DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/8/25, 10/26/23, and 7/17/23 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/17/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 5334162 B2 (“JP’162”) in view of WO 2014/126432 A1 (“WO’432”).
As to Claim 1:
JP’162 discloses:
an electrode assembly including a cathode plate and an anode plate corresponding to the cathode plate (p. 6, lines 10–18; Fig. 1);
first and second separators disposed adjacent to each other with the cathode plate or the anode plate interposed therebetween, wherein the separators are formed as a pouch-shaped (bag-like) separator structure enclosing the electrode plates (p. 7, lines 1–12; p. 7, lines 20–28; Fig. 2);
the edge portions of the separators are joined together to form a joint portion extending along a longitudinal direction of the electrode plates, thereby forming a sealed peripheral portion of the pouch-shaped separator (p. 7, lines 20–28; p. 8, lines 1–5); and
an insulating synthetic resin film (tape) is applied to the ridge or joint portion of the joined separators to improve insulation and prevent internal short-circuiting (p. 8, lines 3–8; p. 8, lines 19–25).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the joined end portions of the first and second separators are folded back toward the electrode plates so as to wrap the cathode plate or the anode plate and form a folded part of the separators, as specifically recited in Claim 1. Instead, JP’162 describes a pouch-shaped or bag-like sealed separator, which implies edge sealing but does not, by itself, expressly teach that the sealed joint portion is subsequently folded over against the electrode stack.
WO’432 discloses an electrode assembly employing separators whose edge portions are brought together and fixed to form a sealing part, and further discloses that such separator structures may be used in stacked electrode assemblies requiring compact edge management and insulation reinforcement (p. 10, lines 5–15; p. 14, lines 1–10; Figs. 4 and 7).
WO’432 additionally discloses the application of a fixing tape wound around an electrode stack portion to maintain structural stability and insulation at the separator edge region (p. 11, lines 1–12; p. 15, lines 5–14). While WO’432 does not expressly use the term “folded,” it teaches managing separator edge portions adjacent to the electrode stack and securing them with insulating tape in a manner that would have inherently allowed, and motivated, bending or laying the sealed separator edge along the electrode surface to reduce protrusion and improve packing efficiency.
Accordingly, WO’432 teaches techniques for edge treatment and insulation of separator sealing portions adjacent to the electrode body, addressing the same structural and insulation concerns implicated by the folded-separator limitation of Claim 1.
JP’162 and WO’432 are analogous art because both are directed to electrode assemblies for secondary batteries, and both address separator edge treatment, insulation, and mechanical stabilization at electrode end portions. The references are in the same field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem of improving insulation reliability and packaging efficiency at separator ends.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the pouch-shaped separator joint structure of JP’162 to manage the separator joint portion adjacent to the electrode stack, including bending or laying the joint portion along the electrode surface and covering it with insulating tape, as suggested by the separator edge management and taping techniques of WO’432, in order to reduce protruding portions, improve insulation reliability, and enhance packing efficiency.
Such a modification represents a predictable use of known separator-edge insulation techniques applied to the pouch-type separator structure of JP’162 and would have resulted in the electrode assembly recited in Claim 1.
As to Claim 2:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly including a cathode plate and an anode plate, each formed of an electrode current collector and an electrode active material layer formed on the electrode current collector (p. 6, lines 10–18; p. 7, lines 1–6; Fig. 1). JP’162 further discloses that electrode tabs protrude from the electrode current collectors of the cathode plate and the anode plate for electrical connection to external terminals (p. 7, lines 13–18; Fig. 1).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly describe the structure of the electrode tab in the context of the insulating-tape-covered folded separator end described in claim 1, nor does JP’162 clearly associate the electrode tab configuration with the insulating tape arrangement recited in dependent Claim 2.
WO’432 discloses an electrode assembly in which each electrode plate includes an electrode current collector, an electrode active material layer formed on the current collector, and an electrode tab protruding from the current collector (p. 6, lines 5–12; Fig. 2). WO’432 further discloses that the electrode tab may be positioned adjacent to folded separator portions and insulating tape structures used to secure and insulate the electrode assembly (p. 11, lines 1–12).
Thus, WO’432 teaches the explicit electrode tab structure and its integration with insulating and folded separator arrangements corresponding to the electrode assembly of Claim 2.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the electrode plates of JP’162 to explicitly include electrode current collectors, electrode active material layers, and electrode tabs as taught by WO’432, particularly in view of integrating the electrode tabs with the insulating tape and folded separator structures, as such modification represents a predictable use of known electrode plate components to achieve reliable electrical connection and insulation.
