DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed on 07/17/2023 has been considered and entered for the record.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the culture unit, the imaging unit, the storage unit, the determination unit and the display unit of claim 1, the correction unit of claim 3, acceptance unit in claim 6 and the relearning unit of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation the “correction unit (claim 3 & 4)”, “acceptance unit (claim 6)” and the “relearning unit (claim 8)” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not provide the corresponding structure to perform these acts and it appears that these structures are basically a button on a screen and a computer. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
It should be further noted that in light of the specification, it is unclear what structure or element of the display is the acceptance unit or what structure or element is the relearning unit. At best, it appears to be a button on the screen of the display and that is how this limitation will be interpreted for purposes of examination (see paragraphs 66 and 70 of the instant application). The correction unit appears to be a software operation, but the specification does not provide an explanation of the corresponding structure. For purposes of examination, if a process or element corrects either the image or the position of an embryo based on the image, this will be interpreted as meeting this claim limitation.
Appropriate corrective action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Fukunaga (JP 2018093795 A – hereafter ‘795 and reference will be made to the enclosed machine translation; both submitted with the IDS of 07/17/2023).
‘795 discloses a large number of trays holding treated eggs and implements time lapse processing of the eggs (Abstract) that includes the following limitations for claim 1:
“An embryo culture device that keeps in a culture environment a treatment egg having been subjected to insemination treatment”: ‘795 discloses an embryo culture device (device 10) that is for culturing an egg subjected to treatment for in vitro fertilization ([0022]) that keeps the egg in a culture environment.
“a culture unit that accommodates a plurality of recess parts that can each accommodate a treatment egg, and keeps the recess parts in the culture environment”: ‘795 discloses that the apparatus (apparatus 10; Fig. 1; [0023]) includes twelve culture units (units 11-22) that include a culture chamber (chamber R11-R22; Fig. 3; [0024]) that include a recess portion (recess 40; [0026]). These units accommodate an egg for treatment.
“an imaging unit that continuously or intermittently captures an image including the treatment egg accommodated in the recess part without relatively moving the recess part”: ‘795 discloses a time lapse part (part 50; Fig. 1) that includes a camera module (camera 51; Fig. 2; [0023]; [0024]) that capture the images continuously or intermittently (Abstract; claim 3; [0054]; [0055]).
“a storage unit that stores per treatment egg an egg image that is an image including the imaged treatment egg”: ‘795 disclose a storage unit such as a hard disk or memory card (card 59; [0046]) that stores an image of the treated egg.
“a determination unit that applies a learned model generated in advance by supervised learning to the egg image of each treatment egg, and makes determination of growth of the treatment egg”: ‘795 discloses a control unit (unit 60A; Fig. 13) that executes a time-lapse control process ([0058]). This is done through a machine-learned in advance that determines whether fertilization is possible. This process can be realized in real time by using a high-speed calculation ([0049]) and the capture image may be displayed to determine whether fertilization is possible. While not specifying that this process is a machine-learned model, this is being interpreted as the model of the instant application since it is machine-learned in advance in the same manner as the model of the instant application.
“a display unit that reads from the storage unit an egg image of a treatment egg having been determined to satisfy a condition set in advance according to a result of the determination to display”: ‘795 discloses a display module (module 52; Fig. 2; [0024]) that is connected to the memory by a display interface ([0033]; Fig. 7; display interface 82). This interface performs and output of an image signal to be displayed on the display module ([0034]). This display is fully capable of displaying an image that has satisfied a condition based on the determination process.
For claim 2, ‘795 discloses that the determination process makes this based on images stored within the storage unit ([0049]).
For claim 5, ‘795 discloses a control unit (unit 60A; Fig. 13) that executes a time-lapse control process ([0058]). This is done through a machine-learned in advance that determines whether fertilization is possible. This process can be realized in real time by using a high-speed calculation ([0049]) and the capture image may be displayed to determine whether fertilization is possible. The controller determines if the egg is fertilized or if it is not fertilized.
For claim 6, ‘795 discloses using an end button (button 78; [0050]; Fig. 9) that is on the display and is being interpreted as the acceptance unit which displays the determination and image of the egg and accepts the decision of the operator.
For claim 8, ‘795 does not explicitly disclose a relearning unit, however, ‘795 would have a relearning unit as a machine-learned determination device is used to determine whether fertilization is possible ([0049]). Furthermore, all machine learning models or units employ an iterative process for learning and optimizing a process which means that a relearning unit or process is an inherent feature of machine-learned device.
‘795 discloses a large number of trays holding treated eggs and implements time lapse processing of the eggs (Abstract) that includes the following limitations for claim 9:
“A method for displaying a treatment egg kept in a culture environment and having been subjected to insemination treatment”: ‘795 discloses an embryo culture device (device 10) and method that is for culturing an egg subjected to treatment for in vitro fertilization ([0022]) that keeps the egg in a culture environment.
“a accommodating a plurality of recess parts that can accommodate a treatment egg and keeping the recess parts in the culture environment”: ‘795 discloses the step where the apparatus (apparatus 10; Fig. 1; [0023]) includes twelve culture units (units 11-22) that include a culture chamber (chamber R11-R22; Fig. 3; [0024]) that include a recess portion (recess 40; [0026]). These units accommodate an egg for treatment.
