DETAILED ACTION
Other prior art
Ji (US-20160338052) [0047] the UE 305 sends an uplink/downlink allocation request message to the BS 300. Upon reception of the allocation request message, at step S320, the BS 300 measures the ratio between uplink traffic and downlink traffic for the UE
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 18, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (US-20200099501) in further view of Nino (US-20210035067), Zarifi (US-20160182212).
As to claim 1, 8, 23: Jia teaches a communication system comprising: … ; a network system at least a part of which includes wireless communication (fig.1, 104 network device); and a server that performs data transport with the terminal device through the network system via wireless communication (fig.8, 810 [0027, 56, 59] network server devices), wherein the communication system includes a hardware processor that dynamically controls a transport ratio of an uplink channel to a downlink channel, considering a direction from the terminal device to the server is an uplink channel and a direction from the server to the terminal device is a downlink channel ([0003] In New Radio (NR), often referred to as 5G, a standard (3GPP) defines 56 time-division duplex slot formats depending on downlink/uplink (DL/UL) TDD symbol ratios. Dynamic selection of one of the slot formats allows flexible TDD scheduling operations, in that dynamic selection allows the DL/UL ratio to be adjusted based on current traffic needs, e.g., 3:1 downlink to uplink for a while, then 1:1, and so on).
Jia may not explicitly teach a terminal device including a sensing device. However, Nino teaches a terminal device including a sensing device (fig.6, claim 27, claim 31, claim 32 – plurality of sensors).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement sensors, taught by Nino, into the UE, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and obtain environmental data. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jia and Nino in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Jia may not explicitly teach and the hardware processor adjusts the transport ratio in response to a request from the terminal device, wherein one or both of: the terminal device requests the hardware processor to make a transport amount of the downlink channel larger on reception of a notification of completion of data transmission preparation from the server; and the terminal device requests the hardware processor to make a transport amount of the uplink channel larger after completion of reception of data transmitted from the server. However, Zarifi teaches and the hardware processor adjusts the transport ratio in response to a request from the terminal device ([0051, 69, 74, 78-80, 87] UE requests a subframe configuration from a negotiating center; [0080-82] UE uses the new subframe configuration), wherein one or both of: the terminal device requests the hardware processor to make a transport amount of the downlink channel larger on reception of a notification of completion of data transmission preparation from the server ([0027, 69, 87] the present disclosure also provide for changes in the time slot configurations of an individual UE as the UE's traffic load, traffic type or inter-UE communication status changes); and the terminal device requests the hardware processor to make a transport amount of the uplink channel larger after completion of reception of data transmitted from the server ([0027, 69, 87] changes in traffic state lead to configuration changes).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement UE requests and UL-DL configuration changes, taught by Zarifi, into the communication system, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and manage resources efficiently. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Zarifi and Jia in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12, 13, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (US-20200099501), Nino (US-20210035067), Zarifi (US-20160182212) in further view of Hu (US-20140334352).
As to claim 2, 19: Jia teaches the communication system according to claim 1, 18.
Although Jia teaches adjusting the UL/DL ratio, Jia may not explicitly teach wherein the hardware processor adjusts the transport ratio to make a transport amount of the uplink channel larger when an amount of data from the terminal device to the server is larger than an amount of data from the server to the terminal device. However, Nagraju teaches wherein the hardware processor adjusts the transport ratio to make a transport amount of the uplink channel larger when an amount of data from the terminal device to the server is larger than an amount of data from the server to the terminal device ([0005] Some embodiments of the base stations may allocate larger numbers of TDD subframes to downlink transmissions for broadcasting large volumes of data to user equipment or they may allocate larger numbers of TDD subframes to uplink transmissions when receiving a large amount of data from user equipment).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement adjusting the UL and DL based on data size, taught by Nagraju, into the UL/DL ratio adjustment, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and adapt data rate to circumstances of the data channel. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jia and Nagraju in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 3, 20: Jia teaches the communication system according to claim 1, 18
Jia may not explicitly teach wherein the hardware processor adjusts the transport ratio to make a transport amount of the downlink channel larger when an amount of data from the server to the terminal device is larger than an amount of data from the terminal device to the server. However, Nagraju teaches wherein the hardware processor adjusts the transport ratio to make a transport amount of the downlink channel larger when an amount of data from the server to the terminal device is larger than an amount of data from the terminal device to the server ([0005] Some embodiments of the base stations may allocate larger numbers of TDD subframes to downlink transmissions for broadcasting large volumes of data to user equipment or they may allocate larger numbers of TDD subframes to uplink transmissions when receiving a large amount of data from user equipment).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement adjusting the UL and DL based on data size, taught by Nagraju, into the UL/DL ratio adjustment, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and adapt data rate to circumstances of the data channel. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jia and Nagraju in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 12: Jia teaches the communication system according to claim 1.
