DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 08/12/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 06/18/2026. Interdependent claims 1, 16, 19 and 26 are amended. Claims 2, 17, 20 and 27 are currently canceled. Therefore, claims 1, 3-7, 16, 18-19, 21-26 and 28 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim 1, 4-5, 16, 19, 22-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (2023/0030443), Chen hereinafter, in view of TSAI et. la. (2021/0337625, Provisional application 63/014,648 will be used for the instant application. See PTO-892), TSAI648, hereinafter, further in view of Lin et al. (2024/0064756), Lin hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 19, Chen teaches a method (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0048/¶0062/¶0073) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3 & ¶0083 - node 300 may be a UE or a BS), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3 & ¶0083 - node 300 may be a UE or a BS) for wireless communication (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0002/¶0003/¶0012/¶0083 ), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 3, 328); and at least one processor (Fig. 3, 326) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: receive configured grant (CG) resource configuration information on a plurality of CG resources (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0048 - BS may provide configured grants (e.g., pre-configured PUSCH resources, configured grant Type 1 configuration) in dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration). …. a configured grant, a pre-configured PUSCH resource, and a configured grant Type 1 configuration may be exchangeable. If a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with pre-configured PUSCH resources, the UE may be allowed to transmit small data on the pre-configured PUSCH resources in the RRC_INACTIVE state without transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state.);determine a value of a timing alignment (TA) timer based on a period of one selected CG resource (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0062 - UE may determine whether configured grants (e.g., pre-configured PUSCH resources) for small data transmission is valid…… UE may determine the configured grants are valid when the UE is camped on a cell from which the UE receives the RRC release message. …..BS may provide pre-configured PUSCH resources (e.g., configured grant Type 1 configuration) in dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) and also a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for the pre-configured PUSCH resources. For example, the configured grant configuration #1 (for providing PUSCH resources when the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state) may be associated with a life timer (e.g., a TA timer). In some implementations, the UE may start a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for a configured grant after receiving the RRC Release message with the suspend configuration. In one example, a common life timer (e.g., a common TA timer) of one or more configured grants may be provided to the UE. In another example, different life timers (e.g., different TA timers) for different configured grants may be provided. In other examples, a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) may be configured for all pre-configured PUSCH resources. It should be noted that when a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) is running, the associated pre-configured PUSCH resources may be considered as valid. Once the life timer (e.g., the TA timer) expires (or is not running), the UE may consider all pre-configured PUSCH resources as invalid. That is, the UE may not be allowed to use the pre-configured PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. In some implementations, a TA value for a TA timer that is applied for the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may be provided in dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration)….. a UE may be configured with a (absolute) threshold to determine whether the current TA (or the associated configured grant(s)) is valid or not…. a Reference Symbol Received Power (RSRP) threshold may be configured (via dedicated signaling or broadcast system information) to determine whether the current TA (or the associated configured grant(s)) is valid or not. In this case, if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference (or the RSRP of the downlink reference signal) is above the threshold, the TA (or the associated configured grant(s)) may be considered as valid and the UE may use the pre-configured PUSCH resources (e.g., the PUSCH resources associated with the downlink reference signal of a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB)) for small data transmission. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0064 - UE may perform small data transmission via the configured grant if at least one of the following criteria or condition(s) is fulfilled …..; (2) configured grant is valid; (3) the UE has a valid TA For example, if the UE is configured with configured grants for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or is allowed to transmit small data via the configured grants in the RRC_INACTIVE state);
Yet, Chen does not expressly teach transmit data in at least one of the plurality of CG resources if the TA timer is running and at least one of the plurality of CG resources is valid.