As to Claim 3:
JP’162 discloses first and second separators disposed adjacent to each other with the cathode plate or the anode plate interposed therebetween (p. 7, lines 1–12; Fig. 2). JP’162 further discloses that the separators extend beyond the outer edges of the electrode plates in the width direction in order to ensure insulation between opposing electrodes (p. 7, lines 20–28; p. 8, lines 1–4).
However, JP’162 does not expressly state that the first and second separators have a width larger than that of each of the cathode plate and the anode plate, as explicitly recited in Claim 3, but rather implies such extension for insulation purposes without quantitative or explicit comparative language.
WO’432 explicitly discloses that separator sheets are formed with a width larger than the electrode plates in the width direction, such that the separators protrude beyond the electrode edges to prevent internal short circuits (p. 9, lines 10–18; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the separators of JP’162 with a width larger than that of the cathode plate and the anode plate as explicitly taught by WO’432, since extending separator width beyond electrode edges is a well-known and predictable design choice for improving insulation and preventing short circuits in electrode assemblies.
As to Claim 4:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly including a cathode plate and an anode plate with first and second separators disposed on opposing surfaces of the electrode plate, such that the separators are positioned facing each other across the cathode plate or the anode plate (p. 6, lines 10–18; p. 7, lines 1–8; Fig. 1). JP’162 further discloses that the separators are fixed to the electrode plate by adhesion or lamination, thereby maintaining the separators in a facing arrangement relative to the electrode plate (p. 7, lines 8–15).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly describe that the first and second separators are adhered to the cathode plate or the anode plate while facing each other using adhesive bonding in the precise manner recited in Claim 4, particularly in the context of separator-to-electrode adhesion as a defined structural relationship.
WO’432 discloses that first and second separators are adhered to opposite surfaces of an electrode plate so as to face each other, with adhesive layers or bonding regions provided between the separators and the electrode plate (p. 8, lines 5–14; p. 9, lines 1–6; Fig. 3). WO’432 expressly teaches adhering the separators to the electrode plate to improve positional stability and insulation reliability.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to adhere the first and second separators of JP’162 to the cathode plate or the anode plate while facing each other, as taught by WO’432, in order to improve separator positioning and insulation reliability in a predictable manner.
As to Claim 5:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly in which separator portions extend beyond longitudinal ends of an electrode plate and are joined together to form a pouch-shaped (bag-like) separator structure, thereby covering and insulating the electrode edge portions (p. 7, lines 20–28; p. 8, lines 1–5; Fig. 2). JP’162 further discloses that the joined separator portions are provided at both longitudinal ends of the electrode assembly, forming sealed end portions that surround the electrode plate (p. 8, lines 6–10).
JP’162 therefore teaches separator edge joining at longitudinal ends and enclosure of the electrode plate by separator end portions.
However, JP’162 does not expressly disclose that both ends of the first separator are respectively adhered to both ends of the second separator and that the adhered ends are thereafter folded so as to wrap the electrode plate, as explicitly recited in Claim 5. Instead, JP’162 describes a pouch-type sealed separator, which implies edge joining but does not clearly teach a sequential process in which separator ends are first adhered together and then folded over the electrode plate.
WO’432 discloses an electrode assembly in which edges of opposing separators are bonded together to form a sealing part at longitudinal end regions of the electrode stack (p. 10, lines 3–12; p. 14, lines 1–8; Fig. 4). WO’432 further discloses that separator edge regions adjacent to the electrode stack are configured to lie along the electrode end surfaces as part of stack formation and edge management, thereby reducing separator protrusion and improving insulation and mechanical stability (p. 11, lines 1–8; p. 15, lines 5–14).
While WO’432 does not explicitly describe a discrete post-sealing “folding” step following adhesion, it teaches bringing bonded separator edge portions into contact with and along the electrode end surfaces as part of the stack configuration, which would have inherently involved bending or laying the bonded separator ends relative to the electrode plate geometry.
