Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “the formation process”. This is interpreted as referring to “perform formation” previously recited in the claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the charging/discharging part in Claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
For the following section(s) pertaining to 35 USC 112(f), the published application (US20240313249A1) will be used for text citations to provide clarity due to the Specification dated 07/14/2023 lacking paragraph or line numbers.
Claim 1 recites “formation body part” (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “formation of battery cells”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 10 recites a frame and pressing jig as the required structure. Claim 10 also recites “a charging/discharge part” as part of the description of the formation body part which also invokes 112(f) and therefore does not describe the required structure to perform the claimed action. Claim 11 recites “an air supply part” as part of the description of the formation body part which also invokes 112(f) and therefore does not describe the required structure to perform the claimed action. Claim 12 recites “a gas venting part” as part of the description of the formation body part which also invokes 112(f) and therefore does not describe the required structure to perform the claimed action.
Claim 10 recites “a charging/discharging part”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “charge and discharge battery cells”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0075 discusses the charging and discharging part, but indicates that it is “not shown” and discusses no structure to perform the claimed action.
Claim 11 recites “air supply part”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “supply air”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0128 discusses the air supply part and describes it as a pipe connected to the inside of the frame.
Claim 12 recites “gas venting part”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “discharge a gas”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 13 recites a blower fan and a filter as the structure for the gas venting part.
Claim 1 recites “loading buffer part” (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “receive battery cells”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 9 recites “a transfer part” and “alignment guide members” which also invoke 112(f) and do not describe the structure required to perform the claimed action.
Claim 9 recites “a transfer part”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “transfer the battery cells”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0088 describes the transfer part as a conveyor belt.
Claim 9 recites “alignment guide members”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “members”; (B) the “member” has the function of “creating separation spaces”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0086-0087 describe the guide members as a pair of guide bars that are spaced apart from one another having a predetermined width.
Claim 1 recites “unloading buffer part” (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “receive battery cells”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 9 recites “a transfer part” and “alignment guide members” which also invoke 112(f) and do not describe the structure required to perform the claimed action.
Claim 9 recites “a transfer part”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “transfer the battery cells”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0088 describes the transfer part as a conveyor belt.
Claim 9 recites “alignment guide members”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “members”; (B) the “member” has the function of “creating separation spaces”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0086-0087 describe the guide members as a pair of guide bars that are spaced apart from one another having a predetermined width.
Claim 1 recites “piercing part”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “form a through hole in a gas pocket”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 2 recites “a piercing unit”, “a piercing unit moving member” and “a driving part” that also invoke 112(f) and do not describe the structure required to perform the claimed action.
Claim 2 recites “a piercing unit”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “unit”; (B) the “unit” has the function of “form the through hole while pressing opposite sides of the gas pocket part”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 3 recites “gas pocket part pressing members” and “a piercing member” which also invoke 112(f) and do not describe the structure to perform the claimed action.
Claim 3 recites “gas pocket part pressing members”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “member”; (B) the “member” has the function of “press the gas pocket part therebetween”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0093 describes the gas pocket part pressing members as a pressing surface with a predetermined area on the inside facing the battery cell with a piercing member coupled to a partial region of the pressing surface.
Claim 3 recites “a piercing member”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “member”; (B) the “member” has the function of “form the through hole”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0094 describes the piercing member(s) as an acicular member with a sharp distal end or a punching mold.
Claim 2 recites “a piercing unit moving member”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “member”; (B) the “member” has the function of “move the piercing unit forward toward the one of the battery cells or backward away from the one of the battery cells”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 4 describes the piercing unit moving member as an extension rod.
Claim 2 recites “a driving part”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “drive the piercing unit moving member”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0090, ¶0100, ¶0103 and ¶0109 describe the driving part, but do not recite specific structure to perform the claimed action. Figures 6 and 8 show the driving part (Items 143 and 153 respectively) but do not specifically show the structure that performs the claimed action.
Claim 1 recites “sealing part” (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “seal the through hole”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 5 recites “a sealing unit”, “a sealing unit moving member”, and a “driving part” which also invoke 112(f) and do not describe the structure to perform the claimed action.