However, in the analogous art, TSAI648 explicitly discloses transmit data in at least one of the plurality of CG resources if the TA timer is running and at least one of the plurality of CG resources is valid (Page Number: 1 - To realize SDT-configuration, two types of radio resource may be configured to the UE: 1) SDT-CG configuration: (Type 1/Type 2) uplink configured grant (UL-CG configuration (e.g., the locations of physical radio resources on time domain/frequency domain and the periodicity of the uplink configured grant) may be configured in the SDT-configuration. UL-CG configuration contains periodic UL radio resources for the UE to access directly while the UE is staying out of RRC Connected state (e.g., when the UE is in (LTE/NR) RRC_INACTIVE state or in (LTE/NR) RRC_IDLE state). Moreover, one or more UL-CG configurations (wherein each UL-CG configuration may be associated with one unique SDT-CG index in the SDT-configuration) may be configured to the UE in the SDTconfiguration. In this disclosure, the procedure which UE transmits small packet through UL-CG configuration is also called SDT-CG procedure. Page Number: 6 – Timing Advance Timer (TAT) for SDT-CG configuration - one SDT-CG Timing Advance Timer (which is also called as CG-TAT in this disclosure) would be configured for the UE to identify the valid time period of the Configured Grant configured for Small Packet Transmission (SDT). For example, the UE may be allowed to access the SDT-CG configuration for small packet transmission while the CG-TAT is still counting/running, which means the UE is still maintaining a valid UL timing advance (UL-TA) for UL transmission and/or SDT-CG procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a system and a method for small data transmission in a wireless communication system to include TSAI648’s invention of Packet Transmission Mechanisms for Inactive User Equipment in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enabling a user equipment (UE) for transmitting small packet/data in uplink while the UE is out of Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connected state, for example, the UE moves to RRC inactive state, in turns, improves power consumption and signalling overhead of the wireless communication system. (Page 1/ Page 33, TSAI648).
Yet, Chen and TSAI648 do not expressly teach select a CG resource from the plurality of CG resources, wherein a period of the selected CG resource comprises a maximum period, a minimum period, an average period, or a median period among periods of the plurality of CG resources:
However, in the analogous art, Lin explicitly discloses select a CG resource from the plurality of CG resources, wherein a period of the selected CG resource comprises a maximum period, a minimum period, an average period, or a median period among periods of the plurality of CG resources: (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0015 - the association period may be a value in a set of candidate values. The set of candidate values is determined by at least a CG period according to a mapping between the CG period and the association period. In some embodiments, the association period is a smallest value, during which at least all SSBs in the set of SSBs are mapped at least once to respective PUSCH resources, in the set of candidate values of time periods. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0016 - a maximum value in the set of candidate values may be a value of a maximum candidate CG period. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0017 - a minimum value in the set of candidate values may be not smaller than a minimum candidate value of the SSB transmission period supported by the communication system. Fig.1-13 & ¶0018 - when the CG period is smaller than the minimum candidate value of the SSB transmission period, the association period is a candidate CG period that is divisible by all candidate CG periods smaller than the minimum candidate value of the SSB transmission period. When the CG period is smaller than 5 ms, the association period may be 20 ms. Fig.1-13 & ¶0213 - when multiple CG configurations are configured for a UE, a common association period is defined as the maximum value among the independent association periods of all the CG configurations. Fig.1-13 & ¶0216 - the value of the association pattern period is the maximum CG period, e.g. 640 ms for type 1 CG configured PUSCH transmission. Also, see ¶0169-¶0174 along with Table 2 & Table3. Also, see Claims 6-8. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a system and a method for small data transmission in a wireless communication system and TSAI648’s invention of Packet Transmission Mechanisms for Inactive User Equipment in a wireless communication system to include Lin’s invention of a system and a method for configured grant (CG)-based transmission in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving transmission efficiency for CG based transmission by establishing mappings between SSBs <synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel blocks> and PUSCH < physical uplink shared channel> resources configured for the CG based transmission in the wireless communication system. (¶0010, Lin)
Re. Claims 4 and 22, Chen, TSAI648 and Lin teach claims 1 and 19.
