DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed January 14, 2026, claims 1-18 and 37-38 have been amended, claims 1-18 and 37-38 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Drawing objection applicant’s arguments, see page 10 Section IV, filed January 14, 2026, with respect to the drawing have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Regarding claim objections applicant’s arguments, see page 11 Section V, filed January 14, 2026, with respect to claims 1-18 and 37-38 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the claim objections has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 11 Section IV, filed January 14, 2026, with respect to claims 1-18 and 37-38 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 and 37-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Park et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0380128).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show: per claim 37, “ An infrastructure equipment … comprising processing circuitry, …” and per claim 38, “A communications device … comprising processing circuitry, transmitter circuitry and receiver circuitry, a transceiver equipment forming in combination with a distributed processing unit a wireless access point”. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, 14-18 and 37-38 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/097936), and further in view of Park et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0380128).
As per claim 1, Yang disclose A method of operating an infrastructure equipment forming a wireless access point of a wireless communications network (see Fig.4, a scheduled entity 106 (e.g., UE), see para. 0065), the method comprising
performing a plurality of processes which form baseband function of a protocol stack for providing, in combination with a radio equipment, a wireless access interface of the wireless communications network for transmitting data to or receiving data from one or more communications devices, the plurality of processes providing at least a part of a physical, PHY, layer, a medium access control, MAC, layer, a radio link control, RLC layer, and a scheduler and radio resource management for the wireless access interface (see para. 0065, " ...this protocol stack 400 may be used in a 5G New Radio (NR) network between a scheduling entity 108 (e.g., gNB) and a scheduled entity 106 (e.g., UE)...The protocol stack 400 includes a PHY layer 402 that implements various physical layer communication functions. Other protocol layers are a media access control (MAC) layer 404, a radio link control (RLC) layer 406...ln one example, an IP flow may be IP traffic from one endpoint to another endpoint...Each protocol layer at the scheduling entity 108 communicates with a corresponding peer protocol layer at the scheduled entity 106..."),
transmitting packet data according to one or more of the plurality of processes via an interface between the infrastructure equipment and the radio equipment (see para. 0065, each protocol layer at the scheduling entity 108 communicates with a corresponding peer protocol layer at the scheduled entity 106, see also Fig.5, para. 0066-0067, the UE 502 receives services through the PDU session, which is a logical connection between the UE and network. For each UE (e.g., scheduled entity 106), the network establishes one or more data radio bearers (DRBs) 508 between the UE 502 and the gNB 504 per PDU session, and maps data packets to different DRBs. IP flows of the upper layer are mapped to quality of service (QoS) flows 510, then the QoS flows are mapped to the DRBs 508), and
receiving packet data from the radio equipment via the interface according to the one of more of the plurality of processes, wherein the transmitting the packet data includes encrypting at least part of the packet data before transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment, and the receiving the packet data includes decrypting at least part of the packet data which has been encrypted for transmission via the interface (see para. 0070, " ...one or more of the data fields of the MAC PDU 600 may be ciphered at the transmitting device and deciphered at the receiving device...") and encrypting securing a baseband functions of a first operator from a second operator (see para. 0070, " ...one or more of the data fields of the MAC PDU 600 is ciphered {encrypting securing} at a transmitting device { a first operator } and deciphered at a receiving device {a second operator}...").
Yang however does not explicitly disclose the infrastructure equipment being shared by a first operator and a second operator.
Park however disclose an infrastructure equipment being shared by a first operator and a second operator (see Fig.11A, Fig.11B. para. 0149-0153, the multiple base stations may comprise a master node, MN 1130 (e.g. a master node, a master base station, a master gNB, a master eNB, and/or the like) and a secondary node, SN 1150 (e.g. a secondary node, a secondary base station, a secondary gNB, a secondary eNB, and/or the like). A master node 1130 and a secondary node 1150 may co-work to communicate with a wireless device 110), see also Fig.21, para. 0245-025, as shown in FIG. 21, a base station is shared by multiple network operators (e.g. multiple PLMNs). When a base station is shared by multiple operators, protocol layers of the base station (e.g. Physical, MAC, RLC, PDCP, RRC, SDAP) are shared by multiple operators sharing the base station. In example FIG. 21, a gNB is shared by PLMN1 and PLMN2. The gNB communicates with AMF in 5G core network of PLMN1 and AMF in 5G core of PLMN2. The gNB uses the radio protocols layers for transmission of packets and control signaling of both PLMN1 and PLMN2), and encrypting securing a baseband functions of the first operator from the second operator (see para. 0330-0336, the selected gNB-CU and the gNB-DU is configure/apply one or more parameters associated with the wireless device and to serve the wireless device, e.g. based on the first message and/or the response message. The one or more parameters comprise at least one of configuration parameters for an F1 bearer/logical channel, radio resource parameters (e.g. for SDAP, RRC, RLC, MAC, PHY, and/or the like), security parameter / encrypting securing a baseband functions, see also para. 0070, RAN, security functions including key management / encrypting securing a baseband functions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of an infrastructure equipment being shared by a first operator and a second operator, as taught by Park, in the system of Yang, so that a base station share by multiple network operators (e.g. multiple PLMNs), see Park, paragraphs 21-22.
