DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2023, 09/25/2023 and 01/06/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 224 in Fig. 2 – Please see paragraph ¶00187. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 11, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kittichokechai et al. (US 20230171778), Kittichokechai hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1,
Kittichokechai teaches a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for multiplexing Up link Control Information (UCI), the method comprising (Fig. 2-3, 5-7 & ¶0018 - Then, the UE resolves overlapping between PUCCH and PUSCH resources, if any, by multiplexing the UCI…);
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration including a first Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource configuration and a second PUCCH resource configuration (¶0025 -…a method performed by a wireless communication device for sub-slot PUCCH repetitions comprises receiving one or more sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations from a base station … ¶0116 - … the semi-static sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations are provided via RRC signaling (e.g., via parameter nrofSubSlots in PUCCH-FormatConfig));
the first PUCCH resource configuration including a first sub-slot configuration and the second PUCCH resource configuration including a second sub-slot configuration (¶0020 - Sub-slot configurations for PUCCH … can be configured from the two options, namely “2-symbol*7” and “7-symbol*2” for the sub-slot length of 2 symbols and 7 symbols, respectively. ¶0027 - In one embodiment, the one or more semi-static sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations are associated to one or more PUCCH resources, respectively);
obtaining a first set of PUCCH resources in a first sub-slot configured by the first sub-slot configuration; obtaining a second set of PUCCH resources in a second sub-slot configured by the second sub-slot configuration (¶0025 -…a method performed by a wireless communication device for sub-slot PUCCH repetitions comprises receiving one or more sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations from a base station … ¶0133 - PUCCH resources configured for sub-slot PUCCH repetition are contained within a sub-slot);
the first sub-slot overlapping the second sub-slot (¶0018 - A PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK transmission can overlap in time with other PUCCH resources for Channel State Information (CSI) and/or Scheduling Request (SR) transmissions as well as PUSCH transmissions in a slot);
and performing a first UCI multiplexing procedure after determining that a first PUCCH resource of the first set of PUCCH resources overlaps a second PUCCH resource of the second set of PUCCH resources and a timing constraint for multiplexing is satisfied, the first PUCCH resource being associated with transmission of first UCI (¶0018 - In case of overlapping PUCCH and/or PUSCH resources, first the UE resolves overlapping between PUCCH resources, if any, by determining a PUCCH resource carrying the total UCI (including HARQ-ACK bits) such that the UCI multiplexing timeline requirements are met);
wherein the first UCI multiplexing procedure comprises: selecting a third PUCCH resource from the second set of PUCCH resources, and multiplexing the first UCI in the third PUCCH resource (¶0159 - In one non-limiting embodiment, if one of the sub-slot PUCCH repetitions collides with other sub-slot PUCCH, either PUCCH multiplexing … for that sub-slot is done based on the priorities of the two or more PUCCHs. Examiner interprets the third PUCCH resource is included within the two or more PUCCHs).
Re. Claims 2 and 16, Kittichokechai teaches Claims 1 and 15.
Kittichokechai further teaches the first PUCCH resource configuration has a low priority, and the second PUCCH resource configuration, and the second PUCCH resource configuration has a high priority (Fig. 21 & ¶0041 - the one or more sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations comprise one or more sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations associated to one or more priority levels or one or more groups of priority levels, respectively. ¶0174 - a group of high (or low) PUCCH priorities can indicate a repetition factor and another group of high (or low) PUCCH priorities can indicate another repetition factor. Please see ¶0170-176).
Re. Claim 3, Kittichokechai teaches Claim 1.
Kittichokechai further teaches the first UCI includes at least one of Channel State Information (CSI), (Fig. 21 & ¶0175 - the priority of PUCCH transmission for determining number of repetitions can be implicit, for example based on UCI type with UCI type priority of HARQ-ACK>SR>CSI with higher priority>CSI with lower priority);
a Scheduling Request (SR) with a low priority,
and Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-Acknowledgement (ACK) information associated with the first PUCCH resource configuration (¶0173 - For example, if a PUCCH transmission is configured with high priority … or if it is indicated by DCI as high priority (e.g., in case of HARQ-ACK transmission in a PUCCH). Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”, but mapped all options that are taught).
Re. Claims 7 and 19, Kittichokechai teaches Claims 1 and 15.
