DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to communication submitted on 07/18/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3. Claims 9-22 are presented for examination.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations regarding “a first and a second time periods t_drive, and a changeover being made between the first and second sub-sequences after the respective time periods have elapsed”, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
It seems there is a Figure 3 that is missing in the presented drawings.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “a first and a second time periods t_drive, and a changeover being made between the first and second sub-sequences after the respective time periods have elapsed” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, and as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Claims 9-15 recites “changeover being made between the first and second sub-sequences after the respective time periods have elapsed, switchover points between the first and second sub- sequences thereby being determined…”, it is unclear and vague how the claimed changeover and switchover points are correlated and the objective of determining said switchover points towards determining any of the previous or next steps limitations.
For purposes of office action, the changeover points will not be considered as being determined but at the same as when the time when a brake profiles changes to another profile or sequence.
Claim 16 recites the method steps of “b) changing over to a second sub-sequence after the first time period t_brake has elapsed, c) continuing the braking process in the second sub-sequence for a second time period t_drive, wherein the machine current values I_drive are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system during the second sub-sequence, and d) changing over to the first sub-sequence after the first time period drive has elapsed.”; however, it is unclear and lack of sense how method step d) disclosing changing over to the first sub-sequence after the first time period drive has elapsed, when a past time cannot be used again in a following step. In other words, it is unclear and vague how step d) changes over from back to the first sub-sequence when step b) already changes over to a second sub-sequence after the first time period t_brake has elapsed and the time continues as the braking process continues for a second time period t_drive. In other words
Claim 9 recites “wherein machine current values I_brake and I_drive are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system” and “a changeover being made between the first and second sub-sequences after the respective time periods have elapsed, switchover points between the first and second sub- sequences thereby being determined” however, the claims merely recite a method action without any positive function toward the claim invention. There is not rationale reason that positively connects or correlate the claimed changeover made between the first and second sub-sequences after the respective time periods have elapsed and the determined switchover points between the first and second sub-sequences to the method limitation of determining current values I_brake and I_drive are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system, or with any other step or method limitation in the claims. There is not a clear connection of these claims’ method features leaving a person skilled in the art unclear of how to identify the specific method steps and connection between each limitation.
For purpose of office action, the claimed currents will be treated as any current determination as a function of voltage and where said current has not patentable correlation to the previous or following method limitations or steps, the steps will be interpreted as having multiple sequences (braking sequences/profiles) that will changes from one to another after a period of time, where those periods of times are the claimed changeover.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanko et al. (US 20170234484 A1) in view of GRUBER et al. (DE 102012110271 A1).
In regards to claim 9, Vanko shows (Figs. 1, 8-10 and 15-20) and discloses a method for braking a rotating tool of an electric machine tool (see power tool 10 and spindle 24, Fig. 1), the electric machine tool having a machine electronics system (Figs. 8-9) and a motor (28), the method comprising:
performing a first sub-sequence and a second sub-sequence, the first sub-sequence being assigned a first time period t_brake and the second sub-sequence being assigned a second time period t_drive (see Figs. 16-20 and pars. 25, 66-74, i.e. see multiple sequence of braking profiles going from “soft braking to hard braking and vice-versa” within a first time period to second time period), a change over being made between the first and second sub-sequences after the respective time periods have elapsed (see Fig. 18 and pars. 77-79, see change in sequence and time period from hard braking profile to soft braking profile), switchover points between the first and second sub- sequences thereby being determined (see par. 25 and Figs. 15-18 the control unit is configured to detect the condition that prompts the braking of the electric motor, set a braking profile for braking the electric motor based on the detected condition, and execute braking of the electric motor using the braking profile, the hard braking profile switches over to a soft braking profile from the first time period to a second time period or vice-versa depending on the detected condition, see pars. 73-78), wherein machine current values I_brake and I_drive are determined as a function of a voltage (Implicit as current are sensed by control unit 58 and are function of voltage) in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system (see pars. 35, 58, 64 Fig. 18, wherein control unit 208 detects a large spike in motor current (i.e., current of more than a predetermined value), or based on a rate of change of speed, voltage, or current. See Par. 35: the control unit is configured to monitor voltage across a bus line between the power supply and the plurality of power switches, and execute weak motoring of the electric motor if the voltage across the bus line exceeds an upper voltage threshold until the voltage across the bus line is at a nominal value).
Vanko although implicitly discloses wherein machine current values I_brake and I_drive are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system (see pars. 35, 58, 64 and Fig. 18, i.e. current are sensed by control unit 58 and are function of voltage… during the braking process control unit 208 detects a large spike in motor current (i.e., current of more than a predetermined value)); Vanko does not explicitly disclose (emphasis added) wherein machine current values I_brake and I_drive are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system.