As per claim 2, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Park further disclose wherein a wireless communications network is a first wireless communications network, and the infrastructure equipment is shared between the first wireless communications network and a second wireless communications network (see para. 0245-0250, when a base station is shared by multiple operators, protocol layers of the base station (e.g. Physical, MAC, RLC, PDCP, RRC, SDAP) are shared by multiple operators sharing the base station. In example FIG. 21, a gNB is shared by PLMN1 and PLMN2. The gNB communicates with AMF in 5G core network of PLMN1 and AMF in 5G core of PLMN2. The gNB uses the radio protocols layers for transmission of packets and control signaling of both PLMN1 and PLMN2).
As per claim 3, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Park further disclose wherein a first wireless communications network is operated by a first operator and the second wireless communications network is operated by a second operator which controls the infrastructure equipment and hosts the plurality of processes which form the baseband functions for providing, in combination with the radio equipment, the wireless access interface of a cell of the first communications network (see para. 0245-0250, when a base station (e.g. gNB, eNB, BS) is utilized by multiple network operators (e.g. multiple PLMNs), radio resource control parameters of serving cells and wireless devices (e.g. UEs) is commonly configured for the multiple operators).
As per claim 4, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Park further disclose wherein a plurality of processes which form the baseband function is a first plurality of processes which form a first baseband function for the cell of the first communications network, and the method comprises performing, by the infrastructure equipment, a second plurality of processes which form a second baseband function, which in combination with second radio equipment provide a second wireless access interface for a second cell of the second communications network (see para. 0245-0250, a radio access network may be shared (e.g. utilized, used) by multiple operators (e.g. multiple PLMNs, multiple service operators, and/or the like). In an example, when a functional split of a gNB (e.g. base station, eNB, RNC, and/or the like) onto multiple units (e.g. at least one base station central unit (e.g. gNB-CU) and/or at least one base station distributed unit (e.g. gNB-DU)) is configured, one of split units (e.g. at least one of gNB-CUs and/or gNB-DUs) may be shared by multiple operators).
As per claim 5, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 4.
Yang further disclose wherein the first of the plurality of processes are encrypted to perform the first baseband function secure from the second operator (see para. 0070, " ...one or more of the data fields of the MAC PDU 600 may be ciphered at the transmitting device and deciphered at the receiving device...").
As per claim 6, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the plurality of processes are configured to transmit PDCP packet data units, PDUs, and SDAP, service data units to the communications device, and the encrypting at least part of the packet data before transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment comprises ciphering at least one of a PDCP control PDU and an SDAP control PDU (see para. 0065, 0070-0072, 0084-0090, At block 1004, the transmitting device may utilize the PDCP entity to cipher only a portion of the PDCP payload. That is, the PDCP payload is partially ciphered. In one example, the PDCP entity may cipher only the SDAP payload but not the SDAP header. In one aspect of the disclosure, the transmitting device may form a MAC PDU by adding an RLC header and a MAC header to encapsulate the PDCP PDU. Then the transmitting device may use the DL communication circuit 744 or UL communication circuit 844 to transmit the MAC PDU to a receiving device).
As per claim 7, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the plurality of processes are configured to receive PDCP packet data units, PDUs, and SDAP, service data units from the communications device, and the decrypting at least part of the packet data received from the communications device via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment comprises deciphering at least one of a PDCP control PDU and an SDAP control PDU (see para. 0069-0072, 0084-0090, FIG. 2A is an example user plane protocol stack, where Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) (e.g. 211 and 221), Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) (e.g. 212 and 222), see para. 0065, a gNB or an ng-eNB may host functions such as: radio resource management and scheduling, IP header compression, encryption and integrity protection of data).
