DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 12/29/25. Claims 1-12 and 15-22 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chowdhury USPN_9376606_B2 in view of Wu 5625477 and Chang USPA_20170108357_A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Chowdhury discloses a liquid crystal elastomer (Abstract; col 8 In 57-58) composition comprising: a liquid crystal elastomer body configured to comprise a thermal circuit that comprises a heat sink and an electrical component (col 9 In 42-47) wherein the overall composition may be highly conductive (col 2 In 40-43), wherein the composition may act as an insulator (col 9 In 34-38). Although Chowdhury does not explicitly disclose its claimed body having varying transparencies, the Examiner respectfully submits that this would ultimately depend on end-user product specifications. The effecting of varying transparency of the body would be determined on to what extent light is desired to be emitted. Applicants have not indicated how this results in unexpected and surprising properties.
But Chowdhury does not further specifically disclose its directors being oriented orthogonally. Also, Chowdhury does not disclose its LCE body covering the heat source.
Wu discloses a similar composition (Abstract; col 1 In 6-8), wherein elastomers may be coated onto conductive layers (col 12 In 46-49), wherein the composition comprises directors oriented orthogonally (col 5 In 26-29; col 6 In 40-45), and wherein the directors may be easily oriented (col 7 In 56-58). Wu explicitly discloses that the controlled variation of the distribution of these domain directors allows achievement of a continuous variability in the intensity of the reflected light from the display providing what is commonly known as gray scale capability. Both full-color and gray scale capability are available with these devices by simple adjustment of the wavelength maxima for the reflective structure as described previously (col. 5, ln 26-29).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the directors, of Chowdhury, by orienting them orthogonally, like that of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to be able to allow achievement of a continuous variability in the intensity of the reflected light from the display.
Chang discloses an optical module having a light source (corresponds to claimed heat source) and a lid (corresponds to claimed body) that surrounds the light source (corresponds to claimed covering the heat source); wherein the lid is made of liquid crystal polymer and is designed to prevent the light emitted from the light source from directly reaching the light detector (paragraph 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the body, of Chowdhury, by using the lid, of Chang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to regulate light emittance.
Regarding Claims 2-12, 20, and 21, Chowdhury in view of Wu and Chang does not further specifically disclose these limitations. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create these limitations through routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 15, Chowdhury in view of Wu and Chang the liquid crystal elastomer composition may be at least one of a flexible electronic or display (Abstract; col 3 In 41-45).
Regarding Claims 16 and 19, Chowdhury in view of Wu and Chang discloses a similar composition (Wu: Abstract; col 1 In 6-8), wherein the composition comprises directors oriented parallel (col 5 In 26-29; col 8 In 1-3), and wherein the directors may be easily oriented (col 7 In 56-58).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these references, and to create the liquid crystal elastomer composition comprising: a liquid crystal elastomer body configured to comprise a thermal circuit including an insulated body node interface portion of the liquid crystal elastomer body; wherein the insulated body node interface portion contains directors configured to be aligned parallel to an interface edge of the insulated body node interface portion, because directors allow for the continuous variability of intensity of reflected light, which is especially useful in display applications, while allowing for exact precision in doing so (Wu, col 5 In 30-36; col 8 In 30-36).
Regarding Claim 17, Chowdhury in view of Wu and Chang suggests that directors may be oriented perpendicularly (Wu: col 6 In 40'-45), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create the liquid crystal elastomer composition further comprising: a heat sink node interface portion of the liquid crystal elastomer body, wherein the heat sink node interface portion contains directors configured to be aligned orthogonal to an interface edge of the heat sink node interface portion, through routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 18, the Examiner respectfully submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create the liquid crystal elastomer composition wherein the heat sink node interface portion comprises all of the liquid crystal elastomer body that is configured to contact a heat sink, through routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 22, Chowdhury in view of Wu and Chang suggests the liquid crystal elastomer composition may be at least one of a flexible electronic or display (Wu: Abstract; col 3 In 41-45).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/29/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of all claim(s) under Chowdhury in view of Wu have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chowdhury in view of Wu and Chang.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 January 15, 2026