DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on July 15, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 9 and 17 have been amended, and claims 3, 4, 11, 12, 19 and 20 have been previously canceled. Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 17, 18, and 21-23 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 9 and 17 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 17, 18, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAHIRO (JP 2020077420 A), referred herein as YAMAHIRO (from IDS) in view of UENO (US 20150206010 A1), referred herein as UENO and Maguire et al. (US 20210121155 A1), referred herein as Maguire.
Regarding Claims 1, 9 and 17, YAMAHIRO in view of UENO and Maguire teaches an image processing system, method and non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising at least one memory configured to store instructions; at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations (YAMAHIRO Abst: a portable terminal, an identity verification server, an identity verification system and a program; FIG. 1), the operations comprising:
analyzing an image in a video captured by a camera (YAMAHIRO Abst: A portable terminal 1 with a camera 23 is such that identity verification of a user at the start of a service can be performed by the portable terminal 1 alone carried by the user; [0042] The control unit 10 analyzes the personal identification image and identifies the personal identification document);
detecting a pose of a personal identification document in the image (YAMAHIRO [0043] a document position area 81b in which the identity verification document is placed);
acquiring, as an image to be processed, an image in the video YAMAHIRO [0077] In S340 of FIG. 14, the control unit 310 (identity confirmation image processing unit 313) of the mobile terminal 301 activates the out-camera 23b and causes the touch panel display 25 to display a through image of the out-camera 23b. Further, the control unit 310 outputs a document position guide image 350 in which the front side of the identity verification document is in the shooting direction, as shown in FIG. 15A, to the touch panel display 25); and
outputting, onto the video, guide information representing a reference pose of the personal identification document while changing a type and a display position thereof, depending on a detection result of a pose of the personal identification document (YAMAHIRO [0078] The document position guide image 350 shown in FIG. 15 (A) is an image including a document position area 350a for arranging an identity verification document and a shooting button 350b. The document position guide image 350 is a transparent image. This is for outputting together with the through image of the out camera 23b, and at least the document position area 350a needs to be transparent).
YAMAHIRO does not but UENO teaches
in which a pose associated to any of a plurality of reference poses preset (UENO [0072] The overlapping definition table 310 according to the embodiment includes a reference ID, position information, a display size, a rotation angle, and a file name as items of information, and items other than those are correlated with an employee number. According to the embodiment, the position information, the display size, the rotation angle, and the file name which are correlated with the reference ID are set to definition information corresponding to the reference ID; FIG. 5).
YAMAHIRO in view of UENO further teaches
wherein the information processing device outputs the generated data of the video to the display device, and causes the display device to display the data (KANESHIGE7963 [0017] the output unit 21b outputs the character data arithmetically processed by the arithmetic unit 21a to the display device 11).
YAMAHIRO does not but Maguire teaches
wherein the operations further comprise causing a movement amount of a display position of the guide information between before and after changing of the display position to be equal to or more than a predetermined first threshold value and to be equal to or less than a second threshold value larger than the predetermined first threshold value (Maguire [0048] the external sensor 24 may include the display 206 to indicate the suggested movements of the tracheal tube 26 and/or illuminate a light indicator of the output device 86 to coordinate with the suggested movements or movement parameter 176 (e.g., red for outside a first threshold, yellow for within the first and outside a second threshold, green for within the second threshold)).
UENO discloses a display control device includes circuitry configured to detect a specific object that is supported by an authentication target in an image. UENO is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YAMAHIRO to incorporate the teachings of UENO, and apply the registered image dataset into the identity verification processing.
Doing so would provide a comparison between the authentication target and the registered user in the image processing system.
Maguire discloses a position monitoring system. Maguire is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YAMAHIRO to incorporate the teachings of Maguire, and apply the plurality of thresholds of movement amount into the identity verification processing.
Doing so would instruct the display to present an indication of the position of the distal portion based on feedback from the detector in the image processing system.
Regarding Claims 2, 10 and 18, YAMAHIRO in view of UENO and Maguire teaches the image processing system according to claims 1, 9 and 17, respectively, and further teaches wherein the operations comprise changing a type and a display position of the guide information, in response to detection of a pose, as a pose of the personal identification document, associated to a reference pose specified by the guide information (YAMAHIRO [0085] in the personal identification system 300, the document position guide images of various shooting directions and shooting positions are stored in the storage unit 320, and the control unit 310 randomly selects the document position guide images from the stored image. , May be output. The document position guide images at various shooting directions and shooting positions are, for example, a document position guide image 361 shown in FIG. 16 (A) to a document position guide image 364 shown in FIG. 16 (D)).
Regarding Claims 5, 13 and 21, YAMAHIRO in view of UENO and Maguire teaches the image processing system according to claims 1, 9 and 17, respectively, and further teaches wherein the operations comprise controlling a display position of the guide information within a range narrower than an angle view of the camera (YAMAHIRO [0079] The document position area 351a indicates the photographing direction from an oblique direction so that the face photograph of the personal identification document can be confirmed and the thickness of the long side of the personal identification document can be confirmed. Therefore, the document position area 351a is shown as a trapezoid with a long base; [0082] The control unit 310, for example, confirms that the identity verification document is within the document position area 350a and that the identity verification image can be acquired in a predetermined size, and that the acquired identity verification image is the identity verification document. Confirm that there is (for example, the front of the driver's license 3). The control unit 310 performs this confirmation on all the acquired personal identification images).
Regarding Claims 6, 14 and 22, YAMAHIRO in view of UENO and Maguire teaches the image processing system according to claims 1, 9 and 17, respectively, and further teaches wherein the operations comprise changing a display position of the guide information along a height direction of a display area for displaying the video (YAMAHIRO [0080] the document position area 351a may not be indicated by a frame line, but may be indicated by lines indicating the positions of the two long sides of the personal identification document. The document position area 351a may be used to confirm the thickness of the short side of the personal identification document).
Regarding Claims 7 and 23, YAMAHIRO in view of UENO and Maguire teaches the image processing system according to claims 1 and 17, respectively, and further teaches wherein the operations comprise changing a display position of the guide information along a width direction of a display area for displaying the video (YAMAHIRO [0080] the document position area 351a may not be indicated by a frame line, but may be indicated by lines indicating the positions of the two long sides of the personal identification document. The document position area 351a may be used to confirm the thickness of the short side of the personal identification document).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 14 November, 2025, with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 4, Applicant's Remarks, with respect to claims 1, 9 and 17, the applicant argues the "threshold(s)" in Maguire is merely a "value(s) for determining an appropriate position of a tracheal tube". Examiner actually agrees with this statement. The moving values of a physical tracheal tube under an image guided procedure achieves the same result of moving amount of a physical PID. The primary reference YAMAHIRO disclosed “touch panel display 25 to output an instruction to change the orientation of the user's face, and outputs the instruction from”. The combination of YAMAHIRO and Maguire would be able to display the movement amount (aka. value) determined by Maguire, as an instruction message of YAMAHIRO. Therefore, the display position of the PID is determined by the movement amount as instructed. Regarding this argument, it is respectfully noted that, YAMAHIRO in view of UENO and Maguire teaches wherein the operations further comprise causing a movement amount of a display position of the guide information between before and after changing of the display position to be equal to or more than a predetermined first threshold value and to be equal to or less than a second threshold value larger than the predetermined first threshold value, as claimed.
On page 5 of Applicant’s Remarks, the Applicant argues the corresponding dependent claims are not taught by the prior art, insomuch as they depend from claims that are not taught by the prior art. Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments, for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Samantha (YUEHAN) WANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2617