FUEL CELL ELECTRODE CATALYST
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/272,675 Art Unit: 1727 January 26, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on June 17, 2023 has been received. Claims 13-28 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites an intended use for a catalyst. The courts have held that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-23 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumazawa et al. (JP 2010-089032 A; as found in IDS dated 11/05/2025 and using machine translation for citation purposes); as evidenced by Daimon et al. (US 2005/0142428 A1).
As to Claims 13-14 and 26-28, Kumazawa discloses a fuel cell comprising: a catalyst layer comprising: platinum particles on a carbon support wherein the number of platinum particles per unit surface area of the carbon support is 1017/m2 (10/100 nm2) (Abstract and paragraphs [0001-0002, 0013, 0020, 0025]). The catalyst layer of Kumazawa intrinsically refers to an anode of a fuel cell given that the materials and structure used int eh prior art and the claimed invention are the same (see MPEP 2112); and as evidenced by Daimon (Abstract).
As to Claims 15-16, Kumazawa discloses wherein the mean particle size of the catalyst metal particles is 3 nm (paragraph [0023]).
As to Claims 17-20, Kumazawa teaches of the same number of catalyst metal particles per unit surface area of the carbon carrier and the same mean particle size of the catalyst metal particles, as discussed in the rejections above. Therefore, it is the position of the Office that the claimed loading amount of the catalyst metal particles is intrinsically present in the prior art, see MPEP 2112.
As to Claims 21-23, Kumazawa discloses wherein the crystalline carbon (reads on graphitized carbon) is the catalyst support (paragraph [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumazawa et al. (JP 2010-089032 A; as found in IDS dated 11/05/2025 and using machine translation for citation purposes) in view of Daimon (US 2005/0142428 A1).
As to Claims 24-25, Kumazawa does not specifically disclose the claimed specific surface area of the carbon support.
However, Daimon teaches of an anode catalyst comprising a metal catalyst provided on a carbon support, wherein the carbon support has a specific surface area of 20-300 m2/g, which overlaps with the claim. In addition, Daimon recognizes the specific surface area of the carbon support as a result-effective variable, wherein if the specific surface area is less than 20 m2/g, the carbon cannot support the catalyst and if the specific surface area is higher than 300 m2/g, the number of pores existing in the carbon support is too large and the size of the pores is too small, thereby increasing the number of catalyst particles buried in the pores (paragraph [0042]). The courts have held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05, II, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the carbon support of Kumazawa to have the claimed specific surface area, because Daimon teaches that the metal catalyst can be sufficiently supported (paragraph [0042]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727