Claim 5 recites “a sealing unit”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “unit”; (B) the “unit” has the function of “seal the through hole”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 6 recites “through hole pressing members” and “sealing members” which also invoke 112(f) and do not describe the structure to perform the claimed action.
Claim 6 recites “through hole pressing members”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “member”; (B) the “member” has the function of “press the through hole”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0112 describes the through hole pressing members as a pressing surface with a predetermined area on the inside facing the battery cell and having a sealing member coupled to a part of the pressing surface.
Claim 6 recites “sealing members”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “member”; (B) the “member” has the function of “seal the through hole”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0113 describes the sealing members as sealing tools made from hard metal material having a heating member. The specification does not describe what the heating member is. It is noted that ¶0115 and ¶0116 describe other functions of the sealing member but do not describe the structure.
Claim 5 recites “a sealing unit moving member”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “member”; (B) the “member” has the function of “move the sealing unit”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Claim 8 recites “an extension rod” for the structure of the sealing unit moving member.
Claim 5 recites “a driving part”. (A) the limitation uses the generic term “part”; (B) the “part” has the function of “drive the sealing unit moving member”; (C) the claim does not recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed action. The limitation satisfies all three prongs of the analysis and will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). ¶0090, ¶0100, ¶0103 and ¶0109 describe the driving part, but do not recite specific structure to perform the claimed action. Figures 6 and 8 show the driving part (Items 143 and 153 respectively) but do not specifically show the structure that performs the claimed action.
The following breakdown is abridged version of the above interpretation structure with the final 112(f) interpreted structure(s) in bold text.
Formation body part
Pressing jig
Frame
Charging/discharge part
No structure found
Air supply part
Pipe connected to the inside of the frame
Gas venting part
Blower fan and filter
Loading buffer part
Transfer part
Conveyor belt
Alignment guide members
pairs of guide bars that are spaced apart from one another having a predetermined width
Unloading buffer part
Transfer part
Conveyor belt
Alignment guide members
pairs of guide bars that are spaced apart from one another having a predetermined width
Piercing part
Piercing unit
Gas pocket part pressing members
a pressing surface with a predetermined area on the inside facing the battery cell with a piercing member coupled to a partial region of the pressing surface.
Piercing member
acicular member with a sharp distal end or a punching mold.
Piercing unit body
Piercing unit moving member
Extension rod
Driving part
No structure found
Sealing part
Sealing unit
Through hole pressing members
a pressing surface with a predetermined area on the inside facing the battery cell and having a sealing member coupled to a part of the pressing surface.
Sealing members
Sealing tools made from hard metal material having a heating member
Heating member
No structure found
Sealing unit body
Sealing unit moving member
Extension rod
Driving part
No structure found
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the one of the battery cells accommodated in the unloading buffer part”. The claim previously recites “one of the battery cells accommodated in the loading buffer part”. It is unclear what the recitation at the end of Claim 1 is referring to.
Claim 4 recites “the loading buffer unit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 8 recites “the unloading buffer unit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim limitation “driving part” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not indicate a structure capable of performing the claimed action. ¶0090, ¶0100, ¶0103 and ¶0109 describe the driving part, but do not recite specific structure to perform the claimed action. Figures 6 and 8 show the driving part (Items 143 and 153 respectively) but do not specifically show the structure that performs the claimed action. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “charging/discharging part” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not indicate a structure capable of performing the claimed action. ¶0076 of the published specification specifically states the part is not shown. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kook (KR20200118992A) in view of Arai (JP2015088324A), Wang (CN112059951A) and Lim (US20240072290A1).
Text citations from foreign or WIPO references are sourced from the attached machine translations.
