DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/272,537, “FIXING STRUCTURE OF ELECTRODE TERMINAL, AND BATTERY, BATTERY PACK AND VEHICLE INCLUDING THE SAME”, was filed with the USPTO on 7/14/2023 and has foreign priority documents: KR10-2021-0007278 filed on 1/19/2021, KR10-2021-0022897 filed on 2/19/2021, KR10-2021-0022881 filed on 2/19/2021, KR10-2021-0022894 filed on 2/19/2021, KR10-2021-0022891 filed on 2/19/2021, KR10-2021-0024424 filed on 2/23/2021, KR10-2021-0030300 filed on 3/8/2021, KR10-2021-0030291 filed on 3/8/2021, KR10-2021-0046798 filed on 4/9/2021, KR10-2021-0058183 filed on 5/4/2021.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 4/27/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse, Group II, claims 95-104 in the remarks filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 71, 77 and 96 have been canceled and claims 72-76, 78-95 and 97-104 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed in parent Application No. 18/272,537, filed on 7/14/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 7/14/2023, 9/13/2023, 9/20/2023, 10/19/2023, 10/23/2023, 12/12/2023, 12/21/2023, 1/31/2024, 2/16/2024, 3/5/2024, 4/1/2024, 4/26/2024, 5/17/2024, 6/18/2024, 8/6/2024, 9/17/2024, 1/15/2025, 1/22/2025, 2/20/2025, 4/8/2025, 4/17/2025, 4/29/2025, 5/2/2025, 5/28/2025, 6/26/2025, 7/3/2025, 7/8/2025, and 9/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figures 1-4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it has total 166 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification is objected to because it’s unclear if variable W1 is on the first overlapping region or on the first bus bar terminal; if variable W2 is on the second overlapping region or on the second bus bar terminal.
Regarding W1, W1 is defined as a first width of the first overlapping region (see [0254]; citations refer to the PGpub paragraphs) and maximum distance between two points on the first overlapping region (see [0083] and [0255]); however, W1 is also defined as the first width (W1) of the first bus bar terminal 152 (see [0258]).
Regarding W2, W2 is defined as maximum distance between two points of second overlapping region (see [0083]) and maximum width between two points of second overlapping region (see [0257]); however, W2 is also defined as the second width of the second bus bar terminal 153 (see [0259]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 76, 87 and 89 are objected to because the following informalities: “the inner surface of the bottom” should read “the inner surface of the bottom of the battery housing”.
Claim 97 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the open end” should read “the open end of the battery housing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 72-76, 78-95 and 97-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 95 is indefinite because the second “a winding axis” in line 5 of claim 95 is no clear whether it’s the same winding axis as the first recitation “a winding axis” (in line 3 of claim 95) or a different winding axis. To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests changing the second “a winding axis” to “the winding axis”. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “the winding axis”.
Claim 79 recites the limitation "an end of the sidewall of the flat portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “an end of a sidewall of a flat portion”.
Claim 80 is indefinite because the limitation " the sidewall" is not clear if it means the sidewall of the weldable region or the flat portion. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “the sidewall of the weldable region”.
Claim 90 recites the limitation " the inner edge of the perforation hole". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “an inner edge of the perforation hole”.
Claim 90 is indefinite because an inner edge is a line or line segment where two surfaces meet whereas a surface is a two-dimensional area. Therefore, it is unclear how an inner edge of the perforation hole includes a surface. For examination purposes, claim 90 has been interpreted as ”The battery according to claim 82, wherein an inner edge of the perforation hole faces the inner flange portion”.
Claim 97 recites the limitation " the inside of the battery housing". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “an inside of the battery housing”.
Claim 98 recites the limitation "the first portion of the first electrode" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “a first portion of the first electrode”.
Claim 99 recites the limitation "the first portion of the first electrode" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitation has been interpreted as “a first portion of the first electrode”.
Claims 72-76, 78-94 and 97-104 are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 72-76, 78-95, 98 and 100-101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakanishi et al. (US 20040023108 A1, provided on IDS).