Kittichokechai further teaches the first PUCCH resource has a starting symbol within the second sub-slot (¶0019 - In NR Release 15, PUCCH repetition over multiple slots is supported … The same resource allocation (e.g., … same starting symbol) is used for each repetition over multi slots. See Section 9.2.6 in 3GPP Technical Specification (TS) 38.213 for the complete description. Fig. 11 & ¶0135 - In another embodiment, the repetitions of a PUCCH may cross the slot boundary. The sub-slot repetitions of a PUCCH are counted in units of sub-slots. Thus, it may start at one sub-slot location of slot j, and end at a same or different sub-slot location of slot k, k>j. As shown in FIG. 11, the PUCCH repetitions start at the 2.sup.nd sub-slot of slot j and end at the first sub-slot of slot (j+1)).
Re. Claim 11, Kittichokechai teaches Claim 1.
Kittichokechai further teaches the third PUCCH resource is associated with transmission of second UCI, (¶0014 - Each PUCCH resource set is associated with a range of Uplink Control Information (UCI) payload bits including HARQ-ACK bits) the method further comprising: multiplexing the first UCI and the second UCI in a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resource associated with a low priority after determining that the third PUCCH resource overlaps the PUSCH resource (Fig. 2-3, & ¶0018 - the UE resolves overlapping between PUCCH and PUSCH resources, if any, by multiplexing the UCI on the PUSCH resource if the timeline requirements for UCI multiplexing are met. ¶0175 - In another example, the priority of PUCCH transmission for determining number of repetitions can be implicit, for example based on UCI type with UCI type priority of HARQ-ACK>SR>CSI with higher priority>CSI with lower priority).
Re. Claim 15,
Kittichokechai teaches a user equipment (UE) for multiplexing Uplink Control Information (UCI), the UE comprising (Fig. 2-3, 5-7 & ¶0018 - Then, the UE resolves overlapping between PUCCH and PUSCH resources, if any, by multiplexing the UCI…);
at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory stores one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to (Fig. 25-26 & ¶0187-¶0188);
receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration including a first Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource configuration and a second PUCCH resource configuration (¶0025 -…a method performed by a wireless communication device for sub-slot PUCCH repetitions comprises receiving one or more sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations from a base station … ¶0116 - … the semi-static sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations are provided via RRC signaling (e.g., via parameter nrofSubSlots in PUCCH-FormatConfig));
the first PUCCH resource configuration including a first sub-slot configuration, and the second PUCCH resource configuration including a second sub-slot configuration (¶0020 - Sub-slot configurations for PUCCH … can be configured from the two options, namely “2-symbol*7” and “7-symbol*2” for the sub-slot length of 2 symbols and 7 symbols, respectively. ¶0027 - In one embodiment, the one or more semi-static sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations are associated to one or more PUCCH resources, respectively);
obtain a first set of PUCCH resources in a first sub-slot configured by the first sub-slot configuration; obtain a second set of PUCCH resources in a second sub-slot configured by the second sub- slot configuration (¶0025 -…a method performed by a wireless communication device for sub-slot PUCCH repetitions comprises receiving one or more sub-slot PUCCH repetition configurations from a base station … ¶0133 - PUCCH resources configured for sub-slot PUCCH repetition are contained within a sub-slot);
the first sub-slot overlapping the second sub-slot (¶0018 - A PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK transmission can overlap in time with other PUCCH resources for Channel State Information (CSI) and/or Scheduling Request (SR) transmissions as well as PUSCH transmissions in a slot);
and perform a first UCI multiplexing procedure after determining that a first PUCCH resource of the first set of PUCCH resources overlaps a second PUCCH resource of the second set of PUCCH resources and a timing constraint for multiplexing is satisfied, the first PUCCH resource being associated with transmission of first UCI (¶0018 - In case of overlapping PUCCH and/or PUSCH resources, first the UE resolves overlapping between PUCCH resources, if any, by determining a PUCCH resource carrying the total UCI (including HARQ-ACK bits) such that the UCI multiplexing timeline requirements are met);
wherein the first UCI multiplexing procedure comprises: selecting a third PUCCH resource from the second set of PUCCH resources, and multiplexing the first UCI in the third PUCCH resource (¶0159 - In one non-limiting embodiment, if one of the sub-slot PUCCH repetitions collides with other sub-slot PUCCH, either PUCCH multiplexing … for that sub-slot is done based on the priorities of the two or more PUCCHs. Examiner interprets the third PUCCH resource is included within the two or more PUCCHs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20240284494), Kim hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Kittichokechai teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Kittichokechai does not explicitly teach the third PUCCH resource is associated with transmission of second UCI, and the second UCI includes at least one of a Scheduling Request (SR) with a high priority and Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-Acknowledgement (ACK) information associated with the second PUCCH resource configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches the third PUCCH resource is associated with transmission of second UCI, (Fig. 39 & ¶0329 - …the UCI may be mapped also to the second transmission instance or a subsequent transmission instance of the UL data channel. ¶0341 - … the serving base station may indicate sets composed of UL control channel resources (i.e., PUCCH resources) to the terminal through higher layer signaling. Please also see ¶0485);
and the second UCI includes at least one of a Scheduling Request (SR) with a high priority (¶0466 - For example, when the URLLC SR and the eMBB SR occur in the terminal at the same time or at the similar time, the higher layer of the terminal may instruct the physical layer of the terminal to transmit only the URLLC SR determined to have a high priority) and Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-Acknowledgement (ACK) information associated with the second PUCCH resource configuration (¶0490 - When a high priority UCI that is already multiplexed and the same type of UCI not yet multiplexed/selected are considered (i.e., … when URLLC HARQ-ACK and eMBB HARQ-ACK are compared)…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Kittichokechai. The motivation would be because advantageous effects of the invention include when transmission resources of signals and/or channels overlap in time, a selection or multiplexing procedure for the signals and/or channels can be performed based on priorities, thereby increasing reliability of the data transmission and reducing latency thereof. Also, the efficiency of radio resources can be improved (¶0028, Kim).