Claim 1
Kook teaches a battery cell formation apparatus (Item 1000, Figure 1), comprising: a formation body part configured to perform formation of battery cells (Figures 6-7a teach a pressing jig (800) for holding the cell (40). Figure 5b teaches a frame (940). Lines 555-557 teach a charging/discharging process occurs when the upper (410) and lower (420) chambers are combined.); a loading buffer part configured to receive the battery cells to wait before being put into the formation body part (Figure 3 teaches a conveyor (120) located before the degassing area (400).); an unloading buffer part configured to receive the battery cells to wait to be transported from the formation body part when the formation process is finished (Figure 3 teaches a conveyor (210) located after the degassing area (400).); a piercing part located at one side of the loading buffer part (Figure 8a teaches a piercing part that includes gas pocket part pressing members (510, 530), a piercing member (502), piercing unit body (510, 530), and piercing unit moving member/driving part (520, 540).) the piercing part configured to form a through hole in a gas pocket part of one of the battery cells accommodated in the loading buffer part (Line 358); and a sealing part located on one side of the unloading buffer part (Figure 8a teaches a sealing part that includes through hold pressing member (610a, 610b), sealing members (the specification (line 382) states the sealing is done via heat), sealing unit body (610a, 610b), sealing unit moving member (620a, 620b), driving member (620a, 620b).) the sealing part configured to seal the through-hole formed in the one of the battery cells accommodated in the unloading buffer part. (Line 382-383)
Kook does not explicitly disclose the formation body part includes an air supply part that is a pipe or a gas venting part including a blower fan and filter.
However, Arai teaches the formation body part includes an air supply part that is a pipe. (Figure 3 teaches a device for degassing battery cells that includes an air supply pipe (13A).)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known air supply pipe technique of Arai with the degassing device of Kook in order to provide a dry air or inert gas supply to replenish the air within the chamber and control the dew point. (See Lines 295-298).
However, Wang teaches a gas venting part including a blower and a filter. (Lines 159-160 and 196-202 teach the use of an exhaust fan (19) and a filter (21) to move contaminated air from a battery workspace to the outside.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known fan and filter exhaust line technique of Wang with the degassing device of Kook in order to reduces air pollution and reduce the contaminants inhaled by operator personnel. (See Wang Lines 119-122)
Kook does not explicitly disclose the loading buffer part includes alignment guide members that are pairs of spaced apart guide bars.
However, Lim teaches alignment guide members that are pairs of spaced apart guide bars. (Figures 1-2 teach a battery manufacturing apparatus that includes a transfer unit (50) that moves secondary battery cells from a buffer section (80) to a transfer section (70). The transfer unit has a plurality of pairs of pickers (20) that have adjustable spacing (¶0045))
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known pickers gripping the cells technique of Lim to the conveyance method of Kook in order to stably hold and transfer the battery cells (See Lim ¶0047)
Claim 2
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 1, wherein the piercing part comprises: a piercing unit configured to form the through hole while pressing opposite sides of the gas pocket part (Kook Lines 357-364 and Figure 8A-8B show a blade portion (502), that is a functional equivalent to an “acicular member”, for forming a through hole (21) and a second member (530) for supporting the opposite side of the pocket.); a piercing unit moving member that is coupled to one side of the piercing unit and is configured to move the piercing unit forward toward the one of the battery cells or backward away from the one of the battery cells; and a driving part configured to drive the piercing unit moving member. (Kook, Lines 357-364 and Figures 8A-8B show driving units (520, 540) for moving cylinders, which are functional equivalents to extension rods. The cylinders move the piercing unit portions.)
Claim 3
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 2, wherein the piercing unit comprises: a pair of gas pocket part pressing members configured to press the gas pocket part therebetween (Kook, Figures 8A-8B show pressing members (510 and 530) that move in a direction towards or away from the cell (40) and are therefore configured to perform the claimed function.); a piercing member coupled to inner sides of the gas pocket part pressing members configured to form the through hole by penetrating a part of a pressing surface when the gas pocket part pressing member presses the gas pocket part (Kook, Figures 8A-8B show a piercing member (502) coupled to the inner side of the pressing member (510). Lines 368-370 teach the second member (530) can have an opening formed on the surface. Applicant shows the same structure for their piercing members (141b and 141b’) in Figure 7.); and a piercing unit body coupled to one side of each of the pair of gas pocket part press members (Kook, Figure 8b shows a body (the box represented by Item 410) that is coupled to one side of the members (510, 530).); wherein the pair of gas pocket part pressing members are slidable along the piercing unit body to press the gas pocket part. (The operation of the apparatus of Kook involves the extension and retraction of the pistons associated with the two members (510, 530) which is a sliding movement of the members (510, 530) in relation to the body (410).)