Regarding claim 95, Nakanishi et al. teaches a battery (entire Fig. 1), comprising:
an electrode assembly (4, Figs 1 and 2) in which a first electrode (43, Fig. 2) and a second electrode (41, Fig. 2) are wound around a winding axis (winding axis, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) with a separator (42, Fig. 2) interposed therebetween, the electrode assembly (4, Figs 1 and 2) having a first uncoated portion (47, Fig. 2) of the first electrode (43, Fig. 2) and a second uncoated portion (45, Fig. 2) of the second electrode (41, Fig. 2) configured to extend along a winding axis (winding axis, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) and exposed to an outside (uncoated portions project outside of the edges of the separator (42), see [0082]) of the separator (42, Fig. 2);
a battery housing (5, Fig. 1) configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (4, Fig. 2) and electrically connected (53 of 5 connects to 9/61 via 90 then electrically connects 47 of 43, see Fig. 1; also see [0102]; note: 53 forms a positive electrode terminal, [0079]) to the first electrode (43, Fig. 2), wherein the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) is opened at one side (opening of 51 at the side of 53, see [0079]) and having a sidewall (51, Fig. 1)and a bottom (52, Fig. 1) at the other side (the side of 52, see Fig. 1) which is closed except for a perforation hole (center hole of the upper lid (52), [0091]) formed in the bottom (52, Fig. 1), wherein the bottom (52, Fig. 1) is connected to an end of the sidewall (51, Fig. 1) in one piece (by welding, see [0079]);
an electrode terminal (7, Fig. 1) installed through the perforation hole (center hole of the upper lid (52), [0091]) not to contact (separated by 73, see Fig. 1) an inner wall (where 73 and 52 contacts, see Fig. 1) of the perforation hole (center hole of the upper lid (52), [0091]) and electrically connected (71 of 7 connects to 63 of 6 then connects to 45 of 41, see Fig. 1) to the second electrode (41, Fig. 2);
a terminal gasket (73/72, Fig. 1; note: 73 and 72 function as gasket to maintain an airtight seal, see [0094]) interposed between the electrode terminal (7, Fig. 1) and the perforation hole (center hole of the upper lid (52), [0091]);
the electrode terminal (7, Fig. 1) including:
a body portion (76, Fig. 1) inserted into the perforation hole (center hole of the upper lid (52), [0091]), wherein a surface (top of 76, see Fig. 1) of the body portion (76, Fig. 1) exposed to an outside of the battery housing is flat (see Fig. 1);
an outer flange portion (8, Fig. 1) configured to extend along an outer surface (top surface of 52, see Fig. 1) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) from a first side (77, Fig. 3) of the body portion (76, Fig. 3);
an inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) configured to extend outside the perforation hole (center hole of the upper lid (52), [0091]) from a second side (78, Fig. 3) of the body portion (76, Fig. 3) and compress (73 and 72 are under pressure, see [0094]) the terminal gasket (73/72, Fig. 1) toward an inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) (72 is adhered under pressure onto the back of the lid (52), see [0094]);
a weldable region (70/63, Fig. 1; note: 63 welded to 70 by a laser beam, [0110] and [0099]) provided to an inner side (bottom side of 71, see Fig. 1) of the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1);
a sealing body (53, Fig. 1) configured to seal an open end (opening of 51 where 53 is, see [0079]) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1); and
a second current collector (6, Fig. 1) coupled (62 of 6 is weld to 48 of 45, [0089]; also see Fig. 1) to the second uncoated portion (45, Fig. 2) of the second electrode (41, Fig. 2) and coupled (four 63 are protrusions formed on 6, weld to 70, see [0087] and [0110]) to the weldable region (70/63, Fig. 1) of the electrode terminal (7, Fig. 1),
wherein a recess (recess, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) is provided between the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) and the weldable region (70/63, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 72, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the weldable region (70/63, Fig. 1) is a flat portion (top of 70 is flat, see Fig. 3) provided on a surface of the second side (78, Fig. 3; note: 70 of 71 is on 78, see Figs. 1 and 3) of the body portion (76, Fig. 3) to be substantially parallel (63 is parallel with 52, see Fig. 1) with the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 73, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the electrode terminal (7, Fig. 1) is made of metal (71 is made of nickel, nickel plated iron, copper, nickel plated copper or stainless steel, [0093]; 76 is chosen from nickel plated iron, nickel, copper, nickel plated copper or soft iron, [0095]), and the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) is formed by plastically processing (78 a of 78 is caulked to secure 71, [0095]; “plastically processing” has been interpreted as “a process of connections/joints with a flexible sealing materials, e.g. caulking) the second side (78, Fig. 3) of the body portion (76, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 74, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the electrode terminal (7, Fig. 1) is a rivet terminal (a rivet means 76, [0091]) riveted through the perforation hole (center hole of the upper lid (52), [0091]) by the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 75, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein an angle (angle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-2) between a surface (top surface of 71, see Fig. 1) of the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) facing the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) and