DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the specie of compound 21 in the reply filed on 12/2/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The outstanding rejection under 35 USC 102 and 103 are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed 3/27/2026 as the claims no longer reciting R3 as hydrogen.
Since compound 21 of the instant specification is found to be free of prior art, the search is extended to tetrahydro-4-methyl-2-methyl-pyrazino[1,2-a]pyrazine-3,6(1H,4H)-dione.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO98/49168 (‘168).
‘168 teaches a genus of compounds encompasses partially what the instant compound of the claims (see claim 2). ‘168 teaches the compounds of (I”) – also the compound of claim 5, when A is absent when n = 0, The R’, R1, R3, R4 as a glycine or alanine side chain moiety, R2 is alanine side chain moiety; R1 can even be a phenylalanine side chain moiety as R’4 in the instant claim can be an arylalkyl (see claim 2, page 9 and 10, Table 1). ‘168 teaches the composition comprising pharmaceutical acceptable carrier and the compounds (see claim 14). ‘168 also teaches the compounds as useful in “effectively inhibit the binding of a radiolabeled enkephalin derivative to the δ and µ opiate receptors” (see page 23, lines 27-28).
‘168 does not expressly teach the specific compound of formula (I”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ and incorporate the compounds of formula (I”) into a composition to inhibit the binding of a radiolabeled enkephalin derivative to the δ and µ opiate receptors.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ and incorporate the compounds of formula (I”) into a composition to inhibit the binding of a radiolabeled enkephalin derivative to the δ and µ opiate receptors. Since the compounds taught in ‘168 as well-known to be useful to inhibit the binding of a radiolabeled enkephalin derivative to the δ and µ opiate receptors, employing any compounds taught by ‘168, including the compounds of formula (I”), would be reasonably expected to be effective.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the outstanding rejections filed 3/27/2026, the arguments are considered moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627