DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/04/26. The applicant has overcome the objection and the 35 USC 102 rejection as set forth in the previous office action. Refer to the aforementioned amendment for specific details on applicant's rebuttal arguments and/or remarks. However, the present claims are now finally rejected over new grounds of rejection as formulated hereinbelow and for the reasons of record:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication KR 10-2015-0050314 (heretofore KR’314).
As to claims 1-4, 11:
KR’314 discloses that it is known in the art to make a modular battery pack (battery module) (0006-0010; 0033-0039; 0080-0093; 0095-0110; see Figures 9-13) comprising stacked battery cells including electrode leads/tabs/connectors projecting/protruding therefrom; a busbar/connector assembly including a first side/surface including slit/openings/holes/orifices for receiving and connecting the electrode leads/tabs/connectors projecting/protruding from the battery cells; a sensor including a sensing element/assembly placed/disposed on the busbar/connector so that a second side/surface of the busbar/connector assembly on the opposite side of the first side/surface is joined/mated with the sensing element/assembly (0006-0010; 0033-0039; 0080-0093; 0095-0110; see Figures 9-13). Figures 9-11, infra, illustrate the battery module including the busbar/connector assembly and the stacked battery cells comprising the electrode leads/tabs/connectors projecting/protruding therefrom
As to claim 5:
KR’314 discloses through-holes (gaps, slits, orifices) formed on a part, portion, region, section, area of the busbar/connector assembly placed on top/partly covering another part, portion, region, section, area of the busbar/connector assembly joined/mated with the sensing element/assembly (0080-0093; 0095-0110; see Figures 9 & 11).
As to claim 6:
In KR’314, the busbar/connector assembly comprises a plurality of mounting/framed parts/portions/areas/zones/sections including a recessed portion/area where the busbar/connector is placed and projecting/protruding elements protruding from the busbar/connector assembly so that the electrode leads/tabs/connectors project/protrude through the busbar/connector slit/openings/holes/orifices (see Figures 9 & 11-13). Figures 9, & 1-13, supra, depicts the mounting/framed parts/portions/areas/zones/sections widens towards the stacked battery cells.
As to claims 9-10:
KR’314 discloses the sensor comprising an upper connecting component (i.e., module connector) so that a connecting wire/cable connects the connecting component and the busbar/connector assembly joined/mated with the sensing element/assembly (0080-0093; 0095-0110; see Figures 9-11 & 13)
KR’314 discloses a battery module according to the foregoing description. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific first region of the first surface partially overlapping.
In view of the above, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrangement, locate or place the specific first region of the first surface to partially overlap at the joining region/point as instantly claimed because it has been held that re-arrangement, reversal or duplication of parts is prima-facie obvious. Succinctly stated, fact that the claimed first region of the first surface is structurally re-arranged, reversed or duplicated to form a similar component having the same functionality is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old feature unless there are new or unexpected results as it is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed first region of the first surface was critical. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70. In re Kuhle 188 USPQ 7. In re Gazda 104 USPQ 400. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378. (Refer to MPEP 2144.04 [R-I] Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale: VI. Reversal, Duplication, OR Rearrangement of Parts).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a detailed search for the prior art failed to reveal or fairly suggest what is instantly claimed, in particular: the battery module comprising all of the claimed components/elements satisfying the specific structural and functional interrelationship as recited in dependent claim 7
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note that claim 8 is also allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752