Accordingly, WO’432 teaches adhering corresponding separator ends at both longitudinal ends and configuring the bonded ends to wrap or conform to the electrode plate ends, addressing the structural relationship recited in Claim 5.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the pouch-type separator structure of JP’162 to adhere both longitudinal ends of a first separator to corresponding ends of a second separator and to configure the bonded ends to wrap the electrode plate ends, as suggested by the separator edge bonding and stack edge management techniques taught by WO’432, in order to improve insulation reliability and reduce separator protrusion.
Such a modification represents a predictable application of known separator bonding and edge-conforming techniques to the electrode assembly of JP’162 and would have resulted in the electrode assembly recited in Claim 5.
As to Claim 6:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly including a cathode plate and an anode plate, with first and second separators disposed adjacent to each other with an electrode plate interposed therebetween, and with separator end portions joined together to cover and insulate the longitudinal edge of the electrode plate (p. 7, lines 20–28; p. 8, lines 1–10; Fig. 2). JP’162 further teaches providing sufficient separator material at the electrode end portion so as to enhance insulation and prevent short-circuiting at the electrode edge (p. 8, lines 10–18).
JP’162 therefore teaches adhering separator ends together and configuring the joined separator end portions to cover the electrode edge for insulation purposes.
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that at least one end of the first and second separators adhered to each other is doubly folded, i.e., folded twice to form a distinct double-fold structure, as expressly recited in Claim 6.
WO’432 discloses that separator edge portions are overlapped and bonded together at end regions of the electrode stack to form a reinforced sealing part, thereby improving insulation and mechanical strength at electrode end portions (p. 10, lines 3–12; p. 14, lines 1–8; Fig. 4). WO’432 further teaches configuring separator edge regions to increase thickness and rigidity at the electrode end, thereby enhancing durability and insulation reliability (p. 15, lines 5–14).
While WO’432 does not expressly disclose a hem-style “double fold” formed by two successive folding operations, it teaches reinforcing separator end portions through overlapping, bonding, and geometric reconfiguration of separator material at the electrode edge to improve insulation and mechanical robustness.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure at least one adhered separator end in the electrode assembly of JP’162 as a doubly folded structure, in view of the separator edge reinforcement teachings of WO’432, as a predictable and routine modification to further enhance insulation and mechanical stability at the electrode edge. Such a modification would have resulted in the electrode assembly recited in Claim 6.
As to Claim 7:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly in which insulating tape is applied around the electrode assembly to cover folded separator end portions, thereby insulating the electrode edges (p. 8, lines 18–26; p. 9, lines 1–6; Fig. 3). JP’162 further discloses that the insulating tape extends across the folded separator portions and partially around the electrode plate to maintain insulation (p. 9, lines 6–14).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the insulating tape wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction while covering both the folded part and an additional folded part of the first and second separators, as recited in Claim 7.
WO’432 discloses that insulating tape is wrapped circumferentially around the electrode assembly in a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, covering multiple folded separator layers, including a primary folded part and an additional folded part (p. 12, lines 7–16; p. 13, lines 1–8; Fig. 6). WO’432 explicitly teaches wrapping tape around the electrode plates to cover stacked or multiple folded separator portions.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to wrap insulating tape around the cathode plate and the anode plate of JP’162 along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction while covering both the folded part and an additional folded part of the separators, as taught by WO’432, because this constitutes a predictable combination of known insulation techniques to enhance edge protection and assembly reliability.
As to Claim 8:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly including a cathode plate and an anode plate, each comprising an electrode current collector, an electrode active material layer formed on the electrode current collector, and an electrode tab protruding from the electrode current collector (p. 6, lines 10–18; p. 6, lines 19–26; Fig. 1). JP’162 further discloses applying an insulating tape or synthetic resin film at an end portion of the electrode assembly to cover separator end portions and adjacent electrode structures in order to prevent short-circuiting and improve insulation reliability (p. 8, lines 18–26; p. 9, lines 1–6).
JP’162 therefore teaches the use of insulating tape in proximity to electrode end regions and electrode tabs for insulation purposes.
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the insulating tape wraps around the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the electrode tab, as specifically recited in Claim 8. In particular, JP’162 does not clearly describe the insulating tape extending over or around the protruding electrode tab itself, rather than being limited to separator end portions and electrode edges.
WO’432 discloses an electrode assembly in which a fixing tape is wound around the unit stack portion to maintain positional stability of the electrode stack and improve insulation at the end regions of the electrodes (p. 14, lines 1–10; p. 15, lines 1–8; Fig. 6). WO’432 further teaches forming reinforced sealing portions at electrode ends to prevent electrical shorting and improve handling robustness during battery assembly (p. 15, lines 9–18).
