Detailed Action
This is the Non-Final Action for application 18/272868 filed 07/18/2023.
This application was examined as part of the PBA program.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over FENG in US 20170204448 in view of SHORT in US 20050124010.
With respect to Claim 1, FENG teaches of methods to identify sepsis-causing bacteria. The methods described herein employ plating microorganisms directly on to a MALDI-MS plate, adding concentrated formic acid, and identifying the microorganism by mass spectrometry. FENG further teaches of adding organic solvent to the formic acid and that the instant methods enable direct extraction of proteins from microorganisms without the need for liquid protein extraction methods and yields positive identification results for gram-positive bacteria, gram-negative bacteria and yeast in minutes (abstract).
More specifically with respect to what is claimed, FENG teaches of a method of extracting a protein from Escherichia coli or another gram-negative bacteria (paragraph 0018) by adding, to Escherichia coli, an organic solvent such as methanol, ethanol, and acetonitrile (which is and R-CN) (abstract, paragraph 0017). Gram-negative bacteria’s are prokaryotes, which are single-celled microorganisms.
FENG teaches of extraction but does not call out elution.
SHORT is used to remedy this and teaches of methods of investigating samples by eluting proteins and polypeptides from the sample and analysis of them by mass spectrometry (paragraph 0565-0569). SHORT further teaches that the sample can be gram negative bacteria (paragraph 1955).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to elute proteins and polypeptides as is done in SHORT in the method of FENG due to the advantage separation/elution of proteins allows for comparison or relative protein concentrations in the samples and simultaneous identification of proteins (SHORT, paragraph 0563-0564).
With respect to Claim 2, FENG teaches of using an organic solvent such as methanol, ethanol, and acetonitrile (which is and R-CN) (abstract, paragraph 0017).
With respect to Claim 3, FENG teaches of using acetonitrile (which is and R-CN) (abstract, paragraph 0017).
With respect to Claim 4, FENG teaches of a method of extracting a protein from Escherichia coli or another gram-negative bacteria (paragraph 0018). Gram-negative bacteria’s are prokaryotes, which are single-celled microorganisms.
With respect to Claim 5, FENG teaches of a method of extracting a protein from Escherichia coli or another gram-negative bacteria (paragraph 0018).
With respect to Claim 6, FENG teaches of the instant method as shown above including a prokaryote but does not call out addition of a hypertonic solution.
SHORT is used to remedy this and teaches of methods of investigating samples by eluting proteins and polypeptides from the sample and analysis of them by mass spectrometry (paragraph 0565-0569). SHORT further teaches that the sample can be gram negative bacteria (paragraph 1955) which is a prokaryote.
Even further, SHORT teaches that the solutions can be hypertonic (paragraph 2626) and that NaCl is added in a concentration of from 10-250 mM or 50mM to 200mM (paragraph 0233) making a hypertonic solution.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to use a hypertonic solution of NaCl in the claimed range as is done in SHORT in the method of FENG due to the advantage controlling the salt/NaCl concentration allows for simulating physiological conditions and also for buffering solutions (SHORT, paragraph 0233).
With respect to Claim 7, FENG teaches of the instant method as shown above including a prokaryote but does not call out addition of a hypertonic solution.
SHORT is used to remedy this and teaches of methods of investigating samples by eluting proteins and polypeptides from the sample and analysis of them by mass spectrometry (paragraph 0565-0569). SHORT further teaches that the sample can be gram negative bacteria (paragraph 1955) which is a prokaryote.
Even further, SHORT teaches that the solutions can be hypertonic (paragraph 2626) and that NaCl is added in a concentration of from 10-250 mM or 50mM to 200mM (paragraph 0233) making a hypertonic solution.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to use a hypertonic solution of NaCl in the claimed range as is done in SHORT in the method of FENG due to the advantage controlling the salt/NaCl concentration allows for simulating physiological conditions and also for buffering solutions (SHORT, paragraph 0233).
With respect to Claim 8, FENG teaches of the instant method as shown above including a prokaryote but does not call out addition of a hypertonic solution.
SHORT is used to remedy this and teaches of methods of investigating samples by eluting proteins and polypeptides from the sample and analysis of them by mass spectrometry (paragraph 0565-0569). SHORT further teaches that the sample can be gram negative bacteria (paragraph 1955) which is a prokaryote.
Even further, SHORT teaches that the solutions can be hypertonic (paragraph 2626) and that NaCl is added in a concentration of from 10-250 mM or 50mM to 200mM (paragraph 0233) making a hypertonic solution.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to use a hypertonic solution of NaCl in the claimed range as is done in SHORT in the method of FENG due to the advantage controlling the salt/NaCl concentration allows for simulating physiological conditions and also for buffering solutions (SHORT, paragraph 0233).
With respect to Claim 9, FENG teaches of the instant method as shown above including a prokaryote but does not call out addition of a hypertonic solution.
SHORT is used to remedy this and teaches of methods of investigating samples by eluting proteins and polypeptides from the sample and analysis of them by mass spectrometry (paragraph 0565-0569). SHORT further teaches that the sample can be gram negative bacteria (paragraph 1955) which is a prokaryote.
Even further, SHORT teaches that the solutions can be hypertonic (paragraph 2626) and that NaCl is added in a concentration of from 10-250 mM or 50mM to 200mM (paragraph 0233) making a hypertonic solution.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to use a hypertonic solution of NaCl in the claimed range as is done in SHORT in the method of FENG due to the advantage controlling the salt/NaCl concentration allows for simulating physiological conditions and also for buffering solutions (SHORT, paragraph 0233).
With respect to Claim 10, FENG teaches of a method of extracting a protein from Escherichia coli or another gram-negative bacteria (paragraph 0018). Gram-negative bacteria’s are prokaryotes, which are single-celled microorganisms.
With respect to Claim 11, FENG teaches of methods to identify sepsis-causing bacteria. The methods described herein employ plating microorganisms directly on to a MALDI-MS plate, adding concentrated formic acid, and identifying the microorganism by mass spectrometry. FENG further teaches of adding organic solvent to the formic acid and that the instant methods enable direct extraction of proteins from microorganisms without the need for liquid protein extraction methods and yields positive identification results for gram-positive bacteria, gram-negative bacteria and yeast in minutes (abstract).
More specifically with respect to what is claimed, FENG teaches of a method of extracting a protein from Escherichia coli or another gram-negative bacteria (paragraph 0018) by adding, to Escherichia coli, an organic solvent such as methanol, ethanol, and acetonitrile (which is and R-CN) (abstract, paragraph 0017). Gram-negative bacteria’s are prokaryotes, which are single-celled microorganisms.
FENG further teaches of performing mass spectrometry on the extracted protein (paragraph 0013).
FENG teaches of extraction but does not call out elution.
SHORT is used to remedy this and teaches of methods of investigating samples by eluting proteins and polypeptides from the sample and analysis of them by mass spectrometry (paragraph 0565-0569). SHORT further teaches that the sample can be gram negative bacteria (paragraph 1955).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to elute proteins and polypeptides as is done in SHORT in the method of FENG due to the advantage separation/elution of proteins allows for comparison or relative protein concentrations in the samples and simultaneous identification of proteins (SHORT, paragraph 0563-0564).
With respect to Claim 12, FENG teaches of using MALDI-TOF (paragraph 0003, 0039, 0042).
With respect to Claim 13, FENG teaches of using MALDI-TOF (paragraph 0003, 0039, 0042).
Conclusion
/REBECCA M FRITCHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758