However, GRUBER further discloses a control device (100) for use in control system for braking brushless electromotor a device comprising inverter (123) wherein the machine current values are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system. (see Description; i.e. wherein the threshold value exceedance of the brake current. Braking currents IA-IC are occurred during the predetermined equilibrium time, the check is made as to whether the measured braking current Ix exceeds the maximum limit I .sub.limit = ½I .sub.max . This is the condition Ix> ½ I .sub.max (2) checked. As long as the condition is not met and the braking current is below the limit current, … After the expiry of the compensation time, the low-side switching element SL1, SL2, SL3 is put back into a conductive state. To make the switching element conductive, the high-side switching device can send a connection signal to the corresponding switching element. In this way, increasing the phase voltage by means of the motor inductance takes place at the voltage level of the intermediate circuit…. the value for the maximum allowable braking current or the limit it stores from another device, for example from a global controller. Receiving may take place during operation, so that the limit value can be variably adapted to the currently prevailing situation. The limit value can also be set permanently… The limit value for the braking current is at least one value which is selected from a group of values. The group of values consists of half the value of the maximum allowable current resulting from the lowest maximum allowable current load value of the components involved and/or resulting from the maximum load value for a transmission connected to the electric motor, from the value of the maximum allowable Current, which results from the lowest maximum allowable current load value of the components involved and/or resulting from the maximum current load value for a connected to the electric motor gear and a load value between the half maximum and the maximum allowable load dynamically adjustable value… In a further advantageous mode of operation in pure braking higher values can also be selected. However, in a preferred mode of operation, the method may switch upon reaching a certain current level, resulting in a mean current which is the smaller the larger the predetermined ripple current. The current ripple occurs between at least two motor phases).
Thus, given the teaching of GRUBER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of Vanko by deriving braking current as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system.
In regards to claim 10, GRUBER further shows (Figs. 1-2) and discloses wherein a rotating tool of the electric machine tool is braked by regulating or limiting the machine current values I_brake and I drive (see Description; i.e. wherein the threshold value exceedance of the brake current. Braking currents IA-IC are occurred during the predetermined equilibrium time, the check is made as to whether the measured braking current Ix exceeds the maximum limit I .sub.limit = ½I .sub.max . This is the condition Ix> ½ I .sub.max (2) checked. As long as the condition is not met and the braking current is below the limit current, … After the expiry of the compensation time, the low-side switching element SL1, SL2, SL3 is put back into a conductive state. To make the switching element conductive, the high-side switching device can send a connection signal to the corresponding switching element. In this way, increasing the phase voltage by means of the motor inductance takes place at the voltage level of the intermediate circuit…. the value for the maximum allowable braking current or the limit it stores from another device, for example from a global controller. Receiving may take place during operation, so that the limit value can be variably adapted to the currently prevailing situation. The limit value can also be set permanently… The limit value for the braking current is at least one value which is selected from a group of values. The group of values consists of half the value of the maximum allowable current resulting from the lowest maximum allowable current load value of the components involved and/or resulting from the maximum load value for a transmission connected to the electric motor, from the value of the maximum allowable Current, which results from the lowest maximum allowable current load value of the components involved and/or resulting from the maximum current load value for a connected to the electric motor gear and a load value between the half maximum and the maximum allowable load dynamically adjustable value… In a further advantageous mode of operation in pure braking higher values can also be selected. However, in a preferred mode of operation, the method may switch upon reaching a certain current level, resulting in a mean current which is the smaller the larger the predetermined ripple current. The current ripple occurs between at least two motor phases).
In regards to claim 11, Vanko shows (Figs. 1, 8-10 and 15-20) and discloses electric machine tool (see power tool 10 and spindle 24, Fig. 1) for carrying out the braking method as recited in claim 1.
In regards to claim 12, GRUBER further shows and discloses shows and discloses comprising the machine electronics (i.e. Fig. 1) system with the intermediate circuit (i.e. DC link 114), wherein the machine electronics system is configured to detect current values (i.e. by means of 107) as a function of a voltage in the intermediate circuit, wherein the machine electronics system is furthermore configured to change over between the first sub- sequence and the second sub-sequence of the braking method of the electric machine tool after the respective first and second time periods have elapsed (see Description, i.e. the equalization time or the interval during which a phase connection is connected to the intermediate circuit. L .sub.terminal stands for the motor inductance between two phase connections and U .sub.intermediate circuit denotes the intermediate circuit voltage, i.e. the voltage between an intermediate circuit and the ground connection. The intermediate circuit can be the voltage or Have voltage source that is responsible for driving the electric motor. ΔI .sub.pp denotes the peak-to-peak value of the maximum permitted current ripple in the motor… whereby the equalization time is made up the product of the maximum permissible current ripple for the electric motor and the motor inductance between two phase connections of the electric motor divided by half the intermediate circuit voltage).
