DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 07/18/2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 17, 28 objected to because of the following informalities:
“projector of any of” should read “projector of” line 1 claim 17
“beams” should be singular line 2 claim 28
. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6, 12, 22, 25 (and 13-21, 23, 26-37 via dependency) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the enclosure" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 and 25 recite multiple limitations and elements that are seemingly already introduced in claim 1. It is unclear if these are additional elements and limitations in claim 12, 25 or if they are references to the existing limitations and elements. Examiner interprets them to be references to existing ones.
Claim 22 indefinite due to phrase “second first light beam” in line 7. It is unclear which light beam is being referenced. Examiner interprets the phrase to mean “second light beam”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 12, 20-21, 32-34, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US-20180115755-A1) in view of Brenner (US-5799030-A).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a laser projector (fig. 1, 0033) comprising: a photodetector configured to measure light intensity (photodetector 130); and an optical engine (optical engine 110) comprising: a laser source configured to output a light beam (laser source 110a outputs light beam, 0035); and a beam splitter (beam splitter 124, 0035, 0048), wherein the beam splitter redirects a portion of the light beam toward the photodetector (124 redirects portion of beam toward 130 (i.e. 115), 0036).
Xu does not disclose the beam splitter being a diffraction grating, an exit window disposed in an optical path of the light beam output by the laser source, and the diffraction grating disposed on a primary output surface of the exit window.
Brenner discloses a semiconductor laser device with a diffraction grating on an exit window used to redirect a portion of laser light toward a photodetector (fig. 10 diffraction grating on surface 112 redirects EL from laser 108 toward photodetector(s) 104, col. 9 lines 1-20, col. 10 lines 30-40).
Additionally, repositioning the diffraction grating to a primary output surface (as opposed to input surface shown in Brenner) of the exit window would be obvious, as Applicant does not provide any additional criticality for placing diffraction grating on a primary output surface beyond the benefits provided by input surface placement disclosed in Brenner (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the beam splitter functionality performed by a diffraction grating to improve beam resolution and customization/flexibility with beam manipulation and grating construction, an exit window disposed in an optical path of the light beam output by the laser source (at top line of box 110) to protect the lasers and allow for modification of beam behavior, and the diffraction grating disposed on a primary output surface of the exit window to simplify alignment with laser diodes/beams (compared to a standalone/external beam splitter). Repositioning of photodetector would have been obvious to maintain photodetection functionality and align with split beam (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
After modification, 124 no longer a beam splitter and instead operates in same manner as 121-123 and totally reflects IR and totally transmits RGB. Beam splitting now performed by diffraction grating on exit window (top line of 110). See modified fig. 1
Modified fig. 1 (one rough example of proposed modification)
Regarding claim 2, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 1.
Modified Xu does not disclose further comprising: an enclosure that surrounds the laser source and that includes the exit window.
Brenner discloses the semiconductor laser device having an enclosure surrounding a laser source and including an exit window (fig. 10 enclosure surrounding laser source 108, col. 8 line 60 - col. 9 line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an enclosure that surrounds the laser source and that includes the exit window to protect the laser source and stabilize exit window/improve alignment between laser source + exit window.
Regarding claim 7, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 1, the photodetector is disposed directly beneath the exit window (modified fig. 1 photodetector 130 beneath exit window top line of 110) and optical path of the light beam (130 beneath optical path in modified fig. 1), the diffraction grating redirects the portion of the light beam toward the photodetector through a bottom surface of the exit window (after claim 1 modification w/ grating on top primary output surface of exit window, grating will redirect light beam back toward photodetector 130 through bottom surface of exit window on bottom of optical engine surface, modified fig. 1).
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate.
Brenner discloses a semiconductor laser device with the optical engine disposed on a substrate (fig. 10 laser 108 on substrate 100, col. 6 lines 30-35, col. 9 lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate to improve durability and transportability (see modified fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 7.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the photodetector is embedded in the substrate.