the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) is 0° to 60° (appears to be 0° and less than 5°, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 76, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) includes a first region (first region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-3) gradually spaced away (first region (from top to bottom) is gradually away from 52, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-3) from the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) and a second region (second region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-3) connected to the first region (first region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-3) and extending toward (second region (from bottom to top) extends toward 52, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-3) the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1), and an angle (angle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-3) between a surface of the second region (surface of the second region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-3) facing the bottom (52, Fig. 1) and the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) is 0° to 30° (appears to be 0° and less than 5°, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 78, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the recess (recess, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) is a groove having a closed loop shape (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) recessed toward a central axis of the body portion (central axis, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1).
Regarding claim 79, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the recess (recess, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) has an asymmetric cross section (recess in Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1 is a U shape-like cross section, therefore the top part is not symmetric with the bottom part of the recess cross section, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1; note: FIG. 1 is a cross sectional view of a lithium ion secondary battery of the present invention, see [0007]) including a sidewall of the weldable region (sidewall of the weldable region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-4) and an inclined surface of the inner flange portion (inclined surface of the inner flange portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-4) connected to an end of the sidewall of the flat portion (an end of sidewall of a flat portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-4; interpretation see 112b rejection above).
Regarding claim 80, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the sidewall (sidewall of the weldable region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-4; interpretation see 112b rejection above) is perpendicular to the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) or inclined toward the weldable region.
Regarding claim 81, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) has a thickness gradually decreasing (from thickness A to thickness B, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-5) as being farther away from the body portion (76, Fig. 1) (thickness B is smaller than thickness A, and thickness B is farther away from 76 than thickness A, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-5).
Regarding claim 82, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the terminal gasket (73/72, Fig. 1) includes:
an outer gasket (outer gasket, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6; alternatively, top surface of 74, see Fig. 3) interposed between the outer flange (8, Fig. 1) portion and a first plane (first plane, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6) where the outer surface of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) is located;
an inner gasket (72, Fig. 1) interposed between the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) and a second plane (second plane, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6) where the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) is located; and
an intermediate gasket (intermediate gasket, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6; also see 74/75, Fig. 3) interposed between the body portion (76, Fig. 1) and the perforation hole (center hole of the upper lid (52), [0091]) to connect the outer gasket (outer gasket, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6) and the inner gasket (72, Fig. 1) and having different thicknesses (thickness C and thickness D, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-7) depending on locations (thickness C and thickness D at different locations, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-7) thereof.
Regarding claim 83, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the terminal gasket (73/72, Fig. 1) has a minimum thickness (thickness E, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-8) in the intermediate gasket (intermediate gasket, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6; note: outer gasket has thickness F; intermediate gasket has thickness E; inner gasket has thickness of 72; among three thicknesses, thickness E is minimum, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-8).
Regarding claim 84, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein a region (region 1, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-9) of the intermediate gasket (intermediate gasket, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6) adjacent to the first plane (first plane, see Examiner’s Annotated Figs 1-6 and 1-9) has a thickness increasing (increasing from thickness D and thickness C, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-7) as being closer to the first plane (first plane, see Examiner’s Annotated Figs 1-6 and 1-9).
