Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 9-11, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19)
As to claim 1, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Original) A method of an electronic device performing secure ranging, the method comprising: transmitting, to a secure component, a request to configure a ranging data set for the secure ranging (Paragraph [0122] – “The electronic device V 1021 may periodically perform the ranging operation of steps 1103, 1105, 1107, 1111, or 1113 with the electronic device S 1010 in the above-described state change process. In accordance with each embodiment, a preamble or preamble code used at ranging between the electronic device V 1021 and the electronic device S 1010 may be a secure preamble or secure preamble code or be a general preamble or general preamble code.” Paragraph [0127] – “In response to the ranging process 1103, 1105, 1107, 1111 or 1113 of FIG. 11 using the secure preamble or secure preamble code, and authentication by this failing, communication for distance measurement may be terminated and a failure of distance measurement may be notified.” Paragraph [0128] – “According to one or more embodiments, the processor 420 may enable an operation utilizing security to be carried out in the TEE 320 region illustrated in FIG. 3. In an embodiment, the processor 420 may control to perform, in the TEE 320 region, an operation of providing credential information and encrypting the credential information with a public key or decoding credential information of a received signal with a private key. Also, the processor 420 may control to perform, in the TEE 320 region, even an operation of providing a secure preamble and an operation of comparing the secure preamble provided in itself with a secure preamble of a received signal and authenticating an external electronic device.” The processor controls the TEE to provide secure preamble); and
transmitting, to the secure component, a request to transfer the ranging data set to an ultra-wide band (UWB)subsystem, wherein the ranging data set is transferred from the secure component to the UWB subsystem using a secure channel established between the secure component and the UWB subsystem (Paragraph [0122] – “The electronic device V 1021 may periodically perform the ranging operation of steps 1103, 1105, 1107, 1111, or 1113 with the electronic device S 1010 in the above-described state change process. In accordance with each embodiment, a preamble or preamble code used at ranging between the electronic device V 1021 and the electronic device S 1010 may be a secure preamble or secure preamble code or be a general preamble or general preamble code.” Paragraph [0127] – “In response to the ranging process 1103, 1105, 1107, 1111 or 1113 of FIG. 11 using the secure preamble or secure preamble code, and authentication by this failing, communication for distance measurement may be terminated and a failure of distance measurement may be notified.” Paragraph [0128] – “According to one or more embodiments, the processor 420 may enable an operation utilizing security to be carried out in the TEE 320 region illustrated in FIG. 3. In an embodiment, the processor 420 may control to perform, in the TEE 320 region, an operation of providing credential information and encrypting the credential information with a public key or decoding credential information of a received signal with a private key. Also, the processor 420 may control to perform, in the TEE 320 region, even an operation of providing a secure preamble and an operation of comparing the secure preamble provided in itself with a secure preamble of a received signal and authenticating an external electronic device.” Paragraph [0131] – “According to one or more embodiments, the instructions may enable the at least one processor to, in response to the authentication succeeding, control the communication module to additionally transmit a final signal including the secure preamble to the external electronic device.”).