Brenner discloses a semiconductor laser device with a photodetector embedded in a substrate (fig. 10 photodetector 104 embedded in substrate 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the photodetector is embedded in the substrate to improve stability of device and alignment between other optical components and photodetector.
Regarding claim 12, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 1, comprising: at least one photodetector configured to measure light intensity (modified fig. 1 130); and an optical engine comprising: a plurality of laser sources configured to output a plurality of light beams (110a-d), and a beam splitter (beam splitter 124, 0035, 0048), wherein the beam splitter redirects a portion of the light beam toward the photodetector (124 redirects portion of beam toward 130 (i.e. 115), 0036).
Modified Xu does not disclose an enclosure that surrounds the plurality of laser sources, the enclosure having an exit window disposed in each optical path of the plurality of light beams output by the plurality of laser sources.
Brenner discloses the semiconductor laser device having an enclosure surrounding a laser source and including an exit window (fig. 10 enclosure surrounding laser source 108, col. 8 line 60 - col. 9 line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an enclosure that surrounds the laser source and that includes the exit window to protect the laser source and stabilize exit window/improve alignment between laser source + exit window.
Modified Xu does not disclose the beam splitter being a diffraction grating, a diffraction grating disposed on a primary output surface of the exit window, wherein the diffraction grating redirects a portion of each of the plurality of light beams toward the at least one photodetector.
Brenner further discloses the semiconductor laser device with a diffraction grating on the exit window used to redirect a portion of laser light toward a photodetector (fig. 10 diffraction grating on surface 112 redirects EL from laser 108 toward photodetector(s) 104, col. 9 lines 1-20, col. 10 lines 30-40).
Additionally, repositioning the diffraction grating to a primary output surface (as opposed to input surface shown in Brenner) of the exit window would be obvious, as Applicant does not provide any additional criticality for placing diffraction grating on a primary output surface beyond the benefits provided by input surface placement disclosed in Brenner (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the beam splitter functionality performed by a diffraction grating to improve beam resolution and customization/flexibility with beam manipulation and grating construction, and the diffraction grating disposed on a primary output surface of the exit window to simplify alignment with laser diodes/beams (compared to a standalone/external beam splitter). Repositioning of photodetector would have been obvious to maintain photodetection functionality and align with split beam (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
After modification, 124 no longer a beam splitter and instead operates in same manner as 121-123 and totally reflects IR and totally transmits RGB. Beam splitting now performed by diffraction grating on exit window (top line of 110). See modified fig. 1
Regarding claim 20, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 12, and wherein the at least one photodetector comprises: a first photodetector (130) that is disposed directly beneath the exit window and directly beneath a first optical path of a first light beam of the plurality of light beams (modified fig. 1 130 beneath exit window top line of 110 and optical path of all beams, let first beam be red), wherein the diffraction grating redirects a first portion of the first light beam toward the first photodetector through a bottom surface of the exit window (after claim 1 modification w/ grating on top primary output surface of exit window, grating will redirect light beam back toward photodetector 130 through bottom surface of exit window on bottom of optical engine surface, modified fig. 1).
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate, and a second photodetector that is disposed directly beneath the exit window and directly beneath a second optical path of a second light beam of the plurality of light beams, wherein the diffraction grating redirects a second portion of the second light beam toward the second photodetector through the bottom surface of the exit window.
Brenner discloses a semiconductor laser device with the optical engine disposed on a substrate (fig. 10 laser 108 on substrate 100, col. 6 lines 30-35, col. 9 lines 1-5) and two separate photodetectors with two separate diffracted incident beam portions (fig. 10 left 104 and right 104 with two different beam portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate to improve durability and transportability (see modified fig. 1), and to have a second separate photodetector in an equivalent orientation as the first to provide backup photodetector in case one fails.
Regarding claim 21, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 20.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the first photodetector and the second photodetector are each embedded in the substrate.