Regarding claim 85, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein a region (region 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-9) of the intermediate gasket (intermediate gasket, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6) adjacent to the second plane (second plane, see Examiner’s Annotated Figs 1-6 and 1-9) has a thickness increasing (increasing from thickness 1 and thickness 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-9) as being closer to the second plane (second plane, see Examiner’s Annotated Figs 1-6 and 1-9).
Regarding claim 86, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein a central region (central region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10) located between the first plane (first plane, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10) and the second plane (second plane, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10) of the intermediate gasket (intermediate gasket, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6) has a uniform thickness (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10).
Regarding claim 87, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein a region (region 3, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10) of the intermediate gasket (intermediate gasket, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6) interposed between an inner edge of the perforation hole (inner edge of the perforation hole, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10) connected to the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) and the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) has a relatively smaller thickness (thickness 3, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10) than the other region (region 4, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10) of the intermediate gasket (thickness 3 is smaller than thickness 4, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10).
Regarding claim 88, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the intermediate gasket (intermediate gasket, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-6) has a thickness gradually decreasing (decreasing from thickness C to thickness D, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-7) as being farther away (thickness D is at location farther away from 8 than thickness C, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-7) from the outer flange portion (8, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 89, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein a region (region 5, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-11) of the inner gasket (72, Fig. 1) interposed between the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) and a region (region 6, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-11) near an end (end of 71, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-11) of the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) has a smallest thickness (thickness 5 is smaller than thickness 6, therefore region 5 has a smallest thickness 5 of 72, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-11).
Regarding claim 90, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the inner edge of the perforation hole (inner edge of the perforation hole, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10) includes a facing surface that faces the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) (inner edge of the perforation hole facing down 71, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-10; interpretation see 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding claim 91, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the inner gasket (72, Fig. 1) is configured to extend longer than the inner flange portion (71, Fig. 1) (72 extends longer than 71 so that end of 72 covers surface of 70 of 71, see Fig. 1) so that an end thereof is exposed.
Regarding claim 92, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein a height of the weldable region (height of the weldable region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-12) is equal to or larger than a height of an end of the inner gasket based (height of an end of 72, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-12) on the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 93, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein a height of the weldable region (height of the weldable region, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-12) is equal to or larger than a height of the inner flange portion (height of 71, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-12) based on the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 94, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein a height of the inner flange portion (height of 71, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-12) is larger than a height of an end of the inner gasket (height of an end of 72, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-12) based on the inner surface (bottom surface of 52, see Fig. 1; also see “the back of the lid (52)”, [0094]) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 98, Nakanishi et al. teaches further comprising:
a first current collector (61, Fig. 1) coupled to the first portion (48 on 47, Figs 1 and 2) of the first electrode (43, Fig. 2),
wherein at least a part (9, Figs 1 and 3) of the first current collector (61, Figs 1 and 3) not in contact (the part of 9 on the bottom side of 61 not in contact with 48 of 47, see Figs 1 and 3) with the first portion (48 on 47, Figs 1 and 2) of the first electrode (43, Fig. 2) is connected (9 connects 53 via 90, 53 connects to 51 by welding, see Fig. 1 and [0079], [0103]-[0105]) to a sidewall (51, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 100, Nakanishi et al. teaches further comprising:
an insulator (bottom of 72, Figs 1 and 3) interposed between the second current collector (6, Fig. 1) and an inner circumference (where 72 and 52 contacts, see Fig. 1) of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) and, optionally, between an inner circumference of a sidewall of the battery housing and the electrode assembly,
wherein at least a part of the second current collector (6, Fig. 1) is coupled to the weldable region (70/63, Fig. 1) of the electrode terminal (7, Fig. 1) through welding (63 fixed to 6 by welding, see [0086]).
