Detailed Action
This is the Non-Final Action for application 18/272868 RCE filed 06/22/2026.
Claims 6 & 10 are pending and have fully been considered.
Claims 1-5, 7-9 & 11-17 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by INGBER in US 20190077850.
With respect to Claim 6, INGBER teaches of a method for detecting a protein from E.Coli (which is a prokaryote) comprising:
eluting a protein from e.coli or s. aureus by adding 500 mM of NaCl to the sample comprising the E. Coli or S. Aureus (paragraph 0415, 0414, 498, 0646-0649 but mostly 0648-0649, 0609), and
performing MALDI-TOF on the eluted protein and thus detecting the amount of proteins in sample (paragraph 0230, 0243, 0253, 0256, 0693, 0694).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious by INGBER in US 20190077850 in view of WINGFIELD in Overview of the Purification of Recombinant Proteins Produced in Escherichia coli.
With respect to Claim 10, INGBER teaches of a method for detecting a protein from E.Coli (which is a prokaryote) comprising:
eluting a protein from e.coli or s. aureus by adding 500 mM of NaCl to the sample comprising the E. Coli or S. Aureus (paragraph 0415, 0414, 498, 0646-0649 but mostly 0648-0649, 0609), and
performing MALDI-TOF on the eluted protein and thus detecting the amount of proteins in sample (paragraph 0230, 0243, 0253, 0256, 0693, 0694)
INGBER further teaches of the e.coli being gram-negative(paragraph 0050, 0144, 0261, 0649, 0689).
INGBER does not teach of extracting or eluting the protein specifically from E.coli, which is the gram negative bacteria using NaCl of the claimed concentration.
WINGFIELD is used to remedy this and teaches of methods for purification of proteins in E.Coli (title), and further teaches of extracting/eluting proteins of the proteins in E.Coli using 1.0 M NaCl (Page 6.1.16, paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to extract/elute proteins from specifically E.Coli using the claimed high concentration of NaCl as is done in WINGFIELD in the method of INGBER due to the advantages these concentrations have extracting under non denaturing conditions and solving problems dealing with interactions involving folded protein(Page 6.1.16, paragraph 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) the instant claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner notes that she has reviewed exhibit A, and the Declaration of Saeyoung Lee filed 04/07/2026, however they is not convincing in overcoming the instantly cited prior art, especially at it is newly cited due amendments made with RCE filed 06/22/2026. It was informative, but especially since new prior art was used due to the instantly made amendments, is not convincing in overcoming the prior art, nor would it be an accepted showing of any supposed unexpected results as it was not filed with the instant specification.
All claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SHORT in US 20050124010
SHORT is used to remedy this and teaches of methods of investigating samples by eluting proteins and polypeptides from the sample and analysis of them by mass spectrometry (paragraph 0565-0569). SHORT further teaches that the sample can be gram negative bacteria (paragraph 1955) which is a prokaryote.
Even further, SHORT teaches that the solutions can be hypertonic (paragraph 2626) and that NaCl is added in a concentration of from 10-250 mM or 50mM to 200mM (paragraph 0233) making a hypertonic solution.
SODEOKA in US 20150192590
SODEOKA teaches of a method for detecting a biomolecule by mass spectrometry (abstract), wherein the biomolecule can be proteins in a prokaryote (paragraph 0101).
SODEOKA further teaches that the protein is eluted by using n-propanol, which is the same thing as 1-propanol during liquid chromatography (paragraph 0075) and then it is detected by mass spectrometry with Raman Spectroscopy (paragraph 0023).
Further, SODEOKA teaches of using MALDI-TOF (paragraph 0094).
OLSON in US 4511503
OLSON is used to remedy this. OLSON teaches of a method for dissolving and eluting refractile proteins (abstract). OLSON further teaches that these refractile proteins can be the heterologous proteins in bacteria (of which the E.coli taught by SODEOKA is one of) (column 1, lines 9-16, column 2, lines 39-56). OLSON further teaches that the refractile bodies can be recovered/eluted using any suitable salt, such as NaCl, and that it is used in the range of 0.01M to 2M (proteins (OLSON, Column 9, line 59-column 10 line 15)--- which includes the claimed range of 400mM-1.5 M NaCl.
FENG in US 20170204448
FENG is used to remedy this. FENG more specifically teaches of methods to identify sepsis-causing bacteria. FENG teaches of plating microorganisms directly on to a MALDI-MS plate, adding concentrated formic acid, and identifying the microorganism by mass spectrometry. FENG further teaches of adding organic solvent to the formic acid and that the instant methods enable direct extraction of proteins from microorganisms without the need for liquid protein extraction methods and yields positive identification results for gram-positive bacteria, gram-negative bacteria and yeast in minutes (abstract).
More specifically with respect to what is claimed, FENG teaches of a method of extracting a protein from Escherichia coli or another gram-negative bacteria (paragraph 0018) by adding, to Escherichia coli, an organic solvent such as methanol, ethanol, and acetonitrile (which is and R-CN) (abstract, paragraph 0017). Gram-negative bacteria’s are prokaryotes, which are single-celled microorganisms.
/REBECCA M FRITCHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758