Brenner discloses a semiconductor laser device with two photodetectors embedded in a substrate (fig. 10 photodetectors 104 embedded in substrate 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the photodetectors embedded in the substrate to improve stability of device and alignment between other optical components and photodetectors.
Regarding claim 32, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 25, wherein, the diffraction grating redirects the portion of the light beam through a first side wall of the exit window (after claim 25 modification, portion of light redirected through side wall), and the first side wall extends between the primary input surface and the primary output surface (side wall extends between primary input (bottom surface) and primary output (top surface) of top of 110).
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate, the first side wall defines a plane that is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate.
Brenner discloses a semiconductor laser device with the optical engine disposed on a substrate (fig. 10 laser 108 on substrate 100, col. 6 lines 30-35, col. 9 lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate to improve durability and transportability (see modified fig. 1).
After modification + addition of substrate, first side wall defines plane perpendicular to substrate.
Regarding claim 33, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 32.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the diffraction grating further redirects the portion of the light beam through a second side wall of the exit window and the second side wall is opposite the first side wall with respect to the exit window.
Brenner discloses two separate photodetectors accepting two separate portions of incident light (fig. 10 left 104 and right 104 with two different beam portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second side wall and second photodetector opposite the first side wall and first photodetector in case of failure in the first photodetector. See also MPEP 2144.04 VI B.
Regarding claim 35, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 25, wherein the diffraction grating redirects the portion of the light beam through a bottom surface of the exit window (after claim 1 modification w/ grating on top primary output surface of exit window, grating will redirect light beam back toward photodetector 130 through bottom surface of exit window on bottom of optical engine surface, modified fig. 1).
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate.
Brenner discloses a semiconductor laser device with the optical engine disposed on a substrate (fig. 10 laser 108 on substrate 100, col. 6 lines 30-35, col. 9 lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate to improve durability and transportability (see modified fig. 1).
Claim 36 is rejected for the reasons outlined in the rejection of claim 25, in conjunction with the following:
Rotate device from claim 25 such that the “at least one surface” from claim 25 is up top, becoming a “top surface”.
Claim(s) 3, 14, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Brenner and Trela (US-20130121360-A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 1.
Modified Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein the diffraction grating is a holographic diffraction grating.
Trela discloses a multi-wavelength diode laser device using a volume holographic grating to divide beams (fig. 1 laser beam divided using volume holographic grating 18, 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the diffraction grating is a holographic diffraction grating to reduce manufacturing cost and increase availability of grating element (Trela 0165-0166).
Regarding claim 14, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 12.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the diffraction grating comprises a holographic diffraction grating.
Trela discloses a multi-wavelength diode laser device using a volume holographic grating to divide beams (fig. 1 laser beam divided using volume holographic grating 18, 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the diffraction grating is a holographic diffraction grating to reduce manufacturing cost and increase availability of grating element (Trela 0165-0166).
Regarding claim 29, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 25.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the diffraction grating comprises a holographic diffraction grating.
Trela discloses a multi-wavelength diode laser device using a volume holographic grating to divide beams (fig. 1 laser beam divided using volume holographic grating 18, 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the diffraction grating is a holographic diffraction grating to reduce manufacturing cost and increase availability of grating element (Trela 0165-0166).
Claim(s) 4, 15, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Brenner and Kramer (US-6765724-B1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 1.
Modified Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein the diffraction grating is a surface-relief diffraction grating.
Kramer discloses an optical wavelength selection device using a surface-relief diffraction grating (fig. 5 device includes grating 15 shown in fig. 1, col. 4 lines 40-45, col. 15 lines 35-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the diffraction grating is a surface-relief diffraction grating to improve stability across environmental conditions and reduce fabrication complexity.
Regarding claim 15, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 12.
Modified Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein the diffraction grating is a surface-relief diffraction grating.
