DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In particular, applicant argued that Iwase fails to disclose or suggest three or more metal members and the associated electrical resistance relationship. This argument is addressed by the newly cited reference, Kurokawa, applied in combination with Iwase for the three or more metal member limitation, as set forth in the rejection below.
Applicant further argued that the electrical resistance relationship is not inherent to Iwase’s disclosed material combination in view of the dimensional variables identified in the specification. This argument is addressed by the rejection below, which no longer relies solely on an inherency rationale for the resistance relationship as extended to three or more metal members, but instead sets forth a routine optimization rationale under MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase et al. (JP 2019130565) hereinafter Iwase, in view of Kurokawa et al. (US 20200130098) hereinafter Kurokawa.
Regarding claim 1, Iwase teaches, in Fig. 5,
a method for joining different kinds of metal materials (abstract: “manufacturing method of a joint body, a rivet, and a structure for joining”), wherein a plurality of metal members (11, “first member” and 13, “second member”) made of different materials (¶ [0012]: “the first member 11 is made of… aluminum or aluminum alloy, and the second member 13… made of a steel material”) are joined by resistance welding (¶ [0002]: “techniques for joining two members include … resistance welding”) using a rivet (15, “rivet”), the method comprising:
preparing the rivet (15), the plurality of metal members (11, 13), and a first electrode (31, “electrode”) and a second electrode (33, “electrode”), each having a shank (annotated Fig. 5: E1 & E3, “shank”) and an electrode portion (annotated Fig. 5: E2 & E4, “electrode portion”) provided at a tip of the shank (the configuration is shown in annotated Fig. 5);
sandwiching the rivet and the plurality of metal members between the first electrode and the second electrode (the arrangement is shown in Fig. 5); and
embedding the rivet (15) into the metal member (13) by pressurization and energization (shown in Fig. 5) using the first electrode (31) and the second electrode (33), wherein
the preparing includes preparing, as the first electrode (31) and the second electrode (33), two electrodes (31, 33) that satisfy a condition in which each of electrical resistance values of the first and second electrodes (31, 33) is lower than or equal to a sum of an electrical resistance value of the plurality of metal members (11, 13) to be joined and an electrical resistance value of the rivet (15) (Iwase discloses the first and second “electrodes used are made of chromium-copper alloys” in ¶ [0048], and “the first member 11 is made of… aluminum or aluminum alloy, and the second member 13 and the rivet 15 are made of a steel material” in ¶ [0012], which corresponds to the material combination described in the application under examination. Chromium-copper alloys are known to have high electrical conductivity and thus low electrical resistance, whereas aluminum and steel members exhibit higher electrical resistance. Therefore, in a resistance welding configuration as disclosed by Iwase, the electrical resistance of the electrodes would inherently be lower than or equal to the combined electrical resistance of the metal members and the rivet, such that the claimed relationship is satisfied).
Iwase does not explicitly teach the plurality of metal members are three or more metal members.
However, Kurokawa teaches a method for joining different kinds of metal materials (¶ [0002]: “a different material joining method for joining a plurality of metal members including a dissimilar metal member by resistance welding by use of a rivet”), wherein a plurality of metal members are three or more metal members(¶ [0107]: “First, in this different material joining method, the rivet 3, first to nth metal members (n is an integer of 2 or more) including a dissimilar metal member, and first and second electrodes 8, 9 are prepared”; ¶ [0228]: “two metal members (the aluminum plate 1 and the iron plate 2) are joined. However, the disclosure is not limited to this, and three or more metal members may be joined”).
Iwase and Kurokawa are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a different material joining method for joining a plurality of metal members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Iwase to join three or more metal members as taught by Kurokawa, which would have yielded no more than the predictable result of joining an additional dissimilar metal member using a known welding method of joining a plurality of metal members including a dissimilar metal members using a rivet and first and second electrodes, suitable for any number of metal members of two or more (Kurokawa, ¶ [0107]), for the purpose of joining assemblies in which, for example, “two aluminum plates … and one iron plate … may be joined to each other, a metal plate made of metal other than aluminum and iron, the aluminum plate …, and the iron plate … may be joined to each other, or a plurality of types of metal plates other than aluminum and iron may be joined to each other.” Kurokawa, ¶ [0229].
Regarding the claimed relationship in which each of electrical resistance values of the first and second electrodes is lower than or equal to a sum of an electrical resistance value of three or more metal members to be joined and an electrical resistance value of the rivet, electrical resistance of a conductor is a function of both material resistivity and physical dimensions (e.g., length and cross-sectional area), and the relative resistance of the electrodes as compared to the workpieces and rivet is a result-effective variable recognized in the resistance welding art, in that it governs whether heat generation and nugget formation occur predominantly at the intended weld interface rather than at the electrode-workpiece interface. Iwase’s disclosed material combination—chromium-copper alloy electrodes in combination with aluminum and steel workpieces and rivet (Iwase, ¶¶ [0012] and [0048])—establishes the general conditions of the claimed relationship for the original two metal members and rivet, as set forth above. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In extending Iwase’s method to a third or additional metal member as taught by Kurokawa, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the need to select electrode, rivet and metal member dimensions so as to maintain the same electrode-to-workpiece resistance relationship already established by Iwase’s material combination, and would have arrived at suitable dimensions through routine optimization of this recognized results-effective variable, absent a showing of unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Accordingly, the claimed relationship, as extended to three or more metal members, would have been obvious over the combined teachings of Iwase and Kurokawa.
Fig. 5 of Iwase, annotated
Regarding claim 2, Iwase in view of Kurokawa teaches, in Fig. 5 of Iwase,
The method for joining different kinds of metal materials (abstract) according to claim 1, wherein the first and second electrodes (31, 33) are formed of a copper alloy containing chromium (¶ [0048]: “electrodes used are made of chromium-copper alloys”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761