DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 23-38 are examined.
Response to Amendment
Regarding claim 23, the limitation “wherein clogging of a tip of the spinning needle is pierced by reciprocating the piercing needle and the spinning needle relative to each other” filed December 8, 2025 is omitted from the current claims. The omitted limitation is an improper amendment. For examination purposes, omission of the limitation will be interpreted as a deletion of the limitation.
Regarding claim 35, the underlined limitations are improper annotated as the limitations “at least two spinning needles” in line 3, “at least two guide needles” in line 5, “the … spinning needles” in line 6, “at least two piercing needles” in line 7, “the guide needles” in line 8, “at least two cleaning needles” in line 10, and “the … spinning needle” in line 11-12 were previously presented.
The amendments to the claims overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 23 recites “unwinding unit configured to unwind a substrate to be stacked with nanofibers by spinning a spinning solution”. The “unwinding unit” is interpreted as the structure labelled 401 in FIG. 7 and on page 22 of the instant specification as “unwinds a roll on which a substrate … is wound”.
Claim 23 recites “a winding unit configured to wind the substrate on which the nanofibers are stacked”. The “winding unit” is interpreted as the structure labelled 402 in FIG. 7.
Claim 23 recites “reciprocating unit for reciprocating the piercing needle and the spinning needle”. The reciprocating unit is interpreted as the structure specified in claim 30 (pneumatic driving mechanism).
Claim 27 recites “a rotating unit configured to linearly reciprocate the rotating brush with respect to the spinning needle and rotate the rotating brush around a central axis”. The “rotating unit” is interpreted as “a second driving unit (second means of driving) for relatively reciprocating or rotating the brush with respect to the spinning nozzle”.
Claim 36 recites “a spinning distance adjusting unit configured to adjust a distance between the collector and the tip of the spinning needle”. The spinning distance adjusting unit is interpreted as the structure labelled 409 in FIG. 7.
Claim Objections
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 35, line 7 = “at least two the piercing needles” should read “at least two piercing needles” for grammar
claim 35, line 8 = “the at least two the guide needles” should read “the at least two guide needles” for grammar
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the tip of the spinning needle" in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim does not recite “tip of the spinning needle” before the recitation of “the tip of the spinning needle”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read “a tip of the spinning needle”
Claim 23 recites the limitation "a tip of the spinning needle" in line 23. The limitation renders the claim vague and indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation refers to previously cited limitation of the same, in 22nd line, or refers to a new limitation. Clarification is requested.
As claims 24-38 depend on claim 23, claims 24-38 are rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-24, 29, 34, and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lui (CN 107151824 A, an English machine translation was previously provided) in view of Faridi Majidi et al., henceforth Majidi (US 2018/0010263 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Lui discloses an electrospinning device (¶ [0034] – electrostatic spinning system), comprising:
an unwinding unit (¶ [0037] – unwinding device) configured to unwind a substrate to be stacked with nanofibers by spinning a spinning solution (¶ [0037] – realize industrial continuous electrospinning);
a winding unit configured to wind the substrate (¶ [0037] – winding device) on which the nanofibers are stacked (¶ [0037]);
hollow spinning needle (¶ [0039] – solid needle spinning device comprising a needle sleeve 2 provided with a central hole 21) for discharging the spinning solution to the outside (¶ [0043] – spinning liquid flows out through liquid outlet valve 221 of solid needle spinning device);
a piercing needle (¶ [0039] – solid needle 1 comprising a needle body 11 and needle tip 12) having a smaller outer diameter than the inner diameter of the spinning needle and disposed coaxially with the spinning needle (¶ [0039] – 11, 12 extends into 21 from one end of 2; FIG. 1 depicts 1 with smaller diameter than 2);
a hollow guide needle (FIG. 1 depicts element 18 comprising a “hollow” structure for 1) to be spaced apart by a predetermined distance in a coaxial direction (FIG. 1 depicts 18 spaced apart by a predetermined distance in a coaxial direction) and having an inner diameter and outer diameter equal to or greater than that of the spinning needle (FIG. 1 depicts 18 having an inner diameter and outer diameter equal to or greater than that of 1) to guide the piercing needle to accurately enter the inside of the spinning needle without error (FIG. 1 and 2 depicts 1 entering 2 of the spinning needle);
a reciprocating unit (¶ [0038] – lifting system 6) configured to reciprocate the piercing needle and the spinning needle relative to each other (¶ [0038] – up and down reciprocating motion of 6 and 1),
a collector (¶ [0037] – receiving device 4 includes a base cloth 42 wound between two guide rollers 41) configured to transfer the substrate to stack the nanofibers emitted from the spinning needles (¶ [0043] – spinning solvent is deposited on the receiving device to form nanofibers);
a solution reservoir configured to store the spinning solution (¶ [0034] – liquid supply device 5);
a solution transfer mechanism (¶ [0034] – a plurality of microfluidic pipes 51) configured to transfer the solution of the solution reservoir to the piercing needle (¶ [0034] – 5 is provided 51 corresponding to the solid needle spinning device); and
a high voltage power supply (¶ [0005] – high-voltage DC power supply; ¶ [0034] – electrostatic generator 3) configured to apply a high voltage to the spinning solution discharged from the spinning needles (¶ [0005] – electrical field force generated; ¶ [0043] – spinning liquid is excited by electric field).