As to claim 9, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Original) An electronic device performing secure ranging, comprising: a memory; and a processor connected to the memory, the processor configured to: transmit, to a secure component, a request to configure a ranging data set for the secure ranging (Paragraph [0122] – “The electronic device V 1021 may periodically perform the ranging operation of steps 1103, 1105, 1107, 1111, or 1113 with the electronic device S 1010 in the above-described state change process. In accordance with each embodiment, a preamble or preamble code used at ranging between the electronic device V 1021 and the electronic device S 1010 may be a secure preamble or secure preamble code or be a general preamble or general preamble code.” Paragraph [0127] – “In response to the ranging process 1103, 1105, 1107, 1111 or 1113 of FIG. 11 using the secure preamble or secure preamble code, and authentication by this failing, communication for distance measurement may be terminated and a failure of distance measurement may be notified.” Paragraph [0128] – “According to one or more embodiments, the processor 420 may enable an operation utilizing security to be carried out in the TEE 320 region illustrated in FIG. 3. In an embodiment, the processor 420 may control to perform, in the TEE 320 region, an operation of providing credential information and encrypting the credential information with a public key or decoding credential information of a received signal with a private key. Also, the processor 420 may control to perform, in the TEE 320 region, even an operation of providing a secure preamble and an operation of comparing the secure preamble provided in itself with a secure preamble of a received signal and authenticating an external electronic device.” The processor controls the TEE to provide secure preamble); and
transmit, to the secure component, a request to transfer the ranging data set to an ultra-wide band (UWB) subsystem, wherein the ranging data set is transferred from the secure component to the UWB subsystem using a secure channel established between the secure component and the UWB subsystem through the framework (Paragraph [0122] – “The electronic device V 1021 may periodically perform the ranging operation of steps 1103, 1105, 1107, 1111, or 1113 with the electronic device S 1010 in the above-described state change process. In accordance with each embodiment, a preamble or preamble code used at ranging between the electronic device V 1021 and the electronic device S 1010 may be a secure preamble or secure preamble code or be a general preamble or general preamble code.” Paragraph [0127] – “In response to the ranging process 1103, 1105, 1107, 1111 or 1113 of FIG. 11 using the secure preamble or secure preamble code, and authentication by this failing, communication for distance measurement may be terminated and a failure of distance measurement may be notified.” Paragraph [0128] – “According to one or more embodiments, the processor 420 may enable an operation utilizing security to be carried out in the TEE 320 region illustrated in FIG. 3. In an embodiment, the processor 420 may control to perform, in the TEE 320 region, an operation of providing credential information and encrypting the credential information with a public key or decoding credential information of a received signal with a private key. Also, the processor 420 may control to perform, in the TEE 320 region, even an operation of providing a secure preamble and an operation of comparing the secure preamble provided in itself with a secure preamble of a received signal and authenticating an external electronic device.” Paragraph [0131] – “According to one or more embodiments, the instructions may enable the at least one processor to, in response to the authentication succeeding, control the communication module to additionally transmit a final signal including the secure preamble to the external electronic device.”).
As to claim 2, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Original) The method of The method of wherein transmitting the request to configure the ranging data set comprises invoking a framework application programming interface (API) to request the secure component to configure the ranging data set, wherein the framework API comprises an application ID for identifying an application invoking the framework API (Paragraph [0073] – “The first communication module 410 may use a communication scheme such as Bluetooth, WiFi, UWB, or low frequency (LF). Also, the first communication module 410 may exchange, with the external electronic device, parameters utilized for establishing communication connection with the external electronic device, by using the second communication module 430.” [0175] – “The electronic device 101 or 401 may acquire a secure preamble code by using various methods. … In another embodiment, in a hotel, a hotel manager may set a secure preamble code capable of opening a door of a hotel room assigned to a guest, to a portable phone of the corresponding guest. … the electronic device 101 or 401 may exchange credential information with the counterpart electronic device and provide and acquire a secure preamble code as well.” Fig 5A has the preamble 511, PSDU 530 which is shown in Fig 6 and the fig. 6 has the application ID.)
As to claim 3, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the request to transfer the ranging data set to the UWB subsystem comprises invoking framework API to request the secure component to transfer the ranging data set to the UWB subsystem, wherein the framework API includes an application ID for identifying an application invoking the framework API (Counterpart side as a response of preamble, PDSU that are detailed in claim 2).
As to claim 4, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the request to transfer the ranging data set to the UWB subsystem comprises transferring, from an application associated with the secure ranging to the UWB subsystem, a command to obtain the ranging data set from the secure component ([0111] – “In response to using SS-TWR as a distance measurement scheme according to an embodiment, the processor 420 or the second communication module 430 of the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device A 701 of FIG. 7) may transmit a signal (e.g., the frame 500 of FIG. 5A or the frame 900 of FIG. 9) including a secure preamble to the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device B 703 of FIG. 7). The external electronic device may distinguish whether a secure preamble provided in itself through previously exchanged first and second credential information is the same as the secure preamble included in the signal received from the electronic device or a secure preamble code. In response to both the secure preambles or the secure preamble codes being identical as the distinction result, the external electronic device may complete authentication that the received signal has been transmitted from a legal user.” Transmitting frame 500 in fig. 5A is exchanging credentials in order to complete authentication.).