While WO’432 does not explicitly state that the fixing tape covers the exposed metal portion of an electrode tab, it teaches wrapping insulating tape around the electrode stack in the vicinity of the electrode ends where tabs protrude, for the purpose of insulation and mechanical protection.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of JP’162 so that the insulating tape wraps around the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the electrode tab, in view of the electrode-end taping and stack-wrapping teachings of WO’432 and the well-known practice of insulating electrode tab base regions to improve safety and reliability. Such a modification represents a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions and would have resulted in the electrode assembly recited in Claim 8.
As to Claim 9:
JP’162 discloses a secondary battery comprising the electrode assembly described above and a battery case for housing the electrode assembly (p. 9, lines 7–15; p. 10, lines 1–8; Fig. 4). JP’162 teaches that the electrode assembly with folded separators and insulating tape is accommodated within a battery case to form a complete secondary battery.
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose all structural details of the electrode assembly as recited in Claim 1 (and incorporated into Claim 9), particularly the insulating tape wrapping configuration including coverage of the electrode tab, as discussed with respect to Claim 8.
WO’432 discloses a secondary battery including an electrode assembly with insulating tape wrapped around electrode plates and electrode tabs, housed within a battery case (p. 13, lines 9–18; p. 14, lines 1–6). WO’432 thus teaches a complete secondary battery configuration incorporating the wrapped insulating tape structure.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the secondary battery of JP’162 using an electrode assembly having insulating tape wrapped around the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the electrode tab as taught by WO’432, since such a modification represents a predictable and well-understood improvement in battery insulation and safety.
As to Claim 10:
JP’162 discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode assembly and a battery case for housing the electrode assembly (p. 9, lines 7–15; p. 10, lines 1–6; Fig. 4). JP’162 further teaches that the battery case may be formed as a laminate exterior body or rigid exterior body, which corresponds to commonly used pouch-type or prismatic battery cases in the art (p. 10, lines 7–14).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly state, using the same terminology as Claim 10, that the battery case is specifically a pouch-type battery case or a prismatic battery case, as recited.
WO’432 explicitly discloses a secondary battery in which the battery case is a pouch-type battery case or a prismatic battery case used to house an electrode assembly having insulated electrode ends (p. 15, lines 3–10; p. 16, lines 1–5). WO’432 teaches that such case types are selected based on design requirements such as energy density, form factor, and manufacturability.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the battery case of JP’162 as a pouch-type battery case or a prismatic battery case, as taught by WO’432, since such case types are well-known, interchangeable options for enclosing electrode assemblies in secondary batteries.
As to Claim 11:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly in which insulating tape is applied to cover folded separator portions at an end of the electrode assembly, thereby insulating the electrode plates and separator edges (p. 8, lines 18–26; p. 9, lines 1–6). JP’162 further teaches that the separators are folded at the electrode end and that the insulating tape is arranged to cover these folded portions.
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the insulating tape wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction while covering both the folded part and an additional folded part of the first and second separators, as specifically recited in Claim 11.
WO’432 discloses an electrode assembly in which insulating tape is wrapped around the electrode plates in a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, covering folded separator portions and additional folded portions formed at the electrode end (p. 12, lines 7–16; p. 13, lines 1–8; Fig. 6). WO’432 expressly teaches that such wrapping improves insulation reliability and prevents short circuits at the electrode end.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the insulating tape arrangement of JP’162 so that the tape wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction while covering both folded and additional folded separator portions, as taught by WO’432, in order to enhance insulation performance and improve battery safety.
As to Claim 12:
JP’162 discloses:
an electrode assembly comprising a cathode plate and an anode plate corresponding to the cathode plate, with separators disposed adjacent to the electrode plates and interposed therebetween (p. 5, lines 1–12; p. 6, lines 3–10; Fig. 2);
a pouch-shaped (bag-like) separator structure in which opposing separator sheets are joined at end portions to form a joint portion extending beyond the electrode plate along a longitudinal direction (p. 7, lines 5–14);
applying a synthetic resin film (insulating tape) to the ridge or joint portion of the pouch-shaped separator in order to electrically insulate the electrode end region and prevent internal short circuits (p. 8, lines 1–12); and
each of the cathode plate and the anode plate includes an electrode current collector, an electrode active material layer formed on the current collector, and an electrode tab protruding from the current collector (p. 4, lines 3–14; p. 6, lines 20–26).