Regarding claim 101, Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the insulator (bottom of 72, Figs 1 and 3) has a welding hole (bottom hole of 72, see Fig. 3) formed to expose the weldable region (70/63, Fig. 1) of the electrode terminal (7, Fig. 1) toward the second current collector (6, Fig. 1) and covers a surface of the second current collector (bottom hole of 72 covers the top surface of 6 where 63 stands, see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 97 and 99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. (US 20040023108 A1, provided on IDS).
Regarding claim 97, Nakanishi et al. does not teach wherein the battery housing includes a beading portion formed in a region adjacent to the open end and pressed-in into the battery housing,
the sealing body includes a cap and a sealing gasket interposed between an edge of the cap and the open end of the battery housing, and
the battery housing includes a crimping portion extended and bent into the inside of the battery housing and configured to surround and fix the edge of the cap together with the sealing gasket.
Fig. 13 of Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein the battery housing (1, Fig. 13) includes a beading portion (beading portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 13) formed in a region adjacent to the open end (opening of the positive electrode can (1), [0002]) and pressed-in into the battery housing (1, Fig. 13),
the sealing body includes a cap (11, Fig. 13) and a sealing gasket (12, Fig. 13) interposed between an edge of the cap (11, Fig. 13) and the open end (opening of the positive electrode can (1), [0002]) of the battery housing (1, Fig. 13), and
the battery housing (1, Fig. 13) includes a crimping portion (crimping portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 13) extended and bent into the inside of the battery housing (1, Fig. 13) and configured to surround and fix the edge of the cap (11, Fig. 13) together with the sealing gasket (12, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the battery can taught by Nakanishi et al. to be the positive electrode can taught by Fig. 13 of Nakanishi et al. because such configuration of battery can is well-known in the art (see Nakanishi et al. Fig. 13 and [0002]).
Regarding claim 99, Nakanishi et al. teaches further comprising:
a first current collector (61, Fig. 1) coupled to the first portion (48 on 47, Figs 1 and 2) of the first electrode (43, Fig. 2),
Nakanishi et al. does not teach wherein at least a part of an edge of the first current collector is fixed to an inner circumference of the beading portion adjacent to the crimping portion by welding.
Fig. 13 of Nakanishi et al. teaches wherein at least a part of an edge (the part where 3 weld to 31, see Fig. 13) of the first current collector (3, Fig. 13) is fixed to an inner circumference (where 12 and beading portion contacts, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 13) of the beading portion (beading portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 13) adjacent to the crimping portion (crimping portion, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 13) by welding (3 fixed to 11 via 31 by welding, [0003]; 11 fixed to beading portion via 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 13; therefore 3 fixed to beading portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the fixing between the current collector plate and the battery can taught by Nakanishi et al. to be the connection taught by Fig. 13 of Nakanishi et al. because such configuration of the connection is well-known in the art (see Nakanishi et al. Fig. 13 and [0003]).
Claims 102 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. (US 20040023108 A1, provided on IDS) in view of Capati et al. (US 20190081294 A1, provided on IDS).
Regarding claim 102, Nakanishi et al. teaches a diameter of the electrode terminal (E1, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-13) and a width of the outer surface of the bottom (52, Fig. 1) of the battery housing (5, Fig. 1) satisfy the following relational expression,
W1 ≤ E1 (E1, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-13; W1 = E1; note: E1 (diameter of the electrode terminal) has to be equal or larger than W1 (max width of the first overlapping region) if there is a first bus bar overlaps with the electrode terminal; when the bus bar overlaps 100% of the electrode terminal, it’s W1 = E1, if the overlapping is less than 100% of the electrode terminal, it’s W1 < E1; therefore max W1 = E1) ≤ D-2Rd-2G-2W2 (E1 = D-2Rd-2G-2W2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-13; Rd, G and W2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-13)
E2 (E2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-13) = 0.5 * (D-2Rd-2G-2E1) (E2 = W2 = 0.5 * (D-2Rd-2G-2E1); note: E1 = D-2Rd-2G-2W2, therefore 2W2 = (D-2Rd-2G-E1), therefore W2 = 0.5 * (D-2Rd-2G-2E1); W2 is the maximum width of the second overlapping region, therefore W2 = E2, the second overlapping region is when the second bus bar overlaps 100% of the E2 area, this gives maximum value of W2)
(E1: diameter of the electrode terminal, E2: width of an exposed surface parallel to a surface of the electrode terminal in the outer surface of the bottom of the battery housing, D: outer diameter of the battery housing, Rd: width of a round region at an edge of the battery housing measured on a plane, G: exposure width of the outer gasket through an edge of the electrode terminal, W1: maximum value among distances between any two points selected in an edge of the first overlapping region, W2: maximum value among distances between two points where a plurality of linear lines passing through the center of the electrode terminal meet an edge of the second overlapping region).