In regards to claim 13, Vanko shows and discloses wherein the electric machine tool is an electric grinder (see Fig. 1, pars. 70, 72).
In regards to claim 14, Vanko shows (Fig. 8-9) and discloses further comprising a switch arrangement (i.e. 204) for controlling the power of the motor (28).
In regards to claim 15, Vanko shows (Fig. 8-10) and discloses wherein the switch arrangement comprises a motor inverter (power unit 206 may include a power switch circuit 226).
In regards to claim 16, Vanko shows (Figs. 1, 8-10 and 15-20) and discloses a method for braking a rotating tool of an electric machine tool (see power tool 10 and spindle 24, Fig. 1), the electric machine tool having a machine electronics system (Figs. 8-9) and a motor (28), the method comprising:
a) starting a braking process for the rotating tool of the electric machine tool (10) in a first sub-sequence of the braking process, wherein the first sub-sequence is assigned a first time period t_brake (see Figs. 16-20 and pars. 25, 66-74, i.e. see multiple sequence of braking profiles “soft braking to hard braking” within a first time period to second time period), wherein machine current values I-_brake are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system (Implicit as current are sensed by control unit 58 and are function of voltage) during the braking process (see pars. 35, 58, 64 Fig. 18, wherein control unit 208 detects a large spike in motor current (i.e., current of more than a predetermined value), or based on a rate of change of speed, voltage, or current. See Par. 35: the control unit is configured to monitor voltage across a bus line between the power supply and the plurality of power switches, and execute weak motoring of the electric motor if the voltage across the bus line exceeds an upper voltage threshold until the voltage across the bus line is at a nominal value).
b) changing over to a second sub-sequence after the first time period t_brake has elapsed (see Fig. 18 and pars. 77-79, see change in sequence and time period from hard braking profile to soft braking profile),
c) continuing the braking process in the second sub-sequence for a second time period t_drive (i.e. time period during soft braking profile), wherein the machine current values I_drive are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system (Implicit as current are sensed by control unit 58 and are function of voltage) during the second sub-sequence, and
d) changing over to the first sub-sequence after the first time period drive has elapsed (see par. 25 and Figs. 15-18 the control unit is configured to detect the condition that prompts the braking of the electric motor, set a braking profile for braking the electric motor based on the detected condition, and execute braking of the electric motor using the braking profile, the hard braking profile switches over to a soft braking profile from the first time period to a second time period or vice-versa depending on the detected condition, see pars. 73-78).
Vanko although implicitly discloses wherein machine current values I_brake and I_drive are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system (see pars. 35, 58, 64 and Fig. 18, i.e. current are sensed by control unit 58 and are function of voltage.. during the braking process control unit 208 detects a large spike in motor current (i.e., current of more than a predetermined value)); Vanko does not explicitly disclose (emphasis added) wherein machine current values I_brake and I_drive are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system.
However, GRUBER further discloses a control device (100) for use in control system for braking brushless electromotor a device comprising inverter (123) wherein the machine current values are determined as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system. (see Description; i.e. wherein the threshold value exceedance of the brake current. Braking currents IA-IC are occurred during the predetermined equilibrium time, the check is made as to whether the measured braking current Ix exceeds the maximum limit I .sub.limit = ½I .sub.max . This is the condition Ix> ½ I .sub.max (2) checked. As long as the condition is not met and the braking current is below the limit current, … After the expiry of the compensation time, the low-side switching element SL1, SL2, SL3 is put back into a conductive state. To make the switching element conductive, the high-side switching device can send a connection signal to the corresponding switching element. In this way, increasing the phase voltage by means of the motor inductance takes place at the voltage level of the intermediate circuit…. the value for the maximum allowable braking current or the limit it stores from another device, for example from a global controller. Receiving may take place during operation, so that the limit value can be variably adapted to the currently prevailing situation. The limit value can also be set permanently… The limit value for the braking current is at least one value which is selected from a group of values. The group of values consists of half the value of the maximum allowable current resulting from the lowest maximum allowable current load value of the components involved and/or resulting from the maximum load value for a transmission connected to the electric motor, from the value of the maximum allowable Current, which results from the lowest maximum allowable current load value of the components involved and/or resulting from the maximum current load value for a connected to the electric motor gear and a load value between the half maximum and the maximum allowable load dynamically adjustable value… In a further advantageous mode of operation in pure braking higher values can also be selected. However, in a preferred mode of operation, the method may switch upon reaching a certain current level, resulting in a mean current which is the smaller the larger the predetermined ripple current. The current ripple occurs between at least two motor phases).
