DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments to claims 1 and 6 in the response filed on 03/05/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 remain pending in the application
Claims 1-11 are examined.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims. The applicant has modified claims 1 and 6 to require “a metal wire group having a circular cross section arranged along a circumference of the endoscope cable so as to surround entirety of the plurality of individual cables… the plurality of types of metal wires are arranged adjacent to each other in an alternating sequence along the circumference of the entire shield portion, the plurality of types of metal wires are selected such that at least one type has higher durability and higher repulsive force against deformation and at least one other type has lower repulsive force against deformation to improve connection workability”, limitations heretofore not presented for examination in this application. As such, the scope of the claims was substantially changed and new grounds for rejection are presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2004195269A to Yoshimitsu in view of US2018/0151272 to Hitachi et al. (hereinafter “Hitachi”) and in view of JP H08256974 A to Kishi et al. (hereinafter “Kishi”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimitsu discloses an endoscope, to be inserted into a body cavity, comprising:
a distal tip portion (12, Fig. 1, [0016]);
an endoscope cable that electrically connects the distal tip portion (30, Fig. 2, [0020]); and
a connector located at a rear end portion of the endoscope (10, Fig. 1, [0014]), the connector being configured to be connected to a processor for an endoscope (5, Fig. 1, [0013]), wherein
the endoscope cable includes a plurality of individual cables (41, 43, Fig. 3, [0040]) and is provided with an entire shield portion (30b, Fig. 2, [0043]) to provide an electric shield function and to surround entirety of the plurality of individual cables, and a cable core wire including a metal wire group in each of the individual cables (39a, Fig. 4, [0045]).
Yoshimitsu fails to expressly teach an entire shield portion including a metal wire group having a circular cross section arranged along a circumference of the endoscope cable so as to surround entirety of the plurality of individual cables and comprising a plurality of metal wires arranged together to provide an electric shield function and to surround entirety of the plurality of individual cables and the metal wire group in at least one of the entire shield portion and the cable core wires comprises a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other.
However, Hitachi teaches of an endoscope including an entire shield portion including a metal wire group having a circular cross section arranged along a circumference of the endoscope cable so as to surround entirety of the plurality of individual cables and comprising a plurality of metal wires arranged together to provide an electric shield function and to surround entirety of the plurality of individual cables (Hitachi: 6, Fig. 1, [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu to utilize a shield portion in the manner as taught by Hitachi. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of improving the flex resistance of the cable ([0035] of Yoshimitsu).
Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, fails to expressly teach the cable core wires comprises a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other, the plurality of types of metal wires are arranged adjacent to each other in an alternating sequence along the circumference of the entire shield portion, the plurality of types of metal wires are selected such that at least one type has higher durability and higher repulsive force against deformation and at least one other type has lower repulsive force against deformation to improve connection workability.
However, Kishi teaches of an analogous device wherein the cable core wires comprises a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other, the plurality of types of metal wires are arranged adjacent to each other in an alternating sequence along the circumference of the entire shield portion, the plurality of types of metal wires are selected such that at least one type has higher durability and higher repulsive force against deformation and at least one other type has lower repulsive force against deformation to improve connection workability (Kishi: 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 8, [0023]-[0026])
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other, as taught by Kishi. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of eliminating the frequency of the noise ([0024] of Kishi).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Matsumura, teaches the endoscope according to claim 1, and Yoshimitsu further discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of individual cables includes an individual cable shield portion including a metal wire group having an electric shield function so as to surround a periphery of the cable core wire (Yoshimitsu: 39d, Fig. 4, [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Matsumura, teaches the endoscope according to claim 2, and Yoshimitsu further discloses wherein the metal wire group in the individual cable shield portion (30b, Fig. 2, [0043]).
Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Matsumura, fails to expressly teach wherein the portion is configured by combining a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other.
However, Kishi further teaches wherein the portion is configured by combining a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other (Kishi: 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 8, [0023]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Matsumura, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other, as taught by Matsumura. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of eliminating the frequency of the noise ([0024] of Kishi).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Matsumura, teaches the endoscope according to claim 2.
Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Matsumura, fails to expressly teach wherein the metal wire groups in at least two of the entire shield portion, the cable core wire, and the individual cable shield portion are configured by combining a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other, and the types of metal wires used for the metal wire groups in the at least two are same, but a ratio of a number of the plurality of types of metal wires used in the metal wire group is different between the metal wire groups in the at least two.