Claim 4
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 2, wherein the piercing unit moving member comprises an extension rod having one side coupled to the piercing unit, and the extension rod is extended towards the loading buffer unit or shortened away from the loading buffer unit by the driving part. (Kook, Figure 8b shows pistons (extension rods) that are coupled to the driving parts (520, 540) for moving the piercing units.)
Claim 5
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sealing part comprises: a sealing unit that is configured to seal the through hole in a state where opposite sides of the gas pocket part are pressed (Kook Figure 8b, Items 610a and 610b); a sealing unit moving member that is coupled to one side of the sealing unit and is configured to move the sealing unit forward toward the one of the battery cells or backward away from the one of the battery cells (Kook Figure 8b shows pistons configured to move the units (610a and 610b).); and a driving part configured to drive the sealing unit moving member. (Kook Figure 8b Items 620a and 620b)
Claim 6
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 5, wherein the sealing unit comprises: a pair of through hole pressing members configured to press the through hole and an area surrounding the through hole (Kook, Lines 384-389 and Items 610a and 610b); a pair of sealing members coupled to an inner side each of the pair of through hole pressing members (Kook, Lines 393-395), the pair of sealing members configured to seal the through hole or the area surrounding the through hole when the through hole pressing member presses the through hole and the area surrounding the through hole (Kook, Lines 393-395); and a sealing unit body coupled to one side of each of the pair of through hole pressing members (Figure 8b shows a body (410) that is coupled to one side of the member (610a, 610b).), wherein the pair of through hole pressing members be slidable along the sealing unit body to press the through hole. (Figure 8b shows the members (610a, 610b) slide (indicated by double arrows) in a direction in relation to the body (410).)
Claim 7
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 6, wherein the sealing members are configured to heat-compress the area surrounding the through hole to seal the one of the battery cells. (Kook, Lines 382-383)
Claim 8
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 5, wherein the sealing unit moving member comprises an extension rod having one side coupled to the sealing unit, and the extension rod is extended towards the unloading buffer unit or shortened away from the unloading buffer unit by the driving part. (Kook, Figure 8b shows a piston, which is an extension rod, that extends from the driving part (620a and 620b).)
Claim 9
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 1, wherein the loading buffer part and the unloading buffer part each comprise: a transfer part configured to transfer the battery cells (Kook, Figure 3, Items 120 and 210); and multiple alignment guide members installed at regular spacings creating separation spaces therebetween along a transport direction of the battery cells and configured so that the battery cells are arranged in an upright state, and a single one of the battery cells is accommodated in each separation space between the multiple alignment guide members. (Lim, Figures 1-2 teach the transfer unit (50) has pickers (20) that have a spacing (¶0045) and each pair of pickers grip a battery cell (¶0048).)
Claim 10
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 1, wherein the formation body part comprises: a frame (Kook, Figure 5a, Item 940) configured to accommodate the battery cells therein; a charging/discharging part configured to charge and discharge the battery cells (Kook, Lines 555-557 teach a charging/discharging process occurs when the upper (410) and lower (420) chambers are combined.); and a pressing jig configured to pressurize the battery cells. (Kook, Figures 6-7a teach a pressing jig (800) for holding the cell (40).)
Claim 11
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 10, wherein the formation body part further comprises an air supply part (Arai Figure 3 teaches a device for degassing battery cells that includes an air supply pipe (13A).), the air supply part located on an upper part of the frame (Kook, Figure 5a teaches another pipe (412) is located at the upper part of the frame, such that the frame can support a pipe passing through this upper region. Arai, Figure 3 shows the pipe (13A) is located above where the piercing and sealing means is. This location is on the upper part of the frame in Kook.) and configured to supply air to an inside of the frame through a pipe connected to the inside of the frame. (Arai, Figure 3 teaches the pipe (13A) comes from outside the frame.)