Re. Claim 17, Kittichokechai teaches Claim 15.
Kittichokechai further teaches the third PUCCH resource is associated with transmission of second UCI, (¶0014 - Each PUCCH resource set is associated with a range of Uplink Control Information (UCI) payload bits including HARQ-ACK bits);
Yet, Kittichokechai does not explicitly teach the first UCI includes at least one of Channel State Information (CSI), a Scheduling Request (SR) with a low priority, and Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-Acknowledgement (ACK) information associated with the first PUCCH resource configuration, and the second UCI includes at least one of an SR with a high priority and HARQ-ACK information associated with the second PUCCH resource configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches the first UCI includes at least one of Channel State Information (CSI), a Scheduling Request (SR) with a low priority, and Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ)-Acknowledgement (ACK) information associated with the first PUCCH resource configuration (¶0214 - Priority varies according to the type of UCI, and the priorities may be defined in the order of HARQ-ACK> (or ≥) SR>CSI… ¶0477 - The selection schemes and multiplexing schemes for the two UCIs (and UL-SCH) having different priorities described so far may be easily extended even for three or more UCIs (and UL-SCH));
and the second UCI includes at least one of an SR with a high priority and HARQ-ACK information associated with the second PUCCH resource configuration (¶0214 - Priority varies according to the type of UCI, and the priorities may be defined in the order of … SR> (or ≥) HARQ-ACK>CSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Kittichokechai. The motivation would be because advantageous effects of the invention include when transmission resources of signals and/or channels overlap in time, a selection or multiplexing procedure for the signals and/or channels can be performed based on priorities, thereby increasing reliability of the data transmission and reducing latency thereof. Also, the efficiency of radio resources can be improved (¶0028, Kim).
Claims 5-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai, and further in view of Andersson et al. (US 20230379962), Andersson hereinafter.
Re. Claim 5, Kittichokechai teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Kittichokechai does not explicitly teach the first set of PUCCH resources is obtained by performing a second UCI multiplexing procedure on a third set of PUCCH resources having a low priority in the first sub-slot.
However, in the analogous art, Andersson explicitly teaches the first set of PUCCH resources is obtained by performing a second UCI multiplexing procedure on a third set of PUCCH resources having a low priority in the first sub-slot (Fig. 1-3, 7 & ¶0084 - FIG. 1 illustrates a scenario where a LP (Low-Priority) PUCCH is included in intersection of two sub-groups of overlapping channels where the LP PUCCH is multiplexed in a first multiplexing (of first sub-group) onto a LP PUSCH and then multiplexed in a second multiplexing (of second sub-group) with a HP (High-Priority) PUCCH onto a HP+LP PUCCH. Please also see ¶0115);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Andersson to the teaching of Kittichokechai. The motivation would be because the current rules for handling UCI with different priorities do not ensure that low priority UCI survives. There are also issues with handling overlapping UCI when some are on sub-slot level and some are on slot-level (¶0024, Andersson).
Re. Claim 6, Kittichokechai teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Kittichokechai does not explicitly teach the second set of PUCCH resources is obtained by performing a second UCI multiplexing procedure on a third set of PUCCH resources having a high priority in the second sub-slot.