thereby clogging (¶ [0025] – needle sleeve clogging phenomenon) of a tip of the spinning needle is removed (¶ [0025] – up and down reciprocating motion of lifting system 6 and solid needle 1 can effectively solve the needle sleeve clogging phenomenon).
Lui does not disclose hollow guide needle disposed below the spinning needle. However, if the electrostatic spinning system in Lui was oriented upside down as depicted in modified FIG. 1-2 below, the hollow guide needles (18 of 61) would be disposed below the spinning needle (2).
Lui FIG. 1-2
Analogous art Majidi discloses an apparatus for fabricating nanofibrous articles and electrospinning (Abstract). A collector 202 is positioned in front of a nozzle 201 (¶ [0035]). In some implementations, a double-walled nozzle 500 (spinning needle) may be used as an implementation of 201 (¶ [0044]) and includes inner tube 502 with an extended tip 508 (piercing needle) that extends from a tip of the outer tube 503 (¶ [0046]). In one implementation, the plurality of double-walled nozzles 601 substantially similar to 201 are in fluid communication with a solution injection system 404 and further comprise a collector 603 (¶ [0047-0049]). FIG. 5-6 depict the double-walled nozzle 500, 601 oriented upside down compared to Lui and a collector 603 is situated above 601.
Majidi FIG. 5
Majidi discloses a plurality of hollow guide needles 404 disposed below the spinning needle 604 (FIG. 6 – depicts 404 below 604).
Majidi FIG. 6
Lui and Majidi disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to apparatuses for nanofibrous articles and electrospinning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the solid spinning device comprising the needle sleeve and solid needle, lifting device and needle plate, and receiving device in Lui to be upside down as taught in Majidi so the needle plate is below the needle sleeve to allow for positioning of the plurality of double-walled nozzles with respect to a collector 603 (¶ [0048]).
Furthermore, the reversal of parts is held to be an obvious modification (MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(A)) and the mere rearrangement of parts is held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C)).
Lui does not disclose wherein the piercing needle protrudes to the outside through the tip of the spinning needle by reciprocating.
Majidi disclose wherein the piercing needle protrudes to the outside through the tip of the spinning needle (FIG. 5, ¶ [0046] – inner tube 502 may include an extended tip 508 that extends from a tip of the outer tube 503).
Lui and Majidi disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to apparatuses for nanofibrous articles and electrospinning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the inner tube with an extended tip extending at a distance as analyzed above in Majidi to the solid needle in Lui to allow the solvent vapor in the pressurized solvent/gas stream to contact the tip of the needle thereby dissolving and wiping out possible polymer fouling that may block the needle (¶ [0046]) and provide consistent and high throughput production of smaller fiber sizes (¶ [0023]). As Lui discloses up and down reciprocating motion of lifting system 6 and solid needle 1 (¶ [0025]), the tip of the inner tube extending from the outer tube taught by Majidi would be by the reciprocating motion of Lui.
Regarding claim 24, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 23.
Lui does not disclose a separation distance between the spinning needle and the guide needle is 1 mm to 10 mm.
Majidi discloses inner tube 502 may include an extended tip 508 that extends from a tip of the outer tube 503 at a distance in the range of -10 to 10 mm (FIG. 5, ¶ [0046]).
Lui and Majidi disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to apparatuses for nanofibrous articles and electrospinning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the inner tube with an extended tip extending at a distance above in Majidi to the solid needle in Lui to allow the solvent vapor in the pressurized solvent/gas stream to contact the tip of the needle thereby dissolving and wiping out possible polymer fouling that may block the needle (¶ [0046]) and provide consistent and high throughput production of smaller fiber sizes (¶ [0023]).
