DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicants arguments. The rejections are maintained and are made final. All arguments are addressed herein.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an impact mechanism configured to receive motive power from the motor to generate impacting force” in claims 1 and 8
“a torque measuring unit configured to measure, as measured torque, torque applied to the output shaft” in claims 1 and 8
“a fastening torque calculating unit configured to calculate, based on the measured torque measured by the torque measuring unit, fastening torque to be applied to the fastening member” in claim 1
“a control unit configured to control operation of the motor”, in claim 1
When looking to the specification, “an impact mechanism” is defined to be “The impact mechanism 17 includes a hammer 19, an anvil 20, and a spring 24.” For examination purposes, this is the structure required for an impact mechanism, or equivalents thereof.
When looking to the specification, a “torque measuring unit” is defined to be “The torque measuring unit 41 may be, for example, a magnetostrictive strain sensor which may detect torsional strain. The magnetostrictive strain sensor makes a coil, installed in a non-rotating portion near the output shaft 21, detect a variation in permeability due to a strain caused by the application of torque to the output shaft 21 and outputs a voltage signal proportional to the strain thus detected.” For examination purposes, this torque/strain sensor is required by the claim, or equivalents thereof.
When looking to the specification, a “fastening torque calculating unit” and “control unit” are defined to be “The fastening torque calculating unit 43 and the control unit 44may be implemented as, for example, a microcontroller. That is to say, the fastening torque calculating unit 43 and the control unit 44 include a computer system including one or more processors and a memory. In this case, a single microcontroller may perform the functions of both the fastening torque calculating unit 43 and the control unit 44. Alternatively, a microcontroller performing the function of the fastening torque calculating unit 43 and a microcontroller performing the function of the control unit 44 may be provided separately from each other.” For examination purposes, the fastening torque calculating unit and/or control unit is assumed to be at least part of a microcontroller, processor, or computer known in the art, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekino (US 2015/0021062).
Regarding claim 1, Sekino discloses an electric tool comprising:
a motor (Item 15);
an impact mechanism (Items 17) configured to receive motive power from the motor to generate impacting force;
an output shaft (Item 21) configured to hold a tip tool (Item 24)for use to apply either tightening force or loosening force to a fastening member, the output shaft being configured to receive, from the impact mechanism, rotational impact around an axis;
a torque measuring unit (Item 26) configured to measure, as measured torque, torque applied to the output shaft;
a fastening torque calculating unit (Item 41) configured to calculate, based on the measured torque measured by the torque measuring unit, fastening torque to be applied to the fastening member (paragraph 59); and
a control unit (Item 30) configured to control operation of the motor, the control unit having a speed reducing function of changing, according to the fastening torque calculated by the fastening torque calculating unit, a number of revolutions of the motor from a first number of revolutions into a second number of revolutions, the second number of revolutions being smaller than the first number of revolutions (Paragraph 62-64 and 98).
Regarding claim 2, Sekino discloses the electric tool of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to perform the speed reducing function by changing, when finding the fastening torque calculated by the fastening torque calculating unit greater than a torque threshold value, the number of revolutions of the motor from the first number of revolutions into the second number of revolutions (Paragraph 62-64 and 98).
Regarding claim 3, Sekino discloses the electric tool of claim 2, wherein the control unit is configured to perform the speed reducing function by stopping the motor on detecting that the fastening torque calculated by the fastening torque calculating unit has reached a target torque, the target torque being greater than the torque threshold value (Paragraph 65 and 82-84).
Regarding claim 4, Sekino discloses the electric tool of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to perform the speed reducing function by obtaining, based on the fastening torque, an approximation function representing a relation between the fastening torque and time and changing, according to a value of the approximation function, the number of revolutions of the motor from the first number of revolutions into the second number of revolutions (Paragraph 86-98).
Regarding claim 5 Sekino discloses the electric tool of claim 1, wherein the control unit has a function of changing a ratio of the first number of revolutions to the second number of revolutions (Paragraph 86-98).
Regarding claim 6, Sekino discloses the electric tool of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to perform the speed reducing function by changing, according to the fastening torque and a number of times the impact mechanism has performed an impact operation, the number of revolutions of the motor from the first number of revolutions into the second number of revolutions (Paragraphs 86-98).
Regarding claim 7, Sekino discloses the electric tool of claim 1, wherein the control unit has: a first mode in which the control unit performs the speed reducing function; and a second mode in which the control unit maintains the number of revolutions of the motor at the first number of revolutions (Paragraph 86-98; first and second mode is interpreted broadly. Since the equations are based on time and torque and are continuously being changed, these can be considered different modes).
Regarding claim 8, Sekino discloses a method for controlling an electric tool, the electric tool including:
a motor (Item 15);
an impact mechanism (Item 17) configured to receive motive power from the motor to generate impacting force;
an output shaft (Item 21) configured to hold a tip tool for use to apply either tightening force or loosening force to a fastening member, the output shaft being configured to receive, from the impact mechanism, rotational impact around an axis; and
a torque measuring unit (Item 26) configured to measure, as measured torque, torque applied to the output shaft,
the method comprising:
a calculating step including calculating, based on the measured torque measured by the torque measuring unit, fastening torque to be applied to the fastening member (Paragraph 86-87); and
a speed reducing step including changing, according to the fastening torque calculated in the calculating step, a number of revolutions of the motor from a first number of revolutions into a second number of revolutions, the second number of revolutions being smaller than the first number of revolutions (Paragraph 62-64 and 98).
Regarding claim 9, Sekino discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program designed to cause one or more processors of the computer to perform the method for controlling the electric tool according to claim 8 (Paragraph 63).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is of the Examiner’s perspective that when a bolt is tightened, the motor rotates at a first speed for the majority of the length of the bolt, then, when the bolt starts to experience torque, the motor is slowed and calculated as discussed in the cited paragraphs of Sekino.
Applicant argues the user sets the torque value, not the fastening toque calculated by the fastening toque calculating unit. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in paragraph 50, Item 26 continuously inputs a signal to the control circuit. Paragraphs 104-106 also give further discussion on how the torque is measured and continuously monitored by the control circuit.
Applicant argues in Paragraph 127 and 128 Sekino teaches the configuration in which the number of revolutions is limited by a set value. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraphs 127-128 give an example of what happens in a low torque scenario. In this scenario, the motor simply does not go into a fast mode. This is not the whole scope of the invention. The motor can also operate in a high speed higher torque mode that as torque is applied, the speed of the motor changes as different anvil hits adjust the distance in which the bolt travels. This is discussed in the equation and discussion in at least paragraph 98.
Applicant argues the motor control unit of Sekino limits the motor speed in a first number of revolution to a second speed in a second number of revolutions. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, it is known in the art, that a long bolt has a large length of little to no torque being experienced by a bolt. This can be a first distance at a first fast speed. As the bolt tightens , the controller changes the speed to a second slower speed, which also has a different length. This is discussed in the paragraph 98, shown in the formula following, and shown in Fig 6.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM RODGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723