However, in the analogous art, Andersson explicitly teaches the second set of PUCCH resources is obtained by performing a second UCI multiplexing procedure on a third set of PUCCH resources having a high priority in the second sub-slot (Fig. 1-3, 7 & ¶0084 - FIG. 1 illustrates a scenario where a LP (Low-Priority) PUCCH is included in intersection of two sub-groups of overlapping channels where the LP PUCCH is multiplexed in a first multiplexing (of first sub-group) onto a LP PUSCH and then multiplexed in a second multiplexing (of second sub-group) with a HP (High-Priority) PUCCH onto a HP+LP PUCCH. Please also see ¶0115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Andersson to the teaching of Kittichokechai. The motivation would be because the current rules for handling UCI with different priorities do not ensure that low priority UCI survives. There are also issues with handling overlapping UCI when some are on sub-slot level and some are on slot-level (¶0024, Andersson).
Re. Claim 18, Kittichokechai teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Kittichokechai does not explicitly teach the first set of PUCCH resources is obtained by performing a second UCI multiplexing procedure on a third set of PUCCH resources having a low priority in the first sub- slot, and the second set of PUCCH resources is obtained by performing a second UCI multiplexing procedure on a fourth set of PUCCH resources having a high priority in the second sub-slot.
However, in the analogous art, Andersson explicitly teaches the first set of PUCCH resources is obtained by performing a second UCI multiplexing procedure on a third set of PUCCH resources having a low priority in the first sub- slot, (Fig. 1-3, 7 & ¶0084 - FIG. 1 illustrates a scenario where a LP (Low-Priority) PUCCH is included in intersection of two sub-groups of overlapping channels where the LP PUCCH is multiplexed in a first multiplexing (of first sub-group) onto a LP PUSCH and then multiplexed in a second multiplexing (of second sub-group) with a HP (High-Priority) PUCCH onto a HP+LP PUCCH. Please also see ¶0115);
and the second set of PUCCH resources is obtained by performing a second UCI multiplexing procedure on a fourth set of PUCCH resources having a high priority in the second sub-slot (Fig. 1-3, 7 & ¶0084 - FIG. 1 illustrates a scenario where a LP (Low-Priority) PUCCH is included in intersection of two sub-groups of overlapping channels where the LP PUCCH is multiplexed in a first multiplexing (of first sub-group) onto a LP PUSCH and then multiplexed in a second multiplexing (of second sub-group) with a HP (High-Priority) PUCCH onto a HP+LP PUCCH. Please also see ¶0115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Andersson to the teaching of Kittichokechai. The motivation would be because the current rules for handling UCI with different priorities do not ensure that low priority UCI survives. There are also issues with handling overlapping UCI when some are on sub-slot level and some are on slot-level (¶0024, Andersson).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai and Li et al. (WO 2020199767A1), Li hereinafter, and further in view of Gao (US 20220386300), Gao hereinafter.
Re. Claims 8 and 20, Kittichokechai teaches Claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Kittichokechai does not explicitly teach the first UCI multiplexing procedure is further performed on a fourth PUCCH resource of the first set of PUCCH resources, the fourth PUCCH resource being associated with transmission of third UCI and having a starting symbol within the second sub-slot, wherein the first UCI multiplexing procedure further comprises: determining whether to multiplex the third UCI in the third PUCCH resource based on whether the fourth PUCCH resource overlaps the third PUCCH resource.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches the first UCI multiplexing procedure is further performed on a fourth PUCCH resource of the first set of PUCCH resources, (Page 5, ¶5 – the PUCCH4 resource can meet the multiplexing condition, so that uplink multiplexing can be implemented in sequence);
the fourth PUCCH resource being associated with transmission of third UCI (Page 2, Summary of the Invention, ¶2 - The method includes: determining … a fourth PUCCH resource, where the fourth PUCCH resource is used to transmit the first UCI and the third UCI);
wherein the first UCI multiplexing procedure further comprises: determining whether to multiplex the third UCI in the third PUCCH resource based on whether the fourth PUCCH resource overlaps the third PUCCH resource (Page 2, Summary of the Invention, ¶1 - a communication method, communication device and system to determine one or more UCI transmission resources when the time domains of multiple PUCCH resources overlap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Kittichokechai. The motivation would be because how to determine one or more UCI transmission resources is an urgent problem to be solved (Page 2, Background technique, ¶2, Li).
