DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0214634 to Neftel et al. (Neftel hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Neftel teaches a medicament delivery system (1) comprising a reservoir (103) carrying a medicament (paragraph 3), a pump (100) to draw the fluid out of the reservoir for delivery, and an occlusion sensor (4, 13) connected (at least indirectly) to the reservoir that senses whether an occlusion is present (see e.g. paragraph 227). Furthermore, Neftel teaches a reservoir (103) which is flexible to at least a minimal extent, that the occlusion sensor includes a strain gauge (at least element 4, see paragraph 130), and that the sensor does not contact the medicament (see Fig. 1a, sensor shown on non-fluid contacting side of diaphragm at 13).
Regarding claims 5-6, Neftel teaches a strain gauge (which detects strain, not pressure or current draw).
Regarding claim 7, Neftel teaches determination of resistance and output thereof to control electronics (see e.g. paragraphs 335-343). To the extent necessary, the electronics and programming accomplishing this determination are considered herein to be a part of the occlusion sensor.
Regarding claim 8, resistance decay is an inherent part of operating such an infusion device.
Regarding claim 9, Neftel teaches that the occlusion is detected when the resistance does not decay according to a designated pattern (paragraph 354, e.g. decreasing resistance).
Regarding claim 10, Neftel teaches a strain gauge which will detect changes in at least some forces across the reservoir, such as pressure forces therein.
Regarding claim 11, Neftel teaches that medicament exits the reservoir, upon which at least tension caused by the weight of the medicament will be reduced.
Regarding claim 12, Neftel teaches that the tension is measured along at least some axis.
Regarding claim 13, Neftel teaches that the occlusion sensor (4, 13) is insensitive to forces along at least some lateral axes across the reservoir.
Regarding claim 14, Neftel teaches that either as a result of the occlusion or the operation of the pump, the occlusion prevents the medicament from exiting the reservoir (see e.g. paragraph 248).
Regarding claim 15, Neftel teaches that the occlusion sensor (4, 13) is at least indirectly bonded to an outer surface of the reservoir (see Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 16, Neftel teaches operation of a medicament delivery system (1) comprising a reservoir (103) carrying a medicament (paragraph 3), a pump (100) to draw the fluid out of the reservoir for delivery, and an occlusion sensor (4, 13) connected (at least indirectly) to the reservoir that senses whether an occlusion is present (see e.g. paragraph 227). Neftel teaches at least indirectly securing the occlusion sensor (4, 13) to an outer surface of the reservoir, operating the delivery system, measuring resistance (paragraphs 335-343) and providing such to control electronics, and determining the presence of occlusion (paragraph 248). Furthermore, Neftel teaches a reservoir (103) which is flexible to at least a minimal extent, that the occlusion sensor includes a strain gauge (at least element 4, see paragraph 130), and that the sensor does not contact the medicament (see Fig. 1a, sensor shown on non-fluid contacting side of diaphragm at 13).
Regarding claim 17, Neftel teaches securing the occlusion sensor at least indirectly to all parts, including a mid-section, of the outer surface of the flexible reservoir.
Regarding claim 18, measurement of axial tension and compression along at least some axis is inherent in the operation of a strain gauge (paragraph 130).
Regarding claim 19, Neftel teaches that the occlusion is detected when the resistance does not decay according to a designated pattern (paragraph 354, e.g. decreasing resistance).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the argument that Neftel does not teach an occlusion sensor connected to the reservoir, the examiner is not persuaded. Regarding claim 1, the claim requires only an occlusion sensor “connected to the reservoir” which does not require direct physical contact. Instead, a broadest reasonable interpretation includes at least operational connection and indirect physical connection. Since indirect physical connection is present in Neftel, this is sufficient to establish anticipation. Regarding claim 16, the claim requires securing the sensor to an outer surface of the reservoir. Again, all elements of the assembly are considered to be assembled and secured together. This is sufficient to anticipate the claim.
With respect to the argument that the strain gauge contacts the medicament in Neftel, the examiner notes that the lead lines from the processor as illustrated in Fig. 1a are drawn to the lower side, opposite the pumping chamber. The examiner concludes that Neftel teaches strain gauges which do not contact the medicament. The examiner is referring to the actual Wheatstone bridge elements as the recited sensor, and not the diaphragm to which they are attached.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent 5,989,222 teaches another occlusion sensor for an infusion pump. US Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0208123 teaches a strain gauge (708) attached to the plunger of a reservoir (paragraph 197). US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0088092 teaches occlusion and non-occlusion by measuring a property related to a deformable reservoir (paragraph 25).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 26 June 2026