However, Kishi further teaches wherein the metal wire groups in at least two of the entire shield portion, the cable core wire, and the individual cable shield portion are configured by combining a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other, and the types of metal wires used for the metal wire groups in the at least two are same, but a ratio of a number of the plurality of types of metal wires used in the metal wire group is different between the metal wire groups in the at least two (Kishi: 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 8, [0023]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Matusumura, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other, as taught by Matsumura. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of eliminating the frequency of the noise ([0024] of Kishi).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Matusumura, teaches the endoscope according to claim 1, and Yoshimitsu further discloses wherein the metal wire group in at least one of the entire shield portion and the individual cables is arranged along a periphery of the endoscope cable or along a periphery of the individual cable (30b, Fig. 2, [0043]).
Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Matusumura, fails to expressly teach such that the plurality of types of metal wires is repeated in a predetermined order.
However, Kishi further teaches such that the plurality of types of metal wires is repeated in a predetermined order (Kishi: 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 8, [0023]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Matusumura, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other, as taught by Matsumura. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of eliminating the frequency of the noise ([0024] of Kishi).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshimitsu discloses an endoscope, to be inserted into a body cavity, comprising: a distal tip portion (12, Fig. 1, [0016]); an endoscope cable that electrically connects the distal tip portion(30, Fig. 2, [0020]); and a connector located at a rear end portion of the endoscope (10, Fig. 1, [0014]), the connector being to be connected to a processor for an endoscope(5, Fig. 1, [0013]), wherein the endoscope cable includes a plurality of individual cables (41, 43, Fig. 3, [0040]), and is provided with an entire shield portion (30b, Fig. 2, [0043]) including a metal wire group having a circular cross section arranged along a circumference of the endoscope cable so as to surround entirety of the plurality of individual cables and comprising a plurality of metal wires arranged together to provide an electric shield function and to surround entirety of the plurality of individual cables (39a, Fig. 4, [0045]).
Yoshimitsu fails to expressly teach and a cable core wire including a metal wire group in each of the individual cables, at least one of the plurality of individual cables includes an individual cable shield portion including a metal wire group having an electric shield function so as to surround a periphery of the cable core wire and a combination of types of metal wires used for the metal wire group is different between the metal wire groups in at least two of the entire shield portion, the cable core wire, and the individual cable shield portion, the combination of types of metal wires are arranged adjacent to each other in an alternating sequence along the circumference of the entire shield portion, and the combination of types of metal wires are selected such that at least one type has higher durability and higher repulsive force against deformation and at least one other type has lower repulsive force against deformation to improve connection workability.
However, Hitachi further teaches of an endoscope including a cable core wire including a metal wire group in each of the individual cables, at least one of the plurality of individual cables includes an individual cable shield portion including a metal wire group having an electric shield function so as to surround a periphery of the cable core wire (6, Fig. 1, [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu to utilize a shield portion in the manner as taught by Hitachi. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of improving the flex resistance of the cable ([0035] of Yoshimitsu).
Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, fails to expressly teach a combination of types of metal wires used for the metal wire group is different between the metal wire groups in at least two of the entire shield portion, the cable core wire, and the individual cable shield portion, the combination of types of metal wires are arranged adjacent to each other in an alternating sequence along the circumference of the entire shield portion, and the combination of types of metal wires are selected such that at least one type has higher durability and higher repulsive force against deformation and at least one other type has lower repulsive force against deformation to improve connection workability.
However, Kishi teaches of an analogous device including a combination of types of metal wires used for the metal wire group is different between the metal wire groups in at least two of the entire shield portion, the cable core wire, and the individual cable shield portion, the combination of types of metal wires are arranged adjacent to each other in an alternating sequence along the circumference of the entire shield portion, and the combination of types of metal wires are selected such that at least one type has higher durability and higher repulsive force against deformation and at least one other type has lower repulsive force against deformation to improve connection workability (Kishi: 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 8, [0023]-[0026])..
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions from each other, as taught by Matsumura. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of eliminating the frequency of the noise ([0024] of Kishi).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Matusumura teaches the endoscope according to claim 1, and Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Matusumura fails to expressly teach wherein a metal composition is different among the plurality of types of metal wires.