“providing an imaging unit at predetermined position with respect to the recess part”: ‘795 discloses providing a time lapse part (part 50; Fig. 1) that includes a camera module (camera 51; Fig. 2; [0023]; [0024]) that capture the images continuously or intermittently (Abstract; claim 3; [0054]; [0055]).
“continuously or intermittently capturing an image including the treatment egg accommodated in the recess part using the imaging unit”: ‘795 discloses the step of capturing the images continuously or intermittently (Abstract; claim 3; [0054]; [0055]).
“storing in a storage unit per treatment egg an egg image that is an image including the imaged treatment egg”: ‘795 disclose the step of using a storage unit such as a hard disk or memory card (card 59; [0046]) that stores an image of the treated egg.
“applying a learned model generated in advance by supervised machine learning to the egg image of the treatment egg, and making a determination of growth of the treatment egg”: ‘795 discloses using a control unit (unit 60A; Fig. 13) that executes a time-lapse control process ([0058]). This is done through a machine-learned in advance that determines whether fertilization is possible. This process can be realized in real time by using a high-speed calculation ([0049]) and the capture image may be displayed to determine whether fertilization is possible. While not specifying that this process is a machine-learned model, this is being interpreted as the model of the instant application since it is machine-learned in advance in the same manner as the model of the instant application.
“reading from the storage unit an egg image of a treatment egg having been determined to satisfy a condition set in advance according to a result of the determination to display on a display unit.”: ‘795 discloses using a display module (module 52; Fig. 2; [0024]) that is connected to the memory by a display interface ([0033]; Fig. 7; display interface 82). This interface performs and output of an image signal to be displayed on the display module ([0034]). This display is fully capable of displaying an image that has satisfied a condition based on the determination process.
Therefore, ‘795 meets the limitations of claims 1-2, 5, 6, 8 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga (JP 2018093795 A – hereafter ‘795 and reference will be made to the enclosed machine translation; both submitted with the IDS of 07/17/2023) in view of Wu et al. (US 2019/0162712 A1 – hereafter ‘712).
It should be noted that while ‘795 has a common inventor with the instant application the ‘795 reference was published more than a year before the earliest effective filing date of the instant application.
For claim 3, ‘795 (Fukunaga) discloses that the culture unit (unit 40) can hold a tray (tray 91; Fig. 10) within each recess where this tray has a plurality of wells ([0026]). The camera of ‘795 takes multiple images of the recesses ([0045]) where this is being interpreted as collectively taking images of the recesses. ‘795 further discloses that the images are divided per recess ([0046]) for each well and stored on the memory card.
However, ‘795 does not explicitly disclose a correction unit that corrects the image.
‘712 (Wu) discloses a system for culturing a fertilized egg of an organism in the field of animal husbandry ([0057]) that for claim 3 includes a correction image (image 69; Fig. 5; [0109]) that urges the operator to transfer a fertilized egg to the correct vessel. This is initiated by the notification unit (unit 34; Fig. 1; [0075]; it should be noted that this unit is labeled as element 33 in Fig. 1 and should be labeled as 34). This is being interpreted as the correction unit of the instant application since it corrects the image and position of the fertilized egg.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the notification/correction unit of ‘712 within ‘795 in order to position the fertilized egg. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to check the transfer condition of each embryo and to prevent mix-up of different fertilized embryos ([0140]).
712 (Wu) discloses a system for culturing a fertilized egg of an organism in the field of animal husbandry ([0057]) that for claim 4 includes a correction image (image 69; Fig. 5; [0109]) that urges the operator to transfer a fertilized egg to the correct vessel. This is initiated by the notification unit (unit 34; Fig. 1; [0075]; it should be noted that this unit is labeled as element 33 in Fig. 1 and should be labeled as 34). This is being interpreted as the correction unit of the instant application since it corrects the image and position of the fertilized egg.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the notification/correction unit of ‘712 within ‘795 in order to position the fertilized egg. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to check the transfer condition of each embryo and to prevent mix-up of different fertilized embryos ([0140]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga (JP 2018093795 A – hereafter ‘795 and reference will be made to the enclosed machine translation; both submitted with the IDS of 07/17/2023) in view of Iwata et al. (JP 6414310 B1 – hereafter ‘310 and reference will be made to the enclosed machine translation).
For claim 7, ‘795 (Fukunaga) does not explicitly disclose determining whether or not a timing to take out the treatment egg or whether or not to exchange the culture medium. ‘795 does disclose a lid that is used to close the chambers ([0028]; [0038]; [0064]; [0065]; [0073]).
‘310 (Iwata) discloses a method for evaluating fertilized eggs (Abstract) that for claim 7 discloses an egg transplanter that transmits an acquisition request to a terminal in order to process the acquisition request. This transfer instruction that prompts the fertilized egg transplanter to take out the fertilized egg base on the fertilized egg analysis/evaluation report page 14, sixth paragraph). This is being interpreted as the equivalent to determining the timing to take out the fertilized egg.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to employ the removal step of j’310 within ‘795 in order to remove a fertilized egg from the culture chamber. The suggestion for doing so would have been in order to fulfil a request for the fertilized egg (page 14, sixth paragraph; page 15, fifth paragraph).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fukunaga (JP 2018061440 A) discloses a system for confirming whether an egg has undergone a fertilization treatment.
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799