DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaue (JP 2018-154723) in view of Uchida et al. (JP 2005-314290). Note: Machine translations are being used for JP 2018-154723 and JP 2005-314290.
Considering Claim 1: Shibaue teaches a film (pg. 5) comprising a β-1,3-glucan derivative having acyl groups such as acetyl, propionyl, butyryl or pentanoyl groups (pg. 3).
Shibaue does not teach the claimed resin. However, Uchida et al. teaches adding a rosin based, terpene based, or petroleum based tackifier (pg. 6) to an adhesive comprising a β-1,3-glucan (pg. 3). Shibaue and Uchida et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely β-1,3-glucan adhesives. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the tackifier of Uchida et al. to the composition of Shibaue, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Uchida et al. suggests, to increase the adhesion of the adhesive to the substrate.
Shibaue does not teach the amount of the resin. However, a tackifier provides initial tack to the adhesive, and thus the amount of the tackifier would be considered to be a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of the resin through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Uchida et al. suggests, to increase the adhesion of the adhesive to the substrate.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/039,179 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claim 1: Claim 5 of application ‘179 teaches a tape/film comprising a glucan derivative with an acyl group incorporated into a β-1,3-glucan, and a rosin based resin. Claim 4 of application ‘179 teaches the rosin based resin as being present in an amount of 10 to 100 parts by weight of the β-1,3-glucan.
Claim 3 of application ‘179 teaches the acyl group as comprising 5 to 16 carbon atoms. This overlaps with the claimed range of 1 to 5 carbon atoms. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a glucan with an acyl group of 5 carbon atoms, and the motivation to do so would have been, as application ‘179 suggests, it is suitable for the composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach the claimed adhesive tape comprising a film having the claimed composition and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer disposed on the surface of the film. The closest prior art is Shibaue, discussed above. Shibaue teaches the glucan derivative as being part of an adhesive itself, and there is no suggestion in the prior art to apply an adhesive layer onto the adhesive layer of Shibaue. As such, the claimed adhesive tape is non-obvious in view of the prior art of record.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767