As per claim 8, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the encrypting at least part of the packet data before transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment comprises ciphering at least one of a header of MAC packet data units, PDUs, and MAC control PDUs (see para. 0065, 0070-0072, 0084-0090, At block 1004, the transmitting device may utilize the PDCP entity to cipher only a portion of the PDCP payload. That is, the PDCP payload is partially ciphered. In one example, the PDCP entity may cipher only the SDAP payload but not the SDAP header. In one aspect of the disclosure, the transmitting device may form a MAC PDU by adding an RLC header and a MAC header to encapsulate the PDCP PDU. Then the transmitting device may use the DL communication circuit 744 or UL communication circuit 844 to transmit the MAC PDU to a receiving device).
As per claim 9, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the decrypting the at least part of the packet data which has been encrypted for transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment comprises deciphering at least one of a header of MAC packet data units, PDUs, and MAC control PDUs of the received PDUs (see para. 0065, 0070-0072, 0084-0090, At block 1004, the transmitting device may utilize the PDCP entity to cipher only a portion of the PDCP payload. That is, the PDCP payload is partially ciphered. In one example, the PDCP entity may cipher only the SDAP payload but not the SDAP header. In one aspect of the disclosure, the transmitting device may form a MAC PDU by adding an RLC header and a MAC header to encapsulate the PDCP PDU. Then the transmitting device may use the DL communication circuit 744 or UL communication circuit 844 to transmit the MAC PDU to a receiving device).
As per claim 11, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the encrypting at least part of the packet data before transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment comprises ciphering at least one of a header of RLC packet data units, PDUs, and RLC control PDUs (see para. 0071, 0090-0097, at block 1202, the receiving device may receive a MAC PDU including a PDCP PDU that includes a PDCP header and a partially ciphered PDCP payload. In one example, the receiving device (e.g., a scheduling entity 700) may utilize an UL communication circuit 742 to implement a MAC entity that receives the MAC PDU. In another example, the receiving device (e.g., a scheduled entity 800) may utilize a DL communication circuit 842 to implement a MAC entity that receives the MAC PDU).
As per claim 12, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the decrypting the at least part of the packet data which has been encrypted for transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment comprises deciphering at least one of a header of RLC packet data units, PDUs, and RLC control PDUs of the received PDUs (see para. 0071, 0090-0097, At block 1204, the receiving device may extract an SDAP PDU corresponding to one or more QoS flows from the partially ciphered PDCP payload (e.g., PDCP payload 618 of FIG. 6). A partially ciphered PDCP payload includes at least one data field that is not ciphered. For example, the partially ciphered PDCP payload includes the SDAP PDU that includes an un ciphered SDAP header and a ciphered SDAP payload. For example, the receiving device may utilize the processing circuit 740/840 to implement various protocol entities to decode, extract, and/or decipher the MAC header, RLC header, PDCP header, SDAP header, and SDAP payload of the MAC PDU).
As per claim 14, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the encrypting the at least part of the packet data before transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment comprises ciphering control or signalling information which is to be transmitted via the wireless access interface to the communications device (see para. 0090-0097, At block 1204, the receiving device may extract an SDAP PDU corresponding to one or more QoS flows from the partially ciphered PDCP payload (e.g., PDCP payload 618 of FIG. 6). A partially ciphered PDCP payload includes at least one data field that is not ciphered. For example, the partially ciphered PDCP payload includes the SDAP PDU that includes an un ciphered SDAP header and a ciphered SDAP payload. For example, the receiving device may utilize the processing circuit 740/840 to implement various protocol entities to decode, extract, and/or decipher the MAC header, RLC header, PDCP header, SDAP header, and SDAP payload of the MAC PDU).
As per claim 15, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 14.
Yang further disclose wherein the control or signalling information comprises at least one of downlink control information messages, DCI, demodulation reference symbols, DMRS, or synchronisation reference symbols, SRS (see para. 0105, 0106, 0111, a new radio network may support aperiodic, periodic and/or semi-persistent SRS transmissions. A UE may transmit SRS resources based on one or more trigger types, wherein the one or more trigger types may comprise higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) and/or one or more DCI formats (e.g., at least one DCI format may be employed for a UE to select at least one of one or more configured SRS resource sets. An SRS trigger type 0 may refer to an SRS triggered based on a higher layer signaling. An SRS trigger type 1 may refer to an SRS triggered based on one or more DCI formats).
As per claim 16, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 1.
Yang further disclose wherein the decrypting the at least part of the packet data received from the communications device from the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment comprises deciphering control or signalling information transmitted via the wireless access interface from the communications device (see para. 0065, 0070-0072, 0084-0090, At block 1004, the transmitting device may utilize the PDCP entity to cipher only a portion of the PDCP payload. That is, the PDCP payload is partially ciphered. In one example, the PDCP entity may cipher only the SDAP payload but not the SDAP header. In one aspect of the disclosure, the transmitting device may form a MAC PDU by adding an RLC header and a MAC header to encapsulate the PDCP PDU. Then the transmitting device may use the DL communication circuit 744 or UL communication circuit 844 to transmit the MAC PDU to a receiving device).