Chen further teaches wherein if the TA timer is expired at a time point in a duration of one CG resource among the plurality of CG resources, a timing advance for the CG resource is defined as one or more of: the timing advance is valid for the CG resource (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0062 -… the UE may start a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for a configured grant after receiving the RRC Release message with the suspend configuration. In one example, a common life timer (e.g., a common TA timer) of one or more configured grants may be provided to the UE. In another example, different life timers (e.g., different TA timers) for different configured grants may be provided. In other examples, a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) may be configured for all pre-configured PUSCH resources. It should be noted that when a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) is running, the associated pre-configured PUSCH resources may be considered as valid. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “as one or more of” and “or” in the limitation); the timing advance is invalid for the CG resource (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0062 -… the UE may start a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for a configured grant after receiving the RRC Release message with the suspend configuration. In one example, a common life timer (e.g., a common TA timer) of one or more configured grants may be provided to the UE…. Once the life timer (e.g., the TA timer) expires (or is not running), the UE may consider all pre-configured PUSCH resources as invalid. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “as one or more of” and “or” in the limitation); the timing advance is valid if a proportion of a part of the CG resource before the time point in the duration of the CG resource is greater or not smaller than a first threshold, or if a proportion of a part of the CG resource after the time point in the duration of the CG resource is smaller or not greater than a second threshold; or the timing advance is valid if the duration of the CG resource is smaller or not greater than a third threshold.
Re. Claims 5 and 23, Chen, TSAI648 and Lin teach claims 1 and 19.
Chen further teaches wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 3, 326) is further configured to cause the UE (Fig. 3) to: start the TA timer upon the UE moving to a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode from a RRC connected mode, upon the UE receiving a RRC release message with a suspend indication (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0062 - BS may provide pre-configured PUSCH resources (e.g., configured grant Type 1 configuration) in dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) and also a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for the pre-configured PUSCH resources. For example, the configured grant configuration #1 (for providing PUSCH resources when the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state) may be associated with a life timer (e.g., a TA timer). …. the UE may start a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for a configured grant after receiving the RRC Release message with the suspend configuration. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation), or upon the UE receiving the CG resource configuration information.
Re. claims 16 and 26, Chen teaches a method (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0048/¶0062/¶0073) performed by a base station (BS) (Fig. 3 & ¶0083 - node 300 may be a UE or a BS), and a base station (BS) (Fig. 3 & ¶0083 - node 300 may be a UE or a BS) for wireless communication (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0002/¶0003/¶0012/¶0083), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 3, 328); and at least one processor (Fig. 3, 326) with the at least one memory and configured to cause the BS to: transmit configured grant (CG) resource configuration information on a plurality of CG resources to a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0048 - BS may provide configured grants (e.g., pre-configured PUSCH resources, configured grant Type 1 configuration) in dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration). …. a configured grant, a pre-configured PUSCH resource, and a configured grant Type 1 configuration may be exchangeable. If a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with pre-configured PUSCH resources, the UE may be allowed to transmit small data on the pre-configured PUSCH resources in the RRC_INACTIVE state without transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state); and the UE having determined a value of a timing alignment (TA) timer based on a period of a selected CG resource from the plurality of CG resources (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0062 - UE may determine whether configured grants (e.g., pre-configured PUSCH resources) for small data transmission is valid…… UE may determine the configured grants are valid when the UE is camped on a cell from which the UE receives the RRC release message. …..BS may provide pre-configured PUSCH resources (e.g., configured grant Type 1 configuration) in dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) and also a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for the pre-configured PUSCH resources. For example, the configured grant configuration #1 (for providing PUSCH resources when the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state) may be associated with a life timer (e.g., a TA timer). In some implementations, the UE may start a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for a configured grant after receiving the RRC Release message with the suspend configuration. In one example, a common life timer (e.g., a common TA timer) of one or more configured grants may be provided to the UE. In another example, different life timers (e.g., different TA timers) for different configured grants may be provided. In other examples, a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) may be configured for all pre-configured PUSCH resources. It should be noted that when a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) is running, the associated pre-configured PUSCH resources may be considered as valid. Once the life timer (e.g., the TA timer) expires (or is not running), the UE may consider all pre-configured PUSCH resources as invalid. That is, the UE may not be allowed to use the pre-configured PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. In some implementations, a TA value for a TA timer that is applied for the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may be provided in dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration)….. a UE may be configured with a (absolute) threshold to determine whether the current TA (or the associated configured grant(s)) is valid or not…. a Reference Symbol Received Power (RSRP) threshold may be configured (via dedicated signaling or broadcast system information) to determine whether the current TA (or the associated configured grant(s)) is valid or not. In this case, if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference (or the RSRP of the downlink reference signal) is above the threshold, the TA (or the associated configured grant(s)) may be considered as valid and the UE may use the pre-configured PUSCH resources (e.g., the PUSCH resources associated with the downlink reference signal of a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB)) for small data transmission. Fig. 1-3 & ¶0064 - UE may perform small data transmission via the configured grant if at least one of the following criteria or condition(s) is fulfilled …..; (2) configured grant is valid; (3) the UE has a valid TA For example, if the UE is configured with configured grants for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or is allowed to transmit small data via the configured grants in the RRC_INACTIVE state;).