Kramer discloses an optical wavelength selection device using a surface-relief diffraction grating (fig. 5 device includes grating 15 shown in fig. 1, col. 4 lines 40-45, col. 15 lines 35-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the diffraction grating is a surface-relief diffraction grating to improve stability across environmental conditions and reduce fabrication complexity.
Regarding claim 30, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 25.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the diffraction grating comprises a surface-relief diffraction grating.
Kramer discloses an optical wavelength selection device using a surface-relief diffraction grating (fig. 5 device includes grating 15 shown in fig. 1, col. 4 lines 40-45, col. 15 lines 35-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the diffraction grating is a surface-relief diffraction grating to improve stability across environmental conditions and reduce fabrication complexity.
Claim(s) 5, 11, 24, 31, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Brenner and Koji (JP-2007185850-A, machine translation Koji_English2 cited and included herewith).
Regarding claim 5, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 1.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein at least a portion of the diffraction grating that overlaps the optical path of the light beam has a resonant wavelength corresponding to the wavelength of the light beam.
Koji discloses a light source device with a grating wavelength corresponding to a laser wavelength (fig. 7, diffractive surface 9 and laser 1, lines 295-297).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least a portion of the diffraction grating that overlaps the optical path of the light beam has a resonant wavelength corresponding to the wavelength of the light beam to generate the maximum amplitude response for the beam (see cited evidentiary reference Resonance_NPL pg. 1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 1.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the primary output surface of the exit window is slanted with respect to a primary input surface of the exit window, wherein the light beam is incident on the primary input surface of the exit window.
Koji discloses a light source device with a laser and an exit window having an output surface slanted with respect to an input surface, where the laser is incident on the input surface of the exit window (fig. 4 vertical output surface of 3 slanted with respect to non-vertical input surface 3a, lines 25-257).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the primary output surface of the exit window is slanted with respect to a primary input surface of the exit window, wherein the light beam is incident on the primary input surface of the exit window to improve control over transmittance/reflectance ratio and beam direction w/ grating (Koji lines 251-257).
Regarding claim 24, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 1.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the primary output surface of the exit window is slanted with respect to a primary input surface of the exit window, wherein the light beam is incident on the primary input surface of the exit window.
Koji discloses a light source device with a laser and an exit window having an output surface slanted with respect to an input surface, where the laser is incident on the input surface of the exit window (fig. 4 vertical output surface of 3 slanted with respect to non-vertical input surface 3a, lines 25-257).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the primary output surface of the exit window is slanted with respect to a primary input surface of the exit window, wherein the light beam is incident on the primary input surface of the exit window to improve control over transmittance/reflectance ratio and beam direction w/ grating (Koji lines 251-257).
Regarding claim 31, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 25.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein at least a portion of the diffraction grating that overlaps the optical path of the light beam has a resonant wavelength corresponding to the wavelength of the light beam.
Koji discloses a light source device with a grating wavelength corresponding to a laser wavelength (fig. 7, diffractive surface 9 and laser 1, lines 295-297).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least a portion of the diffraction grating that overlaps the optical path of the light beam has a resonant wavelength corresponding to the wavelength of the light beam to generate the maximum amplitude response for the beam (see cited evidentiary reference Resonance_NPL pg. 1).
Regarding claim 37, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 25.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the primary output surface of the exit window is slanted with respect to the primary input surface of the exit window, wherein the light beam is incident on the primary input surface of the exit window.
Koji discloses a light source device with a laser and an exit window having an output surface slanted with respect to an input surface, where the laser is incident on the input surface of the exit window (fig. 4 vertical output surface of 3 slanted with respect to non-vertical input surface 3a, lines 25-257).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the primary output surface of the exit window is slanted with respect to the primary input surface of the exit window, wherein the light beam is incident on the primary input surface of the exit window to improve control over transmittance/reflectance ratio and beam direction w/ grating (Koji lines 251-257).
Claim(s) 6, 17, 18, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Brenner and Ando (US-5268985-A).