Lui and Majidi do not explicitly disclose a separation distance between the spinning needle and the guide needle is 1 mm to 10 mm.
However, as Lui discloses reciprocating linear motion (¶ [0034]) and the inner tube extends in the range of -10 to 10 mm (¶ [0008]), the needle plate move in a range of -10 to 10 mm would be within a separation distance of 1 mm to 10 mm to the spinning needles in Lui when the needle extends to 10 mm.
Regarding claim 29, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 23.
Modified Lui further discloses wherein the piercing needle is coaxially disposed inside the guide needle (Lui ¶ [0039] – 1 is in clearance with the hole wall of 21 of the 2), and a front end of the piercing needle (Lui ¶ [0039] – 1 comprising 12) is located at the same level as a front end of the guide needle (¶ [0046] = tip 508 extends from tip of outer tube 503 at range of -10 to 10 mm, which includes 0 and would be level).
Regarding claim 34, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 23.
Lui does not disclose wherein the piercing needle is protruded from the spinning needle so that has a protrusion length of 0.5 mm to 20 mm.
However, Majidi discloses the piercing needle is protruded from the spinning needle so that has a protrusion length of 0.5 mm to 20 mm (FIG. 5, ¶ [0046] – inner tube 502 may include an extended tip 508 that extends from a tip of the outer tube 503 at a distance in the range of -10 to 10 mm, overlaps with the claimed range).
Lui and Majidi disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to apparatuses for nanofibrous articles and electrospinning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the inner tube with an extended tip extending at a distance as analyzed above in Majidi to the solid needle in Lui to allow the solvent vapor in the pressurized solvent/gas stream to contact the tip of the needle thereby dissolving and wiping out possible polymer fouling that may block the needle (¶ [0046]) and provide consistent and high throughput production of smaller fiber sizes (¶ [0023]).
Regarding claim 36, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 23. Lui does not disclose a spinning distance adjusting unit configured to adjust a distance between the collector and the tip of the spinning needle.
However, Majidi discloses a spinning distance adjusting unit configured to adjust a distance between the collector and the tip of the spinning needle (¶ [0037], FIG. 3 – nozzle holder 300 allows for adjustment in a vertical distance 308 between the nozzle tip 203 and the collector 206).
Lui and Majidi disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to apparatuses for nanofibrous articles and electrospinning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the adjustment of the vertical distance between the nozzle tip and the collector in Majidi to the needle plate and receiving device in Lui to allow adjustment and to orient the nozzle toward the collector (¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 37, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 23.
Lui does not disclose a hot air generator configured to produce fine nanofibers by volatilizing a solvent from a large amount of spinning filaments discharged from the spinning needles; a humidity controller configured to control a solvent volatilization rate by adjusting internal humidity; and a laminator configured to adjust a coupling state of the nanofibers formed on the substrate.
However, Majidi discloses a hot air generator (¶ [0041] – solvent vapor generating system 402 adjusts pressurized solvent/gas stream including temperature; ¶ [0046] – nozzle 500 disposed inside outer tube 503 with an air gap 509) configured to produce fine nanofibers by volatilizing a solvent (¶ [0025] – provide a mechanical force that assists the external electrical force; ¶ [0046] – allow solvent vapor in the pressurized solvent/gas stream to contact the tip of the inner tube 502, thereby dissolving and wiping out possible polymer fouling) from a large amount of spinning filaments discharged from the spinning needles (¶ [0025] – shearing and dragging the fluid jet stream; ¶ [0046] – polymer fouling that may block 502); a humidity controller configured to control a solvent volatilization rate by adjusting internal humidity (¶ [0041] – manipulate or adjust the temperature and pressure; would indirectly affect the humidity); and a laminator configured to adjust a coupling state of the nanofibers formed on the substrate (¶ [0033] – absorption of nanofibers is due to electric field generated at nozzle tip 203 and collector 206).
Lui and Majidi disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to apparatuses for nanofibrous articles and electrospinning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied pressurized solvent/gas stream and aid gap in Majidi to the spinning needles in Lui to allow solvent vapor in the pressurized solvent/gas stream to contact the tip of the needle, thereby dissolving and wiping out possible polymer fouling (¶ [0046]) and provide consistent and high throughput production of smaller fiber sizes (¶ [0023]).
Claim(s) 25, 27-28, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lui (CN 107151824 A) in view of Majidi (US 2018/0010263 A1), as applied to claim 23, in further view of Sakamoto (US 2018/0202073 A1).