Thus, JP’162 teaches an electrode assembly in which separator sheets are adhered at both longitudinal ends to form a pouch-type enclosure around an electrode plate, with insulating tape applied to the joined separator portion.
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the joined separator end portions are folded back toward the electrode plate to form folded separator parts, as recited in Claim 12. Rather, JP’162 primarily describes formation of a sealed, pouch-shaped joint portion extending beyond the electrode edge.
WO’432 discloses electrode assemblies in which separator material is folded or wrapped around electrode plates during stacking, including Z-fold and wrap-around separator configurations, in order to enclose electrode edges and improve insulation and dimensional stability of the electrode assembly (p. 13, lines 1–12; p. 14, lines 1–10). WO’432 further teaches maintaining opposing separator edges together to form sealing portions at electrode ends and applying fixing tape around the stacked electrode portion to secure and insulate the assembly (p. 14, lines 11–20; p. 15, lines 1–8).
Although WO’432 does not expressly describe folding a pouch-seal fin, it teaches that folding separator material around electrode plates is a known and effective technique for enclosing electrode edges and improving insulation.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of JP’162 such that the adhered separator end portions forming the pouch-shaped joint are folded to wrap the electrode plate and covered by insulating tape, in view of the separator folding and wrap-around teachings of WO’432. This modification represents a predictable application of known separator folding techniques to an existing pouch-type separator structure and would have resulted in the electrode assembly recited in Claim 12.
As to Claim 13:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly in which insulating tape is applied to cover folded separator portions formed at an end of the electrode plates (p. 8, lines 1–12). JP’162 further teaches that the tape is arranged so as to extend around the electrode plates in a direction crossing the longitudinal direction of the electrode plates, thereby improving insulation at the folded separator portions (p. 8, lines 13–20; Fig. 3).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the insulating tape wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction while covering the folded parts of the first and second separators, as expressly recited in Claim 13.
WO’432 explicitly discloses an insulating tape that wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate in a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, while covering the folded separator portions at the electrode end (p. 11, lines 3–14; p. 12, lines 1–8; Fig. 6). WO’432 teaches that this wrapping configuration enhances insulation strength and prevents exposure of folded separator edges.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the insulating tape arrangement of JP’162 so that the tape wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction while covering the folded separator parts, as taught by WO’432, in order to improve insulation reliability and prevent internal short circuits.
As to Claim 14:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly comprising a cathode plate and an anode plate corresponding to the cathode plate, with first and second separators disposed adjacent to each other and interposed between the electrode plates (p. 5, lines 1–12; p. 6, lines 3–10; Fig. 2). JP’162 further discloses that both ends of the first and second separators are adhered to each other along a longitudinal direction of the electrode plates (p. 7, lines 5–14). JP’162 also teaches that the adhered separator ends are configured to wrap the cathode plate or the anode plate, thereby forming separator end portions that insulate the electrode edges (p. 7, lines 15–24; p. 8, lines 1–6).
JP’162 further discloses applying an insulating tape or synthetic resin film to the separator end portions at the electrode ends in order to improve electrical insulation and prevent short-circuiting (p. 8, lines 7–18). JP’162 additionally teaches that each of the cathode plate and the anode plate includes an electrode current collector, an electrode active material layer formed on the current collector, and an electrode tab protruding from the current collector (p. 4, lines 3–14; p. 6, lines 20–26).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the insulating tape wraps around the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the electrode tab, as specifically recited in Claim 14. In particular, JP’162 does not clearly teach extending the insulating tape over or around the electrode tab region itself.
WO’432 discloses an electrode assembly in which a fixing tape is wound around the unit stack portion to maintain structural integrity of the electrode stack and to improve insulation at the electrode end regions (p. 14, lines 1–10; p. 15, lines 1–8; Fig. 6). WO’432 further teaches forming sealing portions at electrode ends to prevent electrical shorting and to improve handling robustness during battery assembly (p. 15, lines 9–18).
Although WO’432 does not expressly state that the fixing tape covers the exposed metal portion of the electrode tab, it teaches wrapping insulating tape around the electrode stack in the vicinity of electrode ends where electrode tabs protrude, for the purpose of insulation and mechanical stabilization.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of JP’162 such that the insulating tape wraps around the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the electrode tab, in view of the electrode-end taping and stack-wrapping teachings of WO’432 and the well-known practice of insulating electrode tab base regions to improve safety and reliability. Such a modification represents a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions and would have resulted in the electrode assembly recited in Claim 14.