Yet, Chen does not expressly teach receive data in at least one of the plurality of CG resources,
However, in the analogous art, TSAI648 explicitly discloses receive data in at least one of the plurality of CG resources (Page Number: 1 - To realize SDT-configuration, two types of radio resource may be configured to the UE: 1) SDT-CG configuration: (Type 1/Type 2) uplink configured grant (UL-CG configuration (e.g., the locations of physical radio resources on time domain/frequency domain and the periodicity of the uplink configured grant) may be configured in the SDT-configuration. UL-CG configuration contains periodic UL radio resources for the UE to access directly while the UE is staying out of RRC Connected state (e.g., when the UE is in (LTE/NR) RRC_INACTIVE state or in (LTE/NR) RRC_IDLE state). Moreover, one or more UL-CG configurations (wherein each UL-CG configuration may be associated with one unique SDT-CG index in the SDT-configuration) may be configured to the UE in the SDTconfiguration. In this disclosure, the procedure which UE transmits small packet through UL-CG configuration is also called SDT-CG procedure. Page Number: 6 – Timing Advance Timer (TAT) for SDT-CG configuration - one SDT-CG Timing Advance Timer (which is also called as CG-TAT in this disclosure) would be configured for the UE to identify the valid time period of the Configured Grant configured for Small Packet Transmission (SDT). For example, the UE may be allowed to access the SDT-CG configuration for small packet transmission while the CG-TAT is still counting/running, which means the UE is still maintaining a valid UL timing advance (UL-TA) for UL transmission and/or SDT-CG procedure),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a system and a method for small data transmission in a wireless communication system to include TSAI648’s invention of Packet Transmission Mechanisms for Inactive User Equipment in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enabling a user equipment (UE) for transmitting small packet/data in uplink while the UE is out of Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connected state, for example, the UE moves to RRC inactive state, in turns, improves power consumption and signalling overhead of the wireless communication system. (Page 1/ Page 33, TSAI648).
Yet, Chen and TSAI648 do not expressly teach wherein the period of the selected CG resource comprises a maximum period, a minimum period, an average period, or a median period among periods of the plurality of CG resources.
However, in the analogous art, Lin explicitly discloses wherein the period of the selected CG resource comprises a maximum period, a minimum period, an average period, or a median period among periods of the plurality of CG resources. (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0015 - the association period may be a value in a set of candidate values. The set of candidate values is determined by at least a CG period according to a mapping between the CG period and the association period. In some embodiments, the association period is a smallest value, during which at least all SSBs in the set of SSBs are mapped at least once to respective PUSCH resources, in the set of candidate values of time periods. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0016 - a maximum value in the set of candidate values may be a value of a maximum candidate CG period. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0017 - a minimum value in the set of candidate values may be not smaller than a minimum candidate value of the SSB transmission period supported by the communication system. Fig.1-13 & ¶0018 - when the CG period is smaller than the minimum candidate value of the SSB transmission period, the association period is a candidate CG period that is divisible by all candidate CG periods smaller than the minimum candidate value of the SSB transmission period. When the CG period is smaller than 5 ms, the association period may be 20 ms. Fig.1-13 & ¶0213 - when multiple CG configurations are configured for a UE, a common association period is defined as the maximum value among the independent association periods of all the CG configurations. Fig.1-13 & ¶0216 - the value of the association pattern period is the maximum CG period, e.g. 640 ms for type 1 CG configured PUSCH transmission. Also, see ¶0169-¶0174 along with Table 2 & Table3. Also, see Claims 6-8. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a system and a method for small data transmission in a wireless communication system and TSAI648’s invention of Packet Transmission Mechanisms for Inactive User Equipment in a wireless communication system to include Lin’s invention of a system and a method for configured grant (CG)-based transmission in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving transmission efficiency for CG based transmission by establishing mappings between SSBs <synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel blocks> and PUSCH < physical uplink shared channel> resources configured for the CG based transmission in the wireless communication system. (¶0010, Lin)
Claims 3, 18, 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of TSAI648, in view of Lin, further in view of Mi et al. (2021/0168746), Mi hereinafter.