Regarding claim 25, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 23. Lui does not disclose at least one rotating brush disposed on the left and/or right side of the spinning needle to clean the outside of the spinning needle by rotation; and aggregates deposited on the outside of the tip of the spinning needle are cleaned by using the at least one rotating brush.
Analogous art Sakamoto discloses a fiber manufacturing apparatus comprising a discharge head which discharges a raw material liquid (¶ [0014]). Each fiber manufacturing apparatuses 2 has heads 21 (¶ [0019]).
Sakamoto further discloses at least one rotating brush (¶ [0033] - a brush roller as the cleaning member 31) disposed on the left and/or right side of the spinning needle (¶ [0033] – 31 provided for the discharge faces 21a of 21) to clean the outside of the spinning needle by rotation (¶ [0034] – 31 rotated); and aggregates deposited on the outside of the tip of the spinning needle are cleaned by using the at least one rotating brush (¶ [0076] – 31 is rotated to clean 21a).
Lui and Sakamoto disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the brush rollers in Sakamoto to the solid needle spinning device in Lui to clean the needle sleeve (Sakamoto ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 27, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 25.
Lui does not disclose a rotating unit configured to linearly reciprocate the rotating brush with respect to the spinning needle and rotate the rotating brush around a central axis.
However, Sakamoto discloses a rotating unit (¶ [0034] – support shaft 32) configured to linearly reciprocate the rotating brush (¶ [0034] – 31 rotated by motor) with respect to the spinning needle and rotate the rotating brush around a central axis (¶ [0034] – around 32 as rotation axis).
Lui and Sakamoto disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the brush rollers rotated by a support shaft and motor in Sakamoto to the solid needle spinning device in Lui to clean the needle sleeve (Sakamoto ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 28, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 25.
Lui does not disclose the rotating brush is a brush having a roll comb disposed on a round bar or a brush having a tail comb disposed on a round bar.
However, Sakamoto discloses the rotating brush is a brush having a roll comb (¶ [0034] – brush rollers 31) disposed on a round bar (¶ [0034] – support shaft 32).
Lui and Sakamoto disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the brush rollers rotated by a support shaft in Sakamoto to the solid needle spinning device in Lui to clean the needle sleeve (Sakamoto ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 33, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 26. Lui does not disclose wherein the at least one rotating brush is a pair of rotating brushes disposed on left and right sides of a front end of the spinning needle to be spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance.
However, Sakamoto discloses wherein the at least one rotating brush is a pair of rotating brushes disposed on left and right sides of a front end of the spinning needle (¶ [0034] – support shaft 32 supports the brush rollers 31 so that each 31 is opposite to and contacts with the discharge face 21a of the head 21) to be spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance (FIG. 3A depicts a pair of 31 spaced by a predetermined distance).
Lui and Sakamoto disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the brush rollers in Sakamoto to the solid needle spinning device in Lui to clean the needle sleeve (Sakamoto ¶ [0076]).
Claim(s) 26, 31-32, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lui (CN 107151824 A) in view of Majidi (US 2018/0010263 A1), as applied to claim 23, and Sakamoto (US 2018/0202073 A1), as applied to claim 25, in further view of Uchida (US 2017/0268129 A1).
Regarding claim 26, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 25.
Modified Lui does not disclose further comprising: a cleaning needle having an inner diameter greater than the outer diameter of the spinning needle and disposed to coaxially surround the spinning needle to clean the tip of the spinning needle by discharging a cleaning solvent.
Analogous art Uchida discloses a nozzle head including a main body 22 having a space in an interior, the space stores a source material liquid, a first nozzle 20 provided at the main body, the first nozzle ejecting liquid (¶ [0013], [0017]).
Uchida discloses a cleaning needle (¶ [0017] – cleaning nozzle 23) having an inner diameter greater than the outer diameter of the spinning needle 22 and disposed to coaxially surround the spinning needle (¶ [0017] – inner diameter of the cleaning nozzle 23a is larger than the outer diameter of 20; FIG. 2A-2B depicts 23a surrounding 20) to clean the tip of the spinning needle by discharging a cleaning solvent (¶ [0013] – second nozzle supplying a cleaning liquid 120 to a vicinity of an outlet of the nozzle 20).
Lui and Uchida disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the cleaning nozzle in Uchida to the solid needle spinning device in Lui to perform cleaning in a state in which the cleaning liquid fills the gap between the 23a and 20 (¶ [0096]) and decrease manufacturing cost (¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 31, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 26. Lui does not disclose wherein the cleaning needle has an inner diameter greater than the outer diameter of the spinning needle by 0.1 mm to 5 mm.
