DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-2 in the reply filed on 21 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Withdrawal was made without traverse in the reply filed on 21 July 2026. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the withdrawal has been treated as an withdrawal without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai US20200328463A1 in view of Martinez US20200075987A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sakai discloses a battery (Sakai, Fig. 1, battery 1000) comprising: a power storage element including a positive electrode (Sakai, Fig. 1, positive electrode 201), a negative electrode (Sakai, Fig. 1, negative electrode 203), and a solid electrolyte layer (Sakai, Fig. 1, electrolyte 202) located between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (Sakai, Fig. 1, positive electrode 201, electrolyte 202, negative electrode 203), wherein at least one of the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the solid electrolyte layer contains a solid electrolyte represented by the following Formula (1):
Li3+a-eE1-bGbDcXd-e, (1)
in Formula (1),
E is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Y, Zr, Hf,
G is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Y, Zr, Hf,
D is at least one selected from the group consisting of CO3, SO4, BO3, PO4, NO3, SiO3, OH, and O2,
X is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Cl, Br, and I, and
when n=(valence of E)−(valence of G)=3−4 =-1 , a=nb=-b, 0≤b<0.5, c=0, 0<d≤7.1, 0≤e≤2, and d−e=6 are satisfied (Sakai, formula (1), Li3−3δ−aY1+δ−aMaCl6−x−yBrxIy, [0025-0028]), overlapping with and rendering obvious the claimed ranges of n=(valence of E)−(valence of G), a=nb, 0≤b<0.5, 0≤c≤5, 0<d≤7.1, 0≤e≤2, and 0<d−e, see MPEP § 2144.05. Sakai however does not teach an exterior body covering the power storage element and an internal pressure in an accommodation space enclosed by the exterior body is less than 101.3 kPa (~1 atm).
Martinez teaches an exterior body covering the power storage element (Martinez, [0060]) and an internal pressure in an accommodation space enclosed by the exterior body is less than 101.3 kPa (Martinez, [0060], conditions of a vacuum are defined as less than 1 atm or 101.3 kPa). Therefore it would be obvious to add the exterior body of Martinez to Sakai thereby improving the performance and electrical charge capacity of the battery (Martinez, [0017]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai US20200328463A1 in view of Martinez US20200075987A and further in view of Lim US10355319B1.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sakai does not teach wherein the internal pressure is less than an external pressure applied to the exterior body and a pressure difference between the external pressure and the internal pressure is 30 kPa or more and 100 kPa or less.
Lim teaches wherein the external pressure is 15 to 35 psi (103.4 to 241.3 kPa) (Lim, col. 5 lines 13-15). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to add the external pressure of Lim to the device taught by modified Sakai thereby optimizing the applied pressure to ensure that the applied pressure does not cause the battery to malfunction, burst and/or explode (Lim, col. 16 lines 53-59), satisfying the claim limitation wherein the internal pressure (101.3 kPa, see claim 1) is less than an external pressure (103.4 to 241.3 kPa, see above) applied to the exterior body and a pressure difference between the external pressure and the internal pressure is 2.1 to 140 kPa, rendering obvious the claimed range of 30 kPa or more and 100 kPa or less, see MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eaglesham US20180342761A1 (discloses applying an external pressure satisfying the claim limitation as currently drafted).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723