DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 15 recites wherein the sealing lip “hermetically” seals with the lid, but the original disclosure did not recite what type of seal was created. Therefore, a specific hermetic seal was not supported by the original disclosure. The recitation of a container that “may also withstand internal overpressure” is not sufficient support for a hermetic seal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris, Sr. et al. (US-6170691-B1) in view of Ogawa (US-8608009-B2), Pickles (US-20060201947-A1), Sakakibara et al. (US-4348421-A) and Schier (US-3861433-A).
Morris discloses a container (Fig. 1) comprising a jar (10) comprising a body (14) having an inner wall configured to be an opening and an outer skirt (16) concentric with the inner wall and connected to the inner wall, the outer skirt comprising a radially outer surface with at least one helical thread (20) wherein the jar and closure comprise a moldable plastic material (col. 3, lines 19-24), the inner wall forming a sealing lip (Fig. 4); and a closure lid (12) comprising at least one helical thread (22) for screwing on the outer skirt of the jar, the lid comprising an annular groove opening downwards (Fig. 4), a plurality of second reinforcing ribs (18) disposed between the inner wall and the outer skirt, wherein the number of the plurality of reinforcing ribs ranges from 6 to 30 (col. 3, lines 38-41), a transverse annular wall (88) configured to connect the inner wall to the outer skirt wherein the plurality of reinforcing ribs extend under the annular transverse wall (Fig. 17), wherein the sealing lip formed inner wall extends above the transverse wall (Fig. 4), wherein the body comprises a conical wall (56) connected to the inner wall via a shoulder (54), wherein the opening has a diameter of a least 5 cm (col. 3, lines 24-26), wherein the closure lid comprises an outer skirt comprising at least one helical thread, wherein the outer skirt is connected to a first annular portion via a transverse wall forming the annular groove opening downward (Fig. 15), wherein the inner wall extends above the transverse wall and is configured to be a sealing lip, and wherein the sealing lip is attached to a radially inner surface of the first groove when the container is closed (col. 5, lines 14-29), wherein the annular groove has a substantially inverted U profile in section (Fig. 15), wherein the closure lid comprises a second annular portion configured to be a second groove opening upward (Fig. 15), wherein the closure lid comprises a first transverse wall connected to the outer skirt in an axial abutment with a second transverse wall that connects the inner wall to the outer skirt of the jar to prevent further rotation of the lid when the latter is screwed on the jar (Fig. 15), wherein the plurality of reinforcing ribs extend axially to a distance of less than the height of the outer skirt (Fig. 7).
Morris fails to teach wherein the inner wall having a thickness less than .7 mm, wherein the jar and closure comprises at least one injected thermoplastic material, first reinforcing ribs extending within the annular groove, wherein when the lid is screwed on the jar, the sealing lip of the inner wall engages with a portion of the annular groove of lid to seal the jar, without any additional seal interposed between the jar and the lid, wherein the seal is a hermetic seal.
Ogawa teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a container of a synthetic resin with a wall thickness of less than .7 mm (col. 7, lines 29-36), wherein when the lid is screwed on a jar, a sealing lip of an inner wall engages with a portion of the annular groove of lid to seal the jar, without any additional seal interposed between the jar and the lid (col. 11, ll. 63 – col. 12, ll. 15).
Sakakibara teaches that it is known in the art that a synthetic resin for a container can be a thermoplastic material (col. 2, lines 49-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the container with the material and thickness taught by Ogawa, in order to reduce the amount of material and weight of the container. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the components out of thermoplastic, in order to adjust the cost of the container and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the container without additional seals, as taught by Ogawa, in order to reduce the number of parts on the container.
Pickles teaches that it is known the art to manufacture a lid with reinforcing ribs (53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the lid with reinforcing ribs, in order to strengthen the lid.
Schier teaches that it was known in the art to dimension a container and lid so that they create a hermetic seal (col. 3, lines 33-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the modified structure of Morris with a hermetic seal, in order to better protect the contents of the assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the modified rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733