However, Kishi further teaches wherein a metal composition is different among the plurality of types of metal wires (Kishi: 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 8, [0023]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Matsumura, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires, as taught by Matsumura. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of eliminating the frequency of the noise ([0024] of Kishi).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Kishi fails to expressly teach the endoscope according to claim 1, and Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Kishi fails to expressly teach wherein at least one characteristic of conductivity (JIS C3002) and Young's modulus is different among the plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions.
However, Kishi further teaches wherein at least one characteristic of conductivity (JIS C3002) and Young's modulus is different among the plurality of types of metal wires having different compositions (Kishi: 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 8, [0023]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Kishi, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires, as taught by Kishi. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of eliminating the frequency of the noise ([0024] of Kishi).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2004195269A to Yoshimitsu in view of US2018/0151272 to Hitachi et al. (hereinafter “Hitachi”) and in view of JP H08256974 A to Kishi et al. (hereinafter “Kishi”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0238253 to Matsumura et al. (hereinafter “Matsumura”).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Kishi teaches the endoscope according to claim 1.
Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Kishi fails to expressly teach wherein the plurality of types of metal wires includes at least a soft copper (conforming to JIS C3102-1984 or JIS C3152-1984) wire and a copper alloy wire having a Young's modulus larger than the soft copper wire.
However, Matsumura teaches of an analogous device wherein the plurality of types of metal wires includes at least a soft copper (conforming to JIS C3102-1984 or JIS C3152-1984) wire and a copper alloy wire having a Young's modulus larger than the soft copper wire (Matsumura: [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Matsumura, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires, as taught by Matsumura. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of serving as a conductor ([0044] of Matsumura).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Kishi and Matsumura teaches the endoscope according to claim 8, and Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Kishi Matsumura fails to expressly teach wherein the copper alloy wire includes a plurality of types of copper alloy wires having different metal compositions.
However, Matsumura further teaches wherein the copper alloy wire includes a plurality of types of copper alloy wires having different metal compositions (Matsumura: [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi and Kishi and Matsumura, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires, as taught by Matsumura. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of serving as a conductor ([0044] of Matsumura).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2004195269A to Yoshimitsu in view of US2018/0151272 to Hitachi et al. (hereinafter “Hitachi”) and in view of JP H08256974 A to Kishi (hereinafter “Kishi”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0100018 to Saito et al. (hereinafter “Saito”).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Kishi, teaches an endoscope system comprising: the endoscope according to claim 1; and Yoshimitsu further discloses a processor (5, Fig. 1, [0013]) for an endoscope (2, Fig. 1, [0014]) that is connected to the endoscope via the connector (10, Fig. 1, [0014]), outputs an instruction signal to the endoscope (5, Fig. 1, [0013]), and performs signal processing in response to an input of a signal output from the endoscope (5, Fig. 1, [0013]), wherein the endoscope connectable to the processor for an endoscope according to use conditions including a site in a body cavity into which the endoscope is inserted and operation content of the endoscope (2, Fig. 1, [0014]), and at least one of a combination of types of the metal wires used for the endoscope cable and a ratio of a number of the plurality of metal wires used in the metal wire group is different in at least two endoscopes in the endoscope group according to the use conditions (duplication of parts see MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B)).
Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Kishi, fails to expressly teach wherein the endoscope is an endoscope selected from an endoscope group connectable to the processor, a plurality of types of metal wires used in the metal wire group.
However, Saito teaches of an endoscope system (Saito: 1, Fig. 1, [0030]) wherein the endoscope is an endoscope selected from an endoscope group connectable to the processor (Saito: [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Kishi, to utilize an endoscope group, as taught by Saito. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of making it easy to perform observation or inspection, treatment performed using a treatment instrument ([0005] of Saito).
Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Kishi and Saito, fails to expressly teach a plurality of types of metal wires used in the metal wire group.
However, Kishi further teaches a plurality of types of metal wires used in the metal wire group compositions (Kishi: 71, 72, 73, 74, Fig. 8, [0023]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimitsu, in view of Hitachi, and Kishi and Saito, to utilize a plurality of types of metal wires, as taught by Kishi. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of eliminating the frequency of the noise ([0024] of Kishi).
Conclusion
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795