DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0214634 to Neftel et al. (Neftel hereinafter) in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2016/0184516 to Shih et al. (Shih hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Neftel teaches a medicament delivery system (1) comprising a reservoir (103) carrying a medicament (paragraph 3), a pump (100) to draw the fluid out of the reservoir for delivery, and an occlusion sensor (4, 13) connected (at least indirectly) to the reservoir that senses whether an occlusion is present (see e.g. paragraph 227). Furthermore, Neftel teaches a reservoir (103) which is flexible to at least a minimal extent, that the occlusion sensor includes a strain gauge (at least element 4, see paragraph 130), and that the sensor does not contact the medicament (see Fig. 1a, sensor shown on non-fluid contacting side of diaphragm at 13). Neftel does not teach a strain gauge bonded to an outer surface of the reservoir. Shih teaches another drug pump device (100) including a reservoir (104/106, 108) including a strain gauge bonded to an outer surface thereof (see paragraph 44, Figs. 5A and 5B). Shih teaches that this allows for reservoir volume determinations via detection of the strain (see paragraph 41 for general discussion). Furthermore, Shih teaches detection of malfunctions with the strain gauge or other system sensors (paragraph 50). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a reservoir with an embedded strain gauge as taught by Shih in order to allow for further detection of malfunctions. The examiner notes that, grammatically speaking, it is not clear whether the “occlusion sensor” or the “strain gauge” must perform the occlusion sensing, and herein interprets the claim to include either possibility. In the case that the occlusion sensor is only embodied by the strain gauge bonded to the reservoir, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious to perform occlusion detection via the strain gauge of Shih in the same manner that other malfunctions are detected. At the same time, the “including” language leaves open that there may be other sensors forming part of the “occlusion sensor”, and the strain gauge of Neftel would qualify as such and would be present in addition to the bonded sensor of Shih.
Regarding claims 5-6, Neftel teaches a strain gauge (which detects strain, not pressure or current draw).
Regarding claim 7, Neftel teaches determination of resistance and output thereof to control electronics (see e.g. paragraphs 335-343). To the extent necessary, the electronics and programming accomplishing this determination are considered herein to be a part of the occlusion sensor.
Regarding claim 8, resistance decay is an inherent part of operating such an infusion device.
Regarding claim 9, Neftel teaches that the occlusion is detected when the resistance does not decay according to a designated pattern (paragraph 354, e.g. decreasing resistance).
Regarding claim 10, Neftel teaches a strain gauge which will detect changes in at least some forces across the reservoir, such as pressure forces therein. Additionally, the strain gauge (310) of Shih will detect changes in forces across the reservoir.
Regarding claim 11, Neftel teaches that medicament exits the reservoir, upon which at least tension caused by the weight of the medicament will be reduced. Additionally, Shih teaches detection of tension by the reservoir strain gauge.
Regarding claim 12, Shih teaches that the tension is measured along at least some axis.
Regarding claim 13, Neftel teaches that the occlusion sensor (4, 13) is insensitive to forces along at least some lateral axes across the reservoir.
Regarding claim 14, Neftel teaches that either as a result of the occlusion or the operation of the pump, the occlusion prevents the medicament from exiting the reservoir (see e.g. paragraph 248).
Regarding claim 15, Neftel teaches that the occlusion sensor (4, 13) is at least indirectly bonded to an outer surface of the reservoir (see Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 16, Neftel teaches operation of a medicament delivery system (1) comprising a reservoir (103) carrying a medicament (paragraph 3), a pump (100) to draw the fluid out of the reservoir for delivery, and an occlusion sensor (4, 13) connected (at least indirectly) to the reservoir that senses whether an occlusion is present (see e.g. paragraph 227). Neftel teaches at least indirectly securing the occlusion sensor (4, 13) to an outer surface of the reservoir, operating the delivery system, measuring resistance (paragraphs 335-343) and providing such to control electronics, and determining the presence of occlusion (paragraph 248). Furthermore, Neftel teaches a reservoir (103) which is flexible to at least a minimal extent, that the occlusion sensor includes a strain gauge (at least element 4, see paragraph 130), and that the sensor does not contact the medicament (see Fig. 1a, sensor shown on non-fluid contacting side of diaphragm at 13). Neftel does not teach a strain gauge bonded to an outer surface of the reservoir. Shih teaches another drug pump device (100) including a reservoir (104/106, 108) including a strain gauge bonded to an outer surface thereof (see paragraph 44, Figs. 5A and 5B). Shih teaches that this allows for reservoir volume determinations via detection of the strain (see paragraph 41 for general discussion). Furthermore, Shih teaches detection of malfunctions with the strain gauge or other system sensors (paragraph 50). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a reservoir with an embedded strain gauge as taught by Shih in order to allow for further detection of malfunctions.
Regarding claim 17, Neftel teaches securing the occlusion sensor at least indirectly to all parts, including a mid-section, of the outer surface of the flexible reservoir. Shih teaches securing the occlusion sensor directly to a mid-section (see e.g. Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 18, measurement of axial tension and compression along at least some axis is inherent in the operation of a strain gauge (Neftel, paragraph 130). Additionally, such is taught by Shih (paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 19, Neftel teaches that the occlusion is detected when the resistance does not decay according to a designated pattern (paragraph 354, e.g. decreasing resistance).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 29 September 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 5-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shih, as discussed above.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 26 June 2026