DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I with Species A1, encompassing claims 1-5, and 7-10, in the reply filed on 8/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a nitric oxide source … adapted to provide nitric oxide” in claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of the claims 2, 4, and 8-10 recites the limitation of “the nitric oxide source … adapted to provide nitric acid”. Each of the claims 1 and 7 requires “a nitric oxide source … adapted to provide nitric oxide”. It is not clear how “a nitric oxide source” could provide “nitric acid”. Appropriate correction/clarification is required. For the purpose of examination the above limitation will be interpreted as “the nitric oxide source … adapted to provide the nitric oxide”.
Note: some portions of the specification in the instant application describe “nitric acid”. The applicant is required to thoroughly review the specification for clear and concise description of the invention.
Due to the dependency of the parent claims, claims 3 and 5 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gierke et al (“S-nitroso-N-acetyl-D-penicillamine covalently linked to polydimethylsiloxane (SNAP-PDMS) for use as a controlled release polymer”, cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Gierke et al disclose an apparatus for releasing nitric oxide (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises a cell holder having a surface and a space to enclose SNAP films for releasing nitric oxide at various flux (i.e., a support …, and a nitric oxide source …, Figure 4, sections 2.4 - 2.5 and 3).
The limitation of “for sanitizing or sterilizing an article” is in preamble. It has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Moreover, “for sanitizing or sterilizing an article” is a recitation for intended use, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
The limitation of “an/the article” is material worked upon the device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Furthermore, the limitation of “a nitric oxide source … adapted to provide nitric oxide” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The instant specification discloses that the nitric oxide source includes S-nitroso-N-acetyl-D-penicillamine (SNAP, paragraphs [0062] & [0068]). Gierke teaches to utilize SNAP to release nitric oxide (sections 2.3 & 2.4), reading on “a nitric oxide source … adapted to provide nitric oxide”.
It should be noted that the limitation of “a predetermined rate/amount of time/dose” is not a structural limitation for the device, rather a process-limiting parameter which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 10, Gierke teaches that LED is provided within the cell holder for triggering the SNAP to release nitric oxide (sections 2.4 – 2.5).
Regarding claim 3, Gierke teaches that LED is provided within the cell holder for triggering the SNAP to release nitric oxide (sections 2.4 – 2.5).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Gierke teaches that the SNAP is covalently linked to PDMS (section 2.3). The cited time period is related to a manner of operating the device which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 5, Gierke teaches that the SNAP-PDMS film is disposed withing the cell holder (section 2.5).
Conclusion
Claims 1-5, and 7-10 are rejected, Claims 6, and 11-20 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795