Yet, Kittichokechai and Li do not explicitly teach having a starting symbol within the second sub-slot.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches having a starting symbol within the second sub-slot (¶0116 - … and for the second sub-slot, corresponding to 8 PUCCH resources, i.e., 2nd, 4th, 6th, 8th, 10th, 12th, 14th and 16th PDCCH resource, in the target PUCCH resource set. Examiner interprets Gao supports that a PUCCH resource, specifically a fourth one, can start within the second sub-slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teachings of Kittichokechai and Li. The motivation would be because the invention discloses a resource determination method and apparatus for flexible acquisition of a PUCCH resource by a terminal at each sub-slot or each TRP (Abstract, Gao).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 20200145167) Jung hereinafter.
Re. Claim 12, Kittichokechai teaches Claim 11.
Yet, Kittichokechai does not explicitly teach Downlink Control Information (DCI) scheduling the PUSCH resource indicates that the second UCI is multiplexed in the PUSCH resource.
However, in the analogous art, Jung explicitly teaches Downlink Control Information (DCI) scheduling the PUSCH resource indicates that the second UCI is multiplexed in the PUSCH resource (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0024 - the UE can identify the first PUCCH resource as an assigned PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK information, such as based on received DCI or higher-layer configuration, and if the UE transmits multiple PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs in the slot, then the UE can multiplex and transmit corresponding HARQ-ACK information and other UCI in a second PUCCH resource or PUSCH resource that ends within a time interval where the last symbol of the first PUCCH resource is located. In another example, a new or existing bit field and/or a PUCCH resource indicator field in DL DCI can indicate a PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK information and that uplink transmission carrying the HARQ-ACK information can end within a time interval of a slot where the last symbol of the indicated PUCCH resource is located. The DL DCI can be a DCI carrying DL scheduling assignment. Please also see ¶0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jung to the teaching of Kittichokechai. The motivation would be because some embodiments of the invention provide for multiplexing multiple Uplink Control Information (UCI) including low latency HARQ-ACK feedback on PUCCH or PUSCH (¶0008, Jung).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai, and further in view of Li.
Re. Claim 14, Kittichokechai teaches Claim 1.
Kittichokechai further teaches dropping the first UCI after determining that the first PUCCH resource of the first set of PUCCH resources overlaps the second PUCCH resource of the second set of PUCCH resources (¶0154 - if one of the sub-slot PUCCH repetition collides with other UL transmission, PUCCH transmission in that sub-slot is dropped. ¶0159 - In one non-limiting embodiment, if one of the sub-slot PUCCH repetitions collides with other sub-slot PUCCH, either PUCCH multiplexing or PUCCH prioritization (dropping one of the two) for that sub-slot is done based on the priorities of the two or more PUCCHs.
Yet, Kittichokechai does not explicitly teach and the timing constraint for multiplexing is not satisfied.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches and the timing constraint for multiplexing is not satisfied (Page 2, Background technique, ¶2 - At present, the premise of UCI MUX in R15 is that overlapping PUCCH resources need to meet multiplexing conditions, and multiplexing will be performed only when the multiplexing conditions are met … . In view of the overlap in the time domain of multiple PUCCH resources in a time slot, … some PUCCH resources do not meet the multiplexing conditions…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Kittichokechai. The motivation would be because how to determine one or more UCI transmission resources is an urgent problem to be solved (Page 2, Background technique, ¶2, Li).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior are with solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation(s) of:
Claim 9 - obtaining a third set of PUCCH resources in a third sub-slot configured by the second sub- slot configuration, the third sub-slot being after the second sub-slot and the-third-sub-slot overlapping the first sub-slot; and performing a second UCI multiplexing procedure after determining that a fourth PUCCH resource overlaps a fifth PUCCH resource of the third set of PUCCH resources, the fourth PUCCH resource being associated with transmission of third UGI;-UCI, wherein the second UCI multiplexing procedure comprises: selecting a sixth PUCCH resource from the third set of PUCCH resources, the sixth PUCCH resource being associated with transmission of fourth UCI, and multiplexing the third UCI and the fourth UCI in the sixth PUCCH resource.
Claim 10 – depends on Claim 9.
Claim 13 - wherein the timing constraint for multiplexing is satisfied in a case that a time duration between reception of Downlink Control Information (DCI) that schedules a fourth PUCCH resource of the second set of PUCCH resources and the first PUCCH resource is larger than a predefined time duration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamamoto (US 2025/0227702) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-20 and ¶0001-¶0252.
Singh et al. (US 2024/0259163) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-26 and ¶0001-¶0201.
Park et al. (US 2023/0105294) – Please see Abstact, Fig. 1-17 & ¶0001-¶0309.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465