DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I and the embodiment of Species 3, shown in Figures 5-8, in the reply filed on 12 December 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 3 and 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guandalini et al. (US 2015/0367603) in view of Engels et al. (EP 2 995 352).
Regarding claim 1, Guandalini discloses a fire-resistant barrier (10, see par. 1) comprising two retaining layers (A1, A2, see par. 37, 38), including one which is corrugated (par. 38) , a layer of aerogel (C, see par. 34), and a layer of intumescent (B, par. 11), wherein the layer of aerogel and the layer of intumescent are between the two corrugated retaining layers (fig. 1; par. 41).
Guandalini does not disclose that both of the retaining layers are corrugated.
Engels teaches a fire-resistant barrier (par. 1; fig. 6) comprising: two corrugated retaining layers (1/1’) and a layer of intumescent (2), wherein the layer of intumescent is between the two corrugated retaining layers (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire-resistant barrier of Guandalini to make both retaining layers corrugated, as taught by Engels, since this was known to increase rigidity of the layer in the direction perpendicular to the corrugations and increase bendability in the direction parallel to the corrugations, and to provide a space to accommodate the layers held therebetween (Engels, par. 33).
Regarding claim 2, Guandalini in view of Engels discloses the fire-resistant barrier described regarding claim 1, and further comprising another layer of further fire barriers (D, see par. 25), wherein the layer of intumescent is held between the layers of further fire barriers (par. 25 – “on both sides of a first fire barrier”). Guandalini further discloses that the further fire barriers may be aerogel (par. 34).
Regarding claim 4, Guandalini in view of Engels discloses the fire-resistant barrier described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the corrugated retaining layers comprise a steel foil (par. 37), but not explicitly stainless steel. Engels further teaches that the corrugated retaining layers are stainless steel (par. 17). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the fire-resistant barrier of Guandalini to make the retaining layers a stainless steel, as taught by Engels, since this was a known material suitable for such an application and capably of withstanding high temperatures for an extended time period (Engels, par. 17).
Regarding claim 5, Guandalini in view of Engels discloses the fire-resistant barrier described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the corrugated retaining layers are configured to maintain the shape of the layers of aerogel and intumescent (fig. 1 - when the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are presumed to be inherent; see MPEP 2112.01.I.).
Regarding claim 6, Guandalini in view of Engels discloses the fire-resistant barrier described regarding claim 1, and Engels further teaches wherein the corrugated retaining layers are configured to permit the fire-resistant barrier to be folded and unfolded (par. 43; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Guandalini in view of Engels discloses the fire-resistant barrier described regarding claim 1, and Engels further teaches wherein the corrugated retaining layers are configured to allow space for the intumescent layer to expand when exposed to heat (par. 33; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Guandalini in view of Engels discloses the fire-resistant barrier described regarding claim 1, and further wherein under the influence of heat the intumescent layer is configured to form a hard carbonaceous char thereby creating an insulating layer (par. 15).
Regarding claim 9, Guandalini in view of Engels discloses the fire-resistant barrier described regarding claim 8, and Engels further teaches wherein the corrugated retaining layers are configured to retain the carbonaceous char produced by the intumescent layer when exposed to heat (fig. 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fernando et al. (US 8,663,774), Greengrass (US 4,170,675), Bailey (US 5,032,447), Jarosz et al. (US 5,304,408), and Cheetham et al. (US 4,509,559) all disclose fire-resistant barriers having elements of the claimed invention.
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752