As to claim 6, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by a framework, a command to start the secure ranging to the UWB subsystem, wherein the command to start the secure ranging comprises an application ID for identifying an application associated with the secure ranging (Paragraph [0088]- “Referring to FIG. 6, the MAC layer frame 600 may be implemented using a frame control field 610 of 2 octets, a sequence number field 620 of 1 octet, an application ID field 630 of 2 octets, a destination address field 640 of 2 or 8 octets, a source address field 650 of 2 or 8 octets, an application data field 660 of a variable length, and a frame check sequence (FCS) field 670 of 2 octets.”).
As to claim 8, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the secure component is a trusted execution environment (TEE) or a Strongbox (Paragraph [0068] – “The plurality of execution environments may include, for example, a rich execution environment (REE) 310 and a trusted execution environment 320 (TEE). The REE 310 may be, for example, a first execution environment having a first secure level. The TEE 320 may be a second execution environment having a second secure level different from (e.g., higher than) the first secure level.”).
As to claim 10, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Currently Amended) The electronic device of claim 9, wherein transmitting the request to configure the ranging data set comprises invoking the processor is further configured to invoke a framework application programming interface (API) to request the secure component to configure the ranging data set, andwherein the framework API comprises an application ID for identifying an application invoking the framework API (Paragraph [0073] – “The first communication module 410 may use a communication scheme such as Bluetooth, WiFi, UWB, or low frequency (LF). Also, the first communication module 410 may exchange, with the external electronic device, parameters utilized for establishing communication connection with the external electronic device, by using the second communication module 430.” [0175] – “The electronic device 101 or 401 may acquire a secure preamble code by using various methods. … In another embodiment, in a hotel, a hotel manager may set a secure preamble code capable of opening a door of a hotel room assigned to a guest, to a portable phone of the corresponding guest. … the electronic device 101 or 401 may exchange credential information with the counterpart electronic device and provide and acquire a secure preamble code as well.” Fig 5A has the preamble 511, PSDU 530 which is shown in Fig 6 and the fig. 6 has the application ID.).
As to claim 11, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Currently Amended) The electronic device of The electronic device of wherein transmitting the request to transfer the ranging data set to the UWB subsystem comprises invoking the processor is further configured to invoke the framework API to request the secure component to transfer the ranging data set to the UWB subsystem, and wherein the framework API comprises an application ID for identifying an application invoking the framework API (Counterpart side as a response of preamble, PDSU that are detailed in claim 10).
As to claim 13, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Original) The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a command to start the secure ranging to the UWB subsystem, and wherein the command to start the secure ranging comprises an application ID for identifying an application associated with the secure ranging (Paragraph [0088]- “Referring to FIG. 6, the MAC layer frame 600 may be implemented using a frame control field 610 of 2 octets, a sequence number field 620 of 1 octet, an application ID field 630 of 2 octets, a destination address field 640 of 2 or 8 octets, a source address field 650 of 2 or 8 octets, an application data field 660 of a variable length, and a frame check sequence (FCS) field 670 of 2 octets.”).