Although Jia teaches server nodes, Jia may not explicitly teach wherein the server generates a control program and/or logical data for operating the terminal device and transmits the control program and/or the logical data to the terminal device. However, Nagraju teaches wherein the server generates a control program and/or logical data for operating the terminal device and transmits the control program and/or the logical data to the terminal device ([0005] Some embodiments of the base stations may allocate larger numbers of TDD subframes to downlink transmissions for broadcasting large volumes of data to user equipment or they may allocate larger numbers of TDD subframes to uplink transmissions when receiving a large amount of data from user equipment).
. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement adjusting the UL and DL based on data size, taught by Nagraju, into the UL/DL ratio adjustment, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and adapt data rate to circumstances of the data channel. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jia and Nagraju in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 13: Jia teaches the communication system according to claim 12.
Jia may not explicitly teach wherein the hardware processor adjusts the transport ratio to make a transport amount of the downlink channel larger during transmission of the control program and/or the logical data. However, Nagraju teaches wherein the hardware processor adjusts the transport ratio to make a transport amount of the downlink channel larger during transmission of the control program and/or the logical data ([0005] Some embodiments of the base stations may allocate larger numbers of TDD subframes to downlink transmissions for broadcasting large volumes of data to user equipment or they may allocate larger numbers of TDD subframes to uplink transmissions when receiving a large amount of data from user equipment).
. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement adjusting the UL and DL based on data size, taught by Nagraju, into the UL/DL ratio adjustment, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and adapt data rate to circumstances of the data channel. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jia and Nagraju in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (US-20200099501), Nino (US-20210035067), Zarifi (US-20160182212), Hu (US-20140334352) in further view of Nagaraju (US-20200012966).
As to claim 14: Jia teaches the communication system according to claim 13.
Jia may not explicitly teach wherein the control program and/or the logical data includes a machine learning algorithm used in the terminal device. However, Nagaraju teaches wherein the control program and/or the logical data includes a machine learning algorithm used in the terminal device ([0023, 34, 118]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement updates through a server, taught by Nagaraju, into the terminal device, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve functionality and adapt to environmental conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Nagaraju and Jia in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (US-20200099501), Nino (US-20210035067), Zarifi (US-20160182212) in view of Siegel (US-9086941).
As to claim 15: Jia teaches the communication system according to claim 12.
Jia may not explicitly teach wherein the server notifies the terminal device that transmission preparation of the control program and/or the logical data is completed. However, Siegel teaches wherein the server notifies the terminal device that transmission preparation of the control program and/or the logical data is completed (9:20-32 PUSH notification that update is available).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement indication of ready data, taught by Siegel, into the communication system, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable a user to prepare for download. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jia and Siegel in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (US-20200099501), Nino (US-20210035067), Zarifi (US-20160182212) in further view of Nagaraju (US-20200012966).
As to claim 16: Jia teaches the communication system according to claim 1.
Jia may not explicitly teach wherein the terminal device and/or the server learns using data obtained by the sensing device and changes a function of the terminal device. However, Nagaraju teaches wherein the terminal device and/or the server learns using data obtained by the sensing device and changes a function of the terminal device ([0004, 34] As a result, the edge devices 12 can learn from their edge data (with the assistance of the server computer system 14) to improve their respective local models 18, to make better predictions used to perform local actions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement updates through sensor data, taught by Nagaraju, into the terminal device, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve functionality and adapt to environmental conditions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Nagaraju and Jia in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (US-20200099501) in view of Nino (US-20210035067), Zarifi (US-20160182212). As to claim 17: Jia teaches the communication system according to claim 1.
Jia may not explicitly teach wherein the terminal device includes a plurality of the sensing devices. However, Nino teaches wherein the terminal device includes a plurality of the sensing devices (fig.6, claim 27, claim 31, claim 32 – plurality of sensors).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement plurality of sensors, taught by Nino, into the terminal device, taught by Jia, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and obtain more accurate environmental data with which to make decisions. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Nino and Jia in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466