DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2-16 depend on claim 1 and, therefore, are also rejected.
With regards to claim 1, the claim states that the polyethylene has a molecular weight but does not specify if the molecular weight is number average or weight average.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (CN 104695038) in view of Qu et al (1993, Journal of applied polymer science, vol. 48, 701-709).
With regards to claims 1, 2, and 11, Guo teaches a method for fiber production that uses ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (page 1) in a solvent (page 3) and an initiator (page 3) wherein the photoinitiator includes benzophenone (page 3) solution in a spinning process (page 3). Guo teaches the amount of photoinitiator to be from 0 to 3% (page 3) and the molecular weight of the polyethylene to be 1 to 7 million (page 3).
Guo does not teach the photoinitiator to have the claimed structure.
Qu teaches a polyethylene that is crosslinked using a benzophenone including 4-chlorobenzophenone or 4,4’-dichlorobenzophenone (page 702). Qu teaches the motivation for using these photoinitiators to be because they were found to be the most effective in photocross-linking of HDPE (page 704). Guo and Qu are analogous in the art of forming polyethylene polymers. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the benzophenone derivative of Qu as the benzophenone derivative of Guo, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claims 3 and 12, Guo teaches the weight ratio of solvent and polyethylene powder is 1:1 to 20:1 (page 3) and for the solvent to include tetrahydronaphthalene, decahydronaphthalene, n-heptane, n-hexane, cyclohexane, paraffin oil, vegetable oil, or a xylene (page 3).
With regards to claims 5 and 14, Guo teaches the addition of an antioxidant (page 3).
With regards to claim 6, Guo teaches the process of making a heat-resistant and creep-resistant polyethylene that includes multi-stage drafting the polyethylene to obtain a fiber (page 1) followed by exposing to UV radiation having an intensity of 4 Mrad (example 4) for 10 seconds (example 5).
With regards to claims 7 and 15, Guo teaches the process to be a 4-stage ultra-high heat drawing wherein the drafting ratio is 40 times (example 2).
With regards to claims 8 and 16, Guo teaches the radiation to be ultraviolet radiation (example 4) reading on a wavelength from 315 to 400 nm.
With regards to claim 9, Guo teaches the gel content of the polyethylene fiber to be 75% (table 2) but is silent on the crystallinity of the composition. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used and the process of making is as claimed, the claimed physical properties relating to the crystallinity are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claim 10, Guo does not teach the creep rate under the claimed conditions. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used and the process of making is as claimed, the claimed physical properties relating to the creep rate at the claimed conditions are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (CN 104695038) in view of Dong et al (CN 112796000).
With regards to claims 1, 2, and 11, Guo teaches a method for fiber production that uses ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (page 1) in a solvent (page 3) and an initiator (page 3) wherein the photoinitiator includes benzophenone (page 3) solution in a spinning process (page 3). Guo teaches the amount of photoinitiator to be from 0 to 3% (page 3) and the molecular weight of the polyethylene to be 1 to 7 million (page 3).
Guo does not teach the photoinitiator to have the claimed structure.
Dong teaches an aliphatic polyester having a high gel content and high crystallinity (title) that includes
(page 3). Dong teaches the motivation for using this initiator to be because it has high thermal stability and when added to polyethylene, the physical properties are maintained such as quantity stability without volatilization and thermal decomposition (page 5). Dong and Guo are analogous in the art of crosslinked polyethylene. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the benzophenone derivative of Dong as the benzophenone derivative of Guo, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claims 3 and 12, Guo teaches the weight ratio of solvent and polyethylene powder is 1:1 to 20:1 (page 3) and for the solvent to include tetrahydronaphthalene, decahydronaphthalene, n-heptane, n-hexane, cyclohexane, paraffin oil, vegetable oil, or a xylene (page 3).
With regards to claim 4 and 13, Guo does not teach the addition of an alkynyl compound.
Dong teaches the addition of an alkynyl compound such as 1,4-diphenylbutylene, 4-phtnyladkynyl phthalic anhydride, and 1,4-didynylene benzene at a concentration of 0.1 to 5% (page 4). Dong teaches the motivation for adding this compound to be because it provides a multiplicative effect with the photoinitiator under ultraviolet irradiation which greatly and rapidly promotes the cross-linking of aliphatic polyester with minimal effect on the crystallization of aliphatic polyester (page 4). Guo and Dong are analogous in the art of polyethylene fibers formed with UV radiation. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the alkynyl compound of Dong to the composition of Guo, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claims 5 and 14, Guo teaches the addition of an antioxidant (page 3).
With regards to claim 6, Guo teaches the process of making a heat-resistant and creep-resistant polyethylene that includes multi-stage drafting the polyethylene to obtain a fiber (page 1) followed by exposing to UV radiation having an intensity of 4 Mrad (example 4) for 10 seconds (example 5).
With regards to claims 7 and 15, Guo teaches the process to be a 4-stage ultra-high heat drawing wherein the drafting ratio is 40 times (example 2).
With regards to claims 8 and 16, Guo teaches the radiation to be ultraviolet radiation (example 4) reading on a wavelength from 315 to 400 nm.
With regards to claim 9, Guo teaches the gel content of the polyethylene fiber to be 75% (table 2) but is silent on the crystallinity of the composition. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used and the process of making is as claimed, the claimed physical properties relating to the crystallinity are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claim 10, Guo does not teach the creep rate under the claimed conditions. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used and the process of making is as claimed, the claimed physical properties relating to the creep rate at the claimed conditions are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following reference teaches the photoinitiator that reads on claimed first photoinitiator: Chin et al (2016, J. Appl. Polym. Sci., 43930).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763