As to Claim 15:
JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly in which insulating tape covers folded separator portions formed by folding adhered separator ends around an electrode plate (p. 7, lines 15–24; p. 8, lines 1–12). JP’162 further teaches that the tape extends across the electrode end in a direction intersecting the longitudinal direction of the electrode plates (p. 8, lines 13–20; Fig. 3). JP’162 also discloses electrode plates having current collectors, active material layers, and electrode tabs (p. 4, lines 3–14).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the insulating tape further wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction while covering the folded parts of the first and second separators, in addition to wrapping around the electrode tab, as required by Claim 15.
WO’432 explicitly discloses an insulating tape configuration in which the tape wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, while simultaneously wrapping around the electrode tab and covering the folded separator portions (p. 11, lines 3–14; p. 12, lines 1–10; Fig. 6). WO’432 teaches that this combined wrapping structure enhances mechanical fixation and electrical insulation.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further configure the insulating tape of JP’162 to wrap around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction while covering the folded separator parts and electrode tab, as taught by WO’432, since such a configuration represents a predictable use of known insulation techniques to improve safety and durability.
As to Claim 16:
JP’162 discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode assembly and a battery case for housing the electrode assembly (p. 3, lines 5–12; p. 9, lines 1–8; Fig. 1). As discussed with respect to Claim 12, JP’162 teaches an electrode assembly including a cathode plate, an anode plate corresponding to the cathode plate, first and second separators disposed adjacent to each other with an electrode plate interposed therebetween, and an insulating tape covering folded separator portions formed by folding adhered separator ends around the electrode plate (p. 5, lines 1–12; p. 7, lines 5–24; p. 8, lines 1–12). JP’162 further discloses that each of the cathode plate and the anode plate includes a current collector, an electrode active material layer, and an electrode tab (p. 4, lines 3–14).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the electrode assembly housed in the battery case includes all of the specific insulating tape configurations and separator-folding features recited in Claim 12 as presently claimed, particularly as refined by later claims.
WO’432 discloses a secondary battery structure in which an electrode assembly having folded separators and insulating tape applied to the folded portions is housed within a battery case (p. 9, lines 1–10; p. 13, lines 3–12; Fig. 7). WO’432 teaches that such an electrode assembly is suitably incorporated into a battery case to form a completed secondary battery.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to house the electrode assembly of JP’162, as modified to include the insulating tape and separator-folding features taught by WO’432, within a battery case to form a secondary battery, since forming a complete secondary battery by combining a known electrode assembly with a known battery case is a predictable and conventional practice.
As to Claim 17:
JP’162 discloses that the battery case housing the electrode assembly may be a pouch-type battery case or a prismatic battery case (p. 9, lines 9–18; p. 10, lines 1–6). JP’162 explicitly illustrates pouch-type and prismatic-type outer cases enclosing the electrode assembly (Fig. 1; Fig. 4).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose this pouch-type or prismatic-type battery case in combination with the electrode assembly having all of the specific insulating tape configurations recited in Claim 16 as presently claimed.
WO’432 discloses that electrode assemblies employing folded separators and insulating tape structures are suitable for use in pouch-type and prismatic-type battery cases (p. 13, lines 13–22; p. 14, lines 1–8). WO’432 explains that such case types are commonly used for accommodating laminated electrode assemblies.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the secondary battery of JP’162 to employ a pouch-type battery case or a prismatic battery case while housing the electrode assembly modified in view of WO’432, since the selection of a pouch-type or prismatic-type case for a known electrode assembly represents a routine and predictable design choice in the battery art.