Re. Claims 3 and 21, Chen, TSAI648 and Lin teach claims 1 and 19.
Yet, Chen, TSAI648 and Lin do not expressly teach wherein a value of the TA timer is computed according to the period of one selected CG resource multiplied by N, and wherein a value of N is suggested by the UE and is included in a CG resource configuration request message.
However, in the analogous art, Mi explicitly discloses wherein a value of the TA timer is computed according to the period of one selected CG resource multiplied by N, and wherein a value of N is suggested by the UE and is included in a CG resource configuration request. (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0031 - If the adjustment value is the maximum timing value, the adjustment value is used by the terminal device to adjust the maximum timing value of the TA timer to the adjustment value. If the adjustment value is the multiplicative factor, the adjustment value is used by the terminal device to adjust the maximum timing value of the TA timer to a value obtained by multiplying a current maximum timing value of the TA timer by the multiplicative factor……Fig. 1-4 & ¶0035 - the network device may receive mobility status indication information sent by the terminal device, where the mobility status indication information is used to indicate the network device that the terminal device is in a static state. If the network device sends a second indication message to the terminal device, the second indication message is used to indicate the terminal device to adjust the maximum timing value of the TA timer to the positive infinity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a system and a method for small data transmission in a wireless communication system and TSAI648’s invention of Packet Transmission Mechanisms for Inactive User Equipment in a wireless communication system and Lin’s invention of a system and a method for configured grant (CG)-based transmission in a wireless communication system to include Mi’s invention of a system and a method for uplink transmission in preconfigured resources by using narrowband internet of things (NB-IoT) devices operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in determining whether TA (Timing Advance) of the NB-iOT devices are valid for the uplink transmission in the a wireless communication system. (¶0012-¶0014, Mi)
Re. Claims 18 and 28, Chen, TSAI648 and Lin teach claims 16 and 26.
Yet, Chen, TSAI648 and Lin do not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus BS to: receive, a CG resource configuration request message including a value of N, a value of the TA timer having been computed by the UE according to the period of one selected CG resource multiplied by N.
However, in the analogous art, Mi explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 8, 802) is further configured to cause the apparatus BS (Fig. 8) to: receive, a CG resource configuration request message including a value of N, a value of the TA timer having been computed by the UE according to the period of one selected CG resource multiplied by N. (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0031 - If the adjustment value is the maximum timing value, the adjustment value is used by the terminal device to adjust the maximum timing value of the TA timer to the adjustment value. If the adjustment value is the multiplicative factor, the adjustment value is used by the terminal device to adjust the maximum timing value of the TA timer to a value obtained by multiplying a current maximum timing value of the TA timer by the multiplicative factor……Fig. 1-4 & ¶0035 - the network device may receive mobility status indication information sent by the terminal device, where the mobility status indication information is used to indicate the network device that the terminal device is in a static state. If the network device sends a second indication message to the terminal device, the second indication message is used to indicate the terminal device to adjust the maximum timing value of the TA timer to the positive infinity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a system and a method for small data transmission in a wireless communication system and TSAI648’s invention of Packet Transmission Mechanisms for Inactive User Equipment in a wireless communication system and Lin’s invention of a system and a method for configured grant (CG)-based transmission in a wireless communication system to include Mi’s invention of a system and a method for uplink transmission in preconfigured resources by using narrowband internet of things (NB-IoT) devices operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in determining whether TA (Timing Advance) of the NB-iOT devices are valid for the uplink transmission in the a wireless communication system. (¶0012-¶0014, Mi)
Claim 6-7 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of TSAI648, in view of Lin, further in view of Liu et al. (2024/0098797), Liu hereinafter.
Re. Claims 6 and 24, Chen, TSAI648 and Lin teach claims 1 and 19.