Regarding claim 6, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 1.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the optical engine is disposed on a surface of a substrate.
Brenner discloses a semiconductor laser device with the optical engine disposed on a substrate with an enclosure (fig. 10 laser 108 on substrate 100, col. 6 lines 30-35, col. 9 lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate with an enclosure to improve durability and transportability (see modified fig. 1) + protect laser device.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the photodetector is disposed across from a side wall of the exit window of the enclosure, wherein the side wall is adjacent to the primary output surface and defines a plane that is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate, and wherein the diffraction grating redirects the portion of the light beam toward the photodetector through the side wall of the exit window.
Ando discloses a light guiding device with a hologram structure that is used to direct incident light towards a photodetector, where the outgoing light exits the light guiding device across from a side surface towards the photodetector (fig. 1 beams S10-30 enter from top and exit from right towards photodiode 6, col. 5 lines 35-50, col. 2 line 55-col. 3 line 20), side wall adjacent to primary output surface (same surface in Ando), Ando side surface perpendicular to equivalent substrate direction in modified Xu)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the photodetector is disposed across from a side wall of the exit window of the enclosure, wherein the side wall is adjacent to the primary output surface and defines a plane that is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate, and wherein the diffraction grating redirects the portion of the light beam toward the photodetector through the side wall of the exit window to facilitate sharper turns within beam path and provide more compact design.
Regarding claim 17, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 12.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the optical engine is disposed on a surface of a substrate.
Brenner discloses a semiconductor laser device with the optical engine disposed on a substrate (fig. 10 laser 108 on substrate 100, col. 6 lines 30-35, col. 9 lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the optical engine is disposed on a substrate to improve durability and transportability (see modified fig. 1).
Modified Xu does not disclose the at least one photodetector comprises a first photodetector that is disposed across from a first side wall of the exit window of the enclosure, the first side wall is adjacent to the primary output surface and defines a plane that is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate, and the diffraction grating redirects a first portion of at least a first light beam of the plurality of light beams toward the first photodetector through the first side wall of the exit window.
Ando discloses a light guiding device with a hologram structure that is used to direct incident light towards a photodetector, where the outgoing light exits the light guiding device across from a side surface towards the photodetector (fig. 1 beams S10-30 enter from top and exit from right towards photodiode 6, col. 5 lines 35-50, col. 2 line 55-col. 3 line 20), side wall adjacent to primary output surface (same surface in Ando), Ando side surface perpendicular to equivalent substrate direction in modified Xu)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first photodetector is disposed across from a first side wall of the exit window of the enclosure, wherein the first side wall is adjacent to the primary output surface and defines a plane that is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate, and wherein the diffraction grating redirects a first portion of the light beam toward the first photodetector through the first side wall of the exit window to facilitate sharper turns within beam path and provide more compact design.
Regarding claim 18, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 17.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the at least one photodetector further comprises a second photodetector that is disposed across from a second side wall of the exit window of the enclosure, the second side wall is opposite the first side wall, and the diffraction grating redirects a second portion of at least a second light beam of the plurality of light beams toward, the second photodetector through the second side wall of the exit window.
Brenner discloses two separate photodetectors accepting two separate portions of incident light (fig. 10 left 104 and right 104 with two different beam portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second side wall, second photodetector, and second light beam opposite the first side wall and first photodetector in case of failure in the first set. See also MPEP 2144.04 VI B.
Regarding claim 25, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 1, comprising: a laser source configured to output a light beam (claim 1 rejection); an exit window disposed in an optical path of the light beam output by the laser source (claim 1 rejection); and a diffraction grating disposed on a primary output surface of the exit window (claim 1 rejection).
After modification in claim 1, exit window receives light beam via primary input surface (bottom of top line of 110).
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the diffraction grating redirects a portion of the light beam through at least one surface of the exit window that extends between the primary input surface and the primary output surface.