As per claim 17, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 16.
Yang further disclose wherein the control or signalling information comprises uplink control information received from a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH (see para. 0055, the transmitting device (e.g., the scheduled entity 106) may utilize one or more REs to carry UL control information 118 including one or more UL control channels, such as a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), to the scheduling entity 108).
As per claim 18, the combination of Yang and Park disclose the method according claim 16.
Yang further disclose wherein the transmitting the packet data according to the one or more of the plurality of processes via the interface comprises transmitting the packet data via one or both of a PHY layer interface and a transport layer interface between the infrastructure equipment and the radio equipment, and the receiving the packet data from the radio equipment comprises receiving the packet data via one or both of the PHY layer interface and the transport layer interface according to the one of more of the plurality of processes (see para. 0065, 0070-0072, 0084-0090, this protocol stack 400 may be used in a 5G New Radio (NR) network between a scheduling entity 108 (e.g., gNB) and a scheduled entity 106 (e.g., UE). In some examples, the protocol stack 400 may be used between other devices. The protocol stack 400 includes a PHY layer 402 that implements various physical layer communication functions).
As per claim 37, claim 37 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Yang also disclose An infrastructure equipment (see Fig.4, Fig.7, a scheduling entity 700, the scheduling entity 700 may be a user equipment (UE) as illustrated in any one or more of FIGS. 1, 2, and/or 4, or the scheduling entity 700 may be a base station as illustrated in any one or more of FIGS. 1, 2, and/or 4, see para. 0072) for forming a wireless access point of a wireless communications network, the infrastructure equipment comprising processing circuitry (see Fig.7, a processing system 714 that includes one or more processors 704. Examples of processors 704, see para. 0073) for executing program code (see para. 0077, One or more processors 704 in the processing system may execute software. Software shall be construed broadly to mean instructions, instruction sets, code, code segments, program code, programs, subprograms, software modules, applications, software applications, software packages, routines, subroutines, objects, executables, threads of execution, procedures, functions, etc., whether referred to as software, firmware, middleware, microcode, hardware description language, or otherwise).
As per claim 38, claim 38 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Yang also disclose A communications device (see Fig.4, Fig.7, a scheduling entity 700, the scheduling entity 700 may be a user equipment (UE) as illustrated in any one or more of FIGS. 1, 2, and/or 4, or the scheduling entity 700 may be a base station as illustrated in any one or more of FIGS. 1, 2, and/or 4, see para. 0072) for transmitting data to and receiving data from a wireless communications network, the communications device comprising processing circuitry (see Fig.7, a processing system 714 that includes one or more processors 704. Examples of processors 704, see para. 0073) for executing program code which when executed forms a plurality of processes (see para. 0077, One or more processors 704 in the processing system may execute software. Software shall be construed broadly to mean instructions, instruction sets, code, code segments, program code, programs, subprograms, software modules, applications, software applications, software packages, routines, subroutines, objects, executables, threads of execution, procedures, functions, etc., whether referred to as software, firmware, middleware, microcode, hardware description language, or otherwise), transmitter circuitry (see Fig.7, transceiver 710, see para. 0074) and receiver circuitry (see Fig.7, transceiver 710, see para. 0074).
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection
Claims 1, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0380128), and further in view of 3GPP (3GPP TS 38.300 V16.4.0 (2020-12); NR and NG-RAN Overall Description; Stage (Release 16)).
As per claim 1, Park disclose A method of operating an infrastructure equipment forming a wireless access point of a wireless communications network, the method comprising performing a plurality of processes which form baseband function of a protocol stack for providing, in combination with a radio equipment, a wireless access interface of the wireless communications network for transmitting data to or receiving data from one or more communications devices, the plurality of processes providing at least a part of a physical, PHY, layer, a medium access control, MAC, layer, a radio link control, RLC layer, and a scheduler and radio resource management for the wireless access interface, transmitting packet data according to one or more of the plurality of processes via an interface between the infrastructure equipment and the radio equipment, and receiving packet data from the radio equipment via the interface according to the one of more of the plurality of processes (see Fig. 2A, para. 0069), and an infrastructure equipment being shared by a first operator and a second operator (see Fig.21, para. 0245-025, as shown in FIG. 21, a base station is shared by multiple network operators (e.g. multiple PLMNs). When a base station is shared by multiple operators, protocol layers of the base station (e.g. Physical, MAC, RLC, PDCP, RRC, SDAP) are shared by multiple operators sharing the base station. In example FIG. 21, a gNB is shared by PLMN1 and PLMN2. The gNB communicates with AMF in 5G core network of PLMN1 and AMF in 5G core of PLMN2. The gNB uses the radio protocols layers for transmission of packets and control signaling of both PLMN1 and PLMN2), and encrypting securing a baseband functions of the first operator from the second operator (see para. 0330-0336, the selected gNB-CU and the gNB-DU is configure/apply one or more parameters associated with the wireless device and to serve the wireless device, e.g. based on the first message and/or the response message. The one or more parameters comprise at least one of configuration parameters for an F1 bearer/logical channel, radio resource parameters (e.g. for SDAP, RRC, RLC, MAC, PHY, and/or the like), security parameter / encrypting securing a baseband functions, see also para. 0070, RAN, security functions including key management / encrypting securing a baseband functions).
