Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/18/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 5, 10, 13, 17, 20, 26 and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The use of the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite.
5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 requires a different limitation for component B than required in claim 1 and therefore fails to further limit the claim.
6. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-14, 17-21 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by the reference of (US 2019/0171610 A1) to Tang et al. (hereinafter Tang).
Tang is directed toward removal of fouling from hydrocarbon streams. Tang discloses at paragraph [0024] the composition is a 6 amino caproic acid, which is also known as a 6-amino hexanoic acid of compound A, with a sodium borohydride of compound B, which prevents unwanted polymerizations. Tang discloses at paragraph [0001] the invention is directed toward inhibiting unwanted condensation reaction of polymers that act as impurities. Tang discloses at paragraph [0001] the condensation reaction would be via an adol condensation reaction. Tang discloses at paragraph [0022] the method is adding to a hydrocarbon stream at a basic pH below 7. Tang discloses each and every element as arranged in claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-14, 17-21 and 25-30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-14, 17-21 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0171610 A1) to Tang et al. (hereinafter Tang).
Tang is directed toward removal of fouling from hydrocarbon streams. Tang discloses at paragraph [0024] the composition is a 6 amino caproic acid, which is also known as a 6-amino hexanoic acid of compound A, with a sodium borohydride of compound B, which prevents unwanted polymerizations. Tang discloses at paragraph [0001] the invention is directed toward inhibiting unwanted condensation reaction of polymers that act as impurities. Tang discloses at paragraph [0001] the condensation reaction would be via an adol condensation reaction. Tang discloses at paragraph [0022] the method is adding to a hydrocarbon stream at a basic pH below 7.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Tang to select each and every element as arranged in claims to inhibit unwanted polymerization in a hydrocarbon stream that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-14, 17-21 and 25-30.
13. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-14, 17-21 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0171610 A1) to Tang et al. (hereinafter Tang) in view of the teachings of (US 5,582,808) to Patek (hereinafter Patek).
Tang is directed toward removal of inhibiting unwanted polymerization to prevent fouling of hydrocarbon streams. Tang discloses at paragraph [0024] the composition is a 6 amino caproic acid, which is also known as a 6-amino hexanoic acid of compound A, with a sodium borohydride of compound B, which prevents unwanted polymerizations. Tang discloses at paragraph [0001] the invention is directed toward inhibiting unwanted condensation reaction of polymers that act as impurities. Tang discloses at paragraph [0001] the condensation reaction would be via an adol condensation reaction. Tang discloses at paragraph [0022] the method is adding to a hydrocarbon stream at a basic pH below 7.
Patek is directed toward removal of inhibiting unwanted polymerization to prevent fouling of hydrocarbon streams. Tang and Patek are both directed toward removal of inhibiting unwanted polymerization to prevent fouling of hydrocarbon streams. Patek teaches at (C2,L9) that borohydrides are useful in reducing adol condensation polymerization in hydrocarbon streams. Patek teaches at (C2,L36) that the borohydrides prevents fouling by inhibiting polymerization. Patek teaches at (C2,L55 to L60) that sodium borohydride and tetramethylammonium borohydride are functionally equivalent to prevent polymerization. One would be motivated to use a functionally equivalent borohydrate to inhibit unwanted polymerization.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Tang in view of the teachings of Patek to select each and every element as arranged in claims to inhibit unwanted polymerization in a hydrocarbon stream that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1, 4-7, 10-14, 17-21 and 25-30.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766