Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomohiro et al. (US 2013/0305499) in view of Annaka et al. (US 2023/0309663).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Tomohiro et al. discloses an apparatus (101), comprising:
a fastener tape body (103), and
a reinforcing portion (107a) provided on at least one main surface of the fastener tape body (Fig. 1 as shown),
wherein the reinforcing portion is a single layer is impregnated and solidified, in the fastener tape body (paragraph 38 describes wherein the reinforced portion penetrates the fastener tape and is cured).
Tomohiro fails to disclose wherein the adhesive is a polypropylene resin sheet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use polypropylene in place of the adhesive used in Tomohiro since Applicant has not disclosed that polypropylene and its variants provide any particular advantage, purpose, or solution over other materials. Instead, Applicant, has only provided within the disclosure what is believed to be an optimal methodology for how to use polypropylene for the reinforcing portions. The cured adhesive of the prior art appears to be able to perform equally well as the clamed invention since it also penetrates into the fastener tape (Paragraph 40, lines 1-2), helping prevent peel off from the tape. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Tomohiro et al. to obtain the invention as specified in the claim. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Tomohiro further fails to disclose only a partial and incomplete part of the reinforcing portion is impregnated in the fastener tape body.
Annaka et al. teach partial impregnation (Fig. 4 shows layer 16d layered over a core portion 16c. Paragraph 120 describes wherein this layer is impregnated in the core. The presence of distinct layers is indicative that this impregnation is partial/incomplete).
From this teaching of Annaka et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the reinforcing layer to provide a water impermeable face to the fastener tape ends to prevent wicking within the substrate of the fastener tape.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Tomohiro further discloses wherein the reinforcing portion and the fastener tape body are crosslinked by carbodiimide (Paragraph 38, lines 1-4).
Tomohiro et al. fail to disclose wherein the fastener tape body comprises polyethylene terephthalate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use polyethylene terephthalate for the tap body since Applicant has not disclosed that polyethylene terephthalate provides any particular advantage, purpose or solution over other materials. Instead, Applicant appears to only suggest that the material allows for crosslinking with the reinforcing portion. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the combination of the polyethylene terephthalate tape and cured adhesive (as modified in claim 1 above) because the necessary crosslinking is still provided herein to prevent peel off. Therefore, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to modify Tomohiro et al. to obtain the invention as specified in the claim. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
Regarding claim 4, Tomohiro et al. further discloses wherein the reinforcing portion and the fastener tape body are crosslinked by cyclic carbodiimide (last 5 lines of Paragraph 47).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Tomohiro et al. discloses the invention except for a thickness d of a fraction in the reinforcing portion which is impregnated and solidified in the fastener tape body is 20 to 115 pm; and a ratio d/D is 0.14 to 0.83, in which d is a thickness of a fraction which is impregnated and solidified in the fastener tape body, and D is a thickness of a reinforcing sheet that is a material of the reinforcing portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to impregnate the tape to the claimed ranges to achieve sufficient reinforcing/cross linking within the fastener tape since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Tomohiro et al. further discloses a separable insertion mechanism (106b) on the reinforcing portion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant presents arguments wherein Tomohiro “requires the adhesive to completely,” penetrate “into the fastener tape”. Applicant cites Paragraph 58 of Tomohiro wherein Tomohiro suggests high temperatures would result in incomplete penetration. However, the cited language instead merely appears to describe how temperature adjustment can be made to optimize penetration of the adhesive. This paragraph does not appear to support Applicant’s argument.
Applicant proceeds to discuss the language of Paragraph 56 of Tomohiro. This paragraph does not appear to be pertinent to the current issues. Paragraph 56 discusses the excess adhesive on the masking member opening. This is separate from the fastener tape and body and not currently relevant.
Applicant further discusses Paragraph 60 wherein a process C produces an intermediate product that appears possibly to also read on the claimed subject matter. The deeper impregnation provided in Process D does not explicitly mean partial and incomplete impregnation can occur. Further impregnation does not equal complete and full impregnation.
Regarding Annaka, Applicant’s allegation that Annaka recognizes coating and impregnation as two distinct techniques is not persuasive. The usage of “and/or” instead suggests that Annaka that coating and impregnation are not distinct and a coating and impregnate the core.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677