specific OC43 nonstructural antigen sequence.
However, Ascione teaches an immunogenic composition that has a nucleocapsid protein domain that is conserved between coronaviruses, wherein the epitope is between 6 and 30 amino acids in length (Claim 1). Since there are a finite number of options, it would be obvious to have an epitope that is 25 amino acids in length. Zimring teaches common nucleocapsid protein epitopes among coronaviruses, including GQGVPI (SEQ ID NO: 31) (¶ [0175]) and further defines “epitope” to elicit an immune response (¶ [0052]). SEQ ID NO: 31 (“Qy”) of Zimring matches the end of SEQ ID NO: 237 of the Instant Application (“Db”):
Rottier teaches a live attenuated vaccine against OC43 (¶ [0499]), therefore demonstrating that OC43 is a desirable target for vaccine development. NCBI YP_009555245.1 is the nucleocapsid protein of OC43 (Definition). This sequence (“Db”) aligns to SEQ ID NO: 31 of Zimring (“Qy”):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to make an immunogenic composition with the nucleocapsid protein of OC43 with the epitope of Zimring (a common coronavirus N protein epitope), but make it 25 residues long as suggested by Ascione. This would give the added benefit of increased stability and a stronger immune response. Extending YP_009555245.1 to 25 residues and ending the epitope at the N-terminus of Zimring’s SEQ ID NO: 31 results in SEQ ID NO: 237 of the Instant Application:
Such epitope would be obvious and provide predictable immunogenicity and results and meet the requirements of coronavirus common sequence stated by Ascione in their immunogenic composition. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (see MPEP §§ 2143, A. and 2143.02).
Regarding claim 23, Zimring teaches that SEQ ID NO: 31 is found in SARS-CoV-2 (¶ [00175]). Therefore, the OC43 fragment made obvious has a 100% match to this SARS-CoV-2 sequence.
Double Patenting
29. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 15, 23, 25, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 10-14, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,580,474 in view of Zhu (15 August 2020, Lancet, 396: 479-488), De Groot (US 20230151061 A1; Priority to 2020), Talaat (US 20200390883 A1; Published 17 December 2020), Ascione (US 20230263881 A1; PRO 20 April 2020), Zimring (US 20230168247 A1; PRO 24 April 2020), Rottier (US 20050130127 A1; Published 16 June 2005), and NCBI YP_009555245.1 (16 September 2020).
Claim 1 of ‘474 recites “A vaccine comprising: (a) a chimeric papillomavirus virus-like particle (VLP) comprising a L1 protein, wherein an amino acid sequence EEEEEEEEC (SEQ ID NO: 11) is inserted into the HI loop of the L1 protein; and (b) a target antigen other than the L1 protein, wherein the target antigen comprises a region of positively charged amino acids, and wherein the amino acid sequence EEEEEEEEC (SEQ ID NO: 11) of the HI loop of the L1 protein is covalently bound to the positively charged region of the target antigen.”. Claim 4 of ‘474 states that SEQ ID NO: 11 replaces amino acids 347-355 of the HI loop of the L1 protein (SEQ ID NO: 5). Claims 10-13 of ‘474 state that the target antigen can be a viral antigen and claim 14 states that it can be a fusion protein. Claim 20 of ‘474 states that the target antigen can be a SARS virus CD8 epitope.
In summary, ‘474 teaches a composition comprising (a) a chimeric papillomavirus VLP comprising an L1 protein (SEQ ID NO: 5) with an amino acid insert inserted into the HI loop of the L1 protein (replacing amino acids 347-355) and (b) a coronavirus antigen, as claimed. The amino acid insert EEEEEEEEC (SEQ ID NO: 11) is made of a contiguous sequence of negatively charged amino acids and a terminal cysteine residue.
SEQ ID NO: 5 of the Instant Application was elected as the amino acid insert, which has a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 11 of ‘474:
SEQ ID NO: 441 of the Instant Application is the L1 protein and has a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 5 of ‘474:
The alignment has been omitted due to length.
As discussed above, ‘474 teaches SEQ ID NO: 11 replaces amino acids 347-355 of the HI loop of the L1 protein (SEQ ID NO: 5) (Claim 4). Since SEQ ID NO: 441 of the Instant Application and SEQ ID NO: 5 of ‘474 are the same sequence, replacement of amino acids 347-355 falls within the claimed insert positions of 344 and 357.
SEQ ID NO: 17 of the Instant Application was elected as the native amino acid sequence. A sequence alignment shows that SEQ ID NO: 17 of the Instant Application (‘Qy’) falls on positions 347-355 of SEQ ID NO: 5 of ‘474 (‘Db’), which are the same positions replaced in ‘474:
‘474 does not teach using OC43, HKU1, or SARs-CoV-2 coronavirus proteins in the composition or the coronavirus antigen comprising structural and nonstructural OC43 proteins, as well as structural and nonstructural SARS-CoV-2 proteins. However, the combination of ‘474 (Viscidi), Zhu, De Groot, Talaat, Ascione, Zimring, Rottier, and NCBI YP_009555245.1 render obvious claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 15, 23, 25, and 29 as discussed supra.
Conclusion
30. No claims are allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTINA E LY whose telephone number is (571)272-5169. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm EST.
/KRISTINA E. LY/Examiner, Art Unit 1671 /Michael Allen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1671