DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species IV, Claims 1-3, 6-9 in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 7/6/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign priority application as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon (US 2022/0192041 A1, hereinafter Jeon)
Claim 1. Jeon teaches a foldable rotation shaft, comprising:
a base (160), a first support mechanism (110), and a second support mechanism (120);
wherein the first support mechanism and the second support mechanism are rotatably connected to the base and are unfoldable and foldable relative to each other (comparing figs 1, 4, 7);
in an unfolded state (fig 1), the base is configured to support a bending portion (part of 133 that is close to 131, fig 2) of a flexible display panel, the first support mechanism is configured to support a first portion (131, fig 2), on one side of the bending portion (left side of figs 1, 2), of the flexible display panel, and the second support mechanism is configured to support a second portion (portion including 135 and part of 133, fig 2), on the other side of the bending portion (fig 2), of the flexible display panel;
the second support mechanism is configured to cause, in a folded state (fig 7), a region, proximal to the base, of the second portion to be bent into a curved shape along a direction going away from the first support mechanism (fig 7); and
the first support mechanism is configured to cause, in the folded state, a curvature of a partial region of the first portion to be different from a curvature of the region, bent into the curved shape, of the second portion (fig 7), wherein the partial region is opposite to the region, bent into the curved shape, of the second portion (fig 7).
Claim 2. Jeon teaches the foldable rotation shaft according to claim 1, wherein in the folded state, the partial region is flat plate-shaped (fig 7).
Claim 3. Jeon teaches the foldable rotation shaft according to claim 2, wherein the first support mechanism comprises a first support plate (right part of 110, fig 7) and a connection arm (left part of 110, fig 7), one end of the connection arm being connected to a side of the first support plate (figs 1, 7) and the other end of the connection arm being rotatably connected to the base (comparing figs 1, 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Katsura (US 6377324 B1)
Claim 6. Jeon teaches the foldable rotation shaft according to claim 3,
wherein the second support mechanism () comprises a second support plate (bottom plate of 123 that contacts 130, fig 7) and a second rotation assembly (170, fig 7), the second rotation assembly being disposed on a surface (left surface, fig 7), distal from a support surface, of the second support plate (fig 7) and being movably connected to the second support plate (figs 1, 7 show movement between open and closed positions);
wherein the second rotation assembly (170) is movably connected to the base (figs 1, 7) and is configured to drive the second support plate to move relative to the base (figs 1, 7), and in the folded state, an included angle between the support surface (surface of 123 that supports 130, fig 7) of the second support plate and the support surface of the first support plate (41) , an opening of the included angle facing toward the base (fig 7)
Jeon fails to specifically teach that the included angle between the support surface (surface of 123 that supports 130, fig 7) of the second support plate and the support surface of the first support plate (41) is an acute angle
Katsura teaches an included angle between the support surface (surface of 5, fig 3) of the second support plate and the support surface of the first support plate is an acute angle (fig 3), an opening of the included angle facing toward the base (fig 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Katsura into the device of Jeon. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jeon in the above manner for the purpose of saving space, fitting more components into the second support mechanism (since the second support mechanism of Katsura fig 3 has a smaller opening for the display, the space within the body of the second support mechanism can be used to hold more electronic components).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 7: The closest prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination) wherein the second rotation assembly comprises a third swing arm, a fourth swing arm, and a second middle frame connector;
wherein one end of the third swing arm is rotatably connected to the base, the other end of the third swing arm is slidably connected to the second middle frame connector, and the second middle frame connector is movable relative to the third swing arm along the direction approaching or going away from the base;
one end of the fourth swing arm is rotatably connected to the base, and end of the fourth swing arm is rotatably connected to the second middle frame connector; and
the second support plate is rotatably connected to the second middle frame connector and is rotatably connected to the third swing arm in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant. Thus, the Applicant’s claims are determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Kim (US 9179559 B1) fig 2 teaches the included angle of claim 6, however Kim fails to teach the limitations of claim 7. Kim (US 12013727 B2) figs 13, 16, 17 have a similar situation.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular elements, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS R BURTNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841