Claim 12
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 10, wherein the formation body part further comprises a gas venting part (Wang, Items 19, 20 and 21), and configured to discharge a gas generated during formation of the battery cells to an outside of the frame through a pipe connected to the inside of the frame. (The pipe (20) and exhaust fan (19) of Wang are configured to perform the claimed action.)
Kook in view of Wang does not explicitly disclose the gas venting part is installed on a lower part of the frame.
However, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to place the gas venting part on the claimed lower part of the frame when combining Kook and Wang because applicant has not disclosed that having the pipe located in the claimed location provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Kook in view of Wang’s venting system, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either the vent location taught by the combination or the claimed location because both locations would perform the same function of providing suction for removing the gas during a battery manufacturing process.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Kook in view of Wang to obtain the invention as specified in Claim 12 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Kook in view of Wang.
Claim 13
Kook in view of Arai, Wang and Lim teaches the battery cell formation apparatus of claim 12, wherein the gas venting part comprises: a blower fan configured to discharge the gas to the outside of the frame; and a filter configured to absorb harmful substances contained in the gas. (Wang, Lines 159-160 and 196-202 teach the use of an exhaust fan (19) and a filter (21) to move contaminated air from a battery workspace to the outside. Wang, Lines 120-122 teach that the filter performs the claimed function.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited Form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
KR20200118992A
2020-10-19
Formation body part: pressing jig (810), frame (940), charge/discharge part (discharge unit), air supply part (412), gas venting part*
Loading buffer part: conveyor (120), alignment guide members*
Unloading buffer part: conveyor (210), alignment guide members*
Piercing part: gas pocket part pressing members (510, 530), piercing member (502), piercing unit body (510, 530), piercing unit moving member/driving part (520, 540)
Sealing part: through hold pressing member (610a, 610b), sealing members (the specification (line 382) states the sealing is done via heat), sealing unit body (610a, 610b), sealing unit moving member (620a, 620b), driving member (620a, 620b)
KR20160107730A
2016-09-19
Figure 2 teaches a sealing apparatus (1) that includes a charging area (3) for charging a semi-finished battery (13). The system also includes a clamp (23), a sealer (79), and a cutting blade (33)
US20210408635A1
2021-06-22
Figure 4 teaches an apparatus for operations on a cell pocket (92) that includes a pressing jig (11) and piecing part (21) for piercing the pouch (90) to remove gas. The apparatus also has sealing devices (100) that seal the pocket (¶0225). The piercing parts (21) are moved along a body (134) (¶0096).
WO2022149871A1
2021-01-06
Figure 1 teaches a device for degassing battery cells (C) that includes a pressing jig (42) sealing parts (62) piercing parts (53) and vent unit (70, 80)
JP2015088324A
2013-10-30
Figure 3 teaches a device for degassing battery cells (1) that includes a pressing jig (11)¸sealing heaters (15), a piercing unit (16), air supply (13) pipe (13A) and vent (14).
JP2018006224A
2018-01-11
Figure 3 teaches a battery (2) degassing system that includes a pressing jig (15), a sealing means (18, 19), a piercing means (16), an air supply (25), and a vent (26).
CN112059951A
2020-12-11
Line 117 teaches an air filter on the exhaust tube. Lines 119-122 teach that this technique reduces air pollution and reduce the contaminants inhaled by operator personnel.
WO2020017809A1
2020-01-23
Figure 5 teaches fans (101-104) having filters (Line 145) used in a battery manufacturing process.
US20240072290A1
2021-02-01
Figures 1-2 teach a battery manufacturing apparatus that includes a transfer unit (50) that moves secondary battery cells from a buffer section (80) to a transfer section (70). The transfer unit has a plurality of pairs of pickers (20) that have adjustable spacing (¶0045)
KR102119551B1
2020-06-05
Figures 1-2 show a conveyor (111 or 112) that has jigs (170) having spaced apart guide bars (173 or 181 and 182)
US20200373631A1
2020-07-31 (prior publications have earlier dates)
Figures 1-3 show a degassing device that includes piercing members (110, 120) that slide along a body (161) via a driving means (151b, 152b).
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726