As to Claim 18:
JP’162 discloses:
an electrode assembly comprising a cathode plate and an anode plate corresponding to the cathode plate, with first and second separators disposed adjacent to each other with the cathode plate or the anode plate interposed therebetween (p. 4, lines 1–14; p. 5, lines 1–10; Fig. 2);
both ends of the first separator are adhered to corresponding ends of the second separator along a longitudinal direction of the electrode plate (p. 6, lines 5–18; p. 7, lines 1–12);
both ends of the adhered separators extend beyond the electrode plate and are configured to wrap the electrode plate end region, thereby forming separator end portions that insulate the electrode edges (p. 7, lines 13–28; Fig. 3);
applying an insulating tape or synthetic resin film to the separator end portions to prevent short-circuiting and to improve insulation reliability at the electrode ends (p. 8, lines 1–15); and
each of the cathode plate and the anode plate includes an electrode current collector, an electrode active material layer formed on the current collector, and an electrode tab protruding from the current collector (p. 4, lines 3–14; p. 5, lines 20–26).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose that the insulating tape (i) wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction while covering the folded separator portions, and (ii) wraps around the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the electrode tab, as specifically recited in Claim 18. In particular, JP’162 does not clearly teach extending the insulating tape to include the electrode tab region.
WO’432 discloses an electrode assembly in which a fixing tape is wound around the electrode stack portion in a direction substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the electrodes, in order to maintain stack integrity and improve insulation at electrode end regions (p. 14, lines 1–10; p. 15, lines 1–8; Fig. 6). WO’432 further teaches forming sealing portions at electrode ends to prevent electrical shorting and to improve handling stability during battery assembly (p. 15, lines 9–18).
While WO’432 does not expressly state that the fixing tape covers the exposed metal portion of the electrode tab, it teaches wrapping insulating tape around the electrode stack in the vicinity of the electrode ends where the electrode tabs protrude, for the purpose of insulation and mechanical stabilization.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of JP’162 such that the insulating tape wraps around the cathode plate and the anode plate along a width direction while covering the folded separator portions, and further wraps around the cathode plate, the anode plate, and the electrode tab, in view of the stack-wrapping teachings of WO’432 and the well-known practice of insulating electrode tab base regions to enhance safety and reliability. Such a modification represents a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions and would have resulted in the electrode assembly recited in Claim 18.
As to Claim 19:
JP’162 discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode assembly and a battery case for housing the electrode assembly (p. 3, lines 5–12; p. 9, lines 1–8; Fig. 1). As discussed above with respect to Claim 18, JP’162 teaches an electrode assembly including folded separators and insulating tape applied to the folded portions.
However, JP’162 does not explicitly disclose housing an electrode assembly having all of the insulating tape configurations recited in Claim 18 within the battery case.
WO’432 discloses that electrode assemblies employing folded separators and insulating tape wrapped around both electrode plates and electrode tabs are housed within a battery case to form a secondary battery (p. 13, lines 7–18; p. 14, lines 1–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to house the electrode assembly of JP’162, as modified in view of WO’432 to include the claimed insulating tape wrapping configurations, within a battery case to form a secondary battery, since assembling a known electrode assembly into a battery case represents a routine and predictable practice in the battery field.
As to Claim 20:
JP’162 discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode assembly and a battery case for housing the electrode assembly (p. 3, lines 6–14; p. 9, lines 1–10; Fig. 1). JP’162 further teaches that the battery case may be formed as a laminate film pouch or as a rigid prismatic case, depending on the application and design requirements (p. 9, lines 11–20).
As discussed with respect to Claim 19, JP’162 discloses an electrode assembly including a cathode plate, an anode plate, first and second separators disposed adjacent to the electrode plates, folded separator ends, and insulating tape applied to cover the folded separator portions, which electrode assembly is housed in the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–14; p. 7, lines 13–28; p. 8, lines 1–15).
However, JP’162 does not explicitly limit the battery case of the secondary battery to being specifically a pouch-type battery case or a prismatic battery case in the context of the electrode assembly configuration recited in Claim 18 and incorporated into Claim 19.
WO’432 discloses a secondary battery in which an electrode assembly employing folded separators and insulating tape is housed in a battery case, and explicitly teaches that the battery case may be a pouch-type case formed of a laminated film or a prismatic metal case (p. 14, lines 1–10; p. 15, lines 5–14; Fig. 7). WO’432 explains that selecting a pouch-type or prismatic case is a conventional design choice based on desired energy density, packaging efficiency, and mechanical strength (p. 15, lines 15–22).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the secondary battery of JP’162, as modified in view of WO’432, with the battery case being a pouch-type battery case or a prismatic battery case, because the selection of pouch-type or prismatic cases is a well-known and predictable design choice in the field of secondary batteries for housing known electrode assemblies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2011/0195298 A1 explicitly teaches folding separator end portions back toward the electrode body, rather than merely sealing or overlapping them (relevant to Claims 1, 5, 6, and 12).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723