Nakanishi et al. does not teach
wherein a first bus bar terminal is electrically coupled to a surface of the electrode terminal, and a second bus bar terminal is electrically coupled to the outer surface of the bottom of the battery housing, and
wherein the first bus bar terminal overlaps with the electrode terminal on a plane to form a first overlapping region, and the second bus bar terminal overlaps with the outer surface of the bottom of the battery housing to form a second overlapping region.
Capati et al. teaches wherein a first bus bar terminal (205, Fig. 2; note: 205 is electrical conductive material, e.g. copper, [0051]) is electrically coupled to a surface of the electrode terminal (215, Fig. 2), and a second bus bar terminal (210, Fig. 2; note: 210 is electrical conductive material, e.g. copper, [0049]) is electrically coupled to the outer surface (top surface of 110, see Fig. 2 and [0048]; note: 210 connects 220, both 220 and 215 are on the top surface of 110) of the bottom (where 210/215 locates, see Fig. 2 and [0048]) of the battery housing (housing/can of 110, see Fig. 3), and
wherein the first bus bar terminal (205, Fig. 2) overlaps with the electrode terminal (215, Fig. 2) on a plane to form a first overlapping region (the region where 205 overlaps with 215, see Fig. 2), and the second bus bar terminal (210, Fig. 2) overlaps with the outer surface (top surface of 110) of the bottom of the battery housing (housing/can of 110, see Fig. 3) to form a second overlapping region (the region where 210 overlaps with top surface of 110, see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the battery taught by Nakanishi et al. by adding the positive wirebond and the negative tab taught by Capati et al. to have plurality of cylindrical battery cell electrically connected in parallel to form a battery pack to power an electric vehicle (see Capati et al. Abstract and [0003]).
Claims 103 and 104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capati et al. (US 20190081294 A1, provided on IDS) in view of Nakanishi et al. (US 20040023108 A1, provided on IDS).
Regarding claim 103, Capati et al. teaches a battery pack (405, Fig. 4), comprising a plurality of batteries (110, Fig. 3).
Capati et al. does not teach battery according to claim 95.
Nakanishi et al. teaches a battery according to claim 95 (mapping and citations see rejection of claim 95 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Capati et al. by adding the battery taught by Nakanishi et al. because the battery of Nakanishi et al. is free from electrical corrosion when the batteries are connected for a long period of time (see Nakanishi et al. [0005]).
Regarding claim 104, Capati et al. teaches a vehicle (505, Fig. 5), comprising at least one battery pack (405, Fig. 5).
Capati et al. does not teach one battery pack according to claim 103.
Capati et al. in view of Nakanishi et al. teaches one battery pack according to claim 103 (see rejection and mapping of claim 103 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle taught by Capati et al. by adding the battery pack taught by Capati et al. in view of Nakanishi et al. because the battery of Capati et al. in view of Nakanishi et al. is free from electrical corrosion when the batteries are connected for a long period of time (see Nakanishi et al. [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(Nakanishi): US 20040023107 A1, Figs 1-3
(Shimizu): US 20230062553 A1, all figures, different thickness of gasket by compression
(Shimizu): US 20230060460 A1, Fig. 5
(Sodeyama): US 20230253651 A1, Figs 1-3, beading and crimping portions
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723