However, Uchida discloses wherein the cleaning needle has an inner diameter greater than the outer diameter of the spinning needle by 0.1 mm to 5 mm (¶ [0093] – inner diameter of the cleaning nozzle 23a set to be about 0.5 mm to 2 mm and outer diameter set to be about 0.7 mm to 2.3 mm, within claimed range).
Lui and Uchida disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the cleaning nozzle with the above inner and outer diameters in Uchida to the solid needle spinning device in Lui to perform cleaning in a state in which the cleaning liquid fills the gap between the 23a and 20 (¶ [0096]) and decrease manufacturing cost (¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 32, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 26. Lui does not disclose the cleaning needle is disposed coaxially below a front end of the spinning needle by 0.1 mm to 5 mm.
However, Uchida discloses the cleaning needle is disposed coaxially below a front end of the spinning needle by 0.1 mm to 5 mm (¶ [0102] – the protrusion amount L of the tip of the nozzle 20 is set to be 1 mm to 20 mm, overlaps with claimed range).
Lui and Uchida disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the cleaning nozzle with the above protrusion amount in Uchida to the solid needle spinning device in Lui to perform cleaning in a state in which the cleaning liquid fills the gap between the 23a and 20 (¶ [0096]) and decrease manufacturing cost (¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 35, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 26.
Lui discloses a first nozzle support configured to support and fix at least two spinning needles arranged in a row (FIG. 2 depicts multiple solid needle spinning devices arranged in a row and on a “support”); a second nozzle support configured to support and fix at least two guide needles arranged in a row so as to correspond to the at least two spinning needles fixed to the first nozzle support (FIG. 2 depicts multiple needle sleeves provided with central holes arranged in a row and on a “support”); a third nozzle support configured to support and fix at least two piercing needles arranged in a row so as to be guided into the at least two the guide needles fixed to the second nozzle support (FIG. 2 depicts multiple solid needles arranged in a row on 61 forming a “support”).
Lui FIG. 2
Lui does not disclose a fourth nozzle support configured to support and fix at least two cleaning needles arranged in a row so as to coaxially surround at least a part of a front end of the at least two spinning needle.
However, Uchida discloses a fourth nozzle support configured to support (¶ [0017] – base 24; ¶ [0031-032] – provided at the main body 20 with 24 interposed) and fix at least two cleaning needles (¶ [0017] – cleaning nozzle 23) arranged in a row (FIG. 1 depicts 23 are arranged in a row) so as to coaxially surround at least a part of a front end of the at least two spinning needle (¶ [0017] – inner diameter of the cleaning nozzle 23a is larger than the outer diameter of 20; FIG. 2A-2B depicts 23a surrounding 20) .
Lui and Uchida disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the cleaning nozzle and base in Uchida to the solid needle spinning device in Lui to perform cleaning in a state in which the cleaning liquid fills the gap between the 23a and 20 (¶ [0096]) and decrease manufacturing cost (¶ [0114]).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lui (CN 107151824 A) in view of Majidi (US 2018/0010263 A1), as applied to claim 23, in further view of Groen (US 5,369, 834).
Regarding claim 30, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 23.
Lui does not disclose wherein the reciprocating unit is a pneumatic driving mechanism for reciprocating the piercing needle up and down relative to the spinning needle.
Analogous art Groen discloses a duct cleaning device (c. 1, L 54-58) with a brush device with a reversible rotary motor 11 (c. 2, L 17-32).
Groen further discloses the reciprocating unit is a pneumatic driving mechanism (c. 2, L 28-32 - rotary pneumatic motor 11) for reciprocating the piercing needle up and down relative to the spinning needle (c. 2, L 26-27 – rotatably driving an output shaft projecting from the front end; c. 3, L 43-47 – driven in either counterclockwise or clockwise direction). The rotary pneumatic motor is a conventional commercial type motor (c. 2, L 28-32).
Lui and Groen disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the means of reciprocating is a pneumatic system to rotatably driving an output shaft either counterclockwise or clockwise (c. 2, L 26-27; c. 3, L 43-47) and since Groen discloses it is a conventional commercial type of motor. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lui (CN 107151824 A) in view of Majidi (US 2018/0010263 A1), as applied to claim 23, in further view of Jeong (US 2019/0176095 A1).
Regarding claim 38, modified Lui discloses the electrospinning device according to claim 23.
