DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A-1 (Fig. 1) and Species B-1 (Fig. 6) drawn to claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 02/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (JP 2020072005 A, Machine Translation).
Reference Takahashi (JP 2020072005 A, Machine Translation) is still applicable as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) that cannot be excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C).
Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Takahashi discloses a heat transfer suppression sheet (Abstract) for a battery pack (See Figs. 1-11, see Fig. 9, 10 or 11 elements 100 or 60), the heat transfer suppression sheet (see Fig. 1 20) being used in a battery pack in which battery cells are connected in series or in parallel (see pg. 13, section battery pack) and being interposed between the battery cells, the heat transfer suppression sheet comprising (See Figs. 1-11):
a heat-insulating material (30, see pg. 4 paragraph 6 ) containing at least one of inorganic particles or inorganic fibers; and a covering material covering (20, see pg. 3 description of Fig. 1) at least a part of the heat-insulating material (30), wherein a gap (corrugations result in gaps) is formed between the heat-insulating material and the covering material, and the gap communicates with the outside (gap at edges since covering material does not cover edges) of the heat-insulating material and the covering material.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Takahashi discloses the heat transfer suppression sheet for a battery pack according to claim 1 interposed between the battery cells (see Fig. 9 50, see pg. 13-14, description of battery pack) and that the batteries are connected in series or parallel (see pg. 13, section battery pack)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20110159340 A1) in view of Takahashi ‘36 (JP 2019204636 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses heat transfer suppression sheet (see Figs. 3B, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, Fig. 18, 320, 410, 1002,1810 [0037]) for a battery pack, the heat transfer
suppression sheet being used in a battery pack in which battery cells are connected in series or in parallel ([0033]) and being interposed between the battery cells (302 [0043], 1000a-g [0066]), the heat transfer suppression sheet comprising (see Figs. 3B, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, Fig. 18):
a heat-insulating material (214 [0037]-[0039], see analogous layers in other figures noted) containing at least one of inorganic particles (ceramic powder [0039]); and a covering material (212) covering at least a part of the heat-insulating material.
However, Hu does not disclose a gap is formed between the heat-insulating material and the covering material, and the gap communicates with the outside of the heat-insulating material and the covering material.
Takahashi ‘36 discloses a heat insulating material sheet (10) between battery cells which has convex and concave portions (22 [0035]) which increases surface area so that the effectiveness of the heat insulating properties is further increased ([0019]-[0022],see Figs. 1-4, note both surfaces can have concave convex features [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the heat insulating material layer of Hu to have concave and convex portions as disclosed by Takahashi ‘36 so that the effectiveness of the heat insulating properties is further increased.
The covering material of modified Hu does not cover the edges and therefore the gap communicates with the outside of the heat-insulating material and the covering material.
Regarding claim 2, modified Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Hu does not disclose at least one of the inorganic particles or the inorganic fibers contained in the heat insulating material contains a material that releases moisture when heated.
Takahashi ’36 discloses that the heat insulating layer can comprise inorganic particles or the inorganic fibers contained in the heat insulating material contains a material that releases moisture when heated and that using this material increases performance of the battery cells ([0040]-[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the heat insulating layer material of modified Hu by using the heat insulating layer material as disclosed by Takahashi ’36 because it is known that heat insulating/absorbing material is used to control heat transfer between batteries and furthermore that using this material increases performance of the battery cells.
Regarding claims 4 and 6-8, modified Hu discloses a battery pack in which battery cells are connected in series or in parallel ([0033]), wherein the heat transfer suppression sheet for a battery pack according to claim 1 is interposed (302 [0043], 1000a-g [0066], the heat transfer suppression sheet comprising (see Figs. 3B, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, Fig. 18) between the battery cells.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, modified Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Hu discloses that the covering material (212) can be formed of an ceramic filled polymer ([0039]) which is a polymer film.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/272,300. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recites a substantially similar structure for a heat transfer suppression sheet.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/272,238. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recites a substantially similar structure for a heat transfer suppression sheet.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726