As to claim 15, Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) discloses (Original) The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the secure component is a trusted execution environment (TEE) or a Strongbox (Paragraph [0068] – “The plurality of execution environments may include, for example, a rich execution environment (REE) 310 and a trusted execution environment 320 (TEE). The REE 310 may be, for example, a first execution environment having a first secure level. The TEE 320 may be a second execution environment having a second secure level different from (e.g., higher than) the first secure level.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) as applied in claim 1, 9 and further in view of Koo et al. (US 20200351651 A1 dated 2020-11-05)
As to claim 5, Yoon et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art Koo et al. (US 20200351651 A1 dated 2020-11-05) discloses (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the ranging data set comprises at least one of session ID information for a UWB session associated with the secure ranging and session key information for protecting the UWB session (Paragraph [0114] – “Upon reception of the SSP credential request function command, the loader 401 may create an SSP credential based on the received server credential. A step to create the SSP credential may include the following: (1) verification of the SPBM key creation certificate (CERT.SPBM.KA), (2) selection of a certificate for SPBL signature based on the CI information of the certificate to be used by the SSP, (3) creation of an SPBL ephemeral key pair, (4) creation of ID_TRANSAC to be used as a session ID, (5) creation of a first session key (session key 1) with a public key included in the SPBM key creation certificate and a private key of the SPBL ephemeral key, (6) creation of sspImageSessionToken including the SPBL ephemeral key, and creation of sspImageSessionTokenSignature obtained by signing the sspImageSessionToken with a secret key (SK.SPBL.DS) corresponding to an SPBL certificate for signature (CERT.SPBL.DS), and (7) generation of second SSP information.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) to include the means to inclusion of session ID and session key as taught by wireless network of Koo et al. in order to protect the UWB session.
As to claim 12, Yoon et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art Koo et al. (US 20200351651 A1 dated 2020-11-05) discloses (Original) The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the ranging data set comprises at least one of session ID information for a UWB session associated with the secure ranging and session key information for protecting the UWB session (Paragraph [0114] – “Upon reception of the SSP credential request function command, the loader 401 may create an SSP credential based on the received server credential. A step to create the SSP credential may include the following: (1) verification of the SPBM key creation certificate (CERT.SPBM.KA), (2) selection of a certificate for SPBL signature based on the CI information of the certificate to be used by the SSP, (3) creation of an SPBL ephemeral key pair, (4) creation of ID_TRANSAC to be used as a session ID, (5) creation of a first session key (session key 1) with a public key included in the SPBM key creation certificate and a private key of the SPBL ephemeral key, (6) creation of sspImageSessionToken including the SPBL ephemeral key, and creation of sspImageSessionTokenSignature obtained by signing the sspImageSessionToken with a secret key (SK.SPBL.DS) corresponding to an SPBL certificate for signature (CERT.SPBL.DS), and (7) generation of second SSP information.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) to include the means to inclusion of session ID and session key as taught by wireless network of Koo et al. in order to protect the UWB session.
Claims 7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) as applied in claim 1, 9 and further in view of Slupesky et al. (US 20180330368 A1 dated 2018-11-15)
As to claim 7, Yoon et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Sluesky et al. (US 20180330368 A1 dated 2018-11-15) discloses (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the secure channel between the secure component and the UWB subsystem is an asymmetric key-based secure channel (Paragraph [0027] – “With asymmetric keys, one cryptographic key is used to encrypt and another cryptographic key is used to decrypt. Asymmetric keys may be referred to as public-private key pairs. Generally, symmetric cryptosystems are faster in execution and asymmetric cryptosystems are more secure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) to include the means to finding asymmetric key based secure channel as taught by wireless network of Slupesky et al. in order to secure a channel more than symmetric keys can as suggested by paragraph [0027] of Slupesky et al.
As to claim 14, Yoon et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Sluesky et al. (US 20180330368 A1 dated 2018-11-15) discloses (Original) The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the secure channel between the secure component and the UWB subsystem is an asymmetric key-based secure channel (Paragraph [0027] – “With asymmetric keys, one cryptographic key is used to encrypt and another cryptographic key is used to decrypt. Asymmetric keys may be referred to as public-private key pairs. Generally, symmetric cryptosystems are faster in execution and asymmetric cryptosystems are more secure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Yoon et al. (US 20200363524 A1 dated 2020-11-19) to include the means to finding asymmetric key based secure channel as taught by wireless network of Slupesky et al. in order to secure a channel more than symmetric keys can as suggested by paragraph [0027] of Slupesky et al.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAH AL MAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646