Ando discloses a light guiding device with a hologram structure that is used to direct incident light towards a photodetector, where the outgoing light exits the light guiding device through a side surface towards the photodetector (fig. 1 beams S10-30 enter from top and exit from right towards photodiode 6, col. 5 lines 35-50, col. 2 line 55-col. 3 line 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the diffraction grating redirects a portion of the light beam through at least one surface of the exit window that extends between the primary input surface and the primary output surface (i.e. a side surface, see Ando fig. 1) to facilitate sharper turns within beam path and provide more compact design.
Regarding claim 26, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 25.
Modified Xu does not disclose further comprising: an enclosure that surrounds the laser source and that includes the exit window.
Brenner discloses the semiconductor laser device having an enclosure surrounding a laser source and including an exit window (fig. 10 enclosure surrounding laser source 108, col. 8 line 60 - col. 9 line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an enclosure that surrounds the laser source and that includes the exit window to protect the laser source and stabilize exit window/improve alignment between laser source + exit window.
Regarding claim 27, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 25.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein a majority of the light beam exits the exit window.
Ando discloses a light guiding device with a hologram structure where all of the light incident on the hologram structure exits the hologram structure (fig. 1 beams all exit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a majority of the light beam exits the exit window to maximize efficiency of the device and reduce optical loss.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Brenner and Moser (EP-3226065-A1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 12.
Modified Xu does not disclose further comprising a collimating lens between the exit window and the at least one photodetector.
Moser discloses a light module + monitoring device with a collimating lens located optically between a laser and a photodetector (fig. 1 collimating lens 3a between laser 2a and photodiode 10, lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a collimating lens between the exit window and the at least one photodetector to collimate the beams (Moser lines 3-4).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Brenner, Kasazumi (US-8317333-B2) and Koji.
Regarding claim 16, modified Xu discloses the laser projector of claim 12.
Modified Xu does not disclose wherein the diffraction grating comprises: a first portion having a first resonant wavelength that corresponds to a first wavelength of a first light beam of the plurality of light beams, where the first portion overlaps a first optical path of the first light beam; and a second portion having a second resonant wavelength that corresponds to a second wavelength of a second light beam of the plurality of light beams, where the second portion overlaps a second optical path of the second light beam.
Kasazumi discloses a beam scan unit with a spatially variable diffractive grating (fig. 5 grating 12a varies across length).
Koji discloses a light source device with a grating wavelength corresponding to a laser wavelength (fig. 7, diffractive surface 9 and laser 1, lines 295-297).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least a portion of the diffraction grating that overlaps the optical path of the light beam has a resonant wavelength corresponding to the wavelength of the light beam for both the first and second light beams to generate the maximum amplitude response for the two beams (see cited evidentiary reference Resonance_NPL pg. 1).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Brennre, Ando, and Moser.
Regarding claim 28, modified Xu discloses the optical engine of claim 25, further comprising: a photodetector (claim 1 rejection 130).
Modified Xu does not disclose the photodetector disposed in the optical path of the light beams upon exiting the exit window.
Ando discloses a light receiving element at the output of the side emitting exit window (fig. 1 light receiving element 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the photodiode at the output side surface of the exit window to maximize efficiency and reduce optical loss.
Modified Xu does not disclose a collimating lens between the exit window and the photodetector.
Moser discloses a light module + monitoring device with a collimating lens located optically between a laser and a photodetector (fig. 1 collimating lens 3a between laser 2a and photodiode 10, lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a collimating lens between the exit window and the at least one photodetector to collimate the beams (Moser lines 3-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9-10, 19, 22-23, 34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19, 22-23, 34 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9, 22 – Prior art of record does not disclose light transmitting through aperture
Claim 10, 23 – Prior art of record does not disclose a second substrate and photodetector orientation described within claims
Claim 19, 34 – Prior art of record does not disclose dichroic filter orientation and use described within claims
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aleem US-20180149874-A1: Discloses optical engine, holographic element, and photodetector arrangement used in heads-up display.
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828