Lui discloses the needle sleeve clogging phenomenon (¶ [0025]) and spinning liquid is excited by the electric field to generate a Taylor cone (¶ [0042]).
Lui does not disclose a video camera configured to monitor a solidified state or clogged state of the spinning solution formed at a front end of the spinning needle or a droplet state of Taylor cone formed at the tip of the spinning needle in real time.
However, analogous Jeong discloses a method of providing a nanofiber to form a fiber web layer formed by electrospinning (¶ [0067]).
Jeong further discloses a video camera configured to monitor a droplet state of Taylor cone formed at the tip of the spinning needle in real time (¶ [0095] - charge-coupled device (CCD) camera for monitoring the shape of the droplet).
Lui and Jeong disclose an apparatus with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a camera as taught by Jeong into the electrostatic spinning system in Lui for the benefit of monitoring the droplets (¶ [0095]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues needle sleeve in Lui is not a hollow spinning needle as claimed.
Lui discloses hollow spinning needle (¶ [0039] – solid needle spinning device comprising a needle sleeve 2 provided with a central hole 21) for discharging the spinning solution to the outside (¶ [0043] – spinning liquid flows out through liquid outlet valve 221 of solid needle spinning device). As spinning liquid flows out of solid needle spinning device (¶ [0043]) and comprises the needle sleeve 2 (¶ [0039]), the needle sleeve would be configured and capable “for discharging the spinning solution to the outside”.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues solid needle in Lui is not a hollow piercing needle as claimed.
The claim recites “a piercing needle” and not “a hollow piercing needle”. Lui discloses a piercing needle (¶ [0039] – solid needle 1 comprising a needle body 11 and needle tip 12).
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues the lifting system and needle of Lui does not perform a piercing function by protruding to the outside through the tip of the needle sleeve as claimed because the needle acts as a piston.
The argument is addressed in the updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 above.
Majidi disclose wherein the piercing needle protrudes to the outside through the tip of the spinning needle (FIG. 5, ¶ [0046] – inner tube 502 may include an extended tip 508 that extends from a tip of the outer tube 503).
Lui and Majidi disclose apparatuses with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to apparatuses for nanofibrous articles and electrospinning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the inner tube with an extended tip extending at a distance as analyzed above in Majidi to the solid needle in Lui to allow the solvent vapor in the pressurized solvent/gas stream to contact the tip of the needle thereby dissolving and wiping out possible polymer fouling that may block the needle (¶ [0046]) and provide consistent and high throughput production of smaller fiber sizes (¶ [0023]). As Lui discloses up and down reciprocating motion of lifting system 6 and solid needle 1 (¶ [0025]), the tip of the inner tube extending from the outer tube taught by Majidi would be by the reciprocating motion of Lui.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues the element 18 in Lui is not a hollow needle and a guide needle of the present invention.
The element 18 is mapped to the claimed “hollow guide needle” and not the “hollow spinning needle” as argued.
As shown in FIG. 1 of Lui, the element 18 “guides” 1 into 21 of 2, therefore meeting the claimed “hollow guide needle”.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues Lui does not have a function of clearing blockage caused by solidification of the spinning solution by relatively reciprocating up and down the dual needles (between the spinning needle and the piercing needle and between the guide needle and the piercing needle) that are arranged coaxially with each other.
As Lui discloses the lifting system performs up and down reciprocating motion of 6 and 1 (¶ [0038]) and that 1 is arranged in 2 through 21 (¶ [0039]), the needle is configured to “clear blockage caused by solidification of the spinning solution by relatively reciprocating up and down” and are “arranged coaxially with each other”.
In response to applicant's argument that clearing blockage caused by solidification of the spinning solution by relatively reciprocating up and down the dual needles, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues Majidi does not disclose a hollow spinning needle, a hollow piercing needle, reciprocating mechanism, and a hollow guide needle.
The elements of a reciprocating mechanism and hollow guide needle are disclosed in Lui as presented in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection.
Majidi discloses hollow spinning needle (¶ [0045] – double-walled nozzle 500 comprising outer tube 503) for discharging the spinning solution to the outside (¶ [0027] – spinning solution is injected), a piercing needle (¶ [0045] – 500 comprises inner tube 502) having a smaller outer diameter than the inner diameter of the spinning needle (FIG. 5 depicts 502 with smaller diameter than 503) and disposed coaxially with the spinning needle (FIG. 5 depicts 502 disposed coaxially with 503). Therefore, Majidi discloses analogous art to Lui
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754