DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 1 recites “ an organic alloy of a compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1 and a compound represented by following Chemical Formula 2”. However, the term “an organic alloy” as written in context with the compound of Chemical Formula 1 and/or Chemical Formula 2 is unclear and confusing. It is commonly and ordinarily to understand the meaning of an “alloy” to mean metallic substance composed of two or more elements as either a compound or a solution. See Alloy | Definition, Properties, Examples, & Facts | Britannica pg. 1 (2026). It is therefore unclear what the term “organic alloy” refers to in the present claimed invention. Consistent with the well-established axiom in patent law that a patentee or applicant is free to be his or her own lexicographer, a patentee or applicant may use terms in a manner contrary to or inconsistent with one or more of their ordinary meanings if the written description clearly redefines the terms. See, e.g., Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999) . Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-9 depend on claim 1; therefore, the claims are also indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suh et al. (KR 10219305 B1; citations from English translation of US 11,588,116 B2).
Regarding claims 1-8, Suh et al. teach ( see abstract, claims 1-10, examples, drawings) comprising: an anode; a cathode; and a light emitting layer comprises an organic alloy of a compound represented by chemical formula 1 ( see the compound of Chemical Formula 1 of claim 1:
) and a compound represented by chemical formula 2 ( see the compound of Chemical Formula 2 of claim 1:
) wherein X1, X2, X3 are each independently CH or N with the proviso that at least one of X1, X2, X3 is N in chemical formula 1 and with the proviso that at least one of R5 and R6 is deuterium (see R’1 and R’2 can each independently be hydrogen or deuterium in Formula 2 in column 130, lines 14-16). The Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 compounds of Suh et al. meets the limitation and chemical structure of Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 as instantly claimed. More specifically, Suh et al. teach formula 1-5
in columns 173-174 meets the formula
in claim 5 as well as formula 1-6 and formula 1-4 in claim 2 as instantly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US 2024/0032322 A1).
Regarding claims 1-9 , Ogawa et al. teach ( see abstract, claims, drawings and examples i.e. Example 15, Table 1 in [0127]) comprising an OLED device with an anode, a cathode and a light emitting layer comprising two host materials 2-23:
and 1-15
.Host compound 2-23 is identical to Chemical Formula 1 as recited by instant claim 1 and 1-1 recited by instant claim 2 as well as
in claim 5.
However, Host compound 1-15 [0060] falls under Chemical Formula 2 as recited by instant claims except the compounds does not comprise at least one deuterium as recited by the provisional claim language. Nonetheless, Ogawa et al. recognize that alternative host materials may include deuterium [0052-0056 & 0059] and for example, formula I-38 [0060]
, which is structurally similar to host material 1-15 but comprises deuterium atoms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Ex. 15 of Ogawa et al. to include formula 1-38 in view of formula I-15 in view of routine experimentation and it is well-known and commonly known in the art that using deuterated compounds leads to an increase in lifetime of OLED device [0019, 0042 & 0127-0128].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (KR 10219305 B1; citations from English translation of US 11,588,116 B2) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Suh et al. do not explicitly show the compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 is one selected from the following Chemical Formulas 2-1-1 to 2-1-76 as instantly claimed. Nonetheless, Suh et al. teach chemical formula 2 can be more specifically represented by formula 2-2 in column 193:
, which are similar in chemical structure as formula 2-1-27:
minus the deuterium substituents. However, Suh et al. recognize that R’1 and R’2 can each independently be hydrogen or deuterium in Formula 2 in column 130, lines 14-16. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the chemical formula 2-2 of Suh et al. to substituted the hydrogen atoms for the deuterium as instantly claimed in view of routine experimentation.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Park et al. (KR 10-2022-0009351 A1; citations from English Translation of EP 4163988 A1).
Park et al. ( see abstract, claims, example 17, Table 1 on page 255) teach an OLED ( organic light emitting device) comprising an anode; a cathode; and a light emitting layer between the anode and the cathode [0031-0034], wherein the light emitting layer comprising two host materials 3-14 and 2-10. Compounds 3-14
[0205] and 2-10
[0158-0160] are identical compounds listed for chemical formula 1 and chemical formula 2 as instantly claimed.
Conclusion
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737