Yet, Chen, TSAI648 and Lin do not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: release at least one of the plurality of CG resources if a number of consecutive CG resource occasions have been skipped, wherein the number of consecutive CG resource occasions is beam specific or UE specific.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 19A, 1936) is further configured to cause the UE to: release at least one of the plurality of CG resources if a number of consecutive CG resource occasions have been skipped (Fig. 1-19B & ¶0041 - The method 200 begins at block 210, where the UE defines a counter (e.g., N) with SDT CG resources. The counter is configured by RRC for each UE, for each carrier (i.e., UL and SUL), or for each CG resource. During SDT procedure (i.e., after the SDT request is transmitted), when N consecutive CG occasions are skipped, the UE shall release SDT CG resources depending on the counter configuration at block 220. If the counter is configured for each UE, the UE releases all SDT CG resources configured in the UE.), wherein the number of consecutive CG resource occasions is beam specific or UE specific (Fig. 1-19B & ¶0051 - the configuration entails the association of one CG occasion of one CG resource to one SSB implicitly by supposing that the number of actual transmission SSBs determined by ssb-PositionsInBurst is equal to N or explicitly by configuring M SSB indexes in one CG resource (configured by a list, e.g., SDTConfiguredGrantConfigToAdolModList-r 17). Here, each N continuous CG occasions in one CG resource correspond to N SSBs, starting from the first CG occasion of the CG resource. … The first CG occasion in each M continuous CG occasions corresponds to the first entry of SSB-IndexList, the second CG occasion in each M continuous CG occasions corresponds to the second entry of SSB-IndexList, and so on. For either embodiment, the gNB needs to configure parameters used for beam failure detection and beam failure recovery via RRCRelease with suspendConfig on the same Bandwidth Part (BWP) on which CG resources are configured. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a system and a method for small data transmission in a wireless communication system and TSAI648’s invention of Packet Transmission Mechanisms for Inactive User Equipment in a wireless communication system and Lin’s invention of a system and a method for configured grant (CG)-based transmission in a wireless communication system to include Liu’s invention of a system and a method for managing small data transmission in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in allowing a user equipment (UE) transmitting (periodic and/or non-periodic) small data in RRC-Inactive state without moving to RRC-Connected state, in turns, improves the UE power consumption and signaling overhead of a network in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Liu)
Re. Claims 7 and 25, Chen, TSAI648, Lin and Liu teach claims 6 and 24.
Yet, Chen, TSAI648 and Lin do not expressly teach wherein the number of consecutive CG resource occasions is included in a CG resource configuration request message.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly discloses wherein the number of consecutive CG resource occasions is included in a CG resource configuration request message. (Fig. 1-19B & ¶0041 - The method 200 begins at block 210, where the UE defines a counter (e.g., N) with SDT CG resources. The counter is configured by RRC for each UE, for each carrier (i.e., UL and SUL), or for each CG resource. During SDT procedure (i.e., after the SDT request is transmitted), when N consecutive CG occasions are skipped, the UE shall release SDT CG resources depending on the counter configuration at block 220.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a system and a method for small data transmission in a wireless communication system and TSAI648’s invention of Packet Transmission Mechanisms for Inactive User Equipment in a wireless communication system and Lin’s invention of a system and a method for configured grant (CG)-based transmission in a wireless communication system to include Liu’s invention of a system and a method for managing small data transmission in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in allowing a user equipment (UE) transmitting (periodic and/or non-periodic) small data in RRC-Inactive state without moving to RRC-Connected state, in turns, improves the UE power consumption and signaling overhead of a network in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Liu)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 7-8 for independent claims 1 and 19, applicant argues that Chen fails to teach, select a CG resource from the plurality of CG resources, wherein a period of the selected CG resource comprises a maximum period, a minimum period, an average period, or a median period among periods of the plurality of CG resources”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Lin (2024/0064756 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference), discloses the limitation as disclosed in §103 rejection.
Similar, arguments are applicable to independent claims 16 and 26.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of TSAI648, further in view of Lin (2024/0064756 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 16 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of TSAI648, Lin (2024/0064756 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 16, 19 and 26, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467