Thus, given the teaching of GRUBER it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system of Vanko by deriving braking current as a function of a voltage in an intermediate circuit of the machine electronics system.
In regards to claim 17, GRUBER further shows (Figs. 1-2) and discloses 16 wherein a rotating tool of the electric machine tool is braked by regulating or limiting the machine current values I_brake and I_drive (see Description; i.e. wherein the threshold value exceedance of the brake current. Braking currents IA-IC are occurred during the predetermined equilibrium time, the check is made as to whether the measured braking current Ix exceeds the maximum limit I .sub.limit = ½I .sub.max . This is the condition Ix> ½ I .sub.max (2) checked. As long as the condition is not met and the braking current is below the limit current, … After the expiry of the compensation time, the low-side switching element SL1, SL2, SL3 is put back into a conductive state. To make the switching element conductive, the high-side switching device can send a connection signal to the corresponding switching element. In this way, increasing the phase voltage by means of the motor inductance takes place at the voltage level of the intermediate circuit…. the value for the maximum allowable braking current or the limit it stores from another device, for example from a global controller. Receiving may take place during operation, so that the limit value can be variably adapted to the currently prevailing situation. The limit value can also be set permanently… The limit value for the braking current is at least one value which is selected from a group of values. The group of values consists of half the value of the maximum allowable current resulting from the lowest maximum allowable current load value of the components involved and/or resulting from the maximum load value for a transmission connected to the electric motor, from the value of the maximum allowable Current, which results from the lowest maximum allowable current load value of the components involved and/or resulting from the maximum current load value for a connected to the electric motor gear and a load value between the half maximum and the maximum allowable load dynamically adjustable value… In a further advantageous mode of operation in pure braking higher values can also be selected. However, in a preferred mode of operation, the method may switch upon reaching a certain current level, resulting in a mean current which is the smaller the larger the predetermined ripple current. The current ripple occurs between at least two motor phases)..
In regards to claim 18, Vanko shows (Figs. 1, 8-10 and 15-20) and discloses an electric machine tool (see power tool 10 and spindle 24, Fig. 1) for carrying out the braking method as recited in claim 16.
In regards to claim 19, GRUBER further discloses comprising the machine electronics system with the intermediate circuit, wherein the machine electronics (i.e. Fig. 1) system is configured to detect current values (i.e. by means of 107) as a function of a voltage in the intermediate circuit (i.e. DC link 114), wherein the machine electronics system is furthermore configured to change over between the first sub- sequence and the second sub-sequence of the braking method of the electric machine tool after the respective first and second time periods have elapsed (see Description, i.e. the equalization time or the interval during which a phase connection is connected to the intermediate circuit. L .sub.terminal stands for the motor inductance between two phase connections and U .sub.intermediate circuit denotes the intermediate circuit voltage, i.e. the voltage between an intermediate circuit and the ground connection. The intermediate circuit can be the voltage or Have voltage source that is responsible for driving the electric motor. ΔI .sub.pp denotes the peak-to-peak value of the maximum permitted current ripple in the motor… whereby the equalization time is made up the product of the maximum permissible current ripple for the electric motor and the motor inductance between two phase connections of the electric motor divided by half the intermediate circuit voltage).
In regards to claim 20, Vanko shows and discloses wherein the electric machine tool is an electric grinder (see Fig. 1, pars. 70, 72).
In regards to claim 21, Vanko shows (Fig. 8-9) and discloses further comprising a switch arrangement (i.e. 204) for controlling the power of the motor (28).
In regards to claim 22, Vanko shows (Fig. 8-10) and discloses wherein the switch arrangement comprises a motor inverter (power unit 206 may include a power switch circuit 226).
Related Prior Arts
8. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
SEGA (US 20200287492 A1) discloses sensorless BLDC motor regenerative braking and software controlled synchronous rectification has been presented for the case of high-side PWM switching topology, commonly used with bootstrapped transistor gate drivers. However, the disclosed method can be applied to any other PWM switching topology, such as for example, low-side PWM switching and alternate low-high side PWM switching. The disclosed method can also be applied to any sensored brushless motor braking application employing rotor position detection sensors, such as Hall Effect sensors used to perform electric brushless motor commutation.
WIBBEN et al. (CN 107912052 A) discloses current and/or elevated operating current part such as until the brake operating time point after the first time point, the first time point is preferably magnetic force especially the force of one or more springs or approximately. Preferably, the current and/or operating current portion is slower than the brake operation time point and the first time point until a first time point after the second time point increases. Advantageously, the current and/or an increased operating current part after the second time point than the first point in time and increasing the second time point are more strongly. the first candidate design solution is especially suitable for the first variant design scheme or alternatively applied to the second variant design solution.
Conclusion
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/Primary Examiner Engineer, Art Unit 2846