Park however does not explicitly wherein the transmitting the packet data includes encrypting at least part of the packet data before transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment, and the receiving the packet data includes decrypting at least part of the packet data which has been encrypted for transmission via the interface.
3GPP however disclose wherein transmitting a packet data includes encrypting at least part of the packet data before transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment, and the receiving the packet data includes decrypting at least part of the packet data which has been encrypted for transmission via the interface and encrypting securing a baseband functions of a first operator from a second operator (see Section 13, the chosen algorithms are indicated to
the UE in the AS SMC and this message is integrity protected. RRC downlink ciphering (encryption)
at the gNB starts after sending the AS SMC message. RRC uplink deciphering (decryption) at the gNB
starts after receiving and successful verification of the integrity protected AS security mode
complete message from the UE. The UE verifies the validity of the AS SMC message from the gNB by
verifying the integrity of the received message. RRC uplink ciphering (encryption) at the UE starts
after sending the AS security mode complete message. RRC downlink deciphering (decryption) at the
UE shall start after receiving and successful verification of the AS SY.IC message. The RRC
Connection Reconfiguration procedure used to add DRBs shall be performed only after RRC security
has been activated as part of the AS SY.IC procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein transmitting a packet data includes encrypting at least part of the packet data before transmission via the interface between the radio equipment and the infrastructure equipment, and the receiving the packet data includes decrypting at least part of the packet data which has been encrypted for transmission via the interface, as taught by 3GPP, in the system of Park, so as to enable ciphering, see 3GPP, paragraphs 21-22.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saltsidis et al (US Pub. No.:2021/0167987) – see para. 0078, “When the access gateway 450 has packets of a data flow to be transmitted to a premise equipment. The access gateway 450 provides sequencing information of the packets in the packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer 402. The PDCP layer provides unique packet sequence numbers to the packets of the data flow and generate packet data units (PDUs) for the packets. The PDCP protocol may cause the PDUs generated at the PDCP layer 402 further process at the radio link control (RLC) layer 404. At the RLC layer 404, the PDUs may be segmented or concatenated to be prepared for transmission. Then the PDUs are scheduled to be transmitted at different interfaces at media access control (MAC) layer 406. At the MAC layer 406, the packets are distributed between the fixed-line interface 412 and radio interface 414 based on the received CSI from the physical layer”.
Bull et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0013680) – see para. 0029, “In general, PDCP layer functionality can operate on E-UTRAN Radio Access Bearers (ERABs) PDCP Service Data Units (SDUs) and can generate PDCP PDUs to output to RLC layer functionality. In one embodiment, PDCP functionality can operate to apply an air crypto (e.g., encryption) and/or other addressing/control information to ERAB packets based on control signaling received from RRC layer functionality. RLC layer functionality can operate on PDCP PDUs as RLC SDUs and can generate RLC PDUs to output to MAC/MAC scheduler (e.g., legacy packet scheduler 20) layer functionality. In one embodiment, RLC layer functionality can operate to concatenate and segment higher layer PDCP PDUs into pre-derived packetized data blocks that can be passed to MAC/MAC scheduler layer functionality based on control signaling received from RRC functionality. MAC/MAC scheduler layer functionality can operate on the RLC PDUs as MAC SDUs and can generate MAC PDUs to send to PHY layer functionality containing data and/or control information or, more generally, physical resource blocks allocated to UE (e.g., RBs allocated to UE 12a-12b) across time and frequency domains. The data and control (data/control) information can be transmitted through OTA transmissions using the PDCCH, PUCCH, Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) and/or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) between UE 12a-12b and RF termination point 24 according to a transmission schedule determined by the MAC/MAC scheduler layer maintained via RB allocation table 22”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469